The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A730 & RX-A830 Thread - Page 12 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 61Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 344 Old 12-26-2017, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 4,727
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2011 Post(s)
Liked: 1068
FYI, new firmware v1.93 is available for the RX-a830 and RX-a730 as of 12/21/2017, apparently to support new Spotify APIs. Hopefully some other bug fixes are rolled in.

RX-A830/RX-A730/RX-V775/RX-V675/HTR-6066/TSR-6750 Firmware Update Version 1.93

"Sell crazy some place else -- we're all stocked up here."
Are you new to the forum? Please read forum FAQs and stickies. Like posts that help you. RTFM, always.
A: Yamaha RX-V775; Chromecast Audio; iPod Classic, Touch. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550. Apple TV 4gen. Chromecast 1gen, Samsung UN40ES6150.
ChromeJob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 344 Old 01-13-2018, 07:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
A830 center Chan preamp out

I bought a Yamaha speaker bar. I’m trying to feed it from center channel preamp out.
I have no signal from any of the pre out connections.
Any thoughts??
I have no connections to the center channel outputs.
Thanks
KD2ITW is offline  
post #333 of 344 Old 03-20-2018, 08:42 AM
Senior Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Yamaha AVR displays Decoder Off in the first 5 mins after standby recently

Hi!

I got a Yamaha RX-A830 using HDMI with a laptop for about 3 years now (see my signature). All was good with it until recently (2 weeks):
- I wake up the laptop from sleep
- it auto wakes up the AVR via network (wired) and sets it into the proper mode via network
- start playing something with winamp, aimp (PCM source): there's no sound but only in the first 5 minutes or so, AVR displays:
-- Decoder Off
- in minutes (let's say 2) AVR sometimes gets proper signal and plays the sound but on-and-off (meaning it drops the signal in second(s))
- after around 5 minutes it's finally find it perfectly and there's no more issues with it until the next wake up from standby

It just drives me mad.
Can it be that the decoder/HDMI chip is dying????? That's the only thing I could come up with, because it doesn't make sense otherwise, it's like it needs to heat up to get the handshake/signal.

Please note that:
- there's no software change on the laptop, the modes I use with the AVR are come from a batch scriopt from the laptop (so always the same settings are used)
- I don't have any other hdmi device to try it with

Thanks for your input!

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)

Last edited by chros73; 03-20-2018 at 08:46 AM.
chros73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #334 of 344 Old 05-16-2018, 04:31 AM
Senior Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 117
The situation was getting worse, it needed 1-2 hours (!) to produce sound after a month and now there's no sound at all.
I'm sending it back in warranty.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
post #335 of 344 Old 06-21-2018, 02:13 AM
Senior Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
I'm sending it back in warranty.
They couldn't do anything with it, so it will be swapped to a refurbished RX-A860. I hope it will be fine and all the networking functionality will remain the same (e.g. can setup everything via web browser).
Probably the settings backup file - that I created from RX-A830 - can't be uploaded to the "new" one.

Edit: it was swapped to an RX-A870, with a 130 overpay.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)

Last edited by chros73; 07-26-2018 at 04:16 AM.
chros73 is offline  
post #336 of 344 Old 07-28-2018, 07:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Help eval my 1990s era audio gear - yamaha + epos es12 speakers, misconfigured?

I know almost nothing about audio gear. What I have should sound better than it does, I'm trying to figure out why.

era 1990:
Yamaha RX-730RS receiver
Yamaha KX-W602 cassette deck
Yamaha CDC-705 cd player
era 1999
Epos ES12 bookshelf speakers

When I turn the volume up, it sounds ok but the bass seems to be MIA. When I bought the speakers they sounded great in the store but never really measured up at home. They are old but have been lightly used; stored for half of their lives. There are four jacks on the back of each speaker (treble/bass) but the cables end up going into only two connections (the type where you press on a plastic tab and insert the wire tip) on the receiver; that must be normal? The speaker wires are good quality (tend to get oily over time, strange plastic), are not very long, and were provisioned for me by the store that sold the speakers.

What I'm focusing on now is the sound. Is it possible that the speakers are not hooked up correctly, with the four wire for each speaker going into just two clips on the back of the RX-730RS?

I'm trying to figure out if this gear is just too old to fiddle with and if I should start over. I know new equipment has a lot of more digital era features, I'm not sure I need any of that. I listen to all kinds of music. Possibly I just need a subwoofer; I've never had one other than the type that are integrated into a computer speaker set.
barrelrider is offline  
post #337 of 344 Old 07-29-2018, 04:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2847
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelrider View Post
I know almost nothing about audio gear. What I have should sound better than it does, I'm trying to figure out why.

era 1990:
Yamaha RX-730RS receiver
Yamaha KX-W602 cassette deck
Yamaha CDC-705 cd player
era 1999
Epos ES12 bookshelf speakers

When I turn the volume up, it sounds ok but the bass seems to be MIA. When I bought the speakers they sounded great in the store but never really measured up at home. They are old but have been lightly used; stored for half of their lives. There are four jacks on the back of each speaker (treble/bass) but the cables end up going into only two connections (the type where you press on a plastic tab and insert the wire tip) on the receiver; that must be normal? The speaker wires are good quality (tend to get oily over time, strange plastic), are not very long, and were provisioned for me by the store that sold the speakers.

What I'm focusing on now is the sound. Is it possible that the speakers are not hooked up correctly, with the four wire for each speaker going into just two clips on the back of the RX-730RS?

I'm trying to figure out if this gear is just too old to fiddle with and if I should start over. I know new equipment has a lot of more digital era features, I'm not sure I need any of that. I listen to all kinds of music. Possibly I just need a subwoofer; I've never had one other than the type that are integrated into a computer speaker set.
I can think of two possibilities: the speakers' woofers aren't actually making a connection to the receiver or your room's acoustics are different from the showroom. The latter is quite common.

You might try changing where the speakers' audio is combined. That might help.

Many speakers are designed with two separate pairs of connections: one pair for the high frequency driver(s) and the other pair for the woofer. Apparently that's what you have. Usually they come with their own jumpers so you can fasten the two speaker connections together at the speakers themselves. You might want to consider installing a short jumper wire at the speaker. In other words, change that connection so it's done at the speakers instead of at the receiver. I.e. have only one pair of wires plugged into the receiver, putting less stress on its spring-clips and (hopefully) making a better connection.

Unfortunately, if the problem is caused by the room's acoustics (which I suspect is more likely), the best fix is to spend more money and get a separate subwoofer to augment the low frequency output of speakers' woofers. Because of how bass frequencies interact with a room's boundaries, the speaker position which produces the best bass is not the position which produces the best stereo separation. You can get much better bass at your main listening position by placing a subwoofer at some appropriate location in the room. That position is different in differently shaped rooms.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #338 of 344 Old 07-29-2018, 10:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the reply. Each speaker cable is singular - inside must be four wires, because there are four plugs that go into the treble pair and the bass pair on the back of the speaker, and at the receiver end, the two black wires are the two red wires are twisted together. So each speaker uses only two clips. You said that it'd be better to combine near the speaker, but I'm guessing that improvement would be subtle.


I unplugged the treble from the speakers and they still worked so the bass is connected.



These speaker are well regarded, correct?



If I got a subwoofer, would it be wired in as a regular speaker? There must be a way to deal with the fact that the subwoofer is a single speaker not a pair...wouldn't make sense to send it only one side.


The other main question I have is - looking at the gear I have now, are they a mismatch? If I spend $2000 or so on new equipment, would I come out far ahead of my current setup? Or are these older components basically still pretty good, and a subwoofer would fill the gap?


I wonder why my post got moved to a thread that does not seem to be about any of my components? It'd make more sense if there was a forum for overall audio setup, instead of having to post in a component forum like speaker vs amp. My question is about the combination of units, and about all of the units.
barrelrider is offline  
post #339 of 344 Old 07-30-2018, 06:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2847
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelrider View Post
Thanks for the reply. Each speaker cable is singular - inside must be four wires, because there are four plugs that go into the treble pair and the bass pair on the back of the speaker, and at the receiver end, the two black wires are the two red wires are twisted together. So each speaker uses only two clips. You said that it'd be better to combine near the speaker, but I'm guessing that improvement would be subtle.
I was primarily thinking about having to run additional speaker cables and/or forcing the spring-clips farther open than they're intended to be. If multiple wires are already in a common cable, that's essentially irrelevant.
Quote:
I unplugged the treble from the speakers and they still worked so the bass is connected.
OK
Quote:

These speaker are well regarded, correct?
I was unfamiliar with them, so I did a Web search and found a review published by Stereophile. It looks like those speakers have a dramatic falloff in frequency response below about 60 Hz, which would explain your problem with them and the need for an accompanying subwoofer. See https://www.stereophile.com/content/...r-measurements

Quote:

If I got a subwoofer, would it be wired in as a regular speaker?
It would be wired either in parallel or in series with both of your speakers, depending on the design of the subwoofer.
Quote:
There must be a way to deal with the fact that the subwoofer is a single speaker not a pair...wouldn't make sense to send it only one side.
Since your receiver doesn't have a separate subwoofer output, you'd need to get one of those subwoofers which include their own bass management and which include "speaker level" connections for both left and right speaker cables. In stereo (and multichannel) recordings the bass frequencies often differ between the two channels, which is why both L&R connections are needed. The L&R signals get merged by the subwoofer. Such subwoofers are quite common, but often are more expensive than those which are designed to only be connected to the single subwoofer output of a multichannel receiver. (Multichannel receivers do the work of combining the bass frequencies of all of their individual audio channels into that single output.)

HSU and SVS are examples of well regarded and cost effective "intenet direct" subwoofer sales companies. There are many others.
Quote:
The other main question I have is - looking at the gear I have now, are they a mismatch? If I spend $2000 or so on new equipment, would I come out far ahead of my current setup? Or are these older components basically still pretty good, and a subwoofer would fill the gap?
I have the impression that your audio equipment is fine, although it lacks some of the features provided in multichannel devices.

Speakers and room acoustics have the most influence on the quality of the sound you hear. Electronics are a distant third, although the room equalization software provided in many modern receivers can compensate for some audio problems. The old rule of thumb, that you should spend twice as much on speakers as on electronics, still holds true.
Quote:
I wonder why my post got moved to a thread that does not seem to be about any of my components? It'd make more sense if there was a forum for overall audio setup, instead of having to post in a component forum like speaker vs amp. My question is about the combination of units, and about all of the units.
Sorry, I dunno.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #340 of 344 Old 07-31-2018, 07:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks Selden your input has been very helpful.
barrelrider is offline  
post #341 of 344 Old 08-01-2018, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2847
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelrider View Post
Thanks Selden your input has been very helpful.
You're very welcome.

Have fun!

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #342 of 344 Old 10-14-2018, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
hmunster2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Can individual speaker levels be set for the different “scenes”

Wondering if diff speaker levels can be set for each “scene” memory. For instance, when I hit the net scene and my music comes on in DDOLII music, if I inrease the rear speaker levels, and then save it-will those levels be maintained for only that scene or will they also be saved for the Blu ray scene?
hmunster2 is offline  
post #343 of 344 Old 11-30-2018, 03:42 PM
Member
 
haloeight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to add 2 speakers to my desktop on top of my existing 5.1 arrangement for the home theater. Is it possible to do this with the A730? My understanding is the Zone 2 outputs I thought I could use will only allow analog sources, and I couldn't use the subwoofer from the 5.1 arrangement. Basically I don't need to be able to control the zones independently, rather just interested in using the 5.1 setup to listen to the home theater or the 2.1 setup (subwoofer plus 2 speakers) to listen at my desk. Reading through the documentation it doesn't seem there is a configuration for this, but maybe there is a simple solution I'm missing.

Thanks
haloeight is offline  
post #344 of 344 Old 08-01-2019, 10:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Today, all of my HDMI devices stopped being able to function via my A730. The TiVo boxes are complaining about HDCP, the BluRay player just displays a black screen, and the AppleTV just shows "snow."

Is anyone else having a problem with their A730?
Lance O'Connor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Emotiva Umc 200 7 1 Home Theater Preamp Surround Processor , Energy 5 1 Take Classic Home Theater System , Energy Rc 30 Reference Connoisseur 3 Way Tower Speakers Pair Black Ash Veneer , lossless , tidal , Yamaha , yamaha rx a830 , Yamaha Rx A830 7 2 Channel Network Aventage Home Theater Receiver , Yamaha Rx V867 Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off