Official Pioneer SC-1223 thread - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 83Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 138 Old 02-08-2016, 02:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by marjenmiller View Post
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1505471/official-pioneer-sc-1223-thread/0_100#post_24105123" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>marjenmiller</strong> <a href="/t/1505471/official-pioneer-sc-1223-thread/0_100#post_24105123"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Would anyone recommend the AS-BT200 Bluetooth adaptor for the 1223?</div>
</div>
<br>
Just got the SC1223 and like it. Pretty easy to set up so far.<br><br>
Is it possible to bypass (pass through) the receiver without turning the receiver on to operate my DirecTV and TV separately? My DirecTV remote will turn them and I can set it up to turn the receiver on. Just wanting to make it easier for my young kids to watch basic TV through the TV speakers if they want to.
Well I could say use the OUT2 since its unprocessed out however a better option is to go in to your TV directly on HDMIx , I know you'll concern about not having surround etc but you will, make sure the ARC is on on the receiver, it will send multi channel audio using INPUT cable (the one that going in to the TV actually, ARC uses the same cable to output the audio.) Letme know if its not clear.
RockTrip is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 138 Old 03-10-2016, 01:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Subwoofer has a third setting "PLUS" use that.. I used my receiver crying for about 6 months or more, not knowing there's a PLUS mode..
And so many people giving advice without really knowing whats going on.. A lot of people suggested changing the speaker system to "SMALL" to let the sub kick in.. I always refused that, to me thats not a solution, you're losing all your full range fronts that way..
Anyway.. use the PLUS mode on sub.. you'll love it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dugout Doug View Post
I can't get this thing to kick on my subwoofer in most modes.

Can get it in a movie, but not TV, Radio (FM) or Spotify.

Aggrieving.


Other then that, wow, great sound out of this thing.
Brenda Johnson likes this.
RockTrip is offline  
post #123 of 138 Old 03-10-2016, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
app sometimes is not responsive.. especially when I try to use my NAS server as my music server, I start the media server, and it locks up.. Network part.. it dispapears from network..
So when that happens the app won't find the receiver.. after a restart it appears on the network again..
My frustration is, I have 2 TB of niceeeee music, good quality.. not that cheap streaming quality.. And I would like to use 1223 to access that NAS server and play my playlists..
Every other machine on the network is able to do that.. Not the SC1223.
Yeah it works if you initiate the playlist thru your iTunes thru another computer.. you select your output to SC1223 and bam.. but the ideas is to use built in MediaServer to access network storage..
Anyone?
(come on read only guys, say something..


Quote:
Originally Posted by conley_jb View Post
I guess since this is an older AVR this thread is getting old and un attended. I more or less answered my own questions after living with this AVR for a week. SQ is not bad, I think the newer processing of this one is comparable to the technology in my older Integra. It does run much cooler so is working fine so far inside a rack mounted cabinet. As for the analog out to the 2nd zone from a digital source, it does work. I can listen to audio from my BR, Directv or other source coming in over HDMi, which is outputted via composite to my zone 2 amplifier.


The only think I am trying to find out now is how to get the icontrol app to work on my network, but it appears its not the AVR but the way my wi-fi is configured. I can see any of my equipment that is hardwired to my network over wi-fi even on my laptop. So there are some security settings which makes my wired network invisible to wireless, which I am wondering in't a good thing. All in all I am happy with this AVR for a second hand unit.
RockTrip is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 138 Old 03-10-2016, 01:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishhead94 View Post
Hello, I am new to the forum. I just purchased a Sc-1223-k. When I'm playing bluray I get 5.1 in some type of stereo. I can't get it to play 7.1 with all dialogue coming out of the center. I'm sure I'm missing something any help would be great
did you resolve this?
RockTrip is offline  
post #125 of 138 Old 03-10-2016, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
since its year old post, I'm sure this is resolved.
What was it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nslevin View Post
Hi all, I'm going a little nuts at the moment and looking for some help. I'm hoping someone will just point out the obvious that I am missing.

I just went out of town for a week and when I came home, I cannot get any audio out of any of my HDMI connected devices through my Sc-1223k. I can stream music through AirPlay, and even get sound out of my turntable connected via the CD analog input.

I have an Xbox One, Roku, and an AppleTV connected on their own individual HDMI and each device outputs full video, but NO SOUND whatsoever. I have combed through the manual, made sure that the HDMI setting is selected for each input, made sure that "AMP" is selected and not "Through," tried toggling things on and off and I am at a frustrating dead end.

If I run through the test signals in the receiver menu, I get something out of each speaker. And with airplay working so well, it makes the HDMI issue all the more frustrating, especially because they are all on separate HDMI lines.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance!
RockTrip is offline  
post #126 of 138 Old 03-10-2016, 01:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
sounds like you have a wiring issue..
did you resolve this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rx7racer View Post
So not sure what I am missing but I sure could use a bit of knowledge from the plentiful amount that flows through here.

Issue is my 1223 shuts down all the time especially when using EXT. Stereo when I get to around -20 to -10 db on the volume.

Can this receiver just not handle the load? I assumed I would be better off with this from my VSX-516 I upgraded from but my 516 never did this. What am I missing?

Setup is AVR SC-1223 + Polk CS10 center+ P363's L/R Main + TSx 110B Surround.

My issue is if it does this now then when I get my other Tsi-100's hooked up this darn thing will shut down on me at what -30 db on volume control.

Just I ... hell I Don't know but I'm a bit sad with my investment in this SC-1223 now. lol
RockTrip is offline  
post #127 of 138 Old 03-10-2016, 01:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by dman918 View Post
I may play with that since I have towers, just to judge if I can hear differences.
you will hear the difference, full range from front plus the ballsy lows from sub,. thats the way"im using it..
RockTrip is offline  
post #128 of 138 Old 03-11-2016, 07:53 PM
Member
 
rx7racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockTrip View Post
sounds like you have a wiring issue..
did you resolve this?
In a way yes but no haha. I did by finding out I blew a tweeter and it was actually the protection circuitry kicking it. I replaced tweeter and so far so good as long as I don't go above -16'ish, so basically It has fulfilled my needs and has been holding up wonderfully for the price running my 7.2 setup.

Thanks for asking and reminding me, I can't say too much bad about the 1223 to be honest, rocks my house and my crappy aluminum siding hates it
rx7racer is offline  
post #129 of 138 Old 03-14-2016, 12:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I like my receiver as well..
Just it won't play my playlists on NAS drive.. other than that I'm loving it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rx7racer View Post
In a way yes but no haha. I did by finding out I blew a tweeter and it was actually the protection circuitry kicking it. I replaced tweeter and so far so good as long as I don't go above -16'ish, so basically It has fulfilled my needs and has been holding up wonderfully for the price running my 7.2 setup.

Thanks for asking and reminding me, I can't say too much bad about the 1223 to be honest, rocks my house and my crappy aluminum siding hates it
RockTrip is offline  
post #130 of 138 Old 04-04-2016, 05:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
SC-1223 3D support

Hello everyone.

I owned this receiver for more than 1 year, there were no problems at all until i have upgraded my TV. I've found that my player Sony BDP7200 does not recognize TV as 3D capable, when the signal is going through receiver. When it is connected directly (no receiver involved), everything is working fine. There is a workaround to use coaxial or optical connection to get the sound to the receiver, but the fact that HDMI cable need to be reconnected to the TV directly if I want to watch in 3D is quite annoying. One can say - why not leave it like that, well, hi-res audio content is not compatible with that solution, it only works via HDMI... Pioneer claims that 1223 is 3D compatible - is it really ? Does anyone can confirm if they were able to use 1223 with 3D content ?

Thank you.
Ilya R is offline  
post #131 of 138 Old 04-17-2016, 02:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone, my receiver is messing around, when I power it on it stays on the "POWER ON" and does nothing! It is intermittent though, when it finally does turn on the picture turns green then cuts out, sometimes I can get the picture back by unplugging and replugging the hdmi cables.
I thought it was the hdmi cables at first but ATM it won't even turn on.
Any advice would be much appreciated.
Luap1983 is offline  
post #132 of 138 Old 05-26-2016, 09:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ilya R View Post
Hello everyone.

I owned this receiver for more than 1 year, there were no problems at all until i have upgraded my TV. I've found that my player Sony BDP7200 does not recognize TV as 3D capable, when the signal is going through receiver. When it is connected directly (no receiver involved), everything is working fine. There is a workaround to use coaxial or optical connection to get the sound to the receiver, but the fact that HDMI cable need to be reconnected to the TV directly if I want to watch in 3D is quite annoying. One can say - why not leave it like that, well, hi-res audio content is not compatible with that solution, it only works via HDMI... Pioneer claims that 1223 is 3D compatible - is it really ? Does anyone can confirm if they were able to use 1223 with 3D content ?

Thank you.
I have all of our multimedia devices going through the HDMI connections and have NO problems getting the 3D functionality on every capable device. Top Panny plasma display, Panasonic 3D Blu-Ray player, 3D capable media server on HDMI through nVidia GTX650 card, 3D capable Minix U1 media box, X-Box 360 on HDMI... all work perfectly.

Most of the Media is being streamed off of a central network server and all devices are hard wired to the network. The SC-1223 even plays the FLAC files from the server or from an HTC M8 phone or the laptop in the living room over Wi-Fi... amazing.

The only issues with 3D have to do wih the various manufacturer's implementations of the CEC protocols ... who turns on what and what controls what... what automatic setting control what functions... not the receiver's fault to be sure. Just leave CEC alone and all is well.
Brenda Johnson likes this.
TheTek is offline  
post #133 of 138 Old 11-19-2016, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
geodon005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mt. Prospect, IL
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 115
No matter what I try, I cannot get 4K pass-through to work on my AVR. I have connected a Phillips 4K player and a Roku Ultra to my AVR, but I cannot get any resolution other than 1080p. I can "force" 4K resolution, but I cannot get 4K to register either with discs on the Phillips 4K or with Netflix or Amazon Video on the Roku. When these players are connected directly to my Vizio P65 TV, I get perfect 4k resolution.

Thoughts?
geodon005 is offline  
post #134 of 138 Old 12-18-2016, 11:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
can't get surround sound from desktop to SC 1223

All, I have a desktop running Windows 10 connected through HDMI to the Pioneer SC 1223. I'm pretty sure that I have the desktop configured correctly for Dolby 5.1. When I completed the configuration, I was able to test the speakers and each speaker & the sub would fire.

While browsing the internet, I do hear the rear speakers. However, while watching movies from the desktop, only the 2 front right/left speakers fire. All 5 speakers are lit up on the receiver.

Is this an issue with the receiver? Anyone get movies on a desktop to play in complete surround sound?
roblem1 is offline  
post #135 of 138 Old 12-18-2016, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Brenda Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by roblem1 View Post
All, I have a desktop running Windows 10 connected through HDMI to the Pioneer SC 1223. I'm pretty sure that I have the desktop configured correctly for Dolby 5.1. When I completed the configuration, I was able to test the speakers and each speaker & the sub would fire.

While browsing the internet, I do hear the rear speakers. However, while watching movies from the desktop, only the 2 front right/left speakers fire. All 5 speakers are lit up on the receiver.

Is this an issue with the receiver? Anyone get movies on a desktop to play in complete surround sound?
I haven't tried using this receiver with a desktop, but you might try working with the manual speaker settings, as some of us had issues with getting the sub to fire in conventional setups. Try this:
Press Receiver, then Home Menu.
Select System Setup and pres Enter.
Select Manual SP set up and press Enter.
Select Speaker Setting and press Enter.
Once there, set front to "small" and set Subwoofer to "yes," or set front to "large" and subwoofer to "plus."
One of these should get you where you need to go. If not, come on back, and maybe someone else will have a better idea.
Brenda Johnson is offline  
post #136 of 138 Old 04-24-2017, 08:00 PM
Member
 
mangothehuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Help! I have a 1223-k and all of a sudden the horizontal width/resolution is completely messed up. It's very stretched.

I have reset the receiver settings, but no luck. Only other factor is maybe the TV, but I can't find a way to fix it in there either? Any thoughts?
mangothehuman is offline  
post #137 of 138 Old 10-14-2017, 07:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
No video or audio

So woke up to my receiver not working. Both Zone 1 and HDZone do not send any signal. Here are some details:

1. I was having work done in the house and they were messing w/ the electric
2. The receiver does power on, all sources are fine, TV on Zone 1 fine, the HDMI splitter on HD Zone burnt out, TV A on HDZone fine but TV B burnt out. (I had a splitter on HDZone to broadcast to two different TVs)
3. I get no signal to my TV (the tv sees the input as if the source was not powered on)
4. I DO get audio out of Zone 2 from internet radio and air play (music only)
5. I do NOT get audio out of Zone 1 or HDZone even if I try internet radio
6. All my speakers work in Zone 2 and theater speakers in Zone 1
7. Today I removed the receiver and connected it to a different TV with all new HDMI wires and different sources.
8. I can access the setup menu but I only see it on the unit's display NOT on the TV
9. I have "reset" the receiver multiple times
10. The app on my phone does work to control it
11. I took the cover off to see if there was a main fuse. There was not, there are 10 that I see.
12. All fuses look good except there is one that is on the side, labeled FU4 (back of unit closest to you, the fuse is located next to the power plug's input on the right hand side) it looks white as if the glass was painted. Not sure if it should be like that or if it blew. (but it's white not how a normal blown fuse would look)
13. I have seen other post to press on the front of the unit "Enter" (which I have) and other various buttons for 2 seconds (we do not have the 2nd button on the face)

At this point I may see if there is someone local who fixes electronics and/or see where the closest Authorized Pioneer service station is but something tells me that fixing this is going to cost as much as a replacement.

Can anyone offer some advice, suggestions?

Thanks in advance
Gaspare
gaspipe is offline  
post #138 of 138 Old 03-24-2018, 09:14 PM
Member
 
blinkwatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pioneer SC1323 work for 4k HDR passthrough?

I bought a Vizio M65 so I'm on the 4k HDR bandwagon.

I have a SC1323 receiver I connect my htpc to and then have the receiver run to the TV. In the manual to the 1323 it states the following in the link
https://imgur.com/Wy6xXS4

Also 3D and 4K Ultra HD Upscaling/Pass-Through

If it doesn't I guess I will have to get a GPU that i can use a HDMI 2.0 out w/ HDCP 2.2 to run to the monitor, then use a display port passive HDMI adapter on the DP out to get the audio to the receiver.

Any input would be great!

Last edited by blinkwatt; 03-24-2018 at 09:19 PM.
blinkwatt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Klipsch Rf 82 Ii Reference Series Floorstanding Loudspeaker Cherry , Pioneer Sc 1223 K 7 2 Channel Network Ready Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off