Sc-1223 no dts - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-23-2013, 06:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
paquettepack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all:

Just jumped on the great amazon deal the other day and got my new sc-1223. Sounds good, but I can't get it to show me that it's decoding a dts signal. With various blurays, I can get it to show me PCM or Dolby digital, but no dts, even when I select the dts hd audio on the bluray.

I have a Sony bdp-s5100 bluray player if that's the issue. I could find a obvious setting on the bluray player to fix this?

I am running a 5.1 setup.

Thanks for the help!
paquettepack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-23-2013, 07:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 9,308
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 660
^^
are you looking in the right place? assuming you have the player set to bitstream not decoding to PCM, it's there...

see # 3

LEAD Technologies Inc. V1.01

it's an indicator not the bold lights in the middle of the display.

and you might try reading the manual - hyperlinked pdf file on the AV Nav disc. that's where I got the attached page from...if I can find it so can you wink.gif

I have an SC-68 and it has the same display layout.

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-23-2013, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 9,308
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 660
one more thing for you -

the main display will display DTS-MSTR but only if you aren't adding additional surround processing, such as ProLogic IIx or NeoX. if any processing is added, the main display will display the processing mode.

if you select Auto Surround, Direct, Pure Direct ALC, Optimum Surround with the remote button or i-app, then the main display will read DTS-MSTR.

but the indicator lights will be displayed all the time.

hope this added info helps you smile.gif
oztech likes this.

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 01-01-2014, 05:32 PM
Member
 
blkntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PaquettePack - I had the exact same problem with a Sony BDP-S370 bluray.

The solution for me was to change the BD Audio Mix Setting under Audio Settings on my BDP-S370 to OFF. Once I did this, the main display on the SC-1223 started showing DTS-MSTR (etc.) and the proper audio format in section 3 of the front display as mentioned by SS9001.

Just thought I would let you know in case you hadn't figured it out yet.
blkntan is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-14-2014, 05:23 PM
Senior Member
 
curtisb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Western WA
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 75
So have you guys gotten the receiver to show you DTS Master or Dolby TrueHD with the most recent firmware? I can't via my PS3 (it is set to bitstream and the receiver is set to auto, and I've tried direct). My PC's HDMI audio connection says the receiver only reports supporting DD, DTS, and DD EX. Beyond frustrated with this thing.
curtisb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer Sc 1223 K 7 2 Channel Network Ready Receiver , Sony Bdp S5100 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off