Yamaha HTR 3063 putting out bad sound? Pic included - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 06-09-2014, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi all.  I'm a long time lurker, first time poster.  I have little experience with home AV and have been reading as much as I can lately.  I'm building my first system and need some help diagnosing an issue with my AVR.  I just bought a set of JBL ES80 speakers and think that I may have done some damage to my AVR by playing them too loud.

The issue is only on the right side of the system, right front and right surround.  I swapped front speakers and the issue stayed on the right side.  It's really noticeable when playing music as the sound is constant, but it sounds extremely muddy, and sounds like it drops power every few seconds.  If only vocals are coming out of the speaker, it sounds decent, but once the music comes in also, the vocals drop way down in quality and volume, as well as the music sounding distorted also.  I tried adjusting the setting on the AVR, and turned off the DRC.  The issue seems to also affect the sub slightly, almost like the power is dipping every few seconds.  I've tried searching all over the net, but haven't found anything.  Is this a fairly common issue?  Does it sound like a bad AVR?  Also, a few days ago I added a GE Surge protector pictured below.  Could this have something to do with it?  Any and all help is greatly appreciated!

Additional question: If my AVR is responsible, could I just get an amplifier to power the front speakers and bypass the Yamaha?

Display: Samsung LN55C630 55" LCD 1080

AVR: Yamaha HTR 3063

Fronts: JBL ES80

Center: JBL ES25

Surround: Sony SS-B1000

Sub: Sony 10" SAW2500

Sources: Sony BDP-BX57, Buffalo 2TB external HD, PS 2, N64

Misc: Harmony 650, LED bias lighting, Monoprice 16AWG, GP banana plugs and wall mount

Sponsored Links
Advertisement