Marantz SR7009 Owner's Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1006Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 3530 Old 10-16-2014, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,151
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 1303
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
FYI ... the link doesn't go to my post.





Depends on whether you are using it for the main FL/FR speakers (more power needed eg. MM-7025) or for the ceiling speakers (much less power needed, eg. see below link).

http://www.amazon.com/AudioSource-AM.../dp/B00026BQJ6
Hmmm.... Using the permalink function, I copied the link address for your specific post (...post27945610). It works correctly on my Chrome browser. Anyway, the content you posted is what the link was supposed to point to.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon FTV Stick 4K, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 3530 Old 10-17-2014, 12:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ALtlOff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St. Louis Mo "ish"
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1447 Post(s)
Liked: 815
I now see a 7009 in my near future:
This:
https://translate.googleusercontent....0pIJJBGx1r-bZQ

From here:
The official Auro 3D thread (home theater version)

Oh, can anyone verify for me that you can use pre-outs and speaker level on "any" channel not just on Height 2?
I know most receivers allow this but I have seen some (Yamaha) that don't.

*Warning* None of my suggestions, ideas or even thoughts have any WAF, in any way!
My Build Thread:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-gen...formation.html

Last edited by ALtlOff; 10-17-2014 at 02:47 AM.
ALtlOff is offline  
post #633 of 3530 Old 10-17-2014, 03:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,952
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22557 Post(s)
Liked: 12278
^^
The SR7009 has 13 main zone pre-outs. You can connect to either the pre-out or the speaker posts.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #634 of 3530 Old 10-17-2014, 03:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ALtlOff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St. Louis Mo "ish"
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1447 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
The SR7009 has 13 main zone pre-outs. You can connect to either the pre-out or the speaker posts.
"Or" or "And" , I'm needing to know if you can use "any" of them simultaneously, this will determine my options for my height layer for my speaker configuration for Auro3d.
Thanks.

*Warning* None of my suggestions, ideas or even thoughts have any WAF, in any way!
My Build Thread:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-gen...formation.html

Last edited by ALtlOff; 10-17-2014 at 03:47 AM.
ALtlOff is offline  
post #635 of 3530 Old 10-17-2014, 03:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,952
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22557 Post(s)
Liked: 12278
^^
You can use them simultaneously as long as they are not connected to the same speaker.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #636 of 3530 Old 10-17-2014, 04:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ALtlOff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St. Louis Mo "ish"
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1447 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Thanks, my current Pioneer does also, but I remember looking at a Yamaha that said not to.

Is good news.

*Warning* None of my suggestions, ideas or even thoughts have any WAF, in any way!
My Build Thread:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-gen...formation.html
ALtlOff is offline  
post #637 of 3530 Old 10-17-2014, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
wse
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 9,503
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2207 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Denon and Marantz said this week that they will add three-dimensional audio format Auro-3D to select receivers of both brands later this year.

The upgrade will arrive in December for the AVR-X5200W and the AVR-X4100W models, which will arrive via a paid firmware upgrade.

“We are proud that our customers will be able to upgrade their A/V receivers to incorporate Auro-3D as an additional feature”, Yoshinori Yamada, global business team leader audio and video at D+M Group, said as part of the announcement.

“It demonstrates our constant ambition to offer brand new technologies to existing products, adding value for the proud owner as well.”

I sure hope it will be available for the Marantz!
wse is offline  
post #638 of 3530 Old 10-17-2014, 11:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

The upgrade will arrive in December for the AVR-X5200W and the AVR-X4100W models, which will arrive via a paid firmware upgrade.

I sure hope it will be available for the Marantz!
The question I have is how much it will cost to purchase a PAID firmaware upgrade? Other cost upgrades that I have known about in the past involved hardware as well.
DoDaLeCa is offline  
post #639 of 3530 Old 10-17-2014, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ALtlOff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St. Louis Mo "ish"
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1447 Post(s)
Liked: 815
At this point they're saying around $200.

*Warning* None of my suggestions, ideas or even thoughts have any WAF, in any way!
My Build Thread:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-gen...formation.html
ALtlOff is offline  
post #640 of 3530 Old 10-17-2014, 11:25 AM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3562
The Marantz SR7010, in 2016, should have Auro decoding included inside, Auro-Matic Upmixing, the entire Auro-3D engine, DTS-UHD, HDMI 2.0, HDCP 2.2 (true 4K funnel), Atmos, XT32, HDAM modules (good slew rate), and all that jazz. ...All in one component, without paying extra fee for an upgrade in the sound/video department.

The SR7009 is the 'trampoline'.
NorthSky is offline  
post #641 of 3530 Old 10-17-2014, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 27,231
Mentioned: 127 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7742 Post(s)
Liked: 7044
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoDaLeCa View Post
The question I have is how much it will cost to purchase a PAID firmaware upgrade? Other cost upgrades that I have known about in the past involved hardware as well.
Price quoted in Europe was 149 Euros - that's just under $200. It does seem like a very good deal considering what you're getting for the money (assuming you think Auro is worth having of course).
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #642 of 3530 Old 10-17-2014, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
wse
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 9,503
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2207 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
The Marantz SR7010, in 2016, should have Auro decoding included inside, Auro-Matic Upmixing, the entire Auro-3D engine, DTS-UHD, HDMI 2.0, HDCP 2.2 (true 4K funnel), Atmos, XT32, HDAM modules (good slew rate), and all that jazz. ...All in one component, without paying extra fee for an upgrade in the sound/video department. The SR7009 is the 'trampoline'.
Yes for only $1,999
wse is offline  
post #643 of 3530 Old 10-17-2014, 12:23 PM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3562
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
Yes for only $1,999
In that neighborhood, yes; and even less street ... $1,889.98
NorthSky is offline  
post #644 of 3530 Old 10-17-2014, 11:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ALtlOff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St. Louis Mo "ish"
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1447 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
The Marantz SR7010, in 2016, should have Auro decoding included inside, Auro-Matic Upmixing, the entire Auro-3D engine, DTS-UHD, HDMI 2.0, HDCP 2.2 (true 4K funnel), Atmos, XT32, HDAM modules (good slew rate), and all that jazz. ...All in one component, without paying extra fee for an upgrade in the sound/video department.

The SR7009 is the 'trampoline'.
I was going to wait until early spring 2015, this may cause me to hold off, depends on how well the Firmware update in the 7009 goes and how impatient I get.

*Warning* None of my suggestions, ideas or even thoughts have any WAF, in any way!
My Build Thread:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-gen...formation.html
ALtlOff is offline  
post #645 of 3530 Old 10-18-2014, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
ejmcga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where does one find Spotify Connect on the SR7009?

The manual says its there, but I can't find it.

I have found the icons for Flickr, Pandora, etc., but no Spotify.
ejmcga is offline  
post #646 of 3530 Old 10-18-2014, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,952
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22557 Post(s)
Liked: 12278
^^
One doesn't. Spotify Connect is an app used on an external device to stream to the AVR, just as is the case with Airplay. Only Spotify would be on an AVR (eg. 2013 models).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #647 of 3530 Old 10-20-2014, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,952
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22557 Post(s)
Liked: 12278
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #648 of 3530 Old 10-20-2014, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
wse
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 9,503
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2207 Post(s)
Liked: 814
wse is offline  
post #649 of 3530 Old 10-21-2014, 06:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
rprice54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Would there be an advantage of Auro over Dolby Surround?
rprice54 is offline  
post #650 of 3530 Old 10-22-2014, 03:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,952
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22557 Post(s)
Liked: 12278
^^
As noted in the above image, Auro favors "height" speakers while Atmos/DSU favor "ceiling" speakers, so really depends on what layout you can do and in the end how many BDs are actually produced with either format.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #651 of 3530 Old 10-22-2014, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
wse
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 9,503
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2207 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^As noted in the above image, Auro favors "height" speakers while Atmos/DSU favor "ceiling" speakers, so really depends on what layout you can do and in the end how many BDs are actually produced with either format.
Yes it will be interesting to see if we get more ATMOS Blu Ray than 7.1 Blu Rays which is still the minority unfortunately

DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 = 873 Blu Ray

Compared to

DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1= 6933 Blu Ray movies in the US

and

Dolby TrueHD 7.1 = 189 Blu Ray

compared to

Dolby TrueHD 5.1 = 1729 in the US
wse is offline  
post #652 of 3530 Old 10-22-2014, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,575
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2085 Post(s)
Liked: 3156
^^^

I have the money to buy a SR7009 and four nice ceiling speakers that would give me 7.1.4, but it's those numbers that give me pause. And what about Netflix, which is how I get my movies? Reading these threads and around the Internet gets me super psyched, however, I may stick with my almost 5-year old SR7002 for a couple more years and let things shake out. I think. Maybe. We'll see. For today.

How well does the upconversion Dolby Surround perform?
Aliens is offline  
post #653 of 3530 Old 10-22-2014, 02:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aliens View Post
^^^

I have the money to buy a SR7009 and four nice ceiling speakers that would give me 7.1.4, but it's those numbers that give me pause. And what about Netflix, which is how I get my movies? Reading these threads and around the Internet gets me super psyched, however, I may stick with my almost 5-year old SR7002 for a couple more years and let things shake out. I think. Maybe. We'll see. For today.

How well does the upconversion Dolby Surround perform?
Those who've heard it think it's the cat's meow. Or something like that
It'll be a while before there are many BDs or streamed material with Atmos soundtracks, so it's good to have an upmixer which handles non-Atmos soundtracks so well.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #654 of 3530 Old 10-22-2014, 04:36 PM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3562
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post



Not really compatible!
Is that a little confusing or not. ...For the average common mortal like Joe Sixpack.
NorthSky is offline  
post #655 of 3530 Old 10-22-2014, 04:41 PM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3562
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
Yes it will be interesting to see if we get more ATMOS Blu Ray than 7.1 Blu Rays which is still the minority unfortunately

DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 = 873 Blu Ray

Compared to

DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1= 6933 Blu Ray movies in the US

and

Dolby TrueHD 7.1 = 189 Blu Ray

compared to

Dolby TrueHD 5.1 = 1729 in the US
Roughly only 20% for Dolby (TrueHD 7.1).
...And with only ONE Dolby Atmos Blu-ray movie title released so far; TF4. ...Plus one hand more announced. ...All sucking titles too.

* Auro-3D seems to be more Music oriented, with roughly seven titles in the pipeline.

Man, I hope 2017 will bring the light.
NorthSky is offline  
post #656 of 3530 Old 10-22-2014, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter
wse
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 9,503
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2207 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aliens View Post
How well does the upconversion Dolby Surround perform?
Very well
wse is offline  
post #657 of 3530 Old 10-22-2014, 05:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,575
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2085 Post(s)
Liked: 3156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Those who've heard it think it's the cat's meow. Or something like that
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
Very well
Now you guys have done it.
Aliens is offline  
post #658 of 3530 Old 10-22-2014, 06:00 PM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3562
You asked for it.
NorthSky is offline  
post #659 of 3530 Old 10-22-2014, 06:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,841
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 558 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Ok, here's one:

So when I switch my input mode to "digital" and play music from my apple tv in 2 channel pcm it plays fine in my living room but not at all to zone 2.

Why? This was never an issue before.

If I switch zone 2 to the apple atv input it will playback via hdmi (appletv outputs optical and hdmi simultaneously).

Please tell me there's not some goofy limitation to playing a digital input to mulitple zones?!

I could always leave "auto" in place on my denon 4311 and have tv audio playing over hdmi in the main zone while the 2nd and 3rd zones automatically got the digital (which I would of course have mapped to the appletv). This was nice because my wife liked the tv audio for games while I watched the game outside with music (via the second hdmi out).

I haven't messed with zone 2 hdmi yet, but I REALLY hope I can overlay another sources audio over it.

Please tell me I'm going wrong somewhere here?

Thanks!
James

Last edited by mastermaybe; 10-22-2014 at 06:40 PM.
mastermaybe is offline  
post #660 of 3530 Old 10-22-2014, 06:41 PM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3562
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastermaybe View Post
Ok, here's one:

So when I switch my input mode to "digital" and play music from my apple tv in 2 channel pcm it plays fine in my living room but not at all to zone 2.

Why? This was never an issue before.

If I switch zone to the apple atv input it will playback via hdmi (appletv outputs optical and hdmi simultaneously).

Please tell me there's not some goofy limitation to playing a digital input to mulitple zones?!
There might just be, indeed.

Quote:
I could always leave "auto" in place on my denon 4311 and have tv audio playing over hdmi in the main zone while the 2nd and 3rd zones automatically got the digital (which I would of course have mapped to the appletv). This was nice because my wife liked the tv audio for games while I watched the game outside with music (via the second hdmi out).

I haven't messed with zone 2 hdmi yet, but I REALLY hope I can overlay another sources audio over it.

Please tell me I'm going wrong somewhere here?

Thanks!
James
Don't really know.
NorthSky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
media mode , second sub , SR7009 , svs 20-39 , usb dac

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off