Marantz AV8802 13.2 XLR Pre/Pro **Official Thread** - Page 512 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12747Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15331 of 15369 Old 05-22-2019, 04:32 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
gdfein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I currently have my 8802a configured for 7.1.4.

Is it possible to configure the remaining two preamp channels for another location into a dedicated 2ch full range system with another amp?

My preamp sits in a server closet adjacent to 7.1.4 theater, and this 2nd 2ch setup would be in another adjacent room home office, and I’d use iPad for control.

Anyone doing this?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

gdfein is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15332 of 15369 Old 05-22-2019, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,786
Mentioned: 692 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21891 Post(s)
Liked: 11866
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdfein View Post
I currently have my 8802a configured for 7.1.4.

Is it possible to configure the remaining two preamp channels for another location into a dedicated 2ch full range system with another amp?

My preamp sits in a server closet adjacent to 7.1.4 theater, and this 2nd 2ch setup would be in another adjacent room home office, and I’d use iPad for control.

Anyone doing this?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
You can connect to either the Zone 2 or Zone 3 pre-outs for your use case.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15333 of 15369 Old 05-26-2019, 08:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I am getting a message from my 8802A stating that my TV doesn't support HDCP 2.2 when I attempt to send signal from a Flex set top TV/PVR box through the 8802A by HDMI to my Sony 4k VPL500ES. However, the set top box does display fine when I take the 8802A out of the signal chain by connecting the set top box directly to the projector. I also dont know what Marantz message means by TV, since my 4K projector is 4K, so def HDCP2.2.



Any idea how I can overcome that issue?


BTW, I have no problem playing 4K discs from an XBOX One X, through the 8802A to this 4K projector, so I don't know what the Marantz is having issue with since the signal chain must be HDCP 2,2. The set top box does support 4K streaming from Netflix and I have changed the setting from 4K output to 1080 to try and get it to work, but it still refuses to allow connectivity through to the projector. I hate this unnecessary copy protection hurdle.
Delton05 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15334 of 15369 Old 05-27-2019, 03:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,786
Mentioned: 692 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21891 Post(s)
Liked: 11866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delton05 View Post
I am getting a message from my 8802A stating that my TV doesn't support HDCP 2.2 when I attempt to send signal from a Flex set top TV/PVR box through the 8802A by HDMI to my Sony 4k VPL500ES. However, the set top box does display fine when I take the 8802A out of the signal chain by connecting the set top box directly to the projector. I also dont know what Marantz message means by TV, since my 4K projector is 4K, so def HDCP2.2.



Any idea how I can overcome that issue?


BTW, I have no problem playing 4K discs from an XBOX One X, through the 8802A to this 4K projector, so I don't know what the Marantz is having issue with since the signal chain must be HDCP 2,2. The set top box does support 4K streaming from Netflix and I have changed the setting from 4K output to 1080 to try and get it to work, but it still refuses to allow connectivity through to the projector. I hate this unnecessary copy protection hurdle.
Try setting <Resolution> to "4k" vs. "Auto".
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15335 of 15369 Old 05-27-2019, 05:43 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,362
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10930 Post(s)
Liked: 6512
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Try setting <Resolution> to "4k" vs. "Auto".
I would be inclined to try setting up-scaling to off in the 8802a as well. If that works, it would be preferable to having the 8802a upscale to 4K, IMO. The Sony up-scaler is likely to do a better job.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #15336 of 15369 Old 05-28-2019, 09:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,786
Mentioned: 692 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21891 Post(s)
Liked: 11866
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I would be inclined to try setting up-scaling to off in the 8802a as well. If that works, it would be preferable to having the 8802a upscale to 4K, IMO. The Sony up-scaler is likely to do a better job.
As the majority of owners only use HDMI for video, with the factory default setting of "Analog", it is technically already off.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15337 of 15369 Old 05-28-2019, 07:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Thanks guys for your suggestions, tried them all, however, I'm still getting that message.
Always get audio pass through, but when I switch on the Fetch set top box the video flashes on my screen correctly before the message "This content can not be displayed because your TV does not support HDCP 2.2" displays.
Any further suggestions to try or is their a Marantz tech contact who might be able to sort out this issue?
Delton05 is offline  
post #15338 of 15369 Old 05-28-2019, 08:02 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,362
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10930 Post(s)
Liked: 6512
I don’t think the issue is with the 8802a.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #15339 of 15369 Old 05-28-2019, 08:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4807 Post(s)
Liked: 2844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delton05 View Post
I am getting a message from my 8802A stating that my TV doesn't support HDCP 2.2 when I attempt to send signal from a Flex set top TV/PVR box through the 8802A by HDMI to my Sony 4k VPL500ES. However, the set top box does display fine when I take the 8802A out of the signal chain by connecting the set top box directly to the projector. I also dont know what Marantz message means by TV, since my 4K projector is 4K, so def HDCP2.2.



Any idea how I can overcome that issue?


BTW, I have no problem playing 4K discs from an XBOX One X, through the 8802A to this 4K projector, so I don't know what the Marantz is having issue with since the signal chain must be HDCP 2,2. The set top box does support 4K streaming from Netflix and I have changed the setting from 4K output to 1080 to try and get it to work, but it still refuses to allow connectivity through to the projector. I hate this unnecessary copy protection hurdle.
Try explicitly configuring the 8802A's Monitor output to be just the one to which the projector is connected instead of "Auto(Dual)".

You mention both TV and Projector. While it might just be a typo, having both types of devices connected simultaneously sometimes causes problems when their A/V characteristics aren't identical (e.g. when one has been put into standby or when one is 1080p and the other is 4K UHD).

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #15340 of 15369 Old 05-29-2019, 12:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I am only using the one 8802A main HDMI output to connect to my 4K projector via a Fibr Optic cable. As I said that works perfectly when I feed 4K signal through the 8802A from an Xbox 1X.
Just doesn't make sense...
Delton05 is offline  
post #15341 of 15369 Old 05-29-2019, 02:18 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,362
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10930 Post(s)
Liked: 6512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delton05 View Post
I am only using the one 8802A main HDMI output to connect to my 4K projector via a Fibr Optic cable. As I said that works perfectly when I feed 4K signal through the 8802A from an Xbox 1X.
Just doesn't make sense...
Have you tried routing the Flex directly to the projector? If that works, can you leave it connected that way, and perhaps route the Flex audio to the 8802a using another output?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #15342 of 15369 Old 05-29-2019, 04:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Have you tried routing the Flex directly to the projector? If that works, can you leave it connected that way, and perhaps route the Flex audio to the 8802a using another output?


Yes, that is the only way I can use the Fetch set top box (not called Flex, my mistake, earlier). I am getting audio into the 8802A by using the SPDIF optic output of the Fetch into the optic input on the 8802A and using the CD setting and routing the video directly into the projector.
Trouble is, I have to change it all back when I want to watch other sources, like Xbox, Chromecast, PS4 etc into the 8802A.


I still think it is an issue with the 8802A, but wtf is it?
Delton05 is offline  
post #15343 of 15369 Old 05-29-2019, 05:01 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,362
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10930 Post(s)
Liked: 6512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delton05 View Post

I still think it is an issue with the 8802A, but wtf is it?
It may well be an incompatibility between the Fetch and the 8802a. If so, then you can either work around it, or get rid of one of the devices. I have not heard of anyone else having similar issues with the 8802a and other devices, like a satellite DVR, Apple TV, Roku, etc. How attached are you to the Fetch? Before you mentioned you have one, I had never heard of it.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #15344 of 15369 Old 05-29-2019, 06:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I have 3 x Fetch Mighty/s throughout the house, all networked so we can watch and stream anything recorded on any. So, about $1,000 invested in it. Very happy with it.

It is sold in Australia but probably known as something else, elsewhere. Only thing else I might try is a different HDMI cable between it and the 8802A. Says it's high speed with Ethernet E209331 AWM style, whatever that means, white plug ends. Can't remember if they came with the Fetch.
Still, 8802A says it has a problem with the TV, which should mean the projector. No TV is connected. Thanks for all your help. Will let all know...
Delton05 is offline  
post #15345 of 15369 Old 05-29-2019, 07:49 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,362
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10930 Post(s)
Liked: 6512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delton05 View Post
I have 3 x Fetch Mighty/s throughout the house, all networked so we can watch and stream anything recorded on any. So, about $1,000 invested in it. Very happy with it.

It is sold in Australia but probably known as something else, elsewhere. Only thing else I might try is a different HDMI cable between it and the 8802A. Says it's high speed with Ethernet E209331 AWM style, whatever that means, white plug ends. Can't remember if they came with the Fetch.
Still, 8802A says it has a problem with the TV, which should mean the projector. No TV is connected. Thanks for all your help. Will let all know...
I didn’t realize you were down under. I don’t think the Fetch is available in the US.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #15346 of 15369 Old 05-30-2019, 08:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Well, changing that HDMI cable didn't solve the problem, Marantz tech support next stop...
Delton05 is offline  
post #15347 of 15369 Old 06-04-2019, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 9,199
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 577 Post(s)
Liked: 609
Can someone confirm if Marantz's Pure Direct mode can be a true analog bypass? If yes, what exactly has to be turned off or under what conditions would it be pure analog? I've owned an 8802A for a few yrs and the manual doesn't say if Pure Direct can be made to bypass conversion & all digital processing.

I want to connect a hi-perf external upsampling DSD DAC to the Marantz 2 ch analog inputs, preferably with XLR. It would defeat the purpose to re-digitize the ext DAC's signal. If Pure Direct goes through ADC/DSP in all cases, I could use the 7.1 analog inputs since there aren't ADC's on them & just use RCA.

Steve

Last edited by ss9001; 06-04-2019 at 10:37 AM.
ss9001 is online now  
post #15348 of 15369 Old 06-11-2019, 03:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Woof Woof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,018
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 459 Post(s)
Liked: 251
My Australian AV8802A just got a notification to update the firmware last night. Went back 2 months. Haven’t seen anything so I’m posting it. Maybe it is an old US firmware we finally got.

Anyone else in Australia know what it’s about?
Woof Woof is offline  
post #15349 of 15369 Old 06-11-2019, 06:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BRADH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spencer, In
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woof Woof View Post
My Australian AV8802A just got a notification to update the firmware last night. Went back 2 months. Haven’t seen anything so I’m posting it. Maybe it is an old US firmware we finally got.

Anyone else in Australia know what it’s about?


I got one here in the US Saturday or Sunday evening.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
BRADH is offline  
post #15350 of 15369 Old 06-11-2019, 06:38 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,362
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10930 Post(s)
Liked: 6512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woof Woof View Post
My Australian AV8802A just got a notification to update the firmware last night. Went back 2 months. Haven’t seen anything so I’m posting it. Maybe it is an old US firmware we finally got.

Anyone else in Australia know what it’s about?
When I checked this morning, FW version was 6461-9161-5235-01.

"Check for Update" showed an update was available for download, with a 2 min estimate of the update time. The information given was that this update "Improves the overall performance and stability".

I performed the update, which was indeed quite quick.

Resulting FW version is 6461-9171-5235-01, DTS ver 3.90.50.51.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #15351 of 15369 Old 06-11-2019, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Jez Baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
When I checked this morning, FW version was 6461-9161-5235-01.

"Check for Update" showed an update was available for download, with a 2 min estimate of the update time. The information given was that this update "Improves the overall performance and stability".

I performed the update, which was indeed quite quick.

Resulting FW version is 6461-9171-5235-01, DTS ver 3.90.50.51.
ive just had the update as well. i wonder what i really did

LG OLED C8 77". Oppo 203, Panasonic UB9000, Marantz 8802A, Arcam A49, Arcam P429 x 2, Monitor Audio gold 300 fronts. C350 centre speaker. Apex 10 rears. 4 X SVS elevation primes for atmos, DUAL SVS SB16-Ultra Subwoofer. Xbox one X 3TB, PS4 PRO 1TB

320k discs and counting!
Jez Baker is offline  
post #15352 of 15369 Old 06-14-2019, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Mark1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jez Baker View Post
ive just had the update as well. i wonder what i really did
Also in Europe but no changelog available yet. They mostly do post here something cryptic. I will check again later. Mark

Marantz 8802A | Rotel RB 1590 / 1555 | Bowers Wilkins 804D3 / HTM2D3 / DB3D / 703S2 / 706S2 | Oppo 205 | Bluesound NODE 2i | LG OLED65E8 | Denon AH-D7100 | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV4K | Cable box 4K | Darbee Darblet
(Denon 4520 | LG OLED55E6 | B&W 703 / 705 / HTM7 / ASW700 | Oppo 203 / HA-2SE | Apple TV | Chromecast Ultra / Audio | Denon AH-D2000)
Mark1000 is online now  
post #15353 of 15369 Old 06-14-2019, 08:55 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,362
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10930 Post(s)
Liked: 6512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark1000 View Post
Also in Europe but no changelog available yet. They mostly do post here something cryptic. I will check again later. Mark
Two posts up I provided the following changelog information:

The information given was that this update "Improves the overall performance and stability".

Were you expecting more detail?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #15354 of 15369 Old 06-14-2019, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Mark1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Two posts up I provided the following changelog information:

The information given was that this update "Improves the overall performance and stability".

Were you expecting more detail?
Yes I was. D&M Europe seems to be more informative most of the times. If I wasn't expecting more there would be no reason to check the European firmware site. Had to look up my serial, first make a picture of it with my phone, type it in. Not a big deal, but still. Because I was hoping for more detail.
Could there be another reason?

Mark

Marantz 8802A | Rotel RB 1590 / 1555 | Bowers Wilkins 804D3 / HTM2D3 / DB3D / 703S2 / 706S2 | Oppo 205 | Bluesound NODE 2i | LG OLED65E8 | Denon AH-D7100 | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV4K | Cable box 4K | Darbee Darblet
(Denon 4520 | LG OLED55E6 | B&W 703 / 705 / HTM7 / ASW700 | Oppo 203 / HA-2SE | Apple TV | Chromecast Ultra / Audio | Denon AH-D2000)
Mark1000 is online now  
post #15355 of 15369 Old 06-14-2019, 09:46 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,362
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10930 Post(s)
Liked: 6512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark1000 View Post
Yes I was. D&M Europe seems to be more informative most of the times. If I wasn't expecting more there would be no reason to check the European firmware site. Had to look up my serial, first make a picture of it with my phone, type it in. Not a big deal, but still. Because I was hoping for more detail.
Could there be another reason?

Mark
I think we would all like to see more detailed information. If you find any, please share it with us here.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #15356 of 15369 Old 06-17-2019, 10:37 AM
vld
Advanced Member
 
vld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A place in time...
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 86
According to a D&M Tier 2 Technical Support Lead the latest firmware addresses the following;

  1. Fixes an issue with Dolby Vision and a specific model of TV, the Panasonic TH-43GX850
  2. Corrects volume dropping out when playing music from a DVD in DTS surround
fgsouza likes this.
vld is offline  
post #15357 of 15369 Old 06-17-2019, 11:33 AM
Member
 
abricko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firmware update

Was so excited to see a firmware update, hoping it'd add Airplay2 (fat chance since this is no longer the "flagship" AVP) and it turns out to be 2 lame bug fixes. At least they're still maintaining the firmware of this unit. I guess we shouldn't expect features being added. The only reason I thought it'd be Airplay2 related was because I swore I thought I saw a post stating they were going to update it late last year?
abricko is offline  
post #15358 of 15369 Old 06-17-2019, 10:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,728
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Just getting back here:
My AV8802A failed to connect to my network. First time in two or three years of operation.
[A] I attempted a network reset, only to experience the same bahavior (ie. display shows "empty" when ONLINE MUSIC is enabled).
[B] The next component in the chain is the NetGear Network Powerline Adapter unit, plugged into the adjacent wall AC outlet
(actually there is a NetGear Switch unit between the AV8802A and the Powerline Adapter unit). Anyway, so I bounced the powerline adapter unit (un-plugged for 30 seconds, then plugged back in). The AV8802A is now re-connected to my network. I can play digital music files from my network drives, etc.,...

AC power wiring is not the best in my older home. And I've been forced to use network powerline adapters to extend network access throughout house, not the best solution- but physically easier than running CAT6 cable. Although I hope to have electrician install CAT6 cable (in ceiling) in the near future.

My TiVo system is also relying on powerline adapter connections for network access (very troublesome, experience video "studdering" and drop-outs periodically but I deal with it).

Anyway, thanks for all the responses/help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	June2019_AV8802A_System_NetGearPowerAdapter_01.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	180.9 KB
ID:	2581374   Click image for larger version

Name:	June2019_AV8802A_System_01.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	127.1 KB
ID:	2581376  

Last edited by WestCoastD; 06-17-2019 at 10:09 PM.
WestCoastD is online now  
post #15359 of 15369 Old 06-18-2019, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 4,362
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 1616
To My New Brothers

Good morning Marantz users! I am new (fixin to be) to camp. I have been in the Onkyo/Integra camp for the last 10 years. Started with a TX-NR807 Onk (AVR), then the Integra DTR-70.4 (AVR) to the DHC-80.2 Pre-processor.

Now, just shipped today is my AV8802A Pre. I've heard great things about the Marantz regarding audio compatibility with Polk speakers. I have run the RTiA series with A9's in the lead but steadily crossing over to the LSiM series and will be using two pair of 703s for mains and wides with the 706 center, moving the A9's into the rear channel. They've been there before and really do a great job with three 7" woofers

At any rate, I'll try my best not to ask too many rookie questions as I've gleamed through this thread somewhat. JD Smooth man and the rest of the top players, thank you in advance for your professionalism!

My new system heart arrives next Tuesday so I should be set up by that weekend, y'all can certainly count on hearing from me by then at least to report in!!

Wait, is it Marantz or Denon, or Denon or Marantz.....ugg, it's difficult to keep up with companies merging and buying each other out!!!

Spinning the rear tire at 150mph while at 3/4 lean angle will put wrinkles in your seat

Set up:
Integra 80.2 using M.P. Monolith XLR's-Oppo 103-65" 4K Sammy-Emotiva: XPA-DR3, XPA-3, XPA-2 x 2-PolkAudio: RTiA9 x 4-LiSM706-FXiA6 x 4-LiSM703-Furez 10awg homemade cables
Geoff4RFC is online now  
post #15360 of 15369 Old 06-18-2019, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,786
Mentioned: 692 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21891 Post(s)
Liked: 11866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff4RFC View Post
Good morning Marantz users! I am new (fixin to be) to camp. I have been in the Onkyo/Integra camp for the last 10 years. Started with a TX-NR807 Onk (AVR), then the Integra DTR-70.4 (AVR) to the DHC-80.2 Pre-processor.

Now, just shipped today is my AV8802A Pre. I've heard great things about the Marantz regarding audio compatibility with Polk speakers. I have run the RTiA series with A9's in the lead but steadily crossing over to the LSiM series and will be using two pair of 703s for mains and wides with the 706 center, moving the A9's into the rear channel. They've been there before and really do a great job with three 7" woofers

At any rate, I'll try my best not to ask too many rookie questions as I've gleamed through this thread somewhat. JD Smooth man and the rest of the top players, thank you in advance for your professionalism!

My new system heart arrives next Tuesday so I should be set up by that weekend, y'all can certainly count on hearing from me by then at least to report in!!

Wait, is it Marantz or Denon, or Denon or Marantz.....ugg, it's difficult to keep up with companies merging and buying each other out!!!
Denon and Marantz merged under the D+M Group back in 2002.

Sound United (also owns Polk) purchased the D+M Group in 2017.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
marantz av8802

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off