Official Pioneer VSX-80 Owners Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 162 Old 07-20-2014, 01:26 PM
Newbie
 
tomj2617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Best Buy Magnolia has them here in Milwaukee,Wisconsin. I bought one last wk.
tomj2617 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 162 Old 07-20-2014, 04:22 PM
Member
 
mantikos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just found an open box at the local Magnolia for $580
Needless to say I jumped right on it, and while I was there I picked up B&W CM1 LCR, and B&W 686 for the rears
Now auditioning a sub

Last edited by mantikos; 07-20-2014 at 04:26 PM.
mantikos is offline  
post #33 of 162 Old 07-26-2014, 12:46 PM
Newbie
 
tigerdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried any of the following:
- playing FLAC 96/24 audio
- streaming from a DLNA server
- using auto EQ features
- using a Roku stick or box with the Pioneer remote

How does the receiver handle id3 tags?
tigerdog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 162 Old 07-29-2014, 04:37 PM
Senior Member
 
prophetizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone tried to use a harmony remote with it yet? the codes for input selection are wrong on my end, i had to use the SC-LX82
prophetizer is offline  
post #35 of 162 Old 08-01-2014, 08:20 AM
Newbie
 
tigerdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick update: I picked up my VSX-80 yesterday and will be installing it this weekend. Prior to purchase, I had a chance to play with one at Magnolia/Best Buy and answered a few of my own questions:
  • yes, it plays 96/24 flac quite nicely along with 88.2/24, 44.1/16 and 44.1/16 wav files, at least from USB.
  • all ID3 tags were correctly read and displayed on the receiver front panel
  • manual states full control of Roku stick, not Roku box. (can't test, bought LG-BD540 for streaming instead)
I intend to try to train the Pioneer remote to be the primary for the system, to stream audio from a DLNA server running on Linux or BSD and to run in 2-channel mode at least initially. I'll update periodically if people are interested.
tigerdog is offline  
post #36 of 162 Old 08-05-2014, 01:37 PM
Member
 
mantikos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mine seems to struggle while streaming - buffer issues.
mantikos is offline  
post #37 of 162 Old 08-06-2014, 11:30 AM
Member
 
ws6whiteshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Crownsville, MD
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mantikos View Post
Mine seems to struggle while streaming - buffer issues.
Are you referring to video or audio (ie., Roku player connected to receiver for streaming netflix or music via Pandora from receiver to speakers)?
ws6whiteshark is offline  
post #38 of 162 Old 08-06-2014, 11:36 AM
Member
 
mantikos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ws6whiteshark View Post
Are you referring to video or audio (ie., Roku player connected to receiver for streaming netflix or music via Pandora from receiver to speakers)?
DLNA Video and Audio from my PC, phone, and tablet
mantikos is offline  
post #39 of 162 Old 08-08-2014, 01:23 PM
Newbie
 
bane1213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Considering buying this Receiver..... Would you who own it, recommend it?
bane1213 is offline  
post #40 of 162 Old 08-08-2014, 06:42 PM
Member
 
ws6whiteshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Crownsville, MD
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mantikos View Post
DLNA Video and Audio from my PC, phone, and tablet
And there's no buffering on your PC, phone or tablet? Does this happen all the time? I sometime get buffering on my IPad and Roku but it's rare. Try hard wire connection to the router to rule out wireless signal.
ws6whiteshark is offline  
post #41 of 162 Old 08-08-2014, 07:42 PM
Member
 
mantikos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ws6whiteshark View Post
And there's no buffering on your PC, phone or tablet? Does this happen all the time? I sometime get buffering on my IPad and Roku but it's rare. Try hard wire connection to the router to rule out wireless signal.


Happens from my PC and phone everytime - and my entire network is gigabit hardwired (except the phone of course)
mantikos is offline  
post #42 of 162 Old 08-10-2014, 06:01 AM
Member
 
ws6whiteshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Crownsville, MD
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mantikos View Post
Happens from my PC and phone everytime - and my entire network is gigabit hardwired (except the phone of course)
Hmmmm, you may want to get your Internet provider out to your place and test the signal from the main box to your hookup. Then test from the hookup to your wall plate where your hard wired in at? Sounds to me like a fault in one of your lines or possibly a bad switch.
ws6whiteshark is offline  
post #43 of 162 Old 08-10-2014, 06:30 AM
Member
 
mantikos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ws6whiteshark View Post
Hmmmm, you may want to get your Internet provider out to your place and test the signal from the main box to your hookup. Then test from the hookup to your wall plate where your hard wired in at? Sounds to me like a fault in one of your lines or possibly a bad switch.

couldn't be - I have 3 other network players connected to the same Ethernet drop...including my XBox One and the Smart Tv....and the DirecTV Genie - they all stream just fine
mantikos is offline  
post #44 of 162 Old 08-10-2014, 06:31 AM
Member
 
mantikos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ws6whiteshark View Post
Hmmmm, you may want to get your Internet provider out to your place and test the signal from the main box to your hookup. Then test from the hookup to your wall plate where your hard wired in at? Sounds to me like a fault in one of your lines or possibly a bad switch.

couldn't be - I have 3 other network players connected to the same Ethernet drop...including my XBox One and the Smart Tv....and the DirecTV Genie - they all stream just fine
mantikos is offline  
post #45 of 162 Old 08-10-2014, 06:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Vsx-80

Great Thread here.

I was a VSX-43 owner from Best Buy and had nothing but trouble with it. I worked for BestBuy for 6 months and got the geek squad as it was like 11 bucks for 4 years. So they have just replaced the VSX-43 with the VSX-80. They allowed me to get this with staff discount which was $420 and i get it on the 14th of August.

I hope i have better luck with this one. Anyone had issues with HDMI board?

Will let you know my findings
Paul 'Wally' Walton is offline  
post #46 of 162 Old 08-10-2014, 01:21 PM
Newbie
 
tigerdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bane1213 View Post
Considering buying this Receiver..... Would you who own it, recommend it?
I own it and after the first week, I'm still learning the ins and outs and capabilities. I am happy with the sound (replaced a classic: Nakamichi AV-10.) Digital audio from my server is just fine. I've given up on WiFi and use powerline Ethernet, so no bandwidth or streaming issues. I do not use Roku, can't comment on this. Video upconversion is only partially tested since my stupid cable provider sends a box that will only do one resolution at a time, no pass through. One minor quibble with the Pioneer: when sending letterbox 4:3 standard def, I have not yet found any way to zoom the letterbox to full output resolution. If anyone else has found one, let me know.

One week in, I'm not ready to send it back.
tigerdog is offline  
post #47 of 162 Old 08-10-2014, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Has anyone compared the VSX-80 to previous receivers such as the VSX-32, VSX-33, VSX-52, VSX-53, VSX-62, VSX-63, VSX-70, and VSX-1120? I have the VSX-32. The VSX-80 seems to be similar to the VSX-32 as far as ranking it as a bridge between low-end and high-end, except it has DACs up to the performance of receivers which used to cost between $1500 and $2000 a few years ago. I would like to know if anyone has noticed a major improvement in audio quality, as well as its operation speed and response, compared to receivers between 2010 and 2013.
Big C is offline  
post #48 of 162 Old 08-10-2014, 06:18 PM
Member
 
ws6whiteshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Crownsville, MD
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I played around with the vsx80, SC81 and Yamaha Aventage RX-A1040 at Best Buy today. Between the 80 and 81, I couldn't tell the difference. The Yamaha sounded cleaner than the two Pioneers, but the Pioneers were easier to navigate. I'm pretty much down to these three.
ws6whiteshark is offline  
post #49 of 162 Old 08-13-2014, 11:11 AM
Newbie
 
tyronetime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
VSX-80 defaulting to stereo instead of surround

I recently purchased a VSX-80 and have it hooked up to my cable box (Comcast X1) via the HDMI In [2] (Sat/Cbl) input, and have connected the VSX-80 to my Sony XBR-X850B TV via the HDMI Out 1 (Control).

My Comcast cable box has audio output settings for 1) mono, 2) stereo and 3) surround. I have it set to "surround", but for some reason when I turn everything on the VSX-80 shows that the audio ouput is Stereo (instead of the surround signal coming from the cable channel, e.g. Dobly Digital). When I press the "auto surround" button on the VSX-80 remote, nothing changes. However, when I navigate to the Comcast cable menu setting and change the audio output to "stereo", then back to "surround", the VSX-80 then recognizes the surround singal and starts outputting surround (DoblyDigital).

To make sure it's not just my Comcast cable box, I also checked the audio out from my Apple TV (HDMI 3 input), and it defaults to "stereo" sound unless I have previously done the switch from surround to stereo and back to surround on the Comcast cable box.

I'd love any tips - I'm hoping its just a simple setting I can switch to default the audio signal output to surround without having to toggle the setting from my Cable Box.
tyronetime is offline  
post #50 of 162 Old 08-17-2014, 09:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 38
In case anyone cares to know, the European version of the VSX-80/1124 won the 2014 ISA award.
Big C is offline  
post #51 of 162 Old 08-18-2014, 09:44 PM
Member
 
fireroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone more receiver tech savy then myself figured out the differences between the VSX-80 and SC-81? I Does the Class D3 amp really make a $300 difference to educated but average HT guy?
fireroad is offline  
post #52 of 162 Old 08-20-2014, 09:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I just ordered this from Pioneer's online shop. While I'm waiting, I have a few questions.

Do the setup menus consist of white text on a black/gray background which highlight in blue when you use the up and down arrow keys on the remote?

Do the Audio Parameter and Video Parameter menus show on the TV?

By default, is Operation Mode set to Basic or Expert?

By default, which HDMI output(s) and zone(s) is/are active?

When playing with a PQLS-compatible Blu-ray player, does the PQLS indicater on this receiver consist of a blue light?

I chose this receiver because of PQLS bitstream for movies and SACDs, as well as its Sabre Premier ES9006 120dB jitter-tolerant DAC. A few years ago, receivers with similar DACs such as the Burr-Brown PCM1796 used to cost between at least $1500 and $2000, or more. $700? Reminds me of the $500 DV-58AV, which performed like the $1500 Denon DVD3930CI. Considering compatibility with HD CoDecs, DSD-to-analog conversion, a jitter-tolerant DAC, and anti-jitter PQLS bitstreaming on top of that, all for just $700, after all I learned here at AVS, for only $700, this should be an audiophyle's dream. I hope the reason this thread isn't that active is because people are too busy enjoying this receiver and don't have time to post about it.

Last edited by Big C; 08-20-2014 at 06:56 PM.
Big C is offline  
post #53 of 162 Old 08-26-2014, 03:15 PM
Member
 
mantikos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The receiver is definitely a great deal
mantikos is offline  
post #54 of 162 Old 08-28-2014, 07:19 PM
Newbie
 
jbh1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought this receiver yesterday. Was looking at the Onkyo 636 and Sony 1040. Went to Best Buy and it was on sale for $600 new in box. So far so good. Review coming.


JBH
jbh1970 is offline  
post #55 of 162 Old 08-29-2014, 06:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I went to my Best Buy to purchase the Pioneer 1124 which they had advertised for $500.00. I thought that it was a good deal and wanted to upgrade my 1018 since we were moving all the equipment to the new added living room. I went into the Magnolia center and was surprised to find the Elite VSX-80 for $550.00. Seemed like a no brainer for me so I left the store with it. It will be a few days until I have the time to get everything set up. After making all the connections and making sure they work as I expect them to, I'll then slide the entertainment center to it's location against the wall and perform the MCACC setup. I can not wait to here some of my movies in 7.1 sound. I do have a Jamo powered sub that I have never taken out of the box. but not sure if I will use it or not. I have The Speaker Company's TSAT 2000 speakers and sub.

I am questioning whether to connect the patio speakers to the speaker b of the 80 or use the 1018 as a sub zone amp for that. I am really exited over this purchase and the value that I got it at was awesome. The only difference is using two separate sources for the 2 locations.
taz456 is offline  
post #56 of 162 Old 08-29-2014, 06:43 PM
Member
 
frocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Utica, NY USA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just purchased the Vsx-80 from Best Buy for 549.00
I had to decide between the Onyko Tx-NR636 and this. They were not able to demo the Onyko, but told me I had 15 days to return it.
Just wondering if I made the right choice. Wirecutters review said the Okyko sounded the best and was the best choice.
frocco is offline  
post #57 of 162 Old 08-29-2014, 10:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by frocco View Post
Just purchased the Vsx-80 from Best Buy for 549.00
I had to decide between the Onyko Tx-NR636 and this. They were not able to demo the Onyko, but told me I had 15 days to return it.
Just wondering if I made the right choice. Wirecutters review said the Okyko sounded the best and was the best choice.
The 80 was not in the test group. The Pioneer 824 K is a very different receiver and in my opinion, should not have even been included in the test. It is like apples and oranges. The author states that they selected the test units by polling the public and the public demands component inputs so they were a must for the test subjects and then he disses Pioneer for not having any.
I admit that I am a loyal brand purchaser maybe even to a fault. If I buy a product and have good experiences with that product line, I will purchase from the company again when I upgrade. Just my 2 cents
taz456 is offline  
post #58 of 162 Old 08-30-2014, 03:26 AM
Member
 
frocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Utica, NY USA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have it hooked up and running and am very pleased with the sound. Bass is tight and defined, it makes me just want to sit and listen. If the onyko is better than this according to the author, then I would be shocked.

Thanks

Frank
TC-P50-ST30
Dish HOPPER with Sling
B&W Speakers/Polk Active Sub
frocco is offline  
post #59 of 162 Old 08-31-2014, 11:19 AM
Member
 
Elitecrewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I'm having trouble reassigning inputs on mine. For some reason default inputs on my DVD input are set to analog. When in the menu where I can rename it, etc. The option to change from analog to hdmi is grayed out.
Elitecrewman is offline  
post #60 of 162 Old 08-31-2014, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elitecrewman View Post
I'm having trouble reassigning inputs on mine. For some reason default inputs on my DVD input are set to analog. When in the menu where I can rename it, etc. The option to change from analog to hdmi is grayed out.
I'm still waiting for Pioneer' direct store to ship my VSX-80. As a VSX-32 user, one time, I decided to try connecting my fast-loading DV-58AV Elite DVD player via digital coaxial output to reduce jitter. I have noticed that with HDMI Control turned on, I had trouble reassigning/renaming inputs. Try turning off HDMI Control on your receiver, TV, set-top box, DVD player, Blu-ray player, etc.. HDMI Control might be referred to as BraviaLink by Sony, CEC by everyone else, EasyLink by Philips, KuroLink by Pioneer, RegzaLink by Toshiba, and VieraLink by Panasonic. Note that if you have a Pioneer or Pioneer Elite Blu-ray player with PQLS and you wish to keep the PQLS feature working, you'll need to keep HDMI Control on your receiver On, which might not allow you to assign/rename inputs. I'm talking about the VSX-32. Who knows. Maybe they made it possible to assign/rename inputs while HDMI Control is set to On on receivers starting from 2011 to the present.
Big C is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off