The "Official" 2014 Denon Atmos+XT32 Model Thread (X4100/X5200/X7200) - Page 365 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9257Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10921 of 11893 Old 10-28-2016, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,317
Mentioned: 748 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22755 Post(s)
Liked: 12404
Quote:
Originally Posted by jantheman View Post
Dear all,

Two questions regarding the X5200W if anyone has a sec:

1. Is there a way to mute all individual speaker channels via IP control? Or solo?
Via presets or direct volume level changes if no discreet commands exist?

2. I don't suppose there is a way to get a 7.1 analog source input somehow by assigning the existing inputs?

I can't find this in the manual.

Grateful for any hints.
1. Press the MUTE button.
2. Correct. Only the flagship X7200WA has multi analog inputs.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10922 of 11893 Old 10-28-2016, 12:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,833
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by jantheman View Post
Dear all,

Two questions regarding the X5200W if anyone has a sec:

1. Is there a way to mute all individual speaker channels via IP control? Or solo?
Via presets or direct volume level changes if no discreet commands exist?

2. I don't suppose there is a way to get a 7.1 analog source input somehow by assigning the existing inputs?

I can't find this in the manual.

Grateful for any hints.
If you haven't already bought the Denon, you might consider a Marantz SR7009 as an alternative. It's the same vintage (2014) and does have 7.1 analog inputs. However, since they're 2014 models, neither of them supports HDCP v2.2, so they can't be used for commercial 4K video. The numbering used for the 5200 is misleading, unfortunately: it was released a year before the other Denon x200 models which do support HDCP v2.2.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #10923 of 11893 Old 10-28-2016, 11:54 PM
Member
 
jantheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
If you haven't already bought the Denon, you might consider a Marantz SR7009 as an alternative. It's the same vintage (2014) and does have 7.1 analog inputs.
Thanx very much Selden Ball, that really is very useful info for me. Appreciate it!

Last edited by jantheman; 10-28-2016 at 11:54 PM. Reason: spelling
jantheman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10924 of 11893 Old 10-29-2016, 12:00 AM
Member
 
jantheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Press the MUTE button.
2. Correct. Only the flagship X7200WA has multi analog inputs.
Apologies for unclear question. I need to solo and mute individual speaker channels and not all of them.
But I am switching my interest to the Marantz SR7009 anyway and I will look for info on that instead.
Although the IP commands seem pretty much identical.
thanks
jantheman is offline  
post #10925 of 11893 Old 10-29-2016, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,833
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by jantheman View Post
Apologies for unclear question. I need to solo and mute individual speaker channels and not all of them.
But I am switching my interest to the Marantz SR7009 anyway and I will look for info on that instead.
Although the IP commands seem pretty much identical.
thanks
The two receiver models share digital electronics and have almost identical digital functionality.

You can't simply mute individual speaker channels, but the manual speaker setup options will let you set some speakers to "None". That will turn the speakers off and downmix the audio that would have gone to them into the remaining speakers. The surround speaker channels can be set to "None" only in pairs. See pages 247-251 in the SR7009's owner's manual, which can be downloaded from http://manuals.marantz.com/sr7009/na/en/

You can turn speakers off and on without disturbing the Audyssey calibration. However, the calibration will be invalidated if you turn on speakers which were not available during that Audyssey calibration.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #10926 of 11893 Old 10-29-2016, 03:19 PM
Member
 
jantheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
You can't simply mute individual speaker channels, but the manual speaker setup options will let you set some speakers to "None". That will turn the speakers off and downmix the audio that would have gone to them into the remaining speakers. The surround speaker channels can be set to "None" only in pairs. See pages 247-251 in the SR7009's owner's manual, which can be downloaded from http://manuals.marantz.com/sr7009/na/en/

You can turn speakers off and on without disturbing the Audyssey calibration. However, the calibration will be invalidated if you turn on speakers which were not available during that Audyssey calibration.

Thanx Selden. That's not quite what I want though. If at all possible, I would like to use it as a monitor controller that lets me listen to just one speaker channel alone. Or just a pair or just a quad. Always without effecting the mix in any way. That sort of thing.
This is normal in a pro-ish monitor controller and I was hoping I could emulate it with IP commands. But maybe not I guess....I will experiment with it if I do buy one.
Thanx again
J
jantheman is offline  
post #10927 of 11893 Old 10-29-2016, 08:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 4,079
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1874 Post(s)
Liked: 677
Firmware notification popped up toady on my 7200.
It has three items
1. DSU on DTS sources
2. Neural-X on Dolby Sources
3. Pandora fix

I did not update. I will wait for it to available for download and offile update.

Edit : It's available for download..

Last edited by aaranddeeman; 10-30-2016 at 07:32 AM.
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #10928 of 11893 Old 10-30-2016, 03:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,317
Mentioned: 748 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22755 Post(s)
Liked: 12404
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
Firmware notification popped up toady on my 7200.
It has three items
1. DSU on DTS sources
2. Neural-X on Dolby Sources
3. Pandora fix

I did not update. I will wait for it to available for download and offile update.

Yup. As mentioned last week when first made available on October 24.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10929 of 11893 Old 10-30-2016, 07:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,833
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by jantheman View Post
Thanx Selden. That's not quite what I want though. If at all possible, I would like to use it as a monitor controller that lets me listen to just one speaker channel alone. Or just a pair or just a quad. Always without effecting the mix in any way. That sort of thing.
This is normal in a pro-ish monitor controller and I was hoping I could emulate it with IP commands. But maybe not I guess....I will experiment with it if I do buy one.
Thanx again
J
Sorry: that kind of feature is not available in consumer-oriented devices. A web search for "audio line-level switch" located some devices which might be appropriate.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #10930 of 11893 Old 10-30-2016, 07:51 AM
Member
 
jantheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Sorry: that kind of feature is not available in consumer-oriented devices.
As I am sure you are aware sometimes ways to workaround things are possible

I have read the list of IP commands available in my environment and can see it has individual commands for up/down of level for each speaker channel. Discrete commands for the same would do it for me.

As an example, this is what the command to turn level for Center up is:
CVSR UP\x0D

This is the mainvolume discreet command to set it to 33:
MV33\x0D

So I guess I could give this a go if/when I buy one to set center to 33:
CVSR 33\x0D
Or to mute it:
CVSR 00\x0D

This might do what I need if it is in there...
It could perhaps be in there undocumented. I will at least keep my hopes up for a bit
Ah well. Thanx again!
J

Last edited by jantheman; 11-09-2016 at 02:34 AM.
jantheman is offline  
post #10931 of 11893 Old 10-30-2016, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Joseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Hello all, I'm in the beginning phase of installing an AVRX 5200W to replace a nearly 20 year Denon receiver, and already I have hit a road block. At this point, all I have connected are the speaker leads (simple 5.1 surround set up) and HDMI out to my processor, and when I power up the unit, it cycles on and off immediately (and repeatedly), and will continue to do so until I power it off via the front panel (the remote will not stop this behavior). Any ideas regarding what I need to check? This is embarrassing, but I would like to get this done today, since time during the week is at a premium. This is a B stock unit, purchased from forum pals accessories4less.
Joseph is offline  
post #10932 of 11893 Old 10-30-2016, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 4,079
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1874 Post(s)
Liked: 677
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph View Post
Hello all, I'm in the beginning phase of installing an AVRX 5200W to replace a nearly 20 year Denon receiver, and already I have hit a road block. At this point, all I have connected are the speaker leads (simple 5.1 surround set up) and HDMI out to my processor, and when I power up the unit, it cycles on and off immediately (and repeatedly), and will continue to do so until I power it off via the front panel (the remote will not stop this behavior). Any ideas regarding what I need to check? This is embarrassing, but I would like to get this done today, since time during the week is at a premium. This is a B stock unit, purchased from forum pals accessories4less.
Remove all speaker connection and the HDMI (no external connection to AVR except the power).
And now try and see if it behaves the same. If yes, then pack it up and send it back.
If not, connect one speaker at a time and re-test.
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #10933 of 11893 Old 10-30-2016, 04:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Joseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Thanks. Will try it and report back.

EDIT: Disconnected everything except power cord, same behavior as noted above. I'll call Denon tomorrow and see what they have to say.

UPDATE 2: The unit is at the Denon repair center. Should hear something in 1-2 days.

Last edited by Joseph; 10-31-2016 at 02:16 PM.
Joseph is offline  
post #10934 of 11893 Old 10-30-2016, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
 
josey88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Port st Lucie , Florida
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
Firmware notification popped up toady on my 7200.
It has three items
1. DSU on DTS sources
2. Neural-X on Dolby Sources
3. Pandora fix

I did not update. I will wait for it to available for download and offile update.

Edit : It's available for download..
I`ll tell you , I was afraid those update additions would somehow screw up the 7200WA like the last DTS-X did , but no ... it just added DSU to DTS and viceversa on Dolby surround and fixed the Pandora problem .
I downloaded it without a hitch (28 minutes) and it has been working fine since .
josey88 is offline  
post #10935 of 11893 Old 10-31-2016, 04:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,317
Mentioned: 748 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22755 Post(s)
Liked: 12404
Quote:
Originally Posted by josey88 View Post
I`ll tell you , I was afraid those update additions would somehow screw up the 7200WA like the last DTS-X did , but no ... it just added DSU to DTS and viceversa on Dolby surround and fixed the Pandora problem .
I downloaded it without a hitch (28 minutes) and it has been working fine since .

Woohoo!! Time for some cross-mixing.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10936 of 11893 Old 10-31-2016, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
evoll88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Woohoo!! Time for some cross-mixing.
Jd do you like dolby or dts x up mixer better?
evoll88 is offline  
post #10937 of 11893 Old 10-31-2016, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,317
Mentioned: 748 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22755 Post(s)
Liked: 12404
Quote:
Originally Posted by evoll88 View Post
Jd do you like dolby or dts x up mixer better?
I prefer using DTS Neural:X on both DTS and DD audio.
wl1 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10938 of 11893 Old 10-31-2016, 02:48 PM
Senior Member
 
evoll88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
I prefer using DTS Neural:X on both DTS and DD audio.
I like dts neural also because it sounds more pronounced to me,thanks for the reply.
evoll88 is offline  
post #10939 of 11893 Old 10-31-2016, 03:43 PM
Senior Member
 
josey88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Port st Lucie , Florida
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by evoll88 View Post
I like dts neural also because it sounds more pronounced to me,thanks for the reply.
I have a different opinion . On music I prefer Dolby Surround to DTS Neural:X because it has more bass added to the mix ... the Neural:X is more diffused with less bass even on the surround mix , but that is my assessment , anyway .
On movies , depends on the movie sound and if it s DTS Master , DTS:X , etc .
josey88 is offline  
post #10940 of 11893 Old 11-08-2016, 11:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,


I'm french so sorry if my English is not good.


I have a bug with my receiver X7200WA with 7.2.4 atmos/dts-x configuration.


I have a canal+ cube that stream tv in dolby digital 5.1 on some movie and rest of time in dolby digital 2.0


With last firmware (1. DSU on DTS sources 2. Neural-X on Dolby Sources 3. Pandora fix), when input is dolby digital 2.0, when i select DTS:X neural in sound mode, i have only effect audio, no voice but output show 7.2.4


If i select DOLBY SURROUND, sometime only effect sometime good, if only effect, i select stereo and then switch to DOLBY SURROUND and sound is good.


No problem with a STEREO PCM input only with DOLBY DIGITAL 2.0. (DOLBY DIGITAL PLUS 2.0 same problem)


Before this last firmware, no problem.


Can you test on your receiver with last firmware if you have same result. (ok i know that dolby digital 2.0 is not common)


I think it's a bug.


Thank you for reading.
Olivier Andre is offline  
post #10941 of 11893 Old 11-08-2016, 04:20 PM
Member
 
jantheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jantheman View Post

... to mute it:
CVSR 00\x0D

This might do what I need if it is in there...
It could perhaps be in there undocumented. I will at least keep my hopes up for a bit
J
Quoting myself here if anyone was interested in individual speaker channel volume mutes.
Have read all the docs and experimented with my 7010 and it is a no-go unfortunately The individual IP commands allow for individual trimming of level on all speaker channels, using a control range from 38 to 62 to control level from -12 to +12 and nothing else.
Close but no cigar...
If anyone has found a way to tweak/hack/modify this functionality I would be all ears. I wish I could simply send "00" to a speaker channel to mute it...it would be ever so useful.
Ah well.

Last edited by jantheman; 11-09-2016 at 02:34 AM.
jantheman is offline  
post #10942 of 11893 Old 11-09-2016, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
 
jrogers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: MN
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by jantheman View Post
Quoting myself here if anyone was interested in individual speaker channel volume mutes.
Have read all the docs and experimented with my 7010 and it is a no-go unfortunately The individual IP commands allow for individual trimming of level on all speaker channels, using a control range from 38 to 62 to control level from -12 to +12 and nothing else.
Close but no cigar...
If anyone has found a way to tweak/hack/modify this functionality I would be all ears. I wish I could simply send "00" to a speaker channel to mute it...it would be ever so useful.
Ah well.
Could always install a physical switch (remote even) to your speaker cables

Samsung UN75HU8500 TS01 w/SEK-3500U, K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Xbox One; Xfinity X1
Dolby Atmos and DTS:X 7w.1.4; Denon X6200W; Audiosource AMP102; GoldenEar SuperSat 60/60C, SuperSat 50, SuperSat 3/3C, Invisa 525; SVS PB-2000
Harmony Ultimate One; Insteon; Acoustimac
jrogers is offline  
post #10943 of 11893 Old 11-10-2016, 02:57 AM
Member
 
jantheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrogers View Post
Could always install a physical switch (remote even) to your speaker cables
I have googled that and found nothing.
14 channels of speaker on/off switching with IP control and feedback.
If there is such a thing, I would be interested.
jantheman is offline  
post #10944 of 11893 Old 11-10-2016, 10:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Planning to buy the new Xbox One S mainly to be used as a Blu Ray player. Both my X4100 receiver and Samsung smart TV are HDCP 2.0. Saw some posts regarding "no video output" when Xbox One S is connected to a device with HDCP 2.0. Any easy way to overcome this problem (splitters / converters etc). Not planning to change my TV or my receiver in the near future.....

Suggestions much appreciated.....

Receiver : Denon AVR X 4100
Front L/R : JBL Studio 280 Dual 6.5-Inch 3-Way Towers
Center : JBL Studio 235C Dual 6.5-Inch 2-Way
Surrounds : JBL Studio 230 6.5-Inch 2-Way
Centre Heights : Def Tech Studio Monitor 55
Sub Woofer : JBL 260P 12-Inch 300-Watt
Kiran Kumar is offline  
post #10945 of 11893 Old 11-10-2016, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,317
Mentioned: 748 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22755 Post(s)
Liked: 12404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiran Kumar View Post
Planning to buy the new Xbox One S mainly to be used as a Blu Ray player. Both my X4100 receiver and Samsung smart TV are HDCP 2.0. Saw some posts regarding "no video output" when Xbox One S is connected to a device with HDCP 2.0. Any easy way to overcome this problem (splitters / converters etc). Not planning to change my TV or my receiver in the near future.....

Suggestions much appreciated.....
https://www.hdfury.com/hdfury-linker...link-them-all/
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10946 of 11893 Old 11-10-2016, 10:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

JD, grateful if the specific product is mentioned ........

Receiver : Denon AVR X 4100
Front L/R : JBL Studio 280 Dual 6.5-Inch 3-Way Towers
Center : JBL Studio 235C Dual 6.5-Inch 2-Way
Surrounds : JBL Studio 230 6.5-Inch 2-Way
Centre Heights : Def Tech Studio Monitor 55
Sub Woofer : JBL 260P 12-Inch 300-Watt
Kiran Kumar is offline  
post #10947 of 11893 Old 11-10-2016, 10:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,317
Mentioned: 748 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22755 Post(s)
Liked: 12404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiran Kumar View Post
JD, grateful if the specific product is mentioned ........
There is only one item discussed ... HD Fury Linker.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10948 of 11893 Old 11-10-2016, 10:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
There is only one item discussed ... HD Fury Linker.
thanks.....

Receiver : Denon AVR X 4100
Front L/R : JBL Studio 280 Dual 6.5-Inch 3-Way Towers
Center : JBL Studio 235C Dual 6.5-Inch 2-Way
Surrounds : JBL Studio 230 6.5-Inch 2-Way
Centre Heights : Def Tech Studio Monitor 55
Sub Woofer : JBL 260P 12-Inch 300-Watt
Kiran Kumar is offline  
post #10949 of 11893 Old 11-10-2016, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,833
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiran Kumar View Post
Planning to buy the new Xbox One S mainly to be used as a Blu Ray player. Both my X4100 receiver and Samsung smart TV are HDCP 2.0. Saw some posts regarding "no video output" when Xbox One S is connected to a device with HDCP 2.0. Any easy way to overcome this problem (splitters / converters etc). Not planning to change my TV or my receiver in the near future.....

Suggestions much appreciated.....
Don't forget that the XB1S cannot bitstream Blu-ray audio. As a result, neither Atmos nor DTS:X are available, although you can listen to them as 7.1.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #10950 of 11893 Old 11-10-2016, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
PoshFrosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
I am thinking of getting a UHD bluray player (probably a UBD-K8500 or Xbox One S) and a OLED65B6P 4K TV but currently have a Denon x5200 which does not support HDCP 2.2. I'm interested in getting HDR and Atmos out of the setup.

I'm looking to avoid upgrading my AVR at this time. I've heard of this product you mentioned but and unclear about it's functionality. How exactly would/could the hdfury linker fit into my chain to help?

UHD Bluray Player -> HD Fury Linker -> x5200 -> 4K TV

Would that work? Thanks.

LG OLED65B6P | Samsung UBD 8500 | Denon X5200W | 7.2.4 (Energy RC speakers & Dual SVS PC12-NSDs) | PS4
Energy Speakers' specs spreadsheet.
PoshFrosh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
(X4100/X5200/X7200) , compatibility , denon avr x4100w , help a n00b , receiver advice , remote , X4100 , X4100W , X5200W

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off