The **OFFICIAL** Marantz AV7702 Pre/Pro - Page 217 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2865Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6481 of 6580 Old 08-25-2017, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
labman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I have a Marantz 7702 MKll what cable do I need to trigger 2 Audiocontrol amps When I turn the pre-pro on? Having a brain fart. Could you point me to a place I can purchase one?

Sent from my SM-T817T using Tapatalk
labman1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6482 of 6580 Old 08-26-2017, 01:45 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,272
Mentioned: 716 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22162 Post(s)
Liked: 12032
12v Trigger cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by labman1 View Post
I have a Marantz 7702 MKll what cable do I need to trigger 2 Audiocontrol amps When I turn the pre-pro on? Having a brain fart. Could you point me to a place I can purchase one?

Sent from my SM-T817T using Tapatalk
You need to use a "mono" cable ---> https://www.amazon.com/3-5mm-Mono-Ma...rum-convert-20
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6483 of 6580 Old 08-29-2017, 06:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lagos, Nigeria
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 112
i just recently changed processors and i'm now using the AV7702 in a 2.1.2 arrangement.

I noticed while watching a show yesterday that when the processor is on Dolby surround only my L,R & SW speakers where activated. The Top Front speakers were inactive, I assumed DSU would send sound to the TF speakers.

Please what am i doing wrongly ?

thanks

Theater:JVC RS440, Elite 120". 7.1.4:RTi8, CSi5, FXiA4, RTiA3, 620-RT(4) & SVS PB12-NSD. Denon X4300H, UPA-700, Crown XLS1502 & XLS1000(2). Sony UBP-X800, Panasonic DP-UB424, Shield & ATV 4K. Lounge:Vizio M70-D3, Benq HT1075, & Elite 106". 7.1.4:RTi12, CSi5, RTiA1, TSx110, MC60(4), & RBH I-12. Marantz AV7702, Crown XLS1500, XLS1000(2) & Amp 100v2(2). Samsung UBD-K8500, LG BP440, Shield & ATV
shyyour is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6484 of 6580 Old 08-29-2017, 07:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,272
Mentioned: 716 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22162 Post(s)
Liked: 12032
Quote:
Originally Posted by shyyour View Post
i just recently changed processors and i'm now using the AV7702 in a 2.1.2 arrangement.

I noticed while watching a show yesterday that when the processor is on Dolby surround only my L,R & SW speakers where activated. The Top Front speakers were inactive, I assumed DSU would send sound to the TF speakers.

Please what am i doing wrongly ?

thanks
If you ran Audyssey again to properly configure the speakers, then the 2.1.2 configuration should work just fine with Dolby Surround.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6485 of 6580 Old 08-29-2017, 08:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lagos, Nigeria
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you ran Audyssey again to properly configure the speakers, then the 2.1.2 configuration should work just fine with Dolby Surround.
i did run audyssey again. I setup the speakers as top forward and did 3 speaker tests. Once i get home i can take a screenshot. I was baffled as well

Theater:JVC RS440, Elite 120". 7.1.4:RTi8, CSi5, FXiA4, RTiA3, 620-RT(4) & SVS PB12-NSD. Denon X4300H, UPA-700, Crown XLS1502 & XLS1000(2). Sony UBP-X800, Panasonic DP-UB424, Shield & ATV 4K. Lounge:Vizio M70-D3, Benq HT1075, & Elite 106". 7.1.4:RTi12, CSi5, RTiA1, TSx110, MC60(4), & RBH I-12. Marantz AV7702, Crown XLS1500, XLS1000(2) & Amp 100v2(2). Samsung UBD-K8500, LG BP440, Shield & ATV
shyyour is offline  
post #6486 of 6580 Old 08-29-2017, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lagos, Nigeria
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 112
I attached screenshots of my audyssey setup, i dont know why my TF speakers are greyed out. @jdsmoothie please help
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20170829_200027_Easy-Resize.com.jpg (483.5 KB, 60 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20170829_200101_Easy-Resize.com.jpg (429.5 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20170829_200129_Easy-Resize.com.jpg (454.3 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20170829_200155_Easy-Resize.com.jpg (446.0 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20170829_200310_Easy-Resize.com.jpg (486.4 KB, 16 views)

Theater:JVC RS440, Elite 120". 7.1.4:RTi8, CSi5, FXiA4, RTiA3, 620-RT(4) & SVS PB12-NSD. Denon X4300H, UPA-700, Crown XLS1502 & XLS1000(2). Sony UBP-X800, Panasonic DP-UB424, Shield & ATV 4K. Lounge:Vizio M70-D3, Benq HT1075, & Elite 106". 7.1.4:RTi12, CSi5, RTiA1, TSx110, MC60(4), & RBH I-12. Marantz AV7702, Crown XLS1500, XLS1000(2) & Amp 100v2(2). Samsung UBD-K8500, LG BP440, Shield & ATV
shyyour is offline  
post #6487 of 6580 Old 08-30-2017, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lagos, Nigeria
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Sorted it out, i re-ran audyssey again, set the height speakers as front heights and it still didn't work (modemovie was already DSU). I then tried mode music and selected DSU and the height speakers became active.

Dont know why it worked, just happy it did.

Theater:JVC RS440, Elite 120". 7.1.4:RTi8, CSi5, FXiA4, RTiA3, 620-RT(4) & SVS PB12-NSD. Denon X4300H, UPA-700, Crown XLS1502 & XLS1000(2). Sony UBP-X800, Panasonic DP-UB424, Shield & ATV 4K. Lounge:Vizio M70-D3, Benq HT1075, & Elite 106". 7.1.4:RTi12, CSi5, RTiA1, TSx110, MC60(4), & RBH I-12. Marantz AV7702, Crown XLS1500, XLS1000(2) & Amp 100v2(2). Samsung UBD-K8500, LG BP440, Shield & ATV
shyyour is offline  
post #6488 of 6580 Old 09-07-2017, 04:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Are you in front of the pre/pro when trying to pair your phone via Bluetooth? Otherwise try doing a soft reset of the pre/pro (ie. power off and unplug power cord for 10 minutes) as well as reboot your phone.
So gave this a shot and still no luck. I am right in front of the unit. Weird. Just won't show up on my iPhone. Any ideas??? I haven't done an update for a while, any chance that could help?? revert back to original configuration???
praff is offline  
post #6489 of 6580 Old 09-07-2017, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,272
Mentioned: 716 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22162 Post(s)
Liked: 12032
Quote:
Originally Posted by praff View Post
So gave this a shot and still no luck. I am right in front of the unit. Weird. Just won't show up on my iPhone. Any ideas??? I haven't done an update for a while, any chance that could help?? revert back to original configuration???
Do you have the Wifi/Bluetooth antennas connected? Try using another phone if one is available.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6490 of 6580 Old 10-16-2017, 08:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Titan319's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: St Paul, Mn
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Marantz October Firmware Update!

Does any one know what this update is for ? Besides the obvious in which it states (To improve stability and operation). Marantz doesn't support their older models when a new model comes out something is amiss.
fgsouza likes this.

Sony Z9D / Marantz AV 7702 / Outlaw 7220 / Polk LSIM 705 / Polk LSIM 706C / Polk 702 FX / GoldenEar XXL / PS4 Pro / Oppo-203 /

Last edited by Titan319; 10-17-2017 at 01:04 AM.
Titan319 is offline  
post #6491 of 6580 Old 10-17-2017, 05:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,272
Mentioned: 716 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22162 Post(s)
Liked: 12032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Titan319 View Post
Does any one know what this update is for ? Besides the obvious in which it states (To improve stability and operation). Marantz doesn't support their older models when a new model comes out something is amiss.
Likely the same update released to the upper level 2014 Denon models:

- When playing the DSD file from USB drive between 0:59-1:07 minute marks several clicking sounds can be hear that are not part of the track. When playing the same file on the computer (software converted to PCM) or via Blu-Ray player (PCM over HDMI)
- Spotify does not play Songs from the cue.
- Impossible to play WAV file in the HAP-Z1ES (SONY Audio Player) at the network function.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6492 of 6580 Old 10-18-2017, 12:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Titan319's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: St Paul, Mn
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Likely the same update released to the upper level 2014 Denon models:

- When playing the DSD file from USB drive between 0:59-1:07 minute marks several clicking sounds can be hear that are not part of the track. When playing the same file on the computer (software converted to PCM) or via Blu-Ray player (PCM over HDMI)
- Spotify does not play Songs from the cue.
- Impossible to play WAV file in the HAP-Z1ES (SONY Audio Player) at the network function.
Yeah i didn't think it would be anything special go figure.

Sony Z9D / Marantz AV 7702 / Outlaw 7220 / Polk LSIM 705 / Polk LSIM 706C / Polk 702 FX / GoldenEar XXL / PS4 Pro / Oppo-203 /
Titan319 is offline  
post #6493 of 6580 Old 10-20-2017, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
MGBPUFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Just had a long update on my Marantz 7702. Does anyone know what was changed. All DSPs were updated. Never saw this before!
fgsouza likes this.
MGBPUFF is offline  
post #6494 of 6580 Old 10-20-2017, 10:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lagos, Nigeria
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGBPUFF View Post
Just had a long update on my Marantz 7702. Does anyone know what was changed. All DSPs were updated. Never saw this before!
Eh

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Likely the same update released to the upper level 2014 Denon models:

- When playing the DSD file from USB drive between 0:59-1:07 minute marks several clicking sounds can be hear that are not part of the track. When playing the same file on the computer (software converted to PCM) or via Blu-Ray player (PCM over HDMI)
- Spotify does not play Songs from the cue.
- Impossible to play WAV file in the HAP-Z1ES (SONY Audio Player) at the network function.
fgsouza likes this.

Theater:JVC RS440, Elite 120". 7.1.4:RTi8, CSi5, FXiA4, RTiA3, 620-RT(4) & SVS PB12-NSD. Denon X4300H, UPA-700, Crown XLS1502 & XLS1000(2). Sony UBP-X800, Panasonic DP-UB424, Shield & ATV 4K. Lounge:Vizio M70-D3, Benq HT1075, & Elite 106". 7.1.4:RTi12, CSi5, RTiA1, TSx110, MC60(4), & RBH I-12. Marantz AV7702, Crown XLS1500, XLS1000(2) & Amp 100v2(2). Samsung UBD-K8500, LG BP440, Shield & ATV
shyyour is offline  
post #6495 of 6580 Old 10-20-2017, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
MGBPUFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Obviously, I was looking for a definitive answer instead of a ‘likely’ answer. Don’t worry, I won’t post here again.
MGBPUFF is offline  
post #6496 of 6580 Old 10-20-2017, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,272
Mentioned: 716 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22162 Post(s)
Liked: 12032
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGBPUFF View Post
Obviously, I was looking for a definitive answer instead of a ‘likely’ answer. Don’t worry, I won’t post here again.
As I'm the guy who posts the Denon and Marantz firmware change logs when available ... important to note that my "likely" is 99% certain.
fgsouza and wasima like this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6497 of 6580 Old 10-28-2017, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
digitlman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cocoa FL
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So I have finally upgraded to UHD playback and Display and have now discovered that my AV7702 is degrading the quality and not properly passing through my video as the literature suggested it would do when i purchased it. It claimed to support the latest hdmi with 4k UHD capabilities.

Is there any solution here or did i waste $1500 on this unit and need to buy a new one?

I'm using an Nvidia shield to play 4K UHD content. Is there any modification or upgrade to the 7702? or is there a workaround like possibly an hdmi splitter that could send the full quality video signal to my TV and still get my HD audio to my 7702?

thanks



(and MGBPUFF: Jdsmoothie is like a god around these forums and you can treat anything said as the gospel)
digitlman is offline  
post #6498 of 6580 Old 10-28-2017, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,272
Mentioned: 716 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22162 Post(s)
Liked: 12032
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitlman View Post
So I have finally upgraded to UHD playback and Display and have now discovered that my AV7702 is degrading the quality and not properly passing through my video as the literature suggested it would do when i purchased it. It claimed to support the latest hdmi with 4k UHD capabilities.

Is there any solution here or did i waste $1500 on this unit and need to buy a new one?

I'm using an Nvidia shield to play 4K UHD content. Is there any modification or upgrade to the 7702? or is there a workaround like possibly an hdmi splitter that could send the full quality video signal to my TV and still get my HD audio to my 7702?

thanks

(and MGBPUFF: Jdsmoothie is like a god around these forums and you can treat anything said as the gospel)


Unfortunately, only the 2015 and newer models (AV7702 is a 2014 model) can pass 4k/HDCP 2.2 video without using something like the HD Fury Integral.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6499 of 6580 Old 10-28-2017, 01:38 PM
Senior Member
 
digitlman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cocoa FL
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Interesting, I will look into it. HDCP isnt my issue, it is the bt.2020 colorspace in the videos that isnt passing through the av7702. My tv only detects 709 colorspace through the av7702 and my awesome 4k video looks terrible with completely washed out colors. If i bypass the marantz and plug my shield into my ty set then it comes up as hdr bt.2020 and looks jawdrop amazing.

Would this hd fury device allow me to get my full quality video on my tv and full HD audio on my marantz 7702?

It would certainly be cheaper than $2199 for an AV7704
digitlman is offline  
post #6500 of 6580 Old 10-28-2017, 02:11 PM
Senior Member
 
digitlman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cocoa FL
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
On a separate note i have another issue since i had to sell my house and move and lost my amazing atmos theater i spent years creating and had finally finished

Now i just have a tv setup and my 7702 running a basic 3.1 system now. however once i set it up i now get a terrible POP sound out of my speakers when i turn it on.

basically after you turn on the 7702, about 3-4 seconds later it makes an internal click sound inside and now when this happens i get a very loud dangerous sounding pop from my mains. It also does the same sound immediately when i turn it off.

I had to unplug my trigger cable and now have to turn on my 7702, wait for 5 seconds, then turn on my krell amp. when i'm done i have to turn off my krell and then turn off the receiver.

This never happened with my atmos setup. I think it has to do with the internal switching for the surround speakers that are able to be assigned differently. I remember when I would do my speaker tests i heard it make that sound when it is about to do a pair of the atmos top speakers iirc. i have a different amp connected to my center and it doesn't have this issue.

Anyone heard of this or know how to workaround it? I really would like to hookup my 12v trigger again so i dont have to manually turn on and off my amp.

thanks
digitlman is offline  
post #6501 of 6580 Old 10-29-2017, 11:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gotchaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am having an odd issue. My right front channel level and left from channel are completely out of wack (running all 11.2 channels with 2 amps). I had to boost the right to +8.0 dB to get the same level matching of right to left fronts. I tested in pure direct mode. I also swapped cables, as well as speakers and it is consistent that the left channel is louder. I even swapped the pre-amp cables for left and right to see if it had something to do with the amp, but no luck. This is the oddest problem I have had to date and only noticed it after the latest firmware update. Something is up, anyone else see this issue or have ideas?
Gotchaa is offline  
post #6502 of 6580 Old 11-26-2017, 08:43 PM
Newbie
 
investor0908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Guys I am upgrading my home audio equiptment (I am defenitly new at this and wanting to learn more) . I am debating between the marantz sr8012 and av7703. I do understand one is a seperate (preamp) and the other a receiver, but from the looks of it they do exactly the same thing without the am/fm tuner. I am trying to get to 11.2 surround sound, atmos and the auro 3d upgrade. with the av7703 can i just hook up my xbox,ps4, my projector and speakers and it work or do i need to buy another piece of equiptment to make this work. Again the answer may be obvious but I am new at this thankyou.
investor0908 is offline  
post #6503 of 6580 Old 11-26-2017, 09:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1219 Post(s)
Liked: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by investor0908 View Post
Hello Guys I am upgrading my home audio equiptment (I am defenitly new at this and wanting to learn more) . I am debating between the marantz sr8012 and av7703. I do understand one is a seperate (preamp) and the other a receiver, but from the looks of it they do exactly the same thing without the am/fm tuner. I am trying to get to 11.2 surround sound, atmos and the auro 3d upgrade. with the av7703 can i just hook up my xbox,ps4, my projector and speakers and it work or do i need to buy another piece of equiptment to make this work. Again the answer may be obvious but I am new at this thankyou.
You need an amp channel for however many speakers you will use with the 7703, the 7012 has 9 built in amps so you’ll only need 2 more channels of amplification to do 7.1.4 or 11.2

Last edited by laserjock II; 11-26-2017 at 09:07 PM.
laserjock II is offline  
post #6504 of 6580 Old 11-26-2017, 09:24 PM
Newbie
 
investor0908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
You need an amp channel for however many speakers you will use with the 7703, the 7012 has 9 built in amps so you’ll only need 2 more channels of amplification to do 7.1.4 or 11.2
Ok thanks for the response.. for the 7703 I am wanting to do 11.2 what would you recommend as a good amp channel that can handle this? Also do you think the sound quality is worth the extra step vs just getting the 8012 which is already an 11.2?
investor0908 is offline  
post #6505 of 6580 Old 11-26-2017, 10:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1219 Post(s)
Liked: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by investor0908 View Post
Ok thanks for the response.. for the 7703 I am wanting to do 11.2 what would you recommend as a good amp channel that can handle this? Also do you think the sound quality is worth the extra step vs just getting the 8012 which is already an 11.2?
There is no 8012, I assume you mean SR7012?

What speakers if any do you have and what is your budget?
You will probably get a better response in the AV7703 thread or the SR7012 thread.
laserjock II is offline  
post #6506 of 6580 Old 11-27-2017, 04:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,272
Mentioned: 716 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22162 Post(s)
Liked: 12032
Quote:
Originally Posted by investor0908 View Post
Hello Guys I am upgrading my home audio equiptment (I am defenitly new at this and wanting to learn more) . I am debating between the marantz sr8012 and av7703. I do understand one is a seperate (preamp) and the other a receiver, but from the looks of it they do exactly the same thing without the am/fm tuner. I am trying to get to 11.2 surround sound, atmos and the auro 3d upgrade. with the av7703 can i just hook up my xbox,ps4, my projector and speakers and it work or do i need to buy another piece of equiptment to make this work. Again the answer may be obvious but I am new at this thankyou.
The 2016 AV7703 requires a $199USD payment to upgrade to Auro 3D while the newer 2017 AV7704 and SR8012 both include it from the factory.

Also note this is the 2015 AV7702 Owner's thread. Please refer to additional questions in the correct Owner's threads linked below:

AV7703 ----> https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...03-thread.html

SR8012 ---> https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...-s-thread.html
fgsouza likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6507 of 6580 Old 11-27-2017, 04:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,272
Mentioned: 716 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22162 Post(s)
Liked: 12032
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
There is no 8012, I assume you mean SR7012?

What speakers if any do you have and what is your budget?
You will probably get a better response in the AV7703 thread or the SR7012 thread.
Marantz is releasing the new SR8012 today.

http://www.us.marantz.com/us/Product...oductId=SR8012
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6508 of 6580 Old 11-27-2017, 06:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1219 Post(s)
Liked: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Marantz is releasing the new SR8012 today.

http://www.us.marantz.com/us/Product...oductId=SR8012
@investor0908

There you go..
laserjock II is offline  
post #6509 of 6580 Old 12-09-2017, 05:54 AM
316
AVS Forum Special Member
 
316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 1,538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Guys,

Is "loudness management" the same as "loudness" on a typical receiver? I know it defaults to "on" through audyssey.

BTW, I completed my atmos in wall ceiling setup (7702MKII) and watched a movie for the first time last night and I must say that I was going back and forth between atmos or auro 3d, primarily because of the "voice of god" channel in auro 3D but in the movie "Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets" when Alexa (lol) was talking I was immediately satisfied with Atmos. Sounded like a voice of god channel to me
316 is offline  
post #6510 of 6580 Old 12-09-2017, 09:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2846
Quote:
Originally Posted by 316 View Post
Guys,

Is "loudness management" the same as "loudness" on a typical receiver? I know it defaults to "on" through audyssey.
Unfortunately, no. It means something different in D&M equipment.

The "Loudness" adjustment in some older receivers that I think you're referring to adjusts the boost given to the lowest and highest frequencies so that tonal qualities are maintained when you adjust the volume level. This is to compensate for our hearing's non-linear sensitivity to those frequencies.

"Loudness Management" in D&M equipment enables or disables the Dolby features "Dialog Normalization" and "Dynamic Compression". That capability doesn't seem to be available in other brands.

In D&M equipment, the Audyssey feature "Dynamic Eq" corresponds to the "Loudness" feature of some other brands.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
AV7702

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off