The **OFFICIAL** Marantz AV7702 Pre/Pro - Page 219 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2867Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6541 of 6590 Old 12-04-2018, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,796
Mentioned: 823 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24170 Post(s)
Liked: 13362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emaych View Post
Thank you so much for your help -- I'm sorry to be so dense, but are we talking one HDMI cable or two? I am using just one -- it runs from the HDMI port on the TV, labeled ARC, directly into the middle MONITOR 1/ARC port on the AVP, which you have depicted above. I pressed the button on the AVP remote, labeled TV SOUND, got nothing. So when you refer to the " AVP's ARC (output)", are you referring to the MONITOR/ARC port depicted above, or is this separate -- requiring two cables? i think I have it hooked up as you may be suggesting, but get no register of the TV sound on the AVP unit. Thank you for your help!
One cable. The video goes out this cable to the TV and the ARC audio returns from the TV to the AVR over this same cable. However, it often does not work as it should and in that instance an optical cable from the TV to the AVR must be used. At the very least HDMI-CEC (eg. Anynet+, BraviaSync, etc.) must be enabled on the TV as well as the TV's audio set to "external speakers" or "home theater."
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6542 of 6590 Old 01-16-2019, 09:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Titan319's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: St Paul, Mn
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 289
7702 Firmware Update

I can't find any info but i did a firmware update yesterday and now i have another pop up for anther firmware update. Does anyone know what this update does?

Sony Z9D / Marantz AV 7702 / Outlaw 7220 / Polk LSIM 705 / Polk LSIM 706C / Polk 702 FX / Dual SVS PB4000's / PS4 Pro / Oppo-203 /
Titan319 is offline  
post #6543 of 6590 Old 01-17-2019, 01:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,796
Mentioned: 823 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24170 Post(s)
Liked: 13362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Titan319 View Post
I can't find any info but i did a firmware update yesterday and now i have another pop up for anther firmware update. Does anyone know what this update does?
Early release of the Pandora logon fix.

https://marantz.custhelp.com/app/ans...ue---sept-2018
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6544 of 6590 Old 01-17-2019, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Titan319's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: St Paul, Mn
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Early release of the Pandora logon fix.

https://marantz.custhelp.com/app/ans...ue---sept-2018
Thanks for the info JD.

Sony Z9D / Marantz AV 7702 / Outlaw 7220 / Polk LSIM 705 / Polk LSIM 706C / Polk 702 FX / Dual SVS PB4000's / PS4 Pro / Oppo-203 /
Titan319 is offline  
post #6545 of 6590 Old 01-24-2019, 04:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
JamesE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I have a 7702 and just got in a Panasonic 820. ATMOS is not coming into the receiver. Has anyone else experienced this or know what is going on?
JamesE is offline  
post #6546 of 6590 Old 01-24-2019, 11:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,796
Mentioned: 823 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24170 Post(s)
Liked: 13362
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesE View Post
I have a 7702 and just got in a Panasonic 820. ATMOS is not coming into the receiver. Has anyone else experienced this or know what is going on?
Ensure the disc you are playing has the Atmos audio track selected. Also that the 820 is set to "bitstream" with Secondary Audio disabled.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6547 of 6590 Old 01-25-2019, 06:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,842
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4819 Post(s)
Liked: 2865
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesE View Post
I have a 7702 and just got in a Panasonic 820. ATMOS is not coming into the receiver. Has anyone else experienced this or know what is going on?
Two other things to check:
1. Make sure you have both enabled Bitstream and disabled "Secondary Audio Mix" in the disc player.
2. Verify that you're watching the correct disc.

When 1080p BD and 4K UHD BD discs are provided in the same package, people frequently accidentally play the wrong disc. Atmos often is available only on the UHD disc and not on the 1080p disc.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #6548 of 6590 Old 01-25-2019, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by GekkoSoze View Post
You are right. I tested out with a splitter and it'll only output 1080p signlas because my AV7702 is not hdcp 2.2 compliant. It's either buying a new receiver or an UHD player with two HDMI outs for me now.


Hi gang.

I’m a 7005 owner and possibly looking for a good deal on a 7702 ver1. Here’s my question... probably answered before, went back a few pages couldn’t find anything...

Will one of the HDFury devices in the signal chain make this HDCP2.2 capable with a display device (JVC RS400)? I guess this won’t pass HDR is what I’m reading as well. Is that a bandwidth issue or metadata issue? That being the case will an HDFury device help there as well?

Worst case scenario I keep running my UB820 audio on HDMI2 through the 7702 and use a used HDFury to split off the audio through an HDMI 1.4 from my AppleTV 4K (other video HDMi 4K HDCP 2.2 output to the JVC). At least I step up to Atmos/DTS:X from 7.2

Otherwise I’ll just search for a MK2.

I don’t see much in the way of real meat and potatoes robust improvement from the 7702MK2 to the 7705.

Thx all.

If you have a 7702 good condition less than 700 let me know.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
FOHTech is offline  
post #6549 of 6590 Old 01-25-2019, 07:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,796
Mentioned: 823 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24170 Post(s)
Liked: 13362
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOHTech View Post
Hi gang.

I’m a 7005 owner and possibly looking for a good deal on a 7702 ver1. Here’s my question... probably answered before, went back a few pages couldn’t find anything...

Will one of the HDFury devices in the signal chain make this HDCP2.2 capable with a display device (JVC RS400)? I guess this won’t pass HDR is what I’m reading as well. Is that a bandwidth issue or metadata issue? That being the case will an HDFury device help there as well?

Worst case scenario I keep running my UB820 audio on HDMI2 through the 7702 and use a used HDFury to split off the audio through an HDMI 1.4 from my AppleTV 4K (other video HDMi 4K HDCP 2.2 output to the JVC). At least I step up to Atmos/DTS:X from 7.2

Otherwise I’ll just search for a MK2.

I don’t see much in the way of real meat and potatoes robust improvement from the 7702MK2 to the 7705.

Thx all.

If you have a 7702 good condition less than 700 let me know.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
The AV7702 is not HDCP 2.2, therefore is unable to pass an HDR signal which requires HDMI 2.0a; however, using one of the HD Fury products, you would be able to pass a 4k video signal to it.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6550 of 6590 Old 01-25-2019, 07:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The AV7702 is not HDCP 2.2, therefore is unable to pass an HDR signal which requires HDMI 2.0a; however, using one of the HD Fury products, you would be able to pass a 4k video signal to it.


Thank you. So just for my clarification, what HDMI version is this? (Not 2.0a), however with the HDFury product, I can send a 4K 60fps 4:4:4 signal through (18 Gbps bandwidth) that’s SDR, just not HDR. My Panasonic Ub820 is always putting out an SDR BT2020 signal, color mapped, so that would work, just my Apple TV 4K signal that has HDR signal.

I think splitting the audio out with an HDFury product for the Apple TV or Roku like the Panasonic does is probably a better option. That being said, the 250$ price on it, and a 1000$ price on a Mk2, the 7702 v1 would have to come in less than 700$ to make sense.

Thx again.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
FOHTech is offline  
post #6551 of 6590 Old 01-26-2019, 04:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,796
Mentioned: 823 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24170 Post(s)
Liked: 13362
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOHTech View Post
Thank you. So just for my clarification, what HDMI version is this? (Not 2.0a), however with the HDFury product, I can send a 4K 60fps 4:4:4 signal through (18 Gbps bandwidth) that’s SDR, just not HDR. My Panasonic Ub820 is always putting out an SDR BT2020 signal, color mapped, so that would work, just my Apple TV 4K signal that has HDR signal.

I think splitting the audio out with an HDFury product for the Apple TV or Roku like the Panasonic does is probably a better option. That being said, the 250$ price on it, and a 1000$ price on a Mk2, the 7702 v1 would have to come in less than 700$ to make sense.

Thx again.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
HDMI 1.4a
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6552 of 6590 Old 03-05-2019, 11:52 AM
Senior Member
 
mkiv808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I have a MK2.

Is there any reason for me to upgrade to a new prepro?

I don't care about Airplay and other streaming connectivity, on-screen display improvements, wireless speakers, etc.

All I care about is surround processing for a 7.2.4 system.
mkiv808 is offline  
post #6553 of 6590 Old 03-06-2019, 10:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,842
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4819 Post(s)
Liked: 2865
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkiv808 View Post
I have a MK2.

Is there any reason for me to upgrade to a new prepro?

I don't care about Airplay and other streaming connectivity, on-screen display improvements, wireless speakers, etc.

All I care about is surround processing for a 7.2.4 system.
Audio processing hasn't undergone any significant improvements since the MkII other than the addition of IMAX Enhanced. So far there are only two disc titles which have that type of soundtrack (and video). It's backward compatible with DTS:X.

Some of the higher-end models include Auro3D at no additional cost, but the expense of upgrading your hardware probably would be more than the cost of doing the Auro3D firmware upgrade.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #6554 of 6590 Old 03-06-2019, 10:53 AM
Senior Member
 
mkiv808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Audio processing hasn't undergone any significant improvements since the MkII other than the addition of IMAX Enhanced. So far there are only two disc titles which have that type of soundtrack (and video). It's backward compatible with DTS:X.



Some of the higher-end models include Auro3D at no additional cost, but the expense of upgrading your hardware probably would be more than the cost of doing the Auro3D firmware upgrade.
OK, that’s what I hoped.

It seems questionable whether Auro3D is worth it?

It’s also curious that there isn’t a paid IMAX upgrade as that’s just software based too.
mkiv808 is offline  
post #6555 of 6590 Old 03-06-2019, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,842
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4819 Post(s)
Liked: 2865
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkiv808 View Post
OK, that’s what I hoped.

It seems questionable whether Auro3D is worth it?
Some people like the way its upmixing sounds.
Quote:
It’s also curious that there isn’t a paid IMAX upgrade as that’s just software based too.
I suspect the restriction to 2018 models could be either that they want to have a feature to try to get people to buy new hardware or that there's a hardware limitation in older systems. There might not be enough room for the new code, for example.
mkiv808 likes this.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #6556 of 6590 Old 03-06-2019, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,291
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Apple TV and ATMOS

Anyone having problems getting a 4K ATMOS stream from an Apple TV movie to play over the 7702? ATMOS works great with everything except the Apple TV.
GPowers is offline  
post #6557 of 6590 Old 03-06-2019, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
jamesyates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I had the same problem. You need to turn on the instant start on Apple TV. If it is not on no atmos.
jamesyates is offline  
post #6558 of 6590 Old 04-13-2019, 09:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Hdcp 2.2

I have the AV7702. Apparently it does not have HDCP 2.2. I recently purchased a new 4K projector that requires HDCP 2.2. I saw the suggestion to run an HDMI cable directly to the projector and run a separate cable to the AV7702 for sound. Anyone else working around the hdcp 2.2 issue. I would like to play 4K UHD blu ray discs.

Thanks
Marcus
Desert Pilot is offline  
post #6559 of 6590 Old 04-13-2019, 06:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,796
Mentioned: 823 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24170 Post(s)
Liked: 13362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desert Pilot View Post
I have the AV7702. Apparently it does not have HDCP 2.2. I recently purchased a new 4K projector that requires HDCP 2.2. I saw the suggestion to run an HDMI cable directly to the projector and run a separate cable to the AV7702 for sound. Anyone else working around the hdcp 2.2 issue. I would like to play 4K UHD blu ray discs.

Thanks
Marcus
Correct. Only the 2015 (ie. AV7702MKII) and newer models can pass 4k/HDCP 2.2 video. You should be able to connect the source directly to the PJ with an audio only cable to the AVP. You may also want to consider using one of the HD Fury products (eg. HD Fury Key) which, when placed between the source and the AV7702, would allow passing the signal through the AV7702.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6560 of 6590 Old 04-13-2019, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct. Only the 2015 (ie. AV7702MKII) and newer models can pass 4k/HDCP 2.2 video. You should be able to connect the source directly to the PJ with an audio only cable to the AVP. You may also want to consider using one of the HD Fury products (eg. HD Fury Key) which, when placed between the source and the AV7702, would allow passing the signal through the AV7702.
JDSmoothie, thank you so much for providing a workaround. As I thought about it all day long, I decided to upgrade to the AV8805. Heck, I purchased the AV7702 5 years ago. Might as well upgrade. I also play a lot of SACD and downloaded multichannel surround music. From what I've ready, the 8805 seems to be a worthy upgrade.

Thanks again
Marcus
Desert Pilot is offline  
post #6561 of 6590 Old 04-14-2019, 03:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,796
Mentioned: 823 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24170 Post(s)
Liked: 13362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desert Pilot View Post
JDSmoothie, thank you so much for providing a workaround. As I thought about it all day long, I decided to upgrade to the AV8805. Heck, I purchased the AV7702 5 years ago. Might as well upgrade. I also play a lot of SACD and downloaded multichannel surround music. From what I've ready, the 8805 seems to be a worthy upgrade.

Thanks again
Marcus
Indeed! Not to mention the only current Marantz model that will be hardware upgradeable to HDMI 2.1.

See you in the AV8805 Owner's thread.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...al-thread.html
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6562 of 6590 Old 05-20-2019, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
jbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Problem with my Marantz AV7702mkii and Apple TV

Hi All,

I have a strange problem with my AV7702mkii and my Apple TV that I'm hoping to solve with your help...

Ok, so I have two things going into my AV7702mkii. An Apple TV HD, and a PS4 Pro - that's it. I have one HDMI cable going from my AV to my TV - yes, I'm using the ARC supported HDMI ports.

When I use ARC, to watch YouTube videos, for example, and I use the TV Audio input on the AV - all is fine. When I switch back to use my Apple TV - and switch back to the right input on the AV, I've lost audio for MOST everything on my Apple TV. Weirdly, I DO get audio using one app - my Channels app, using my HDHomerun Extend. That app sends audio to my AV! But when I navigate around on my Apple TV, I get no more Navigation Sounds, nothing when I stream something with Plex, etc...

I've tried most every setting I can think of on my Apple TV - I've played with all audio settings with no joy. I also have checked/tried all of the possible settings on my AV, but can't solve it there either...

Turning my AV7702mkii off, then back on SOLVES IT! Why?

New note: I called Marantz - they have no idea. They suggested a factory reset of the AV - did it. Didn't help.

Any ideas?

- Thanx
- Jon

Last edited by jbauer; 05-21-2019 at 06:16 AM.
jbauer is offline  
post #6563 of 6590 Old 05-22-2019, 04:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,796
Mentioned: 823 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24170 Post(s)
Liked: 13362
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbauer View Post
Hi All,

I have a strange problem with my AV7702mkii and my Apple TV that I'm hoping to solve with your help...

Ok, so I have two things going into my AV7702mkii. An Apple TV HD, and a PS4 Pro - that's it. I have one HDMI cable going from my AV to my TV - yes, I'm using the ARC supported HDMI ports.

When I use ARC, to watch YouTube videos, for example, and I use the TV Audio input on the AV - all is fine. When I switch back to use my Apple TV - and switch back to the right input on the AV, I've lost audio for MOST everything on my Apple TV. Weirdly, I DO get audio using one app - my Channels app, using my HDHomerun Extend. That app sends audio to my AV! But when I navigate around on my Apple TV, I get no more Navigation Sounds, nothing when I stream something with Plex, etc...

I've tried most every setting I can think of on my Apple TV - I've played with all audio settings with no joy. I also have checked/tried all of the possible settings on my AV, but can't solve it there either...

Turning my AV7702mkii off, then back on SOLVES IT! Why?

New note: I called Marantz - they have no idea. They suggested a factory reset of the AV - did it. Didn't help.

Any ideas?


- Thanx
- Jon
The issue is most likely the result of an HDMI Handshake issue which is quite common with AVRs/AVPs and which can often be mitigated by powering on the HDMI components in a specific order. Try powering on the TV, pause 5 seconds, AVP, pause 5 seconds, Apple TV. Then switch to the "TV Audio" source and back to the Apple TV.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6564 of 6590 Old 05-27-2019, 07:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 7
So I also have 7702 (from jd). It's been great!!


But I just upgraded to a sweet 4k hdr and wouldn't you know it, yep figured out it can't pass through HDR from my apple 4k.


So with two choices.


1. Keep it as is and have no HDR

OR

2. connect the apple tv 4k directly to the TV and have HDR, and connect the tv to the av receiver with an optical cable

So what is the big disadvantage to just using the optical for audio through the home theater?
macdizzle77 is offline  
post #6565 of 6590 Old 05-28-2019, 04:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,796
Mentioned: 823 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24170 Post(s)
Liked: 13362
Quote:
Originally Posted by macdizzle77 View Post
So I also have 7702 (from jd). It's been great!!


But I just upgraded to a sweet 4k hdr and wouldn't you know it, yep figured out it can't pass through HDR from my apple 4k.


So with two choices.


1. Keep it as is and have no HDR

OR

2. connect the apple tv 4k directly to the TV and have HDR, and connect the tv to the av receiver with an optical cable

So what is the big disadvantage to just using the optical for audio through the home theater?
Optical can only pass PCM 2.0 or DD/DTS 5.1, therefore, you are better served using HDMI(ARC) instead which (if it works correctly as it doesn't always) can also pass DD+ (Atmos) from Netflix.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6566 of 6590 Old 05-28-2019, 04:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Optical can only pass PCM 2.0 or DD/DTS 5.1, therefore, you are better served using HDMI(ARC) instead which (if it works correctly as it doesn't always) can also pass DD+ (Atmos) from Netflix.
The 7702 doesn't pass an HDR signal. or did I miss something
macdizzle77 is offline  
post #6567 of 6590 Old 05-29-2019, 06:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,796
Mentioned: 823 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24170 Post(s)
Liked: 13362
Quote:
Originally Posted by macdizzle77 View Post
The 7702 doesn't pass an HDR signal. or did I miss something
Correct. This feature was only first introduced with the 2015 models (ie. HDMI 2.0a).

You do of course have a few work arounds to include:

(a) Pass the source 4k/HDR video straight to the TV using either ARC/optical from the TV back to the AV7702
(b) Pass the source 4k/HDR video straight to the TV with optical from the source to the AV7702
(c) Use a third party device between the source and AV7702 (eg. https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_...SABEgKkQ_D_BwE)

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 05-29-2019 at 06:55 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6568 of 6590 Old 05-29-2019, 07:06 AM
Senior Member
 
jbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct. This feature was only first introduced with the 2015 models (ie. HDMI 2.0a).

You do of course have a few work arounds to include:

(a) Pass the source 4k/HDR video straight to the TV using either ARC/optical from the TV back to the AV7702
(b) Pass the source 4k/HDR video straight to the TV with optical from the source to the AV7702
(c) Use a third party device between the source and AV7702 (eg. https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_...SABEgKkQ_D_BwE)
I'm confused. I have an AV7702mkII, my Apple TV HD is plugged into my AV, my AV to my TV, and I get HDR with no problem... What are y'all saying doesn't work?

- Jon
jbauer is offline  
post #6569 of 6590 Old 05-29-2019, 10:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,796
Mentioned: 823 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24170 Post(s)
Liked: 13362
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbauer View Post
I'm confused. I have an AV7702mkII, my Apple TV HD is plugged into my AV, my AV to my TV, and I get HDR with no problem... What are y'all saying doesn't work?

- Jon
The AV7702 is a 2014 HDMI 1.4 model which is discussed in this thread.

The AV7702MKII is a 2015 HDMI 2.0a model discussed in the following thread --> https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...-s-thread.html
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6570 of 6590 Old 05-29-2019, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
jbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The AV7702 is a 2014 HDMI 1.4 model which is discussed in this thread.

The AV7702MKII is a 2015 HDMI 2.0a model discussed in the following thread --> https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...-s-thread.html
Ah gotya. Ok. thanks!

- Jon
jbauer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
AV7702

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off