Marantz SR7008 flashing red light - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By jdsmoothie
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 09-25-2014, 01:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrisdemello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Marantz SR7008 flashing red light

It was working fine yesterday but now it refuses to switch on for more than 5 seconds. It automatically shuts off with a blinking red, power light. I tried to do factory reset but it didn't work. The same thing happened 2 months ago and they have the whole HDMI board replaced. I am not sure why it happened again as the amp if well-ventilated and shouldn't show any signs of overheating. Any inputs?

Update:
1) Tried dismantling all cables... didn't work
2) Tried to do a factory reset again by unplugging the main power cord... didn't work
3) Tried to do a factory reset again by pressing 2 buttons as indicated in the manual... didn't work
4) Tried a different power source... didn't work

Last edited by chrisdemello; 09-25-2014 at 02:36 AM.
chrisdemello is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 09-25-2014, 04:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrisdemello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Saw a message at Amazon that one guy is experiencing the same problem after the firmware update. I did the firmware update but that was months ago. Is this the culprit? Is there a way to roll back to the old, factory firmware settings?
chrisdemello is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 09-25-2014, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,599
Mentioned: 758 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22908 Post(s)
Liked: 12532
^^
Fast blinking light (2/sec) generally means loose speaker wire touching another post, playing 4-ohm speakers too loud, or amp failure.

Slow blinking light (1/2 sec) generally means a ventilation issue.

Disconnect all wires from the unit. If it still powers off when connected directly to a wall outlet (ie. not going through a UPS or switch) then it will likely have to go back for repair as no way to "roll back" the firmware.
chrisdemello likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 09-25-2014, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrisdemello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Fast blinking light (2/sec) generally means loose speaker wire touching another post, playing 4-ohm speakers too loud, or amp failure.

Slow blinking light (1/2 sec) generally means a ventilation issue.

Disconnect all wires from the unit. If it still powers off when connected directly to a wall outlet (ie. not going through a UPS or switch) then it will likely have to go back for repair as no way to "roll back" the firmware.
Thanks for the tip. Mine blinks around 1 per sec and i am 90% sure that ventilation is not an issue. Since i've returned once just less than 2 mths, the marantz has plenty of upper 10inches and back space of at least 5inches. I am also using a USB fan to aid the airflow.

Problem is how i can be sure this won't happen again in the future even after they repaired it. I am not sure if the HDMI board is the problem to start with.
chrisdemello is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 09-25-2014, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,599
Mentioned: 758 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22908 Post(s)
Liked: 12532
^^
Like I said, if you disconnect everything and it still shuts down, it needs to go back for repair.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 09-25-2014, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrisdemello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Like I said, if you disconnect everything and it still shuts down, it needs to go back for repair.
Yep, that's what I did. Disconnected everything and waited for a few hours yesterday. Still the same problem happens. Very disappointed with this set. I am not sure if it's due to the firmware upgrade or just pure bad luck.
chrisdemello is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-06-2015, 01:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Same story! After firmware update everything has spoiled!
Balio Dinev is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 10-19-2019, 04:28 AM
Member
 
Frank123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdemello View Post
Yep, that's what I did. Disconnected everything and waited for a few hours yesterday. Still the same problem happens. Very disappointed with this set. I am not sure if it's due to the firmware upgrade or just pure bad luck.
Did you ever find out the source of the problem? My 7008 did the same thing.

Marantz SR-7008, Crown 1502, Pioneer DV-578A, Technics SL-DD2, Polk Monitor 70's, RTi-A5’s, CSi-A4, PSW110, Panamax Max 4310.
Frank123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off