**miniDSP DDRC-88A Official Thread**8-channel AI/AO Dirac Live in a box - Page 399 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3907Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11941 of 16788 Old 11-07-2016, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
dryeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Exclamation DDRC-88-BM_v1_4.zip

Well I updated both my 88A's today and all seemed fine until I noticed all the slots were empty. That never happened before. No problem I'll just reload the saved projects and drop them in the slots. Nope. The utility can't see the saved files even though I see them. Weird. So I say fine. New software new firmware so I'll run a new calibration session.

I chose custom 8 ch project and loaded the mic cal file. I ran the first sound sweep and things looked great. On the next sweep in spot #2 that's when I got the pop up window like Carp did "Play stimulus failed. Check playback device for problems". I checked everything but can find no reason why it won't hear the sweeps through the Umik-1. The stimulus plays through the speakers and REW hears the Umik-1 fine. A mystery at this point. So as of now I have 2 88A's effectively in bypass mode . I have passed the info along to minidsp support but for now I'd stay away from this update. fwiw.. windows 7 laptop and no prior issues with any minidsp plugin

Last edited by dryeye; 11-07-2016 at 03:00 PM. Reason: added warning icon
dryeye is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11942 of 16788 Old 11-07-2016, 03:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 10,124
Mentioned: 686 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3545 Post(s)
Liked: 3290
If it's a problem with the update then it's bitter sweet for me. At least the buzzing/no audio in the right channel is fixed, and that's the bigger problem.

I won't have a chance to try to take measurements again for a few days, so I'll probably have the new USB cord by then. By the way, I use windows 7 and also use a USB hub. I'll try the new cord plugged directly into the computer.
carp is offline  
post #11943 of 16788 Old 11-07-2016, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
dryeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 95
I have no doubt the active usb extender will help in many ways. I also use mine with my light meters and CalMan/Chromapure. My laptop is dedicated to the theater room and that extender with the UMIK-1 is always plugged into a dedicated usb 2.0 port. All other usb go through a powered hub. Never have any issues with the Lumagen or the 88A's or reading other devices through serial to usb adapters. I'm sure they screwed up something somewhere with this release and will track it down soon.
dryeye is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11944 of 16788 Old 11-07-2016, 04:11 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,852
Mentioned: 389 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11296 Post(s)
Liked: 6703
Now that we have several reports, I'll try running a quick calibration later this evening or tomorrow morning and report back as to whether I have the same issue.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #11945 of 16788 Old 11-07-2016, 04:20 PM
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,470
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 993 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by dryeye View Post
Well I updated both my 88A's today and all seemed fine until I noticed all the slots were empty. That never happened before. No problem I'll just reload the saved projects and drop them in the slots. Nope. The utility can't see the saved files even though I see them. Weird. So I say fine. New software new firmware so I'll run a new calibration session.

I chose custom 8 ch project and loaded the mic cal file. I ran the first sound sweep and things looked great. On the next sweep in spot #2 that's when I got the pop up window like Carp did "Play stimulus failed. Check playback device for problems". I checked everything but can find no reason why it won't hear the sweeps through the Umik-1. The stimulus plays through the speakers and REW hears the Umik-1 fine. A mystery at this point. So as of now I have 2 88A's effectively in bypass mode . I have passed the info along to minidsp support but for now I'd stay away from this update. fwiw.. windows 7 laptop and no prior issues with any minidsp plugin
I am glad I decided to wait before updating the firmware.
KevinG likes this.
ellisr63 is offline  
post #11946 of 16788 Old 11-07-2016, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
dryeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Now that we have several reports, I'll try running a quick calibration later this evening or tomorrow morning and report back as to whether I have the same issue.
Thanks Jerry. Are you seeing a check and the name UMIK-1 in the mic setup window? Mine just says microphone and that makes me think it's not connected to the Dirac Calibration program. I cannot get it to check and say UMIK-1 in that box.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	unchecked umik-1.png
Views:	28
Size:	115.4 KB
ID:	1759089  
dryeye is offline  
post #11947 of 16788 Old 11-07-2016, 06:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ceh383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Acton, CA
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 531 Post(s)
Liked: 3329
If I'm not mistaken, AustinJerry is using the BM upgrade...
Carp, dryeye, are you using the BM upgrade or are you still using the A?
Could this be a bug that only shows up with the 88A?

Yamaha RX-A2060 | Outlaw M-2200 (x5) | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony CDP-CE500 | Dish VIP622
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST : CS-8060HD : PM-1000 | Amber In-ceiling | SVS PC12 Plus | PSA S1500
Sharp LC-70C6400U | miniDSP DDRC-88BM | Belkin PureAV (x2)
ceh383 is offline  
post #11948 of 16788 Old 11-07-2016, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
dryeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Basic A version here. What's strange is I do see the software meter register a level change when I speak into the Umik-1 before I run the sweeps as a sort of mic test. It's only immediately after I begin the 1st position sweep that the error message pops up. The sound sweeps do play from the speakers. I hope they fix this fast or at least find a way for me to revert back to some previous working version. I'm not sure that's even possible post firmware update.
dryeye is offline  
post #11949 of 16788 Old 11-07-2016, 08:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 10,124
Mentioned: 686 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3545 Post(s)
Liked: 3290
BM upgrade.
carp is offline  
post #11950 of 16788 Old 11-07-2016, 08:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ceh383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Acton, CA
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 531 Post(s)
Liked: 3329
Well, that seems to throw that thought out the window.

Yamaha RX-A2060 | Outlaw M-2200 (x5) | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony CDP-CE500 | Dish VIP622
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST : CS-8060HD : PM-1000 | Amber In-ceiling | SVS PC12 Plus | PSA S1500
Sharp LC-70C6400U | miniDSP DDRC-88BM | Belkin PureAV (x2)
ceh383 is offline  
post #11951 of 16788 Old 11-07-2016, 08:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,771
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3771 Post(s)
Liked: 3380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon_Labe View Post
I tired of the constant fiddling required by the 88a and random bugs. When its working its great, but I had too many issues that are verifiable by other users. This is not indicative of user errors but buggy firmware and software.
Yep. But they're more than willing to try and fix the bugs if you're willing to find them .
Gooddoc is offline  
post #11952 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 05:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jpco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 2,774
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 303
I upgraded to BM but have not installed it yet. Running older firmware with no issues. Is it safe to install BM and do updates? Is it working for most/any users? Running on a Mac, if it matters.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
jpco is offline  
post #11953 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 06:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 10,124
Mentioned: 686 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3545 Post(s)
Liked: 3290
I got this email from minidsp late last night:

"Thanks much for the follow up.
It appears like some USB packet timing issues. We’ve never seen this error before hand on our 6 x QC platforms here neither have our beta testers somehow.. :-(
However we realize that few customers (out of all our customers who upgraded) do run into this issue.. Let’s see if this new build does the trick:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/gyyq86l3um..._v1_5.zip?dl=0
To apply the bug fix, please install the plugin (no need to do any firmware upgrade/or new Dirac Live tools installs)
Simply install the new DDRC-88BM plugin
Connect to your DSP with the plugin.
Select “Restore” → “Refresh DSP Program” from the menu bar
Keep us updated on how things go.
Devteam
Best Regards

DevTeam "
carp is offline  
post #11954 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 06:26 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,852
Mentioned: 389 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11296 Post(s)
Liked: 6703
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Now that we have several reports, I'll try running a quick calibration later this evening or tomorrow morning and report back as to whether I have the same issue.
I ran a full 9-point calibration yesterday evening. I am using the bass management plug-in, and have FW version 2.22 and DLCT version 1.2.1.8426. I am using a 15ft passive USB cable.

I received no "play stimulus failed" errors, and the calibration proceeded normally. While this is a single data point, it shows that there is not a fundamental flaw in the FW/SW upgrade affecting everyone.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #11955 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 06:32 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,852
Mentioned: 389 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11296 Post(s)
Liked: 6703
Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
I got this email from minidsp late last night:

"Thanks much for the follow up.
It appears like some USB packet timing issues. We’ve never seen this error before hand on our 6 x QC platforms here neither have our beta testers somehow.. :-(
However we realize that few customers (out of all our customers who upgraded) do run into this issue.. Let’s see if this new build does the trick:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/gyyq86l3um..._v1_5.zip?dl=0
To apply the bug fix, please install the plugin (no need to do any firmware upgrade/or new Dirac Live tools installs)
Simply install the new DDRC-88BM plugin
Connect to your DSP with the plugin.
Select “Restore” → “Refresh DSP Program” from the menu bar
Keep us updated on how things go.
Devteam
Best Regards

DevTeam "
While it can be extremely frustrating to experience the recently-reported issues, it is always encouraging to see how quickly MiniDSP Support responds. Can anyone else provide an example of a vendor who can provide a potential fix this quickly? Very encouraging.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #11956 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 10,124
Mentioned: 686 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3545 Post(s)
Liked: 3290
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
While it can be extremely frustrating to experience the recently-reported issues, it is always encouraging to see how quickly MiniDSP Support responds. Can anyone else provide an example of a vendor who can provide a potential fix this quickly? Very encouraging.
Owners of ID speaker/subwoofer companies are for the most part incredible with their customer service - but yes, you are right, it's nice to know that when we have issues with the 88A there is help and it's as quick as could be expected since it's coming from half way around the world .
carp is offline  
post #11957 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 08:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11,778
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5650 Post(s)
Liked: 2694
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I received no "play stimulus failed" errors, and the calibration proceeded normally. While this is a single data point, it shows that there is not a fundamental flaw in the FW/SW upgrade affecting everyone.
I also haven't had any "play stimulus failed" errors. Another single data point

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #11958 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
dryeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Thumbs up DDRC-88-BM v1.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by carp View Post
I got this email from minidsp late last night:

"Thanks much for the follow up.
It appears like some USB packet timing issues. We’ve never seen this error before hand on our 6 x QC platforms here neither have our beta testers somehow.. :-(
However we realize that few customers (out of all our customers who upgraded) do run into this issue.. Let’s see if this new build does the trick:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/gyyq86l3um..._v1_5.zip?dl=0
To apply the bug fix, please install the plugin (no need to do any firmware upgrade/or new Dirac Live tools installs)
Simply install the new DDRC-88BM plugin
Connect to your DSP with the plugin.
Select “Restore” → “Refresh DSP Program” from the menu bar
Keep us updated on how things go.
Devteam
Best Regards

DevTeam "
I got the same email and have been testing it all morning and am glad to report everything is working again. I updated both my 88A's without issue and ran some new calibrations.

There are definitely some changes in the new unified 88BM utility when coming from the older 88A one. Nothing that you can't get used to if you read the new user manual. The abilitiy to see input levels and gains and delays is welcome and seeing what's available in the BM version might temp a few to pay for that license upgrade.

I did notice the IR switching between saved filter slots is noticeable slower now but that's about it. I see no reason to be afraid of this update and congrats to minidsp DevTeam for identifying the problem and delivering a fix in 1 day.
dryeye is offline  
post #11959 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 09:04 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,852
Mentioned: 389 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11296 Post(s)
Liked: 6703
Quote:
Originally Posted by dryeye View Post
I got the same email and have been testing it all morning and am glad to report everything is working again. I updated both my 88A's without issue and ran some new calibrations.

There are definitely some changes in the new unified 88BM utility when coming from the older 88A one. Nothing that you can't get used to if you read the new user manual. The abilitiy to see input levels and gains and delays is welcome and seeing what's available in the BM version might temp a few to pay for that license upgrade.

I did notice the IR switching between saved filter slots is noticeable slower now but that's about it. I see no reason to be afraid of this update and congrats to minidsp DevTeam for identifying the problem and delivering a fix in 1 day.
Don't forget that moving bass management from the pre-pro to the 88BM results in improvement. You can follow the guide linked in my sig if you haven't implemented BM yet.

And as for the slightly longer delay when switching presets, if you listen closely, there is now a mute operation going on in the background. This was implemented after several of us reported hearing a tone when switching presets. Believe me, the delay is preferable to the tones...
AustinJerry is offline  
post #11960 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
dryeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Yes I noticed the ramp up from mute when switching too. I think it's a nice classy touch. For a number of reasons I think I'll be keeping my four subs on my 10x10 for now but I can see the possible benefits of the BM upgrade.
dryeye is offline  
post #11961 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11,778
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5650 Post(s)
Liked: 2694
Quote:
Originally Posted by dryeye View Post
The abilitiy to see input levels and gains and delays is welcome
It is definitely a big step towards better control of gain structure. I suspect that a lot of people drive the DL stage into distortion without even noticing. Now if those level displays would only show peak values, it would be perfect. I've sent them a feature request – hope others will do so too.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #11962 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 09:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11,778
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5650 Post(s)
Liked: 2694
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Don't forget that moving bass management from the pre-pro to the 88BM results in improvement. You can follow the guide linked in my sig if you haven't implemented BM yet.
You should add a section about adjusting gain when summing to the subwoofer channel. See manual p. 53

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #11963 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 09:43 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,852
Mentioned: 389 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11296 Post(s)
Liked: 6703
Quote:
Originally Posted by dryeye View Post
Yes I noticed the ramp up from mute when switching too. I think it's a nice classy touch. For a number of reasons I think I'll be keeping my four subs on my 10x10 for now but I can see the possible benefits of the BM upgrade.
I think we are talking about two different things. IIUC, you use the 10x10 on the output side to integrate the four subs and provide time alignment, similar to the way I use a 2x4.

What I am talking about is on the input side, by setting all your speakers to Large in the pre-pro and using the advanced crossovers in the 88BM to split out the low frequencies that eventually are routed to the subs. You have more crossover types and slopes available in the 88BM which, according to my REW measurements, can provide an improvement in the frequency response. Why would you not want to take advantage of better bass management?
AustinJerry is offline  
post #11964 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 09:50 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,852
Mentioned: 389 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11296 Post(s)
Liked: 6703
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus767 View Post
You should add a section about adjusting gain when summing to the subwoofer channel. See manual p. 53
I read page 53. I am not sure it applies to user who are connecting to a standard pre-pro. Can you provide a simple example of where to look for potential issues with the summed sub channel that might require a gain adjustment? If I understand better, I would be happy to add a section to the guide.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #11965 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11,778
Mentioned: 187 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5650 Post(s)
Liked: 2694
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I read page 53. I am not sure it applies to user who are connecting to a standard pre-pro. Can you provide a simple example of where to look for potential issues with the summed sub channel that might require a gain adjustment? If I understand better, I would be happy to add a section to the guide.
http://www.beussery.com/pdf/beussery.dolby.pdf chapter 3.5

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #11966 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 10:36 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,852
Mentioned: 389 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11296 Post(s)
Liked: 6703
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus767 View Post
Thank you. I'm off to read it right now.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #11967 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 11:16 AM
Member
 
Totallyconfused's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I recently purchased a DDRC-88A with the BM plugin from a forum member and managed to run a configuration and was very pleased with the results. Noticed last Friday there was new software/firmware available. Downloaded the files, unzipped the manual, dlct, and the hexfile. Tried to update the firmware from the firmware hexfile and the bridge popped up and said "Device Found. Message from USB followed by a countdown (starting with one), then Byteread = 65" The countdown went over 300,000 bytes (took almost two days) then my PC running Win 10 decided to do something (probably maintenance or security, since turned off) which turned off the "Connected" in the 88 and the countdown started all over again when I reconnected. Obviously I am doing something wrong. Please help. How long should the firmware upgrade take, how many bytes? I had the same problem right after I first tried to set up the unit, before the unified upgrades became available last Friday, I would click on the "upgrade firmware" beneath the "Restore" on the 88 screen and the download would commence, several days (I think 3 days) later I was up to over a million and a half bytes before I inadvertantly touched something on my screen that re-started the countdown. I gave up; however, the previous version, 2.19, apparently remained and allowed me to run a configuration with what I thought were very good results. So, after two hours this afternoon the Bridge , running in the background, says 20,800 and counting fairly rapidly, but I am obviously not doing something right. Suggestions?
Totallyconfused is offline  
post #11968 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 11:34 AM
Member
 
Totallyconfused's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Maybe I posted above too soon. On the DDRC-88-BM screen third line down it says Minidsp DDRC-88 (in faint letters) with Base Management 1.4 firmware 2.22. Sounds promising, clicked on Help and it said DDRC-88-BM Version 1.4 firmware 2.22. Am I in business? Earlier, after the countdown stopped, Version 1.4 in faint letters would remain but the firmware 2.22 would totally disappear.
Totallyconfused is offline  
post #11969 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 11:35 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,852
Mentioned: 389 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11296 Post(s)
Liked: 6703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Totallyconfused View Post
I recently purchased a DDRC-88A with the BM plugin from a forum member and managed to run a configuration and was very pleased with the results. Noticed last Friday there was new software/firmware available. Downloaded the files, unzipped the manual, dlct, and the hexfile. Tried to update the firmware from the firmware hexfile and the bridge popped up and said "Device Found. Message from USB followed by a countdown (starting with one), then Byteread = 65" The countdown went over 300,000 bytes (took almost two days) then my PC running Win 10 decided to do something (probably maintenance or security, since turned off) which turned off the "Connected" in the 88 and the countdown started all over again when I reconnected. Obviously I am doing something wrong. Please help. How long should the firmware upgrade take, how many bytes? I had the same problem right after I first tried to set up the unit, before the unified upgrades became available last Friday, I would click on the "upgrade firmware" beneath the "Restore" on the 88 screen and the download would commence, several days (I think 3 days) later I was up to over a million and a half bytes before I inadvertantly touched something on my screen that re-started the countdown. I gave up; however, the previous version, 2.19, apparently remained and allowed me to run a configuration with what I thought were very good results. So, after two hours this afternoon the Bridge , running in the background, says 20,800 and counting fairly rapidly, but I am obviously not doing something right. Suggestions?
I too am totally confused. Open a case with MiniDSP Support.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #11970 of 16788 Old 11-08-2016, 11:53 AM
Member
 
Totallyconfused's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I did open up a case with Support and was told that my screen shots looked like everything was working. I disconnected from DDRC and then reconnected, the "with Base Mangement 1.4 firmware 2.22" disappeared and only 1.4 remains. Guess my problem is not solved.
Totallyconfused is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
DDRC-88A , dirac live , minidsp , req

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off