**miniDSP DDRC-88A Official Thread**8-channel AI/AO Dirac Live in a box - Page 553 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3870Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16561 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 06:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
KevinG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
The PC used for the Dirac calibration is connected to the 88A using a USB cable. What would you be using a HDMI connection for? Perhaps you are thinking of REW measurements?
Jerry, it seems he is using a PC as the source equipment (maybe as an HTPC). That would use HDMI into the AVR. But, none of this matters during calibration as you know. I completely respect your ability to help *SO MANY* people calmly.
KevinG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16562 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 06:33 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,473
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond3r View Post
I do not understand how the 88a able to produce sound when the output (hdmi) is connected to the avr where the test tone is produce by the PC.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
Please take a look at the 88A calibration guide linked in my sig and follow its instructions.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #16563 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 06:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
KevinG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Kevin, I agree with your recommendations, except for number 1. Unless the OP is using the bass management module in the 88A (and he has provided no indication he is doing so), the bass management will be done in the AVR, requiring the LCR speakers to be set to small.
YES! I unfortunately read his question backwards, and thought he was asking if speakers should be set to "small." (My brain just jumped there, since that's what it's generally supposed to be. ) Thanks for catching this!
KevinG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16564 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 06:35 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,473
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinG View Post
Jerry, it seems he is using a PC as the source equipment (maybe as an HTPC). That would use HDMI into the AVR. But, none of this matters during calibration as you know. I completely respect your ability to help *SO MANY* people calmly.
Perhaps so. It is always difficult for new 88a users to realize that the AVR and its settings are not involved in the actual Dirac calibration, and that AVR trim and distance settings should all be zeroed out following the completion of the calibration.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #16565 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 06:36 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,473
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinG View Post
YES! I unfortunately read his question backwards, and thought he was asking if speakers should be set to "small." (My brain just jumped there, since that's what it's generally supposed to be. ) Thanks for catching this!
NP! I always have my cup of coffee before answering any posts.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #16566 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 06:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I apologise for my noob-ness. just wan to make sure.

thanks for your clarification.

ya Austin, I'm reading your guide just that it didn't state anything to look out for in the avr so I wan to clarify.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

Last edited by beyond3r; 06-03-2019 at 06:51 AM.
beyond3r is online now  
post #16567 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 06:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 1
ya km using BM for 88a.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
beyond3r is online now  
post #16568 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 07:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I using 2 subs. should I connect the 2 sub out from my avr to the 88a?

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
beyond3r is online now  
post #16569 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 07:10 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,473
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond3r View Post
I using 2 subs. should I connect the 2 sub out from my avr to the 88a?

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
No, use a single sub output from the AVR to input 3 on the 88A. Then use two outputs from the 88A, one to each sub (say output 3 and output 5). Use the 88A mixer stage to route the sub signal to the two outputs. If the subs are equidistant from the MLP, then no time alignment is required. If they are not equidistant, then use the output delay settings on the 88A to time-align the subs.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #16570 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 07:11 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,473
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond3r View Post
ya km using BM for 88a.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
If you are saying that you are using the bass management module on the 88A, then follow the 88BM setup guide linked in my sig.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #16571 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 07:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
No, use a single sub output from the AVR to input 3 on the 88A. Then use two outputs from the 88A, one to each sub (say output 3 and output 5). Use the 88A mixer stage to route the sub signal to the two outputs. If the subs are equidistant from the MLP, then no time alignment is required. If they are not equidistant, then use the output delay settings on the 88A to time-align the subs.
is there any particular reason to connect to input 3? can be any other input as long as in the mixer is correctly assign right?

both sub are not equidistant, how do I time align using 88a?

I was thinking running audyssey first to get the distant. this is the wrong approach?

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
beyond3r is online now  
post #16572 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 08:15 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,473
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond3r View Post
is there any particular reason to connect to input 3? can be any other input as long as in the mixer is correctly assign right?

both sub are not equidistant, how do I time align using 88a?

I was thinking running audyssey first to get the distant. this is the wrong approach?

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
Input 3 is the default sub input. If you configure it properly, you can use any input. But why deviate from the default? There is no advantage in using a different input, and many advantages in using the same input as everyone else.

Time alignment (since it seems as if you have not read the guide yet) involves:

1. Measuring each sub’s distant from the MLP (it is OK to use the distances set by Audyssey).
2. Subtracting the distance of the closest sub from the distance of the furthest sub to get the distance difference.
3. Converting the difference to milliseconds.
4. Adding the millisecond distance to the delay for the nearest sub (leaving the other delay as zero).
5. Measuring the combined sub response with REW to make sure the flattest response has been achieved.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #16573 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 08:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 1
have to also ensure that both sub are phase aligned before dirac right?

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
beyond3r is online now  
post #16574 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 08:39 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,473
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond3r View Post
have to also ensure that both sub are phase aligned before dirac right?

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
Good idea.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #16575 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 08:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 1
am I right to say the simpler way to phase align is to check their combined dB is 3 dB higher than when playing single sub using pink noise test tone?

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
beyond3r is online now  
post #16576 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 09:04 AM
wl1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,291
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond3r View Post
is there any particular reason to connect to input 3?
Yes, - there is a bug in the latest software, where using any other input will mean you cannot re-use measurements, and the software reverts to Sub=Centre 3. If you change it back, the software says you changed your config, so it fails.

Just use Sub = input 3.

You have not actually described your other speakers - any surrounds? You decided not to have any Room Eq on them?

Ken Kreisel Twin DXD808, Q125 LCR, x4 Q125 TriFX, x4 QFH - for Atmos 7.2.4/Auro 9.2/DTS:X 11.2
Oppo 93 & 203 & Sony VPLHW55ES PJ with Lumagen 2020, 2.35:1 Seymour AT XD screen. Logitech Ultimate One & Hub, SqBox Touch & Philips Hue. Nakamichi AVP1 with Denon X7200WA. With MiniDSP 2x4.
wl1 is offline  
post #16577 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 09:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by wl1 View Post
Yes, - there is a bug in the latest software, where using any other input will mean you cannot re-use measurements, and the software reverts to Sub=Centre 3. If you change it back, the software says you changed your config, so it fails.



Just use Sub = input 3.



You have not actually described your other speakers - any surrounds? You decided not to have any Room Eq on them?
I'm only planning to dirac my lcr+2subs. the rest will be running audyssey. LCR and subs setting in avr will be zero out as it has been taken care by dirac.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
beyond3r is online now  
post #16578 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
KevinG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond3r View Post
I'm only planning to dirac my lcr+2subs. the rest will be running audyssey. LCR and subs setting in avr will be zero out as it has been taken care by dirac.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
I don't think that's going to work....unless your AVR actually allows you to turn off Audyssey for individual speakers (I've never heard of one that allows that.) Merely setting the distance to zero, and the volume trim to zero doesn't turn off Audyssey.
KevinG is offline  
post #16579 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 11:05 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,473
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond3r View Post
I'm only planning to dirac my lcr+2subs. the rest will be running audyssey. LCR and subs setting in avr will be zero out as it has been taken care by dirac.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinG View Post
I don't think that's going to work....unless your AVR actually allows you to turn off Audyssey for individual speakers (I've never heard of one that allows that.) Merely setting the distance to zero, and the volume trim to zero doesn't turn off Audyssey.
Using Audyssey on the other speakers definitely will not work. Terrible idea. If you are going to continue to seek advice in this thread, you need to show you are willing to follow best practices.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #16580 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 06:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Using Audyssey on the other speakers definitely will not work. Terrible idea. If you are going to continue to seek advice in this thread, you need to show you are willing to follow best practices.
understood.
my approach was wrong.

I'm reading up on time alignment using REW will be using this and turn off audyssey.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
beyond3r is online now  
post #16581 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 07:17 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,473
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond3r View Post
understood.
my approach was wrong.

I'm reading up on time alignment using REW will be using this and turn off audyssey.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
The best approach would be to add additional power amps for all your channels so that you could take advantage of a full 7.1 Dirac Live calibration. Leaving the surrounds uncalibrated would be a sub-optimal solution.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #16582 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 07:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
The best approach would be to add additional power amps for all your channels so that you could take advantage of a full 7.1 Dirac Live calibration. Leaving the surrounds uncalibrated would be a sub-optimal solution.
ya I understand that the best approach is to go full pre pro.

I was blessed with the 3 channel power amp hence just wan to give dirac a try as I heard someone went with this approach and achieve great results.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
beyond3r is online now  
post #16583 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 07:56 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,473
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond3r View Post
ya I understand that the best approach is to go full pre pro.

I was blessed with the 3 channel power amp hence just wan to give dirac a try as I heard someone went with this approach and achieve great results.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
Nothing wrong with that, as long as you leave the other speakers disconnected and only assess the sound of the LCR+subs.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #16584 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 08:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Nothing wrong with that, as long as you leave the other speakers disconnected and only assess the sound of the LCR+subs.
ya, only lcr and subs will be connected to 88a.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
beyond3r is online now  
post #16585 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 08:44 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,473
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond3r View Post
ya, only lcr and subs will be connected to 88a.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
By disconnected, I mean the other speakers should not be in use while you are assessing Dirac Live. Completely disconnected, as opposed to not connected to the 88A.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #16586 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 08:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
By disconnected, I mean the other speakers should not be in use while you are assessing Dirac Live. Completely disconnected, as opposed to not connected to the 88A.
oh. why need to physically disconnect them?

I can set to custom 4 channels right hence no sound will be coming from the rest of the speakers?

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
beyond3r is online now  
post #16587 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 09:13 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,473
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond3r View Post
oh. why need to physically disconnect them?

I can set to custom 4 channels right hence no sound will be coming from the rest of the speakers?

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
The point is that you should only be hearing sound from the LCR+subs during the evaluation. It doesn’t matter how you silence the other speakers. Understood?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #16588 of 16629 Old 06-03-2019, 09:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
The point is that you should only be hearing sound from the LCR+subs during the evaluation. It doesn’t matter how you silence the other speakers. Understood?
noted. thanks

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
beyond3r is online now  
post #16589 of 16629 Old 06-04-2019, 08:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
StevenLansing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
The NAD AVRs featuring Dirac Live, which are newer than the DDRC-88A, will not support the add-on modules as new hardware is needed. That doesn't bode well for you guys, but let's hope.

Why doesn't that surprise me.

Dirac makes mention that the free Tier 3 will be available to "all current" Dirac Live customers.

Tier 3 is a free module for all current Dirac Live customers and those manufactures with Dirac Live built-in (Arcam, AudioControl, Bryston, Lexicon, NAD, and StormAudio), and permits standard bass management with the added benefit of predictive results.

Help put an end to the reach-around mentality and bring the "Science" back to AVS.

Last edited by StevenLansing; 06-06-2019 at 09:16 PM.
StevenLansing is offline  
post #16590 of 16629 Old 06-08-2019, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 2,129
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I've been researching Dirac enabled processors for my 7.4.4 HT project. If the Monolith processor is released later this year that may be a possible solution since it processes sixteen channels and will have flexible subwoofer management. I've about eliminated the Emotiva RMC-1 train wreck from consideration. Either of these is about four grand (with Emotiva upgrade for life "benefit" that I have).

So I'm considering a more mainstream processor with two DDRC 88A units. The Yamaha CX-A5100 looks like a good candidate. If new, the combo is right at $4,800, or $4,000 if I went with a refurbished processor from A4L.

I want to run four subs.

I also want active crossover for the center channel which is one of Wayne Parham's 4pi two way speakers with the 7pi mid horn. Due to available channel count on the DDR8 units, I think I'd run the 4pi full range with a notch filter where the 7pi mid horn sits. The 7pi horn is run full range in the L+R speakers but may need to be band limited and phase aligned to work well with the 4pi. Or I could drop back to three sub channels and do three way XO on the center. I have an extra Rotel amp channel available for the third driver. The center channel configuration is all speculation at this point.

I read through the excellent tutorial by #kbarnes701 .

I sketched up this configuration for the hardware side. Does this look like I am on the right track? The Yamaha processor has independent sub outs, so I show them connected separately to the DDRC, but don't know if there's any advantage to doing it that way.

Here's a sketch of the configuration that I'm thinking about. Does this look like I'm on the right track?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	yamaha + miniDSP.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	622.6 KB
ID:	2577572  

High Desert Theater - work in progress
Building Bass - Subs
Surrounds - Easy as Pi
Storage - unRAID unDELL
Mains - Another piece of Pi

Last edited by petew; 06-08-2019 at 09:14 AM. Reason: typo and clarity
petew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
DDRC-88A , dirac live , minidsp , req

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off