Which rcvr to replace Marantz SR8000, need HDMI switching. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 04-28-2015, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Which rcvr to replace Marantz SR8000, need HDMI switching.

All,

I've been using a Marantz SR8000 for 12 years and it has absolutely great stereo and theater sound in my system (REL Storm subwoofer, Theil .5 fronts).

However, it's time to throw away 10 pounds of wires and move into HDMI and 100% digital audio links.

I currently feed the subwoofer via it's high level input (fed from front left/right mains on back of SR8000).

There are 2 things I don't like about the SR8000:
1) Huge/complicated remote.
2) Complicated setup and getting menus onto my TV is a pain.

I don't want to lose the great music sound I get from the Theil/REL combo.
I want to simplify all the wiring, so I can just have an HDMI and Optical in for each source and a single HDMI out for my Projector.

I don't want to spend a ton, I almost never do any serious music listening anymore. Movies is the main requirement (and simplifying all the wiring).

Any input would be appreciated.

BTW: I only need 5.1. My room is 23' wide and 13' deep. I use some Bose shelf speakers as my rears.

Thanks,
AJ

Epson 5030UBe
118" Painted wall (Black Widow) (Dover Grey mixed 4:1 with AAA-F)
Marantz SR-6010 amp
Thiel CS .5 front speakers
SVS SB13-Ultra
Polk Audio Center Channel Speaker (CS 350)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 04-28-2015, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member

Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21992 Post(s)
Liked: 11927
You may want to consider the Marantz SR5009 which is a 7CH AVR with a full set of pre-outs and uses Audyssey MultEQ XT with the GUI that will display on the TV from the HDMI monitor output.
post #3 of 14 Old 04-28-2015, 05:19 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post