The Official Onkyo 2015 TX-NR545/646/747/848 Thread - Page 29 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1431Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #841 of 2039 Old 02-12-2016, 11:57 AM
Member
 
MaDmiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacecowboy View Post
It could be normal. I had the same experience with my 747 of perceived low volume; but unlike you, I didn't have a previous 646 to compare it to. My solution was to turn off AccuEq and play with Intellivolume. I may explore other settings to see how they affect volume.
I don't see how they can advertise this model as being 20 watts more if this is normal. I emailed Onkyo support to see what they say. In the meantime I will hold onto the unit and test more
MaDmiX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 2039 Old 02-14-2016, 07:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 43
hey guys, I've had the 646 for a week now and I think twice I heard it make a clicking sound while watching TV. The sound is similar to what you hear when you turn the AVR on/off or make changes to the settings or when you change sources. does this happen to others? is it normal?

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #843 of 2039 Old 02-14-2016, 08:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,207
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4780 Post(s)
Liked: 2809
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
hey guys, I've had the 646 for a week now and I think twice I heard it make a clicking sound while watching TV. The sound is similar to what you hear when you turn the AVR on/off or make changes to the settings or when you change sources. does this happen to others? is it normal?
No, but I hear this clicking sound on my Denon all the time whether it's on or off and I wish I knew what it was?

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #844 of 2039 Old 02-14-2016, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
No, but I hear this clicking sound on my Denon all the time whether it's on or off and I wish I knew what it was?
I'd be very suspicious since its happening to you even when its off. does it happen if you unplug it from the power?

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #845 of 2039 Old 02-14-2016, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,207
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4780 Post(s)
Liked: 2809
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
I'd be very suspicious since its happening to you even when its off. does it happen if you unplug it from the power?
Don't know but I'll unplug it now to see?

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #846 of 2039 Old 02-14-2016, 10:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,085
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1582 Post(s)
Liked: 912
I don't know if this has been answered but Is there any reason that the 545 couldn't get a DTS-X update? I know it says the bottom one to support it is the 646 but I have the 545 and am hoping that there may be a small chance for the update.....
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #847 of 2039 Old 02-14-2016, 01:24 PM
Member
 
sirhc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
I don't know if this has been answered but Is there any reason that the 545 couldn't get a DTS-X update? I know it says the bottom one to support it is the 646 but I have the 545 and am hoping that there may be a small chance for the update.....
It only applies to specific models. Those that can take the DTS-X update have been engineered to do so though a firmware update. Sorry but the 545 is not in the group to take DTS-X.
sirhc55 is offline  
post #848 of 2039 Old 02-14-2016, 04:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,207
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4780 Post(s)
Liked: 2809
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
I'd be very suspicious since its happening to you even when its off. does it happen if you unplug it from the power?
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Don't know but I'll unplug it now to see?
I know this is the Onkyo thread and not the Denon thread but my Denon X5200W was quiet as a peep with the power cord unplugged. Makes the clicking noises all day when it's plugged in and don't now why?

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #849 of 2039 Old 02-14-2016, 04:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 43
even in standby? also check to see if it happens to the same source or all the sources.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #850 of 2039 Old 02-14-2016, 04:51 PM
Member
 
MaDmiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SOLVED: NR747 low volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by spacecowboy View Post
It could be normal. I had the same experience with my 747 of perceived low volume; but unlike you, I didn't have a previous 646 to compare it to. My solution was to turn off AccuEq and play with Intellivolume. I may explore other settings to see how they affect volume.

So I figured out what is causing the perceived difference in volume between the NR646 and the NR747. Those of you who have seen the movie "This Is Spinal Tap" will appreciate this. Basically the NR747 goes up to 11.


I was curious to see what the max volume on the 747 was so I turned it up (without anything playing, of course) and as I thought, it stops at 100. (well 99 to be exact) but not before displaying "THX Reference" at about 80. So I wondered about the NR646 (it not being a THX certified amp) and sure enough the volume display tops out at 74. So 100% volume on the NR646 is at 74 where on the 747 it is at 99, which explains why the 747 sounded lower at what I thought was the same volume level. Once I adjusted for the difference in the volume display the two units sound identical.


Hope this helps anyone who is struggling with what they think is low output volume on their Onkyo receiver. Crank it up!!!

Last edited by MaDmiX; 02-14-2016 at 06:58 PM.
MaDmiX is offline  
post #851 of 2039 Old 02-14-2016, 07:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
spacecowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Dirty South
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaDmiX View Post
So I figured out what is causing the perceived difference in volume between the NR646 and the NR747. Those of you who have seen the movie "This Is Spinal Tap" will appreciate this. Basically the NR747 goes up to 11.


I was curious to see what the max volume on the 747 was so I turned it up (without anything playing, of course) and as I thought, it stops at 100. (well 99 to be exact) but not before displaying "THX Reference" at about 80. So I wondered about the NR646 (it not being a THX certified amp) and sure enough the volume display tops out at 74. So 100% volume on the NR646 is at 74 where on the 747 it is at 99, which explains why the 747 sounded lower at what I thought was the same volume level. Once I adjusted for the difference in the volume display the two units sound identical.


Hope this helps anyone who is struggling with what they think is low output volume on their Onkyo receiver. Crank it up!!!
Much appreciated!!!! You are part of the reason that makes this site so great for HT enthusiasts.

"Excuse me...What does God need with a Starship?" (Captain Kirk - Star Trek V: The Final Frontier)
spacecowboy is offline  
post #852 of 2039 Old 02-14-2016, 07:22 PM
Member
 
sirhc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I know this is the Onkyo thread and not the Denon thread but my Denon X5200W was quiet as a peep with the power cord unplugged. Makes the clicking noises all day when it's plugged in and don't now why?
The most usual explanation for clicking noises is that a relay, or similar switching device, is activating. My 646 clicks every so often but nothing alters - sound and vision perfect.
sirhc55 is offline  
post #853 of 2039 Old 02-15-2016, 12:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
hey guys, I've had the 646 for a week now and I think twice I heard it make a clicking sound while watching TV. The sound is similar to what you hear when you turn the AVR on/off or make changes to the settings or when you change sources. does this happen to others? is it normal?
My 747 also occasionally makes a clicking sound and I'm fairly sure it is a relay sound either for activating the fan or a more power consuming mode.
dirtpop is offline  
post #854 of 2039 Old 02-15-2016, 06:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I've been using my AVR for a week now. yesterday I was watching a movie from one of my media streamers and during the movie the AVR turns off, then comes back on and the front of it says something like "AMP diag [xxx]". the xxx kept changing. then it said something about "check speaker wire". the manual said its something about short circuit or maybe another wire is touching it or something like that. it only seemed to happen with one of my media streamers. it didn't happen with my other media streamer or my cable box. if it really is my speaker wire, wouldn't it happen regardless of the source? has that ever happened to anyone? I put in the speaker wire properly. and if an hdmi cable is touching part of the exposed speaker wire (maybe a stripped too much of the wire?), could that cause a problem?

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #855 of 2039 Old 02-15-2016, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,207
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4780 Post(s)
Liked: 2809
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirhc55 View Post
The most usual explanation for clicking noises is that a relay, or similar switching device, is activating. My 646 clicks every so often but nothing alters - sound and vision perfect.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtpop View Post
My 747 also occasionally makes a clicking sound and I'm fairly sure it is a relay sound either for activating the fan or a more power consuming mode.
Ok, so it sounds like this may be normal even when in standby? I've never heard this until this latest Denon receiver in my living room. My Onkyo 646 may click as well and I just don't hear it because it's in the bedroom?

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #856 of 2039 Old 02-15-2016, 07:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 43
My old receiver never clicked. Its about 23 years old

If you can hear your avr clicking in the bedroom, thats a problem

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #857 of 2039 Old 02-15-2016, 10:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
I've been using my AVR for a week now. yesterday I was watching a movie from one of my media streamers and during the movie the AVR turns off, then comes back on and the front of it says something like "AMP diag [xxx]". the xxx kept changing. then it said something about "check speaker wire". the manual said its something about short circuit or maybe another wire is touching it or something like that. it only seemed to happen with one of my media streamers. it didn't happen with my other media streamer or my cable box. if it really is my speaker wire, wouldn't it happen regardless of the source? has that ever happened to anyone? I put in the speaker wire properly. and if an hdmi cable is touching part of the exposed speaker wire (maybe a stripped too much of the wire?), could that cause a problem?

ok I think I fixed the problem. I stripped too much of the speaker wire and there was about half an inch of exposed wire. the + and a - wire were touching each other. so I disconnected everything, trimmed the wire and now there is only about 1/16 of a inch of exposed wire and so they are not touching. I was able to duplicate the problem before by increasing the volume and when it hit around 40 the AVR would shut off. now I was just able to put the volume at about 45 and it was fine. so I learned something today.


I also noticed another little quirk in this receiver. I will post it separately.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #858 of 2039 Old 02-15-2016, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I have the 646 set so the CBL/TV hdmi port is the pass through and I have my cable box plugged into that. lately the TV has been turning off on its own sometimes. sometimes it will also turn back on on its own and then turn off again. this would happen every 10-20 seconds. to troubleshoot one of my other problems (beginning of recordings were choppy and the AV was out of sync) I plugged in a component cable directly from the digital box to the TV and an RCA cable from the digital box to the TV for the sound. could that be causing that problem you think? I have it unplugged and I'll see if the problem goes away.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #859 of 2039 Old 02-15-2016, 12:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi friends. I'm a proud owner of the 646. I recently bought the Everest 3D and 2D Blu Ray discs to test Atmos sound. Both have the option.y set up also has 2 heoght speakers. The 2D disc displays Atmos as input and output but the 3D does not show that. Also it only shows 5.1 as the out. Whats wrong. I have checked my settings. Any help welcome. Thanks
Bubul is offline  
post #860 of 2039 Old 02-15-2016, 12:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,207
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4780 Post(s)
Liked: 2809
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubul View Post
Hi friends. I'm a proud owner of the 646. I recently bought the Everest 3D and 2D Blu Ray discs to test Atmos sound. Both have the option.y set up also has 2 heoght speakers. The 2D disc displays Atmos as input and output but the 3D does not show that. Also it only shows 5.1 as the out. Whats wrong. I have checked my settings. Any help welcome. Thanks
I have Everest 3D and the 646 and mine had 5.1.2 as the output (two height speakers) when watching the 3D version. I haven't watched the 2D version though. Did you make sure that you configured the AVR for height speakers (5.1.2)?

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #861 of 2039 Old 02-16-2016, 05:44 AM
Senior Member
 
leedesert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Hi all, new owner of the 545. Spent the whole day yesterday setting things up and getting things running with the Harmony remote.
Do you guys have recommended settings or things to stay away from when setting up the 545? I've been playing around with the different sound modes and not sure on the best set up yet.

I'm starting with a basic 3.1 set up with 2 Klipsch E-15's and a Klipsch R-25 center. My sub is a Paradigm PDR-10 that I had from my previous home. Eventually I will be installing ceiling mount surrounds (due to room design limitations).
leedesert is offline  
post #862 of 2039 Old 02-16-2016, 06:48 AM
Newbie
 
kidnova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased a TX-NR 545 to replace my old HT-RC 160 and need a little clarification on the listening modes. I have a 5.1 speaker configuration and chose that option during the initial setup process. My Samsung BD player's audio is set to bitstream audiophile so on BDs that include lossless audio it is being sent to the receiver directly.

My confusion is around whether or not I should choose Straight Decode or DTS/Dolby as the default listening mode when watching a movie with lossless audio. Currently I have it set to Straight Decode when receiving either a DTS or Dolby source signal, but since I have a 5.1 setup am I losing sound channels when the BD player is outputting a 7.1 DTS Master Audio track? Should I instead have the receiver set to DTS/Dolby so that it converts the 7.1 signal into a 5.1 output? I am not an audiophile by any means so please excuse me if I'm misusing some terminology. Thanks in advance.

I have googled this question a few times, but haven't found a clear response on this specific topic.
kidnova is offline  
post #863 of 2039 Old 02-16-2016, 07:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: North West UK
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by kidnova View Post
I recently purchased a TX-NR 545 to replace my old HT-RC 160 and need a little clarification on the listening modes. I have a 5.1 speaker configuration and chose that option during the initial setup process. My Samsung BD player's audio is set to bitstream audiophile so on BDs that include lossless audio it is being sent to the receiver directly.

My confusion is around whether or not I should choose Straight Decode or DTS/Dolby as the default listening mode when watching a movie with lossless audio. Currently I have it set to Straight Decode when receiving either a DTS or Dolby source signal, but since I have a 5.1 setup am I losing sound channels when the BD player is outputting a 7.1 DTS Master Audio track? Should I instead have the receiver set to DTS/Dolby so that it converts the 7.1 signal into a 5.1 output? I am not an audiophile by any means so please excuse me if I'm misusing some terminology. Thanks in advance.

I have googled this question a few times, but haven't found a clear response on this specific topic.
As the 545 is set to 5.1 mode and knows that, surely if you use DTS/Dolby it's part of their decoding algorithms to change the 7.1 to 5.1? I would certainly try Dolby Surround and see what you think..... You should notice any difference pretty quickly.

Rev.
Revengant is offline  
post #864 of 2039 Old 02-16-2016, 07:29 AM
Newbie
 
kidnova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revengant View Post
As the 545 is set to 5.1 mode and knows that, surely if you use DTS/Dolby it's part of their decoding algorithms to change the 7.1 to 5.1? I would certainly try Dolby Surround and see what you think..... You should notice any difference pretty quickly.

Rev.
Yes, I'll try the ear test by switching listening modes manually, but I'm also trying to understand from a technical perspective what these different listening modes are doing. Am I introducing unnecessary processing by selecting DTS/Dolby over Straight Decode? Onkyo's descriptions of each of these options are terribly generic and in regards to Straight Decode almost impossible to find.
kidnova is offline  
post #865 of 2039 Old 02-16-2016, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: North West UK
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by kidnova View Post
Yes, I'll try the ear test by switching listening modes manually, but I'm also trying to understand from a technical perspective what these different listening modes are doing. Am I introducing unnecessary processing by selecting DTS/Dolby over Straight Decode? Onkyo's descriptions of each of these options are terribly generic and in regards to Straight Decode almost impossible to find.
Personally I would say it's not introducing unnecessary processing but necessary processing, to make your listening pleasure more enjoyable and hopefully closer to what the Director intended....
Revengant is offline  
post #866 of 2039 Old 02-16-2016, 02:11 PM
Newbie
 
Bmod88J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkwong View Post
I'm using a BD30, which is older than yours and it still works, so it's unlikely to be the player. Check to make sure you don't have secondary audio enabled on the player.
Just to update you. I broke down and went and bought a cheap Samsung blu ray player over the weekend. Plugged it in set it to bitsteam and wouldn't you know it, it was playing in DTS Master HD audio. So for some reason unknown to me that BD-45 player was not allowing those HD formats to play. Don't know why but it's a big relief to have my audio correct for once. Thanks for all your help dkwong!!!
dkwong likes this.
Bmod88J is offline  
post #867 of 2039 Old 02-16-2016, 02:50 PM
Member
 
Marauder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marauder View Post
Hey everyone, I've been having some recent issues with getting Airplay to connect on my 646. I've had it working when I first got my 646 hooked up, but didn't really use it much for a while. Recently, when I tried to connect, it would show that Airplay was connected and even display the song info onscreen, but no sound came out. Troubleshooting, I updated my 646 firmware and now my Apple devices don't see my 646 at all unfortunately. The 646 is on my network and I can pull up the network page on my browser, but no Airplay. Wired or wifi on my 646 makes no difference.

Anyone run into an issue like this before? Suggestions for things to try next before a hard reset? I tried calling Onkyo support and sat on hold for 20 minutes before getting frustrated and hanging up. Really poor customer service on Onkyo's part.
Anyone have any ideas?
Marauder is offline  
post #868 of 2039 Old 02-16-2016, 06:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marauder View Post
Anyone have any ideas?
I havent tried airplay yet. Try posting in onkyo's forum. Sometimes their admin replies.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #869 of 2039 Old 02-17-2016, 11:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CMRA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 7,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 37
OK mates. I don't want to read 868 posts for a simple answer to a simple question.


Thinking of pulling the trigger on the NR 646 for its DTS-X.


Has the firmware been released? If so, please link me up.
CMRA is offline  
post #870 of 2039 Old 02-17-2016, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,207
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4780 Post(s)
Liked: 2809
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMRA View Post
OK mates. I don't want to read 868 posts for a simple answer to a simple question.


Thinking of pulling the trigger on the NR 646 for its DTS-X.


Has the firmware been released? If so, please link me up.
No, still no DTS:X on the Onkyo 646.

lujan
581 Ultra HD
722 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
high pitch , onkyo 646 , p75-f1 , signal , TX-NR545/646/747/848

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off