The Official Anthem AVM 60 thread - Page 151 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4178Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4501 of 9734 Old 07-28-2017, 06:33 PM
Member
 
oldred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonas2 View Post
It definitely depends on one's perspective! I (thankfully?) was not blessed with golden ears, so I am one of those that does not hear differences among amps. I'm not saying others do not hear differences, I'm sure some people can and do, but how much is that worth to you? I think part of the price of course of any good component should be its warranty and customer service - if you do have trouble - it should be as easy as possible to get in touch with a company and get resolution ASAP. Anthem does have good customer service. I don't know about Emotiva, no personal experience. Feature sets of course play into price as well.
And if country of origin matters to you, USA vs. Canada Vs. China or wherever, you'll pay more for the "locally grown"one for us in NA at least, but that's O.k.

I just can't justify putting out the cost of some of these amps (that DO sound great) for everything else you get!




All perspective and how good your ears are!! I can tell you that for me, they'd all be the same. They might not be for you though. I'm not sure about Sunfire, but I know depending on where you buy, the Anthem can have a decent trial policy, and Emotiva does. So factor that into your purchase.

Also to consider - power efficiency, size, and so on, if that kind of thing matters to you!
You should go for the Emotiva....They are a great company....with great products.

G.E.M.
RedlineRonin likes this.
oldred is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4502 of 9734 Old 07-28-2017, 11:35 PM
Senior Member
 
lifeisbeautiful's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Sound output mode out of TV and listening mode in Anthem

1. I have my TV audio out connected to my MRX via the optical connection. My TV lets me set the output mode to either "Dolby digital" or "PCM". Which mode should I be using?
I have this currently at PCM.

2. When I set the mode to PCM, some questions on the listening modes:
a) "None" - Here, are the ARC corrections applied?
b) AnthemMusic vs "None"
lifeisbeautiful is offline  
post #4503 of 9734 Old 07-28-2017, 11:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifeisbeautiful View Post
1. I have my TV audio out connected to my MRX via the optical connection. My TV lets me set the output mode to either "Dolby digital" or "PCM". Which mode should I be using?
I have this currently at PCM.

2. When I set the mode to PCM, some questions on the listening modes:
a) "None" - Here, are the ARC corrections applied?
b) AnthemMusic vs "None"
what is the make /model of your tv
333444 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4504 of 9734 Old 07-28-2017, 11:55 PM
Senior Member
 
lifeisbeautiful's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by 333444 View Post
what is the make /model of your tv
Samsung KS8500. (2016 model)
lifeisbeautiful is offline  
post #4505 of 9734 Old 07-29-2017, 01:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I found this on the Samsung web site for using ARC with your tv
  • 1Find the HDMI IN 4(ARC) port, located on the back of your Mini One Connect.
  • 2Connect an HDMI Cable into the HDMI IN 4 (ARC) port.
  • 3Connect the other end of the HDMI Cable into the HDMI OUT port of your Audio Receiver (Home Theater System).
  • 4Press the Home Button, on your Samsung Smart Control, to access the Home Screen.
  • 5Using the Directional pad, on your remote, navigate to and select Settings.
  • 6Select Sound.
  • 7Select Sound Output, by default TV Speaker will be selected.
  • 8Select Receiver(HDMI).
  • 9Select Close to finish.
Your Anthem manual should show you how to connect the HDMI from the Tv to your Anthem


hope this helps
333444 is offline  
post #4506 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 07:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
McLuvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Treble center frequency

Does anybody know the center frequency of the treble control on the AVM 60? I looked in the manual and searched this thread and couldn't find any reference for it.
McLuvin is online now  
post #4507 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 08:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bill-99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by 333444 View Post
I found this on the Samsung web site for using ARC with your tv
  • 1Find the HDMI IN 4(ARC) port, located on the back of your Mini One Connect.
  • 2Connect an HDMI Cable into the HDMI IN 4 (ARC) port.
  • 3Connect the other end of the HDMI Cable into the HDMI OUT port of your Audio Receiver (Home Theater System).
  • 4Press the Home Button, on your Samsung Smart Control, to access the Home Screen.
  • 5Using the Directional pad, on your remote, navigate to and select Settings.
  • 6Select Sound.
  • 7Select Sound Output, by default TV Speaker will be selected.
  • 8Select Receiver(HDMI).
  • 9Select Close to finish.
Your Anthem manual should show you how to connect the HDMI from the Tv to your Anthem


hope this helps
As 333444 points out, this is a great way to pass the audio return channel to an Anthem processor or AVR. I use exactly this setup for over-the-air broadcast content with audio piped to an AVM 60. On the AVM 60, it will be necessary to set the TV Audio Input to HDMI ARC.

As you go down the TV rabbit hole, there are a couple of other resources you may find useful. First, there's an excellent "Official Samsung KS8000/KS8500 Owners Thread". That thread produced the "Samsung TV - AVS Forum Offical Samsung KS8000 KS8500 Owners' Information" document, an excellent resource for setting up your TV and getting the most out of it. Lastly, you might find rtings.com of use for initial TV configuration settings. Out of the box, this TV looks pretty good. IMO, the rtings.com settings make it look even better.
Bill-99 is online now  
post #4508 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 622 Post(s)
Liked: 455
I am very close to buying an Anthem
AVM60 PrePro and replacing a Classe SSP-800.
I am using a Theta Dreadnaught D Amp with Kef Blade twos and reference C4 center Kef surrounds and such Paradigm Sub. Are all you owners happy with sound quality of the AVM60?
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #4509 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 11:17 AM
Senior Member
 
RedlineRonin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post
I am very close to buying an Anthem

AVM60 PrePro and replacing a Classe SSP-800.

I am using a Theta Dreadnaught D Amp with Kef Blade twos and reference C4 center Kef surrounds and such Paradigm Sub. Are all you owners happy with sound quality of the AVM60?


Yes!

ARC alone puts the AVM 60 head and shoulders above most system save maybe Dirac. It's certainly the best my Martin Logans have ever sounded. Zero doubt in my mind.
Bigmoviefan likes this.

Martin Logan Vantage, Stage, EM-FX2's, Descent i, AFXs - 7.1.2 | Anthem AVM 60 | Emotiva XPA-5 (G1) | Marantz MM8077| LG 65" C7
OPPO UDP-203 | PS4 Pro | Custom PC - i7-6700K, GTX 1080FE | Panamax 5400PM, 4300PM | Harmony Elite | Nintendo Switch
RedlineRonin is offline  
post #4510 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 12:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 622 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedlineRonin View Post
Yes!

ARC alone puts the AVM 60 head and shoulders above most system save maybe Dirac. It's certainly the best my Martin Logans have ever sounded. Zero doubt in my mind.
Thabk you very much for your reply Redline! Appreciate it!
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #4511 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 5,699
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2835 Post(s)
Liked: 1806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post
I am very close to buying an Anthem
Are all you owners happy with sound quality of the AVM60?
If I wasn't, I wouldn't still have it....
Bigmoviefan likes this.

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
post #4512 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 02:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 854 Post(s)
Liked: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post
I am very close to buying an Anthem
AVM60 PrePro and replacing a Classe SSP-800.
I am using a Theta Dreadnaught D Amp with Kef Blade twos and reference C4 center Kef surrounds and such Paradigm Sub. Are all you owners happy with sound quality of the AVM60?
Very happy, ARC does a fantastic job in my room and has multiple profile options. I also really like using AnthemLogic-Music....... for music.
veger69 and Bigmoviefan like this.

Lyngdorf MP-50 | Yamaha MX-A5200 | Ascend Sierra Towers | Ascend Sierra Horizon | Ascend Sierra Lunas | Ascend HTM-200SE | SVS SB-13 x4
duckymomo is offline  
post #4513 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 03:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
McLuvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by McLuvin View Post
Does anybody know the center frequency of the treble control on the AVM 60? I looked in the manual and searched this thread and couldn't find any reference for it.

If anybody is interested, I pulled out my laptop and ran some REW sweeps while maxing out the treble. The treble function to me looks similar to a high-shelf PEQ that starts around 1.3khz. Boosted to +10db, I can see a small rise starting at approx. 1.3khz and going all the way out to 20khz with 10db of boost.
McLuvin is online now  
post #4514 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 03:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post
I am very close to buying an Anthem
AVM60 PrePro and replacing a Classe SSP-800.
I am using a Theta Dreadnaught D Amp with Kef Blade twos and reference C4 center Kef surrounds and such Paradigm Sub. Are all you owners happy with sound quality of the AVM60?
Happy is an understatement . I found myself looking for old movies (on top of all the new releases) and Music CDs to test the AVM 60 with.
It really brings a new life to all the old movies and musics. I am in the middle of watching the old BR U-571, DAMN AND WOW is my reaction. I can't stop listening my system.
Bigmoviefan likes this.
bluzlee is offline  
post #4515 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
cvinfig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: KCMO
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdmoore123 View Post
Can someone owning an AVM60 please run a quick test to see if they get the same results I do. The issue - removing AC power and then turning on the display results in complete loss of audio for all HDMI sources that are not selected at the time the display is turned on. This can be rectified by performing a normal power cycle without removing the AC cable, or removing/installing the HDMI connector from the AVM-60 that drives the display. I have verified this anomaly is consistent with 2 different displays - an overhead projector and an LCD display, and with different HDMI cable types and lengths.

Here are the steps - Connect an HDMI source to HDMI1 and/or HDMI2 and connect a projector/display to either one of the two HDMI outputs. (I have a DISH receiver connected to HDMI1 and an OPPO DVD player connected to HDMI2). Unplug AC cable from AVM, press power button to drain residual power. Turn on AVM with HDMI sources off (though this should not matter). Wait for AVM wireless/Ethernet connection to fully connect (i.e. make sure the unit is fully powered/initialized). Select FM (or select/connect Play-Fi - point is to select a source other than one of the connected HDMI source(s). Turn on projector/display, wait a few seconds until the display is fully initialized. Power on HDMI source(s) - if not already on. Select an HDMI source and observe whether there is an audio signal. I find “No Signal” in the displayed audio status and get no audio output when selecting the DISH receiver or OPPO player – indefinitely until fully rectified by one of the 2 methods stated above.

If you could post your results I would appreciate it. If interested, further information can be found in my previous post #4264. Thank you.
Reminds me of the old joke:
Patient: Doctor, it hurts when I move my arm like this.
Doctor: So don't move your arm like that...
cvinfig is online now  
post #4516 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 04:06 PM
Senior Member
 
cvinfig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: KCMO
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifeisbeautiful View Post
1. I have my TV audio out connected to my MRX via the optical connection. My TV lets me set the output mode to either "Dolby digital" or "PCM". Which mode should I be using?
I have this currently at PCM.

2. When I set the mode to PCM, some questions on the listening modes:
a) "None" - Here, are the ARC corrections applied?
b) AnthemMusic vs "None"

I think others misunderstood your questions...

1.) I suggest having the TV output Dolby Digital. If you set it to PCM then it's doing the decoding instead of the MRX. It really shouldn't matter but I tend to trust Anthem more than television manufacturers.

2a.) ARC is applied based on the input source, not the input signal. If you have ARC turned on for the input then it will do its magic. Having the mode set to "None" just means that the output mode will be the same as the input mode: stereo in = stereo out, 5.1 Dolby in = 5.1 Dolby out, etc.

2b.) AnthemMusic will turn a stereo signal into surround utilizing all speakers except for the center channel, with most of the sound still coming from your front mains.

Last edited by cvinfig; 07-30-2017 at 04:14 PM.
cvinfig is online now  
post #4517 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 05:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 622 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonas2 View Post
If I wasn't, I wouldn't still have it....
Thanks! Been told it is very good and I should not let the $3K price influence me that is just an average PrePro! Anthem figured out how to cut costs & still come out with a high quality sounding PrePro.
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #4518 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 622 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluzlee View Post
Happy is an understatement . I found myself looking for old movies (on top of all the new releases) and Music CDs to test the AVM 60 with.
It really brings a new life to all the old movies and musics. I am in the middle of watching the old BR U-571, DAMN AND WOW is my reaction. I can't stop listening my system.
thanks for your input! Appreciate it. What do you have for a system BluzLee?
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #4519 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 622 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Is everyone using a 4K Blu-ray player with a 4k HDR tv and not having issues with HDMI? I have a Sony 940D tv and an Oppo203 right now and have to run a seperate HDMI cable to TV to get 4K and another to PrePro to get the sound! Would love to just run just one cable to the TV from the PrePro. So everyone happy with the 2.0 HDMI on AVM60 ?
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #4520 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 08:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 5,985
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 2286
I've had no issues whatsoever with 4K from an Oppo 203 to the AVM60 to my JVC projector.
Bigmoviefan likes this.

David Vaughn Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)
Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #4521 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Nugget's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Houston Texas USA
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post
Is everyone using a 4K Blu-ray player with a 4k HDR tv and not having issues with HDMI?
4K HDR works fine for me with Samsung K8500 through the MRX1120 to a Sony 930C (HDR10, not DV, obviously).
Bigmoviefan likes this.

I like cars, airplanes, running, and coding || current gear: two eyes, two ears, one brain, and some other junk.
Nugget is online now  
post #4522 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 10:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 622 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post
I've had no issues whatsoever with 4K from an Oppo 203 to the AVM60 to my JVC projector.
THanks Dave!
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #4523 of 9734 Old 07-30-2017, 10:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 622 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nugget View Post
4K HDR works fine for me with Samsung K8500 through the MRX1120 to a Sony 930C (HDR10, not DV, obviously).
Thanks Nugget! Good to know !
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #4524 of 9734 Old 07-31-2017, 05:34 AM
Newbie
 
wdmoore123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cvinfig View Post
Reminds me of the old joke:
Patient: Doctor, it hurts when I move my arm like this.
Doctor: So don't move your arm like that...
Your comment is not applicable. If there was a workaround for the issue, believe me I would have instituted. Hard to avoid not unplugging your equipment from the wall from time to time especially when you live in the Midwest with thunderstorms throughout the year. In the time you posted you could have simply ran the steps and posted the results.
wdmoore123 is offline  
post #4525 of 9734 Old 07-31-2017, 06:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bill-99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post
Is everyone using a 4K Blu-ray player with a 4k HDR tv and not having issues with HDMI? I have a Sony 940D tv and an Oppo203 right now and have to run a seperate HDMI cable to TV to get 4K and another to PrePro to get the sound! Would love to just run just one cable to the TV from the PrePro. So everyone happy with the 2.0 HDMI on AVM60 ?
No issues here.

My signal path:
Oppo 203 -> BJC Series-FE HDMI cable -> AVM 60 -> BJC Series-FE HDMI cable -> Samsung KS800D

I also use the audio return channel from the TV back thru the HDMI cable to the AVM 60. It was a bit of work to get everything configured correctly and it required data mining in this thread, the KS8000 / KS8500 thread, and the Oppo 203 thread.
Bill-99 is online now  
post #4526 of 9734 Old 07-31-2017, 09:51 AM
Member
 
greyflag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post
I've had no issues whatsoever with 4K from an Oppo 203 to the AVM60 to my JVC projector.
I PM'd you a while back and know you're quite busy. Are you well satisfied with the AVM 60 vs. the 8802A? It's a basic living room 5.1 setup and I don't need the 8802's video processing, as I have both a BDP-103D and a UDP-203. I've decided to replace my AVM 50 soon.

Thanks...
greyflag is offline  
post #4527 of 9734 Old 07-31-2017, 10:30 AM
Member
 
jmf866's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdmoore123 View Post
Can someone owning an AVM60 please run a quick test to see if they get the same results I do. The issue - removing AC power and then turning on the display results in complete loss of audio for all HDMI sources that are not selected at the time the display is turned on. This can be rectified by performing a normal power cycle without removing the AC cable, or removing/installing the HDMI connector from the AVM-60 that drives the display. I have verified this anomaly is consistent with 2 different displays - an overhead projector and an LCD display, and with different HDMI cable types and lengths.

Here are the steps - Connect an HDMI source to HDMI1 and/or HDMI2 and connect a projector/display to either one of the two HDMI outputs. (I have a DISH receiver connected to HDMI1 and an OPPO DVD player connected to HDMI2). Unplug AC cable from AVM, press power button to drain residual power. Turn on AVM with HDMI sources off (though this should not matter). Wait for AVM wireless/Ethernet connection to fully connect (i.e. make sure the unit is fully powered/initialized). Select FM (or select/connect Play-Fi - point is to select a source other than one of the connected HDMI source(s). Turn on projector/display, wait a few seconds until the display is fully initialized. Power on HDMI source(s) - if not already on. Select an HDMI source and observe whether there is an audio signal. I find “No Signal” in the displayed audio status and get no audio output when selecting the DISH receiver or OPPO player – indefinitely until fully rectified by one of the 2 methods stated above.

If you could post your results I would appreciate it. If interested, further information can be found in my previous post #4264. Thank you.


I get the "No Signal MUTE" display almost every time I turn on the AVM 60 without the display already being on (Panasonic Plasma TC-P65ST60). If I go into the Panasonic Viera Connect menu and cycle ARC (audio return channel) audio back and forth from TV to Home Theater, it causes a new HDMI handshake and it fixes it without rebooting anything. I emailed Anthem support about it once (and some other CEC issues), but they just basically told me that CEC stuff isn't worth their time, due to it being inherently terrible. Also, CEC and ARC is pretty bad on this particular Panasonic. No matter the start up order, the TV never maintains the ARC setting from the last session, I always have to go into the Panasonic apps Viera Connect menu and change it from TV to Home Theater.


So I just gave up on CEC with this setup and am using optical out from the TV to the Anthem, and I always turn on the Panasonic first.
jmf866 is offline  
post #4528 of 9734 Old 07-31-2017, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 5,699
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2835 Post(s)
Liked: 1806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post
Is everyone using a 4K Blu-ray player with a 4k HDR tv and not having issues with HDMI? I have a Sony 940D tv and an Oppo203 right now and have to run a seperate HDMI cable to TV to get 4K and another to PrePro to get the sound! Would love to just run just one cable to the TV from the PrePro. So everyone happy with the 2.0 HDMI on AVM60 ?
Running Oppo 203 to AVM60 to the ARC HDMI on my X930D - no problems, no need to run two separate HDMI cables. If I want to, I know HOW to screw it up and cause an issue, but in normal operations, no problems....

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
post #4529 of 9734 Old 07-31-2017, 07:44 PM
Newbie
 
Kantalias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmoviefan View Post
Is everyone using a 4K Blu-ray player with a 4k HDR tv and not having issues with HDMI? I have a Sony 940D tv and an Oppo203 right now and have to run a seperate HDMI cable to TV to get 4K and another to PrePro to get the sound! Would love to just run just one cable to the TV from the PrePro. So everyone happy with the 2.0 HDMI on AVM60 ?
Interesting. My Oppo UDP-203 plays great at 4K HDR through my AVM 60. HOWEVER, my Roku Ultra will not display video when set to HDR (4K works so it's not an HDCP issue).

Clearly there are aspects of one's system that result in finicky performance?

More details on my woes: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...l#post54551764
Kantalias is offline  
post #4530 of 9734 Old 07-31-2017, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
cvinfig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: KCMO
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdmoore123 View Post
Your comment is not applicable. If there was a workaround for the issue, believe me I would have instituted. Hard to avoid not unplugging your equipment from the wall from time to time especially when you live in the Midwest with thunderstorms throughout the year. In the time you posted you could have simply ran the steps and posted the results.
I live in Kansas City and never unplug my equipment... Anyway, I tried your experiment (which took quite a bit longer than posting my previous reply) and didn't have an issue. Here's what I did:
1. Turned off power to my APC power conditioner and waited for status lights on all equipment plugged into it to turn off
2. Held down power button on AVM 60 for seven seconds, repeat 3x
3. Turned on APC
4. Selected the Play-Fi input to turn on AVM, all other devices left off
5. Played two songs
6. Stopped music and closed Play-Fi app
7. Turned on JVC projector and waited for it to boot up
8. Started Samsung UHD player and waited for it to boot up
9. Switched input on Anthem to UHD player
10. Started disc that was in the player

Result: Audio played without issue

Last edited by cvinfig; 08-01-2017 at 06:42 AM.
cvinfig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
antehm arc genesis , anthem avm 60 , the official anthem avm60 thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off