The Official Anthem AVM 60 thread - Page 185 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4141Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5521 of 9522 Old 10-31-2017, 05:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post
Where are you seeing a high-res option? I only see (in the "premium" offering for various devices) some higher bitrate options, the best being 320kbps lossy. That's a pretty far cry from hi-res, which I'm not seeing anywhere associated with Spotify.
I think I was miss interpreting what spotify was calling "extreme" quality. Back to the drawing board...would really prefer to have at least a cd quality streaming service.
rushca01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5522 of 9522 Old 10-31-2017, 06:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Erod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,798
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1222 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post
No worries. I appreciate your wanting to help.


That's what I was afraid of. It's not that big of a deal (I didn't even bother checking until a couple days ago), but it's kind of annoying that Anthem didn't include a convenience option found on many $500 receivers.
This seems infinitely patchable with FW, as does this odd choice of displaying "PCM 2.0" for anything non-blu ray related.

I appreciate this Anthem 60 for it's simplicity because the sound is clear and accurate, and that's what should matter far more than anything. But a little bit of table dressing is OK, too.
BGLeduc and progprog like this.

Last edited by Erod; 10-31-2017 at 07:25 AM.
Erod is offline  
post #5523 of 9522 Old 10-31-2017, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 5,566
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2791 Post(s)
Liked: 1756
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erod View Post
This seems infinitely patchable with FW, as does this odd choice of displaying "PCM 2.0" for anything non-blu ray related.
It doesn't display only "PCM 2.0" for anything non-bluray related....

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5524 of 9522 Old 10-31-2017, 09:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 6,643
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1167 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erod View Post
This seems infinitely patchable with FW, as does this odd choice of displaying "PCM 2.0" for anything non-blu ray related.
The display shows what the incoming signal is and hitting the audio button displays hows it being decoded and sent out to the speakers. For instance I get Dolby 3/2 and Dolby 2/0 for Comcast TV & Netflix on the display as the incoming signal unless the show is actually being broadcast as PCM. I get PCM for 2 channel music so it's rare for me to get PCM from TV or Netflix.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"
Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread
Legairre is online now  
post #5525 of 9522 Old 10-31-2017, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 5,566
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2791 Post(s)
Liked: 1756
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post
The display shows what the incoming signal is and hitting the audio button displays hows it being decoded and sent out to the speakers. For instance I get Dolby 3/2 and Dolby 2/0 for Comcast TV & Netflix on the display as the incoming signal unless the show is actually being broadcast as PCM. I get PCM for 2 channel music so it's rare for me to get PCM from TV or Netflix.
Precisely!

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
post #5526 of 9522 Old 10-31-2017, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by rushca01 View Post
I think I was miss interpreting what spotify was calling "extreme" quality. Back to the drawing board...would really prefer to have at least a cd quality streaming service.
Tidal is an option.
progprog is offline  
post #5527 of 9522 Old 10-31-2017, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erod View Post
I appreciate this Anthem 60 for it's simplicity because the sound is clear and accurate, and that's what should matter far more than anything. But a little bit of table dressing is OK, too.
I don't consider it table dressing. I think there are basic conveniences that Anthem just inexplicably ignores...like y'know, the user interface. And the front panel display. When I was rigging up an older Denon receiver as an amp, I found myself missing the extensive information display of my previous processor, and even some of its features and settings. (It was nearly ten years old...) This relatively basic Denon receiver (also several years old) has a much higher resolution, information-rich front display panel than the AVM. The AVM's display and its implementation are embarrassingly lame, especially considering the nice OLED displays they put on the STR and their soundbars.
progprog is offline  
post #5528 of 9522 Old 10-31-2017, 11:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,125
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2506 Post(s)
Liked: 2028
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post
I don't consider it table dressing. I think there are basic conveniences that Anthem just inexplicably ignores...like y'know, the user interface. And the front panel display. When I was rigging up an older Denon receiver as an amp, I found myself missing the extensive information display of my previous processor, and even some of its features and settings. (It was nearly ten years old...) This relatively basic Denon receiver (also several years old) has a much higher resolution, information-rich front display panel than the AVM. The AVM's display and its implementation are embarrassingly lame, especially considering the nice OLED displays they put on the STR and their soundbars.
The STR is the platform for the next gen processor from Anthem...the box is rather enormous for two channel and appears to be sized for a multi-channel product using the same tooling investment. The guess of a fellow member anyway....

A new D3 perhaps?

UPDATED 4/29/17 Thrang's Home Theater (for now...)
Sony VPL-VW5000es • Panamorph Paladin DCR • Trinnov Altitude 16 • Crown DCIn amplifiers • JBL M2 (LCR-LW-RW) • JBL S2S-EX subwoofers x2 • JBL SCL-4 (side/rear surrounds) • JBL SCS12 (x4) SCS8 (x2) TH/RH/TM • Lumagen Radiance Pro • Panasonic UB820 • Apple TV 4k • Synology RAID (45 TB total storage) • RTI control system
thrang is offline  
post #5529 of 9522 Old 10-31-2017, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
The STR is the platform for the next gen processor from Anthem...the box is rather enormous for two channel and appears to be sized for a multi-channel product using the same tooling investment. The guess of a fellow member anyway....

A new D3 perhaps?
Yeah, I've seen that speculation before. How far out do you suppose they are with that?

One additional thought: I'm a little skeptical that it'd be a continuation in the "D" series, as video processing has always been the calling card of that line. I think Anthem (and other manufacturers) are realizing that video processing in receivers and processors is becoming largely irrelevant, and are turning their focus more exclusively to audio processing. I could see the D2v3D being the end of that line, and the end of Anthem's foray into video processing.

Last edited by progprog; 10-31-2017 at 12:03 PM.
progprog is offline  
post #5530 of 9522 Old 11-01-2017, 01:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
richmond5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What's new with the latest Anthem Room Correction 2 v1.8.6502?
richmond5 is offline  
post #5531 of 9522 Old 11-01-2017, 02:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by richmond5 View Post
What's new with the latest Anthem Room Correction 2 v1.8.6502?
Changes:


v1.8.6502:

1. Changed the appearance of the color legend below graphs, especially when viewing curves for all mic positions at once.

2. Added option to correct up to 20 kHz for most remaining models: MRX x10, MRX x20, PW Soundbar, PW/MLW Series.

3. Quick Measure additions:

- sensitivity calculation display

- click Save to keep the most recent curve on the display. This can be done with multiple curves. They will remain on display until the Quick Measure window is closed.

- (STR only, v1.4.6538 or later) sub or subs can be swept at the same time as a front speaker

- (STR only, v1.4.6538 or later) processing can be applied during sweeps - for details hover on the "Apply Processing" checkbox

4. Default profile name is "ProfileX". To apply the new default to an existing measurement, click Auto Detect, OK, Calculate, Upload.

5. Increased support for devices with low sample rate, for example 32k.

6. (AVM/MRX) Deleted Middle On-Wall option for Height1 and Height2.

7. Invalid characters in file name which were preventing upload get replaced with "?".

8. Various additional improvements and minor fixes.
progprog is offline  
post #5532 of 9522 Old 11-01-2017, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Erod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,798
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1222 Post(s)
Liked: 741
ARC question that I can't figure out.

Using Quick Measure, I was able to calibrate the volume levels on my two SVS subs before calibration. They sound great, so I probably should just leave it alone, but it's bugging me that I can figure out how to determine phase for both subs. (I've just left them on 0 as a result.)

I've read that I should set each sub individually according to the highest volume level they display through Quick Measure. However, I get the same volume at every phase setting for both subs.

What am I doing wrong?
Erod is offline  
post #5533 of 9522 Old 11-01-2017, 07:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,296
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erod View Post
ARC question that I can't figure out.

Using Quick Measure, I was able to calibrate the volume levels on my two SVS subs before calibration. They sound great, so I probably should just leave it alone, but it's bugging me that I can figure out how to determine phase for both subs. (I've just left them on 0 as a result.)

I've read that I should set each sub individually according to the highest volume level they display through Quick Measure. However, I get the same volume at every phase setting for both subs.

What am I doing wrong?
Are they equidistant from the listening position? You should not be trying to find the highest volume level with quick measure, that's what do if you only have a simple SPL meter.

You should be trying to find the settings that give the best frequency response over 20-100Hz and the least dips. Peaks can easily be cut by ARC so don't worry about that.

Lyngdorf MP-50 | Yamaha MX-A5200 | Ascend Sierra Towers | Ascend Sierra Horizon | Ascend Sierra Lunas | Ascend HTM-200SE | SVS SB-13 x4
duckymomo is offline  
post #5534 of 9522 Old 11-01-2017, 07:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Erod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,798
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1222 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckymomo View Post
Are they equidistant from the listening position? You should not be trying to find the highest volume level with quick measure, that's what do if you only have a simple SPL meter.

You should be trying to find the settings that give the best frequency response over 20-100Hz and the least dips. Peaks can easily be cut by ARC so don't worry about that.
OK, thanks. I thought what I read sounded odd.


I will say that after running ARC, my subwoofer arc is the most "perfectly shaped" curve of all measurements. Virtually follows the black line to the point of disappearing.


Why do I let it bother me so? Because I tinker like the rest of everybody here. LOL
Erod is offline  
post #5535 of 9522 Old 11-01-2017, 04:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Who is streaming hires tontheir anthem? Looks like I’m going to have buy a bluesound node2 as currently tidal and Play-Fi don’t have an option that work together yet.
rushca01 is offline  
post #5536 of 9522 Old 11-01-2017, 07:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Erod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,798
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1222 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckymomo View Post
Are they equidistant from the listening position? You should not be trying to find the highest volume level with quick measure, that's what do if you only have a simple SPL meter.

You should be trying to find the settings that give the best frequency response over 20-100Hz and the least dips. Peaks can easily be cut by ARC so don't worry about that.
Well, the 20-100 Hz curve doesn't change on any phase for either sub. My ARC corrected curves look virtually perfect, so I guess I'm good.

See the attached screenshot, with green corrected curve.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (3).png
Views:	115
Size:	525.9 KB
ID:	2308978  

Last edited by Erod; 11-01-2017 at 07:29 PM.
Erod is offline  
post #5537 of 9522 Old 11-01-2017, 11:56 PM
Member
 
Edward Chen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erod View Post
Well, the 20-100 Hz curve doesn't change on any phase for either sub. My ARC corrected curves look virtually perfect, so I guess I'm good.

See the attached screenshot, with green corrected curve.
My way to adjust phase of sub is to match center channel (or FR/FL, same distance in my case), but need REW w/i umik-1 to do.
The way is to adjust sub distance(minimum unit is ft only) in setup menu and phase button induce maximum volume at center cutoff FR 80Hz I set.

Can't not do above w/i ARC only.
Erod likes this.

MyAv [email protected]
Anthem AVM60/QSC DCA 1644*3/BDP-S780/Viewsonic pro8200/Klipsch UltraII/Rythmik FV15HP
Edward Chen is offline  
post #5538 of 9522 Old 11-02-2017, 05:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Does the AVM 60 have an analog bypass mode, where the source does the decoding then sends it to the AVM 60.
rushca01 is offline  
post #5539 of 9522 Old 11-02-2017, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 5,566
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2791 Post(s)
Liked: 1756
Quote:
Originally Posted by rushca01 View Post
Does the AVM 60 have an analog bypass mode, where the source does the decoding then sends it to the AVM 60.
Yep, page 24 of the manual; "Process Analog Audio Input", set to "NO", I think that's what you're after?

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
post #5540 of 9522 Old 11-02-2017, 03:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NJ
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonas2 View Post
Yep, page 24 of the manual; "Process Analog Audio Input", set to "NO", I think that's what you're after?
Keep in mind, that if you want to introduce a sub in to the mix, you have to set the "Process Analog Audio Input" to yes. Then it isn't a Pure/Direct signal anymore. I had this discussion with Anthem support several months ago.
Edward Chen likes this.

B&W 804 D3 Mains; B&W CM Center S2; B&W CWM7.4 Rears
SVS SB-2000 Sub; Samsung Plasma TV
Anthem A5, Anthem AVM60, Benchmark DAC3 L
Rega Saturn CD; Oppo BPP-93 Blu-Ray; Furman Elite-20 PF Power Conditioner
!Jerry is offline  
post #5541 of 9522 Old 11-02-2017, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
adrummingdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by !Jerry View Post
Keep in mind, that if you want to introduce a sub in to the mix, you have to set the "Process Analog Audio Input" to yes. Then it isn't a Pure/Direct signal anymore. I had this discussion with Anthem support several months ago.
Correct, and the resolution of the circuitry cuts in half too, if I remember correctly. So, process analog "no" goes to 96khz, but turn on the processing and it drops to 48khz.
Edward Chen likes this.

HT: KEF Reference 1 - Anthem AVM60 & MCA525 - Martin Logan Focus - DefTech XTR-20BP - Dual SVS SB16 Ultra
Office 2CH: KEF LS50 - Crown - Bluesound
Stage: Allen & Heath Dlive s5000 - Westone AMPRO 30 - AKG mics - Crown Amps
WAF is currently at DEFCON ORANGE
adrummingdude is offline  
post #5542 of 9522 Old 11-02-2017, 04:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 5,566
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2791 Post(s)
Liked: 1756
Quote:
Originally Posted by !Jerry View Post
Keep in mind, that if you want to introduce a sub in to the mix, you have to set the "Process Analog Audio Input" to yes. Then it isn't a Pure/Direct signal anymore. I had this discussion with Anthem support several months ago.
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrummingdude View Post
Correct, and the resolution of the circuitry cuts in half too, if I remember correctly. So, process analog "no" goes to 96khz, but turn on the processing and it drops to 48khz.
Good to know!

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
post #5543 of 9522 Old 11-02-2017, 09:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DreamWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dirty South Jersey
Posts: 2,099
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrummingdude View Post
Correct, and the resolution of the circuitry cuts in half too, if I remember correctly. So, process analog "no" goes to 96khz, but turn on the processing and it drops to 48khz.
if you're not digitally processing the analog input (in "no"), what digital circuitry is in play that the 96khz matters? In "yes" mode, I suppose the 48khz is the limit of the ADC in the unit?
BGLeduc likes this.
DreamWarrior is offline  
post #5544 of 9522 Old 11-03-2017, 12:23 AM
Member
 
Spinaker01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamWarrior View Post
if you're not digitally processing the analog input (in "no"), what digital circuitry is in play that the 96khz matters? In "yes" mode, I suppose the 48khz is the limit of the ADC in the unit?
Hmmm, now I’m confused as well. I thought that the no processing option effectively meant an analogue passthrough with no ADC - DAC conversions? Also, I thought the AVM60 digital processing including ARC was at 96 kHz? Am I wrong on both of these issues?
Spinaker01 is offline  
post #5545 of 9522 Old 11-03-2017, 12:53 AM
Member
 
Spinaker01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by !Jerry View Post
Keep in mind, that if you want to introduce a sub in to the mix, you have to set the "Process Analog Audio Input" to yes. Then it isn't a Pure/Direct signal anymore. I had this discussion with Anthem support several months ago.

I have confirmed this myself. Too bad really, I was thinking of introducing an upscale outboard DAC but I really don’t want to sacrifice the subs to do so. Thankfully the digital wizardry inside the AVM60 actually sounds quite good as it is for 2 channel listening.
Spinaker01 is offline  
post #5546 of 9522 Old 11-03-2017, 05:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrummingdude View Post
Correct, and the resolution of the circuitry cuts in half too, if I remember correctly. So, process analog "no" goes to 96khz, but turn on the processing and it drops to 48khz.
Well this is frustrating....what is the best way to stream hires music than to my Anthem?

So if I use a coax from a node2 to the anthem what is it doing to the signal?
rushca01 is offline  
post #5547 of 9522 Old 11-03-2017, 07:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 1
How is everyone pleased with the onboard DAC's of the AVM60? Is anybody using an outside DAC? Trying to use this a dual purpose home theater processor and stereo system. I have 60 days since I bought from crutchfield to exchange it.
rushca01 is offline  
post #5548 of 9522 Old 11-03-2017, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by rushca01 View Post
Well this is frustrating....what is the best way to stream hires music than to my Anthem?

So if I use a coax from a node2 to the anthem what is it doing to the signal?
The discussion about analog processing doesn't pertain to streaming high resolution to the AVM. Basically, you just need to find your hi-res source. A Node2 would give you plenty of options.

Personally, I've been very happy with the onboard DACs in the AVM. I never used to listen to music very much in my HT room, because my speakers there are great for HT, not so much for music. But I've come to really like streaming to the AVM with All-Channel engaged. It's the best that system has ever sounded for music.

As for using coax from a Node2....whenever you feed a digital signal to the processor, you will be using the AVM's onboard DACs. So what it is doing is converting to analog and outputting to your amp.

Last edited by progprog; 11-03-2017 at 09:38 AM.
progprog is offline  
post #5549 of 9522 Old 11-03-2017, 03:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
adrummingdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by rushca01 View Post
Well this is frustrating....what is the best way to stream hires music than to my Anthem?

So if I use a coax from a node2 to the anthem what is it doing to the signal?
I use the Node 2 DAC's, run analog (RCA) out to the Anthem and choose no processing. That way with Tidal HiFi, the MQA stream is unpacked at 24 bit, converted in the Node box and unmolested through the Anthem. Setup like this, the Anthem is just being used as a volume control.

HT: KEF Reference 1 - Anthem AVM60 & MCA525 - Martin Logan Focus - DefTech XTR-20BP - Dual SVS SB16 Ultra
Office 2CH: KEF LS50 - Crown - Bluesound
Stage: Allen & Heath Dlive s5000 - Westone AMPRO 30 - AKG mics - Crown Amps
WAF is currently at DEFCON ORANGE
adrummingdude is offline  
post #5550 of 9522 Old 11-03-2017, 03:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
adrummingdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamWarrior View Post
if you're not digitally processing the analog input (in "no"), what digital circuitry is in play that the 96khz matters? In "yes" mode, I suppose the 48khz is the limit of the ADC in the unit?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spinaker01 View Post
Hmmm, now I’m confused as well. I thought that the no processing option effectively meant an analogue passthrough with no ADC - DAC conversions? Also, I thought the AVM60 digital processing including ARC was at 96 kHz? Am I wrong on both of these issues?
Here are the frequency response specs of processing on and off. I stand corrected. It's only up to 35khz with processing enabled, and 80khz without.


Preamplifier (measured at XLR output) Maximum Output (<0.1% THD) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .8.4 Vrms, subwoofer channel 9.9 Vrms

Frequency Response (2 Vrms output) . . . . . . . . . . . . .10 Hz - 35 kHz (+0, -.25 dB)

Frequency Response, Analog-Direct (2 Vrms output) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .10 Hz - 80 kHz (+0, -.25 dB) THD+N
(2 Vrms output) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .-95 dB S/N Ratio (2 Vrms output, IEC-A filter) . . . . . . . . . . . . .110 dB

Power Consumption Typical Load . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .60 W Standby . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .0.3 W Standby IP Control Enabled . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .4.7 W Standby HDMI Bypass Enabled . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .8.2 W
Dimensions Height . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .6-1/2˝ / 16.5 cm Height with Rackmount Kit . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .4U Width . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .17-1/4˝ / 43.9 cm Depth (not including power cord) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .14-1/2˝ / 36.4 cm
Weight (unpacked) AVM 60 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .20 lb / 9 kg

HT: KEF Reference 1 - Anthem AVM60 & MCA525 - Martin Logan Focus - DefTech XTR-20BP - Dual SVS SB16 Ultra
Office 2CH: KEF LS50 - Crown - Bluesound
Stage: Allen & Heath Dlive s5000 - Westone AMPRO 30 - AKG mics - Crown Amps
WAF is currently at DEFCON ORANGE
adrummingdude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
antehm arc genesis , anthem avm 60 , the official anthem avm60 thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off