The Official Anthem AVM 60 thread - Page 24 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4140Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 9517 Old 02-23-2016, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
mkohman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 340
It's not that I want to make changes. The cross over for my fronts are usually 100 hz and subwoofer is usually 120hz.. Subwoofer is now 250hz isn't that a bit too much?
mkohman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 9517 Old 02-23-2016, 03:02 PM
Member
 
Edward Chen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just like my experience, I got umik-1 with REW.
Before ARC, I use REW to confirm SUB PEQ and distance even cut off frequency.
And before ARC calculation, I use the cut off above as profile 2(front 100Hz), profile 1 keep it was.
After upload, I use REW to check center again, the SPL of profile 2 100~130Hz looks terrible.
You may try it and sound it then decide if don't have REW.
Edward Chen is offline  
post #693 of 9517 Old 02-23-2016, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
maxfli44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkohman View Post
It's not that I want to make changes. The cross over for my fronts are usually 100 hz and subwoofer is usually 120hz.. Subwoofer is now 250hz isn't that a bit too much?
Both my subs are crossed over at 80hz, fronts set to 60 centre 80 and surrounds at 120.
maxfli44 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #694 of 9517 Old 02-23-2016, 05:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Red99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,289
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 776 Post(s)
Liked: 418
Are you talking about the crossover that is on the back of your subs amps? Im not familiar with ARC, but generally the crossover on the sub itself should always be set at max Hz. Then in the processor you set your mains to small, and set all speakers crossovers at 80Hz (if they ea will play down that far). 80Hz is THX standard. Any higher and the sub(s) can become localized. If the L/C/R is set higher, then if this subs are on the front wall, then its no problem. So depending on the room, speakers, and personal taste, a person may choose a different crossover. But unless the AVM60 is different from other AV processors, the crossover at the sub should always be wide open so you let the AV processor do all the bass management.

The way you have it now, you are lacking LFE from 80Hz to 120Hz on your surrounds.


Red99 is offline  
post #695 of 9517 Old 02-23-2016, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
maxfli44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red99 View Post
Are you talking about the crossover that is on the back of your subs amps? Im not familiar with ARC, but generally the crossover on the sub itself should always be set at max Hz. Then in the processor you set your mains to small, and set all speakers crossovers at 80Hz (if they ea will play down that far). 80Hz is THX standard. Any higher and the sub(s) can become localized. If the L/C/R is set higher, then if this subs are on the front wall, then its no problem. So depending on the room, speakers, and personal taste, a person may choose a different crossover. But unless the AVM60 is different from other AV processors, the crossover at the sub should always be wide open so you let the AV processor do all the bass management.

The way you have it now, you are lacking LFE from 80Hz to 120Hz on your surrounds.
Well there you go been doing it wrong my whole life. Guess I should read the manual once in a while. Will try it out right away. Huh had no idea that was the way to set it up lol. Thanks I appreciate the tip.
maxfli44 is offline  
post #696 of 9517 Old 02-23-2016, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Red99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,289
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 776 Post(s)
Liked: 418
Well your way is the old school way before we got smart AVRs, smart phones, smart cars, smart bombs, etc... lol


Red99 is offline  
post #697 of 9517 Old 02-23-2016, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
maxfli44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 61
LOL you are right I am old :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:
maxfli44 is offline  
post #698 of 9517 Old 02-25-2016, 01:47 PM
Member
 
Dr_Gonzo_DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got my AVM 60 ten days. Coming from a mxr 710, I'm pretty happy about the upgrade. But I have a problem: the ARC-software will not let me rename the configurations. I was able to rename Configuration2, but number 1, 3 and 4 I can not rename. When trying to, the name just changes back to configuration 1, 3 or 4, as soon as I'm done typing. Has any of you expirenced the same? Is there a solution to my problem?
Edward Chen likes this.

Last edited by Dr_Gonzo_DK; 02-25-2016 at 01:51 PM.
Dr_Gonzo_DK is offline  
post #699 of 9517 Old 02-25-2016, 01:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Quebec
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Have you done the update ?

Music can move you "with enough bass"
Bahltech is offline  
post #700 of 9517 Old 02-25-2016, 01:58 PM
Member
 
Dr_Gonzo_DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes. Both the latest firmware end version of ARC.
Dr_Gonzo_DK is offline  
post #701 of 9517 Old 02-25-2016, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Edward Chen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Gonzo_DK View Post
I got my AVM 60 ten days. Coming from a mxr 710, I'm pretty happy about the upgrade. But I have a problem: the ARC-software will not let me rename the configurations. I was able to rename Configuration2, but number 1, 3 and 4 I can not rename. When trying to, the name just changes back to configuration 1, 3 or 4, as soon as I'm done typing. Has any of you expirenced the same? Is there a solution to my problem?
Same as mine, only profile2 can be renamed.
But not big issue for me, biggest is can't wireless connect to my ASUS AP so couldn't use Play-Fi till now.

MyAv [email protected]
Anthem AVM60/QSC DCA 1644*3/BDP-S780/Viewsonic pro8200/Klipsch UltraII/Rythmik FV15HP
Edward Chen is offline  
post #702 of 9517 Old 02-25-2016, 06:12 PM
Member
 
DNbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's been quite sometime since I've consistently visited one of my favorites sites. I'm very, very overdue for an AV upgrade and the Anthem is on my shortlist (subscribed).

I know this thread is to focus on the AVM60, but wanted to share others that I've been looking closely at, AV Pro, Amp, respectively:

Rotel: RSP1582 / RMB 1785
Parasound Halo: P7 / A51
Marantz: AV8802 OR 7702mkII / MM7055

Or combinations of the above. Although in different price range, I did look at Emotiva as well.

Last but not least, AVM 60 / MCA 525. I'd appreciate feedback from folks that have experienced with this combination or my short list.

Thanks.
DNbass is offline  
post #703 of 9517 Old 02-25-2016, 10:30 PM
Member
 
CM Harrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Greenwich, CT USA
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by DNbass View Post
It's been quite sometime since I've consistently visited one of my favorites sites. I'm very, very overdue for an AV upgrade and the Anthem is on my shortlist (subscribed).

I know this thread is to focus on the AVM60, but wanted to share others that I've been looking closely at, AV Pro, Amp, respectively:

Rotel: RSP1582 / RMB 1785
Parasound Halo: P7 / A51
Marantz: AV8802 OR 7702mkII / MM7055

Or combinations of the above. Although in different price range, I did look at Emotiva as well.

Last but not least, AVM 60 / MCA 525. I'd appreciate feedback from folks that have experienced with this combination or my short list.

Thanks.
Hey there!

I too have been out of this forum for so long, they didn't even have my login in the system anymore. Anyway, I have the AVM60 and a Parasound A51 feeding B&W 803D mains, and a HTM2D2 centre (via Anticables, although I'm not sure how much that matters). I play a good mix of high-res audio, and video. My surrounds aren't currently hooked up, due to room reconfiguration. I can tell you I really enjoy the sound from this combination. I haven't used the ARC room correction yet, as I don't have a PC with which to run it (Mac house). I watched Ant Man on Blu Ray recently, and used the Master Audio track, and I've never heard a more life-like reproduction. Once I dialed-in the speaker distances, it was a night-and-day difference.

I did have an annoying time with getting it to talk to my network. I wound up doing it via the Play Fi app on my iPhone, and only then would it connect. Not the best user experience, but in the end, I was able to accomplish my goal. I think the newer firmware updates fix some of this issue.

The Anthem folk have a really good return policy. I say give it a go.
CM Harrington is offline  
post #704 of 9517 Old 02-26-2016, 07:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by DNbass View Post
It's been quite sometime since I've consistently visited one of my favorites sites. I'm very, very overdue for an AV upgrade and the Anthem is on my shortlist (subscribed).

I know this thread is to focus on the AVM60, but wanted to share others that I've been looking closely at, AV Pro, Amp, respectively:

Rotel: RSP1582 / RMB 1785
Parasound Halo: P7 / A51
Marantz: AV8802 OR 7702mkII / MM7055

Or combinations of the above. Although in different price range, I did look at Emotiva as well.

Last but not least, AVM 60 / MCA 525. I'd appreciate feedback from folks that have experienced with this combination or my short list.

Thanks.
The Rotel amp = yes, the preamp = no. Kept my Rotel amp, sent the predecessor to the RSP1582 back because of annoying delays in audio and some snap, crackle and pop in speakers. Read the same issue present in the 1582, so nixed that idea in favor of the AVM60. Couldn't be happier.
TomInKY is offline  
post #705 of 9517 Old 02-26-2016, 01:49 PM
Member
 
DNbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks CM and Tom.

Although not technically required, I'm leaning towards getting the same brand for pre/pro and amp - unless there's some compelling reason to get the "best" option from my list. But keeping an open mind with the feedback too.

Anyone with experience with both Anthem pre/pro and amp combo?
DNbass is offline  
post #706 of 9517 Old 02-26-2016, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
maxfli44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by DNbass View Post
Thanks CM and Tom.

Although not technically required, I'm leaning towards getting the same brand for pre/pro and amp - unless there's some compelling reason to get the "best" option from my list. But keeping an open mind with the feedback too.

Anyone with experience with both Anthem pre/pro and amp combo?
I run the AVM 60 MCA 50 combo works flawless. Have the amp made by Sonic Frontiers excellent amp.
maxfli44 is offline  
post #707 of 9517 Old 02-26-2016, 07:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Charles J P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I just got my unit hooked up. I'm getting ready to run ARC. A few questions I haven't been able to figure out on my own. I've been an Onkyo user for over 10 years now. Is there a Pure or Direct mode on the Anthem? Is it a listening mode? Or do I need to setup multiple speaker profiles? If the latter, is there a way to switch profiles on the fly or do you have to go into the menus?

the lounj is a general interest/hobby discussion forum.
Charles J P is offline  
post #708 of 9517 Old 02-26-2016, 07:48 PM
Member
 
Kuch569's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I've had mine for about a month and still figuring it out. I don't think there is a pure direct mode, or many modes to switch through for that matter. On the input set up there is an area where you can select the default listening mode. I think if you select "last used" or something like that you can toggle through the available modes by hitting the mode button on the remote and then the down or up arrow. I was a little disappointed by the lack of selections of listening modes. I know most are just gimmicky, but I did like some of the live concert modes I had on older Yamaha and Denon AVRs. But I think you will find the sound quality is better than what you came from and the loss of these listening modes will not be a big deal. Good Luck.
Kuch569 is offline  
post #709 of 9517 Old 02-26-2016, 09:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuch569 View Post
I've had mine for about a month and still figuring it out. I don't think there is a pure direct mode, or many modes to switch through for that matter. On the input set up there is an area where you can select the default listening mode. I think if you select "last used" or something like that you can toggle through the available modes by hitting the mode button on the remote and then the down or up arrow. I was a little disappointed by the lack of selections of listening modes. I know most are just gimmicky, but I did like some of the live concert modes I had on older Yamaha and Denon AVRs. But I think you will find the sound quality is better than what you came from and the loss of these listening modes will not be a big deal. Good Luck.
Pure or direct mode is suitable for AV processor in order to cut the power of video elements (anti-jitter) - increase the sound quality. No need here.

I understand that in the case of AVM 60 it ought to have a proper ARC multiple settings and to select them for menu. Am I wrong ?

For stereo we could use an equaliser, even looks obosolete. A good SH one.

How does remote looks like ? - somebody in the forum said that is a Joke. Is so Poor ? - material quality, design...Could you attached a photo ? I am curious.
Mike RO is offline  
post #710 of 9517 Old 02-27-2016, 12:10 AM
Member
 
Edward Chen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles J P View Post
I just got my unit hooked up. I'm getting ready to run ARC. A few questions I haven't been able to figure out on my own. I've been an Onkyo user for over 10 years now. Is there a Pure or Direct mode on the Anthem? Is it a listening mode? Or do I need to setup multiple speaker profiles? If the latter, is there a way to switch profiles on the fly or do you have to go into the menus?

I think there are only direct and Dolby surround mode in multiple channels input if w/o atmos, and can have more surround effect mode just in stereo input.


Avbuzz review about 1120

Anthem 新機到港

http://www.avbuzz.com/audio-video/201602/anthem全球首發/
Edward Chen is offline  
post #711 of 9517 Old 02-27-2016, 02:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HeffeMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Hello,
I have the 1120, and there is a direct 2 ch mode that shuts off ARC and all digital processing. It is in the profile settings.
HeffeMusic is offline  
post #712 of 9517 Old 02-27-2016, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Charles J P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 50
OK, one more question. I'm trying to update the firmware but the unit just says "Error check USB or FW" I've tried two different USB sticks. I've tried formatting them multiple ways etc.


EDIT: I was trying at first using my Mac and needed format the thumb drive with Windows. Once I switched over, I ended up copying the ARC setup .exe file over instead of the FW. Once I got the actual FW file on the thumb drive it was fine.

the lounj is a general interest/hobby discussion forum.

Last edited by Charles J P; 02-27-2016 at 12:53 PM.
Charles J P is offline  
post #713 of 9517 Old 02-27-2016, 12:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlinsley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 378
There's a new promotion just started today that runs through the end of March. With an AVM60 purchase (or the 720 and 1120 AVRs) you get a choice of the Paradigm PlayFi amp or wireless speaker (normally $500 and $800). This may push me over the edge in the next few weeks

http://www.anthemav.com/specials/wireless-2016.php
dlinsley is offline  
post #714 of 9517 Old 02-27-2016, 04:04 PM
Member
 
seanimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
On the D1 I could set rear speakers = surround speakers for 5.1 channel audio. Can I do that on AVM 60?
seanimus is offline  
post #715 of 9517 Old 02-27-2016, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Applemike68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxfli44 View Post
Well there you go been doing it wrong my whole life. Guess I should read the manual once in a while. Will try it out right away. Huh had no idea that was the way to set it up lol. Thanks I appreciate the tip.
This helped me out as well, just upgraded to a 1120.

How do you like the av60 and the paradigm 85f? Before I pull the trigger on the 95's, I would like to hear them first.
Applemike68 is offline  
post #716 of 9517 Old 02-27-2016, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Bluecow003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlinsley View Post
There's a new promotion just started today that runs through the end of March. With an AVM60 purchase (or the 720 and 1120 AVRs) you get a choice of the Paradigm PlayFi amp or wireless speaker (normally $500 and $800). This may push me over the edge in the next few weeks

http://www.anthemav.com/specials/wireless-2016.php
My AVM60 just arrived from Anthem a little over a week ago. Sure would have been nice to get the free PlayFi speaker. I wonder if they will let me still get it somehow.

Last edited by Bluecow003; 02-27-2016 at 07:37 PM.
Bluecow003 is offline  
post #717 of 9517 Old 02-28-2016, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
maxfli44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applemike68 View Post
This helped me out as well, just upgraded to a 1120.

How do you like the av60 and the paradigm 85f? Before I pull the trigger on the 95's, I would like to hear them first.
Great combination, being the same company you can only think they were extensively tested together. The speakers do require a good burn in to sound their best.
maxfli44 is offline  
post #718 of 9517 Old 02-28-2016, 02:30 PM
Member
 
CM Harrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Greenwich, CT USA
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlinsley View Post
There's a new promotion just started today that runs through the end of March. With an AVM60 purchase (or the 720 and 1120 AVRs) you get a choice of the Paradigm PlayFi amp or wireless speaker (normally $500 and $800). This may push me over the edge in the next few weeks
Gah!

Why is it the early adopters always get burned??
CM Harrington is offline  
post #719 of 9517 Old 02-28-2016, 02:35 PM
Member
 
CM Harrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Greenwich, CT USA
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Update:

I sent in an email to customer support. I'll let folks know how it pans out. ::fingers crossed::
CM Harrington is offline  
post #720 of 9517 Old 02-28-2016, 03:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: California, Bay Area
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS-21 View Post
Why would you think that obsolete and cumbersome connections (plus a gratuitous DA/AD loop) would result in better "stereo sound" than a modern connection?
7.1 analog in is a nice feature. It allows one to try other multichannel DACs and use audio interfaces to get good multichannel measurements (this can be worked around to some extent, but its a pain). Extraneous AD/DA conversion is not an issue in Direct mode. The compensating feature with the AVM 60 is switchable speaker setups in memory. Is anyone using this feature?
bartrinsic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
antehm arc genesis , anthem avm 60 , the official anthem avm60 thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off