The Official Anthem AVM 60 thread - Page 288 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4108Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8611 of 9444 Old 02-21-2019, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,646
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by swanlee View Post
Any former Lexicon MC owners here? I've held onto my Lexicon MC-8 and MC-12 for the last 15 years due rto Logic7. I've been told Anthem Logic is a pretty close DSP to logic 7. Does anyone have direct experience comparing Logic7 to AnthemLogic and the MC-12 to the AVM 60?

The AVM 60 seems like a decent upgrade path but the key points would be how how AnthemLogic handles 2 channel to MC conversion for music and how well the AVM60 sounds overall for music.
I switched from Lexicon after my MC-12. Back then the D2 had just
started to ship. To this day it is the BEST decision I have ever made.

The New Anthems are light years ahead of my D2, but until it breaks
I am not changing it.
drhankz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8612 of 9444 Old 02-21-2019, 04:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
swanlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,481
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post
I switched from Lexicon after my MC-12. Back then the D2 had just
started to ship. To this day it is the BEST decision I have ever made.

The New Anthems are light years ahead of my D2, but until it breaks
I am not changing it.
So was the D2 a total sonic upgrade over the MC-12? Still love my MC-12 and logic7, did you ever use Anthemlogic for 2 channel music and if so how did you like it compared to logic7?
swanlee is offline  
post #8613 of 9444 Old 02-21-2019, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MUDCAT45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 555 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by swanlee View Post
So was the D2 a total sonic upgrade over the MC-12? Still love my MC-12 and logic7, did you ever use Anthemlogic for 2 channel music and if so how did you like it compared to logic7?
I have owned Anthem AVM20, Lecixon MC4 and MC12. I had an Anthem MRX720 for about a year.
Overall the Lexicon had the best sound to me. If comparing Logic 7 to Anthemlogic I would take L7 by a small margin.
MUDCAT45 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8614 of 9444 Old 02-21-2019, 11:51 PM
Member
 
sakgoz79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a Mcintosh Mx151 processor so what you think about avm60? is it worth to pass Mcintosh mx151 to avm60?
sakgoz79 is offline  
post #8615 of 9444 Old 02-22-2019, 08:36 PM
Member
 
leehan76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Anyone have experience trying to use both software to get better bass from multiple subwoofers? I have dual JTR Cap S1 subs hooked up from my Anthem Avm60 to a MiniDSP 2x4HD. But after I got good PEQ settings from REW into my MiniDSP 2x4HD, I ran ARC and then frequency response turned horrible.

Does having MiniDSP 2x4HD negate the benefits of Anthem’s ARC for multiple sub calibration? Can ARC correct for only above my crossover point so I can keep the peq settings in the MiniDSP? Should I sell the MiniDSP and just use ARC to calibrate my 2 subs? I assume I need to turn off my peq settings to have ARC run effectively and vice versa?

How best to utilize the benefits of both ARC and a MiniDSP at the same time?

Thanks for any help on the two software. Am confused how to get them both working in harmony.

Subs: JTR Captivator S1 x2 Speakers: KEF R300 (L/R), KEF R600c (Center), KEF Ci160QR x4 (Atmos), Dynaudio Audience 50 (Surrounds) Processor/Amps: Anthem AVM60, Anthem MCA325, Rotel RB985 mkII Misc: Samsung K8500, ATV 4k, Sony PS4, MiniDSP 2x4HD Video: BenQ HT2050, 100” Screen Room: 2500 cu sq. ft. sealed on suspended floor
leehan76 is offline  
post #8616 of 9444 Old 02-23-2019, 02:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,415
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2903 Post(s)
Liked: 1672
Quote:
Originally Posted by leehan76 View Post
How best to utilize the benefits of both ARC and a MiniDSP at the same time?.
I raised the Min EQ Frequency to 120 Hz for the Subwoofer in the ARC targets for each Profile (then compute and upload). That prevents ARC from applying any EQ to the subwoofer. I use a MiniDSP to perform all the subwoofer EQs.
leehan76 likes this.

Deadwood II Theater (Previous Deadwood Theater HTOM)
Anthem AVM 60 7.4.4; Classé SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4; MiniDSP OpenDRC-AN
Oppo UDP-203; Oppo BDP-93; Win7 media PC w/Roon+Kodi; Roku Ultra; DirecTV Genie
Adam Audio S3V/S3H LCR, KEF Ci200QS 4 srrnd, Tannoy Di6 DC 4 hts, Hsu ULS-15 4 subs
JVC RS520; Stewart Cima Neve screen 125" diag 2.35:1, MLP at 115"
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #8617 of 9444 Old 02-23-2019, 03:22 PM
Member
 
leehan76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
I raised the Min EQ Frequency to 120 Hz for the Subwoofer in the ARC targets for each Profile (then compute and upload). That prevents ARC from applying any EQ to the subwoofer. I use a MiniDSP to perform all the subwoofer EQs.
That makes sense, thanks. Where is that option found in ARC where one can adjust the Min EQ Frequency?

Subs: JTR Captivator S1 x2 Speakers: KEF R300 (L/R), KEF R600c (Center), KEF Ci160QR x4 (Atmos), Dynaudio Audience 50 (Surrounds) Processor/Amps: Anthem AVM60, Anthem MCA325, Rotel RB985 mkII Misc: Samsung K8500, ATV 4k, Sony PS4, MiniDSP 2x4HD Video: BenQ HT2050, 100” Screen Room: 2500 cu sq. ft. sealed on suspended floor
leehan76 is offline  
post #8618 of 9444 Old 02-23-2019, 05:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 6,624
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1154 Post(s)
Liked: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by leehan76 View Post
Anyone have experience trying to use both software to get better bass from multiple subwoofers? I have dual JTR Cap S1 subs hooked up from my Anthem Avm60 to a MiniDSP 2x4HD. But after I got good PEQ settings from REW into my MiniDSP 2x4HD, I ran ARC and then frequency response turned horrible.

Does having MiniDSP 2x4HD negate the benefits of Anthem’s ARC for multiple sub calibration? Can ARC correct for only above my crossover point so I can keep the peq settings in the MiniDSP? Should I sell the MiniDSP and just use ARC to calibrate my 2 subs? I assume I need to turn off my peq settings to have ARC run effectively and vice versa?

How best to utilize the benefits of both ARC and a MiniDSP at the same time?

Thanks for any help on the two software. Am confused how to get them both working in harmony.
Anthem recommends running ARC after any EQ, but if you do that ARC will try and flatten the EQ settings you just did with REW and the miniDSP. I run a miniDSP 2x4HD with my Anthem MRX 720 and ARC and dual Hsu VTF-15H MK2 sub and it works great.

What you have to do is run ARC first and then run REW and the miniDSP.

1) Restore each the miniDSP configuration to it's default so there aren't any EQ setting(flat).
2) Click bypass on each miniDSP crossover to get the crossover out of the way.

Now the miniDSP is perfectly flat and the volume settings are also flat and it's as if you don't even have the miniDSP in your system

3) Run ARC.
4) Run REW
5) Use the REW EQ screen to EQ your subs
6) Save the REW EQ file.
7) Import the REW EQ file into the miniDSP

Now you'll retain your miniDSP settings without ARC trying to flatten the response.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"
Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread
Legairre is offline  
post #8619 of 9444 Old 02-23-2019, 06:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,415
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2903 Post(s)
Liked: 1672
Quote:
Originally Posted by leehan76 View Post
That makes sense, thanks. Where is that option found in ARC where one can adjust the Min EQ Frequency?
In the Targets window, at the bottom.

Deadwood II Theater (Previous Deadwood Theater HTOM)
Anthem AVM 60 7.4.4; Classé SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4; MiniDSP OpenDRC-AN
Oppo UDP-203; Oppo BDP-93; Win7 media PC w/Roon+Kodi; Roku Ultra; DirecTV Genie
Adam Audio S3V/S3H LCR, KEF Ci200QS 4 srrnd, Tannoy Di6 DC 4 hts, Hsu ULS-15 4 subs
JVC RS520; Stewart Cima Neve screen 125" diag 2.35:1, MLP at 115"
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #8620 of 9444 Old 02-23-2019, 06:54 PM
Member
 
leehan76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
In the Targets window, at the bottom.
Thanks. I’ll try having ARC calibrate everything except my subs as you mentioned.

Another avsforum member @Legairre suggested even running ARC on subs. *But* to restore the settings in the MiniDSP to default first so there aren’t any EQ settings. Also to bypass each MiniDSP crossover. Then, after ARC does it’s calibration on subwoofers to use REW to EQ the subs. Then import the REW eq file in MiniDSP.

I may try both methods. My only concern with the other method mentioned above is tinkering with a graph that’s already been modified with ARC being in use. Guess I’ll just have to try both

Subs: JTR Captivator S1 x2 Speakers: KEF R300 (L/R), KEF R600c (Center), KEF Ci160QR x4 (Atmos), Dynaudio Audience 50 (Surrounds) Processor/Amps: Anthem AVM60, Anthem MCA325, Rotel RB985 mkII Misc: Samsung K8500, ATV 4k, Sony PS4, MiniDSP 2x4HD Video: BenQ HT2050, 100” Screen Room: 2500 cu sq. ft. sealed on suspended floor

Last edited by leehan76; 02-23-2019 at 06:58 PM.
leehan76 is offline  
post #8621 of 9444 Old 02-23-2019, 07:24 PM
Member
 
leehan76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post
Anthem recommends running ARC after any EQ, but if you do that ARC will try and flatten the EQ settings you just did with REW and the miniDSP. I run a miniDSP 2x4HD with my Anthem MRX 720 and ARC and dual Hsu VTF-15H MK2 sub and it works great.

What you have to do is run ARC first and then run REW and the miniDSP.

1) Restore each the miniDSP configuration to it's default so there aren't any EQ setting(flat).
2) Click bypass on each miniDSP crossover to get the crossover out of the way.

Now the miniDSP is perfectly flat and the volume settings are also flat and it's as if you don't even have the miniDSP in your system

3) Run ARC.
4) Run REW
5) Use the REW EQ screen to EQ your subs
6) Save the REW EQ file.
7) Import the REW EQ file into the miniDSP

Now you'll retain your miniDSP settings without ARC trying to flatten the response.
Do you happen to have a pic of your REW graph with just ARC applied. Then with ARC and your own PEQ’s applied? I’m just a tad bit wary of touching a REW graph affected by ARC to apply PEQ’s VS just having ARC fix everything above a min. EQ Frequency of 120. As suggested by @Roger Dressler above. A friend of mine told me he thinks no room correction can compare to a MiniDSP in calibrating subwoofers.

Subs: JTR Captivator S1 x2 Speakers: KEF R300 (L/R), KEF R600c (Center), KEF Ci160QR x4 (Atmos), Dynaudio Audience 50 (Surrounds) Processor/Amps: Anthem AVM60, Anthem MCA325, Rotel RB985 mkII Misc: Samsung K8500, ATV 4k, Sony PS4, MiniDSP 2x4HD Video: BenQ HT2050, 100” Screen Room: 2500 cu sq. ft. sealed on suspended floor
leehan76 is offline  
post #8622 of 9444 Old 02-24-2019, 06:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Does anyone use PlayFi to play Tidal music from the AVM60?

Today I try the first time, and found that it lags on every 5-6 second, (no sound in between).

I choose HiFi quality or normal quality,both have same lagging issue.

My Anthem is connect on 1G LAN cable, and my mobile is on 5G wifi .

Thanks.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Dick_Lai is offline  
post #8623 of 9444 Old 02-24-2019, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jsin_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 440 Post(s)
Liked: 192
The lag is in Play-fi itself. Anything played through Play-fi will have that 5 second delay. Not sure why it's so massive.
Jsin_N is offline  
post #8624 of 9444 Old 02-25-2019, 03:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsin_N View Post
The lag is in Play-fi itself. Anything played through Play-fi will have that 5 second delay. Not sure why it's so massive.
It's not just a delay, it has no sound at all for every 5seconds ....
Very bad PlayFi app....

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Dick_Lai is offline  
post #8625 of 9444 Old 02-25-2019, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 5,470
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2749 Post(s)
Liked: 1710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dick_Lai View Post
It's not just a delay, it has no sound at all for every 5seconds ....
Very bad PlayFi app....

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Do you mean it cuts out every 5 seconds?? So, it does play, then 5 seconds, no sound, then it comes back and repeats?

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
post #8626 of 9444 Old 02-25-2019, 06:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonas2 View Post
Do you mean it cuts out every 5 seconds?? So, it does play, then 5 seconds, no sound, then it comes back and repeats?
Yes

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Dick_Lai is offline  
post #8627 of 9444 Old 02-26-2019, 07:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 5,470
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2749 Post(s)
Liked: 1710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dick_Lai View Post
Yes

Hmmm. That is weird. I haven't tried Tidal, but use Pandora all the time as well as saved music on my iPhone - all streams seamlessly via PlayFi. To both the AVM60 and PW800. Do you have problems only with Tidal?

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
post #8628 of 9444 Old 02-26-2019, 02:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonas2 View Post
Hmmm. That is weird. I haven't tried Tidal, but use Pandora all the time as well as saved music on my iPhone - all streams seamlessly via PlayFi. To both the AVM60 and PW800. Do you have problems only with Tidal?
Yup, only Tidal has problem.
I also play Spotify and local file from NAS in PlatFi , no problem at all.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Dick_Lai is offline  
post #8629 of 9444 Old 02-27-2019, 04:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dick_Lai View Post
Yup, only Tidal has problem.
I also play Spotify and local file from NAS in PlatFi , no problem at all.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Kind of smells like you might be having some bandwidth problems with whatever your "5G Wi-Fi" is. Realize the music is streaming from Tidal (or Spotify) through your phone to your home network. Tidal's streaming may be taking just enough more bandwidth to give you problems on your network.
rhankey is offline  
post #8630 of 9444 Old 02-27-2019, 04:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhankey View Post
Kind of smells like you might be having some bandwidth problems with whatever your "5G Wi-Fi" is. Realize the music is streaming from Tidal (or Spotify) through your phone to your home network. Tidal's streaming may be taking just enough more bandwidth to give you problems on your network.
Oh, the sound is from my phone to AVM60?
I was thinking my phone is just a controller....
Why not anthem just play directly ...

That may be my phone issue, let me try something else .

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Dick_Lai is offline  
post #8631 of 9444 Old 02-27-2019, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 5,470
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2749 Post(s)
Liked: 1710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dick_Lai View Post
Oh, the sound is from my phone to AVM60?
I was thinking my phone is just a controller....
Why not anthem just play directly ...

That may be my phone issue, let me try something else .

That's right - the phone is sending to the network that is sending to the AVM60 and back. Phone is acting as more than just the controller.

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
post #8632 of 9444 Old 02-28-2019, 08:34 AM
Senior Member
 
MackGuyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 230
I just picked up an AVM60 the other day and so far, I love it! Everything I hated about my misadventure with the Marantz AV7703 is right with the Anthem and ARC worked perfectly the first time I ran it. Tweaking it a bit made it even better.


The one quirk I've noticed is that CEC input switching doesn't work for my LG OLED TV (via ARC) or my Roku. It works fine with my Oppo and Shield TV, so I'm a bit perplexed. CEC is always a bit finicky, but I can't seem to get it to work. Has anyone else run into this?

Preamp/Amps: Anthem AVM60, Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-5, A-300
Speakers: (7.1.2): Klipsch Reference Premiere / Power Sound Audio S3000i sub
Video: LG OLED65B7A, Oppo UDP-203, Roku Premiere+, Nvidia Shield TV
Room: GIK Acoustics treatments
MackGuyver is offline  
post #8633 of 9444 Old 02-28-2019, 01:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Framingham MA
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Another small glitch... I have some new atmos ceiling speakers that I'm trying to break in. I noticed that I'm not alway getting sound when selecting dolby surround or dts neural x from a Dolby digital or stereo TV broadcast. I turned off my main amp which powers my five main speakers to make it easier to hear and there was no sound from my ceiling speakers. I tried switching back and forth between modes and inputs. after several changes I finally started getting sound. the problem is that it seems to be unreliable as to whether the sound will come out when I first select dolby surround or neural x. If I'm listening to music and select "all speakers" than they work every time.

Goldenear Triton ones, Triton 5, ref center, invisa 650's, Anthem AVM60, Emotiva XPA-5, Parasound 2205, Adcom 555, JVC X55, Oppo 103, JBL 18" sub
nevets77 is offline  
post #8634 of 9444 Old 02-28-2019, 03:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 6,624
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1154 Post(s)
Liked: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevets77 View Post
Another small glitch... I have some new atmos ceiling speakers that I'm trying to break in. I noticed that I'm not alway getting sound when selecting dolby surround or dts neural x from a Dolby digital or stereo TV broadcast. I turned off my main amp which powers my five main speakers to make it easier to hear and there was no sound from my ceiling speakers. I tried switching back and forth between modes and inputs. after several changes I finally started getting sound. the problem is that it seems to be unreliable as to whether the sound will come out when I first select dolby surround or neural x. If I'm listening to music and select "all speakers" than they work every time.
Make sure Dolby Volume is off. You won't get sound from the ceiling speakers with Atmos if Dolby Volume is on.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"
Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread
Legairre is offline  
post #8635 of 9444 Old 02-28-2019, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 5,470
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2749 Post(s)
Liked: 1710
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevets77 View Post
Another small glitch... I have some new atmos ceiling speakers that I'm trying to break in. I noticed that I'm not alway getting sound when selecting dolby surround or dts neural x from a Dolby digital or stereo TV broadcast. I turned off my main amp which powers my five main speakers to make it easier to hear and there was no sound from my ceiling speakers. I tried switching back and forth between modes and inputs. after several changes I finally started getting sound. the problem is that it seems to be unreliable as to whether the sound will come out when I first select dolby surround or neural x. If I'm listening to music and select "all speakers" than they work every time.

Could also be content dependent - you might not always get something - or they can go for extended periods of time until something becomes "worthy" - I've noticed this too. Also try the Anthem logic modes for your stereo sources, see what you think about those and how they work.

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
post #8636 of 9444 Old 02-28-2019, 09:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 9
I have similar ces issues. I have found that when using the roku, i have very inconsistant prolbems with sound. With mine, sometimes i dont get signal to the subs. But i did find that the current update on roku helped some with that issue. But i cant get the ces to work with my sony tv, but the weird thing is if i bring the roku from sleep it turns the tv on, but it wont turn it off. All of my equipment runs thru the avm60, and only one hdmi out to tv. I am really starting to think alot of the issues i have had with the avm60 are due to the roku and its handshake.
Bgbullys is offline  
post #8637 of 9444 Old 03-01-2019, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Framingham MA
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 2
My Dolby volume is off and this is not the worst problem to have. I'll try to be aware of content related silences. All speakers are working properly when watching discs and while listening to music. As for Anthem music, I like it. It keeps the two channel source sounding natural while adding some added ambience .

Goldenear Triton ones, Triton 5, ref center, invisa 650's, Anthem AVM60, Emotiva XPA-5, Parasound 2205, Adcom 555, JVC X55, Oppo 103, JBL 18" sub
nevets77 is offline  
post #8638 of 9444 Old 03-01-2019, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Erod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,733
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1171 Post(s)
Liked: 704
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevets77 View Post
My Dolby volume is off and this is not the worst problem to have. I'll try to be aware of content related silences. All speakers are working properly when watching discs and while listening to music. As for Anthem music, I like it. It keeps the two channel source sounding natural while adding some added ambience .
Under DD Dynamics, there is Normal, Reduced, Late Night, and Auto.

Any idea what "Auto" does? It's not listed in the manual.

Video: JVC RS620/X9500 projector, Stewart ST130 screen, Panasonic ub820 UHD player
Audio: Anthem AVM60 preamp, Anthem MCA525 amp, B&K Reference 125.7 amp
Subs: dual SVS PC-12 cylinders
Speakers: Jamo 626k4 in-wall mains, Jamo 631k4 bi/dipole surrounds, DefTech DI6.5R heights
Erod is offline  
post #8639 of 9444 Old 03-01-2019, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
gutcheck2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Hi Guys,


I just installed my AVM 60, MCA 525 and PVA 4 for my 5.2.4 setup and am really wanting to run ARC as I need it badly, but I can't seem to get my PC to see the AVM 60 even though it says it is connected to my wifi. I tried a direct Ethernet connection also and it still times out.



I sifted through this thread and it seems others have overcome this but I can't seem to get it to work. I do, have a mesh wifi system but no other device seems to have an issue (and I have tons).


The AVM 60 shows my network name 8 times in the network list.... which is weird.
gutcheck2001 is offline  
post #8640 of 9444 Old 03-01-2019, 10:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,415
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2903 Post(s)
Liked: 1672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erod View Post
Under DD Dynamics, there is Normal, Reduced, Late Night, and Auto.

Any idea what "Auto" does? It's not listed in the manual.
Did you not like my previous reply on this?

Deadwood II Theater (Previous Deadwood Theater HTOM)
Anthem AVM 60 7.4.4; Classé SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4; MiniDSP OpenDRC-AN
Oppo UDP-203; Oppo BDP-93; Win7 media PC w/Roon+Kodi; Roku Ultra; DirecTV Genie
Adam Audio S3V/S3H LCR, KEF Ci200QS 4 srrnd, Tannoy Di6 DC 4 hts, Hsu ULS-15 4 subs
JVC RS520; Stewart Cima Neve screen 125" diag 2.35:1, MLP at 115"
Roger Dressler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
antehm arc genesis , anthem avm 60 , the official anthem avm60 thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off