The Official Anthem AVM 60 thread - Page 317 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4223Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9481 of 9861 Old 06-26-2019, 06:21 AM
NMG
Member
 
NMG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonas2 View Post
I was just testing this again - definitely Anthem Logic Music is using the surrounds!
Yup, same here! It's subtle and they don't really draw attention to themselves, but when I go back to regular 2 channel you can definitely notice the difference. The sound stage is all to the front with 2 channel, with Anthem Logic Music it's definitely more enveloping. I use it as my standard.

As for not getting any noise out of the surrounds, I had that once because I forgot to turn them on when I was setting up the profile. If people aren't getting any sound from them, double check that they are turned on in the profile settings that you are using for music.
Gooddoc and Jonas2 like this.
NMG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9482 of 9861 Old 06-26-2019, 06:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 6,154
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3016 Post(s)
Liked: 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by BGLeduc View Post
Not the situation for me. I have only ever used AnthemLogic Music with 2CH music sourced from CD played via from my Oppo 203. The rears do produce sound, it is just extremely low in level. I had to put my ear to the speaker to know it was playing. Could be something is broken, but nothing I really care to pursue. Everything else works properly.

Na, that's probably right - the levels are low, much lower than DSU. I was toggling these yesterday too when I was testing, between the two modes and the DSU lets you know if it there, like night and day from ALM.
BGLeduc likes this.

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
post #9483 of 9861 Old 06-26-2019, 10:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,823
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3816 Post(s)
Liked: 3447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
If you are using Anthem's Music mode, check the surrounds, as the center speaker is silent.

If your "stereo" source is coming from a PC or otherwise wrapped in a 5.1 container (with silent C/Ls/Rs/LFE), Anthemlogic will not upmix it. It only upmixes pure stereo. Check the "mode" button to see what the AVM 60 reports as the source format.
My stereo source is a Sonos unit. I've got some sub stuff I'm dealing with atm, but I'm going to dig into this a bit more. Thanks

I see in your sig we're sporting the same subs! Good choice. My balanced 2x4 miniDSP died on me and I'm replacing it with a 2x4HD. MSO Cal tonight, exciting stuff, lol.
Dick_Lai likes this.
Gooddoc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9484 of 9861 Old 06-26-2019, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,823
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3816 Post(s)
Liked: 3447
Quote:
Originally Posted by NMG View Post
.

As for not getting any noise out of the surrounds, I had that once because I forgot to turn them on when I was setting up the profile. If people aren't getting any sound from them, double check that they are turned on in the profile settings that you are using for music.
Great point! I need to check that. Could be the problem. I forget if I have a stereo only profile on that input
Gooddoc is offline  
post #9485 of 9861 Old 06-26-2019, 10:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,896
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3272 Post(s)
Liked: 2035
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS-21 View Post
iTunes. But I’m getting the impression that I really want Auromatic anyway. Too bad Anthem doesn’t license it.
I agree. In my list of preferred upmixers for stereo music, it's:

1) Pro Logic IIx (Music)
2) AuroMatic
3) ...
DS-21 likes this.

Deadwood II Theater (Previous Deadwood Theater HTOM)
Anthem AVM 60 7.4.4; Classé SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4; MiniDSP OpenDRC-AN
Oppo UDP-203; Oppo BDP-93; Win10 media PC w/Roon+Kodi; Roku Ultra; DirecTV Genie
Adam Audio S3V/S3H LCR, KEF Ci200QS 4 srrnd, Tannoy Di6 DC 4 hts, Hsu ULS-15 4 subs
JVC RS520; Stewart Cima Neve screen 125" diag 2.35:1, MLP at 115"
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #9486 of 9861 Old 06-26-2019, 12:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 14,751
Mentioned: 407 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5771 Post(s)
Liked: 5625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
I agree. In my list of preferred upmixers for stereo music, it's:

1) Pro Logic IIx (Music)
2) AuroMatic
3) ...
Have to tried Logic7? Im currently really enjoying logic7 on my Lexicon more than any other I've heard before.

European Models do not accept banana plugs
Belly of the Beast: Bass Bunker Theater
beastaudio is offline  
post #9487 of 9861 Old 06-26-2019, 07:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Steve Goff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Olympia, WA, USA
Posts: 2,051
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS-21 View Post
iTunes. But I’m getting the impression that I really want Auromatic anyway. Too bad Anthem doesn’t license it.


Neither Auromatic nor Anthem Music can upmix if the two-channel music is contained in a 5.1 container with 3.1 channels silent. It won’t work.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Steve Goff
Steve Goff is offline  
post #9488 of 9861 Old 06-27-2019, 09:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,896
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3272 Post(s)
Liked: 2035
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
Have to tried Logic7? Im currently really enjoying logic7 on my Lexicon more than any other I've heard before.
Yes indeed. I used L7 quite a lot -- had an MC-12 in my home. It's a powerful tool, with extensive tweakability, but once I began to detect a certain characteristic, that became an issue for me. I don't want to explain it, because there's no point in raising awareness of happy listeners to something that apparently does not bother most people.

Deadwood II Theater (Previous Deadwood Theater HTOM)
Anthem AVM 60 7.4.4; Classé SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4; MiniDSP OpenDRC-AN
Oppo UDP-203; Oppo BDP-93; Win10 media PC w/Roon+Kodi; Roku Ultra; DirecTV Genie
Adam Audio S3V/S3H LCR, KEF Ci200QS 4 srrnd, Tannoy Di6 DC 4 hts, Hsu ULS-15 4 subs
JVC RS520; Stewart Cima Neve screen 125" diag 2.35:1, MLP at 115"
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #9489 of 9861 Old 06-30-2019, 12:58 AM
Member
 
mamsterla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I just ran Genesis on my AVM 60 - my fronts are being set to +11 and +12 respectively. I am wondering if people have any advice on whether this is just too high. I am attaching my PDF output of my runs. Any thoughts on things to change?

I have dual subs - Velodyne DD15 and Rythmik F15. Fronts are Linkwitz LX521 and center is Dynaudio Contour center. Surrounds are Dynaudio Audience 42/52.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Genesis-PDF-2019062901.pdf (777.0 KB, 29 views)

Anthem AVM60 - ATI 2005 - ATI NC528 - Linkwitz LX521 Mains - Monitor Audio Gold C250 Center - Dynaudio Audience 42 Surround - Dynaudio Audience 52 rears - Velodyne DD-15 - Rythmik Audio F15HP - Oppo BDP-105D - Oppo UDP-203 - Sony PS4 Pro - Xbox One X - Layer3tv - LG OLED65E8PUA - Thorens TD-124 - Lounge Audio Gold phono preamp - PS Audio Premier power
mamsterla is offline  
post #9490 of 9861 Old 06-30-2019, 09:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,896
Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3272 Post(s)
Liked: 2035
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamsterla View Post
I just ran Genesis on my AVM 60 - my fronts are being set to +11 and +12 respectively. I am wondering if people have any advice on whether this is just too high. I am attaching my PDF output of my runs. Any thoughts on things to change?

I have dual subs - Velodyne DD15 and Rythmik F15. Fronts are Linkwitz LX521 and center is Dynaudio Contour center. Surrounds are Dynaudio Audience 42/52.
Something I would try is adjusting the subs to output 10 dB less (using the sub amps' controls). Then perform a fresh measurement run and see what it comes up with for speaker gains. I'm just observing the rather substantial gain difference between the L/R and Subs of 10 dB, and that narrows the options for ARC to set the output gains.

Re the subs, have you explored optimizing the two subs to each other in some way? Just wondering if the 30-40 Hz dips might be improved with some change in levels, phase, locations, or even delays if an external delay were available.

Just curious, are your L/R speakers near the side walls or room corners?

Deadwood II Theater (Previous Deadwood Theater HTOM)
Anthem AVM 60 7.4.4; Classé SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4; MiniDSP OpenDRC-AN
Oppo UDP-203; Oppo BDP-93; Win10 media PC w/Roon+Kodi; Roku Ultra; DirecTV Genie
Adam Audio S3V/S3H LCR, KEF Ci200QS 4 srrnd, Tannoy Di6 DC 4 hts, Hsu ULS-15 4 subs
JVC RS520; Stewart Cima Neve screen 125" diag 2.35:1, MLP at 115"

Last edited by Roger Dressler; 06-30-2019 at 09:40 AM.
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #9491 of 9861 Old 06-30-2019, 11:12 AM
Member
 
mamsterla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
Something I would try is adjusting the subs to output 10 dB less (using the sub amps' controls). Then perform a fresh measurement run and see what it comes up with for speaker gains. I'm just observing the rather substantial gain difference between the L/R and Subs of 10 dB, and that narrows the options for ARC to set the output gains.

Re the subs, have you explored optimizing the two subs to each other in some way? Just wondering if the 30-40 Hz dips might be improved with some change in levels, phase, locations, or even delays if an external delay were available.

Just curious, are your L/R speakers near the side walls or room corners?
I was thinking I may need to get the miniDSP to try to optimize the subs more. I can definitely turn down the subs output to see if that changes the L/R levels. My L/R are not in the corners - they are dipoles pulled out into the room. My room has always had this very nodal quality to it. It is an angled ceiling 8ft to about 11ft. It is rectangular opening to a hallway through an arch - 14ft by 26ft. My bass is not where it should be considering I have dual 15" cones available. Not terrible, but missing something.

Anthem AVM60 - ATI 2005 - ATI NC528 - Linkwitz LX521 Mains - Monitor Audio Gold C250 Center - Dynaudio Audience 42 Surround - Dynaudio Audience 52 rears - Velodyne DD-15 - Rythmik Audio F15HP - Oppo BDP-105D - Oppo UDP-203 - Sony PS4 Pro - Xbox One X - Layer3tv - LG OLED65E8PUA - Thorens TD-124 - Lounge Audio Gold phono preamp - PS Audio Premier power
mamsterla is offline  
post #9492 of 9861 Old 06-30-2019, 12:00 PM
Member
 
MyMits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anybody near Raleigh NC that wouldn't mind helping out a guy too old to learn all this new stuff about the AVM60 I just bought?
Actually, I just want a lesson in setting up and running ARC.
Dave Vaughn likes this.
MyMits is offline  
post #9493 of 9861 Old 06-30-2019, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
My stereo source is a Sonos unit. I've got some sub stuff I'm dealing with atm, but I'm going to dig into this a bit more. Thanks



I see in your sig we're sporting the same subs! Good choice. My balanced 2x4 miniDSP died on me and I'm replacing it with a 2x4HD. MSO Cal tonight, exciting stuff, lol.
Good to see another MSO user here

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Gooddoc likes this.
Dick_Lai is offline  
post #9494 of 9861 Old 06-30-2019, 11:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Newbie789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamsterla View Post
I just ran Genesis on my AVM 60 - my fronts are being set to +11 and +12 respectively. I am wondering if people have any advice on whether this is just too high. I am attaching my PDF output of my runs. Any thoughts on things to change?



I have dual subs - Velodyne DD15 and Rythmik F15. Fronts are Linkwitz LX521 and center is Dynaudio Contour center. Surrounds are Dynaudio Audience 42/52.


You can download the first stable release of genesis and the pdf file will show you the actual values that go above 12. Then just minus the same number across the board and the levels will have the proper spread, but you might need to turn the volume up. You’d be uploading the stable release arc file.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Newbie789 is offline  
post #9495 of 9861 Old 07-03-2019, 05:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
mdrums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Hi, I have been using a Marantz AV8801 now for the last 5 years and it’s been reliable and sounds good. Amp is a McIntosh MC207 I’ve had since 2004 and running some new Revel Concerta2 speakers and subs.

Just moved to a new house and got a new Sony 85” 4K tv and want to start watching some 4K stuff. Planning on getting the Apple 4K TV to do that.

I have been told my Marantz 8801 will not pass 4K...but when I got the Marantz it says it passes 4K Ultra Deep HD in the owners manual.

Thinking of upgrading to the Anthem AMV60. But have been told it doesn’t work with Apple 4K TV well if at all and you can’t use a MacBook for Anthems ARC.

Just looking for straight honest answers.....thanks in advance!

Main room McIntosh MC207 Amps....Marantz AV8801 Processor....Revel F36 Concerta2 And Revel Subs....Panasonic BluRay BDT500....Sony 85"4k
Listening Room Schiit Saga+ Pre-Amp....JBL 308P Active Studio Monitors....Apple MacBook Pro....Audioquest Dragon Fly DAC....Mogami Cables....Sony 65"
mdrums is offline  
post #9496 of 9861 Old 07-03-2019, 06:20 AM
Member
 
ManMower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrums View Post
Thinking of upgrading to the Anthem AMV60. But have been told it doesn’t work with Apple 4K TV well if at all and you can’t use a MacBook for Anthems ARC.
???

I've been using one for a couple of months now and haven't had a single issue.

What's supposed to be broken? I can do some targeted testing...
ManMower is online now  
post #9497 of 9861 Old 07-03-2019, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
mdrums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by ManMower View Post
???

I've been using one for a couple of months now and haven't had a single issue.

What's supposed to be broken? I can do some targeted testing...
Was told when you turn on the system and Apple 4K TV it reverts to 1080 and you have to turn it on and off a few times and maybe it will click into 4K but mostly doesn’t work.

I control my system with Savant....I need reliable gear...turn it on and everything just works so that wife can enjoy the system too.

Main room McIntosh MC207 Amps....Marantz AV8801 Processor....Revel F36 Concerta2 And Revel Subs....Panasonic BluRay BDT500....Sony 85"4k
Listening Room Schiit Saga+ Pre-Amp....JBL 308P Active Studio Monitors....Apple MacBook Pro....Audioquest Dragon Fly DAC....Mogami Cables....Sony 65"
mdrums is offline  
post #9498 of 9861 Old 07-03-2019, 06:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 6,154
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3016 Post(s)
Liked: 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrums View Post
Thinking of upgrading to the Anthem AMV60. But have been told it doesn’t work with Apple 4K TV well if at all and you can’t use a MacBook for Anthems ARC.

Can't speak to the AppleTV, but ARC Genesis can be used on Windows or OS X, so your MacBook is good to go!

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
post #9499 of 9861 Old 07-03-2019, 07:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
mitchlampert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrums View Post
Was told when you turn on the system and Apple 4K TV it reverts to 1080 and you have to turn it on and off a few times and maybe it will click into 4K but mostly doesn’t work.

I control my system with Savant....I need reliable gear...turn it on and everything just works so that wife can enjoy the system too.
I've been using ATV4k and Anthem AVM60 with no issues whatsoever. I use Windows so can't speak to using Apple PC.
mitchlampert is offline  
post #9500 of 9861 Old 07-03-2019, 08:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 6,915
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1349 Post(s)
Liked: 798
Anthem say to rerun the Genesis calibration

I'm posting this in a the three Anthem threads just in case someone doesn't frequent all of them. I was wondering if we must run a complete calibration every time a new version of Genesis is released or if we can just upload our old ARC file into the new version. I wrote Anthem and they replied saying we should rerun a complete calibration with the new version and get a new ARC file instead of uploading our old file into the new version.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"
Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread
Legairre is online now  
post #9501 of 9861 Old 07-03-2019, 09:05 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,361
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5890 Post(s)
Liked: 8426
^ I responded in one of the other threads.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #9502 of 9861 Old 07-03-2019, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Newbie789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrums View Post
Hi, I have been using a Marantz AV8801 now for the last 5 years and it’s been reliable and sounds good. Amp is a McIntosh MC207 I’ve had since 2004 and running some new Revel Concerta2 speakers and subs.



Just moved to a new house and got a new Sony 85” 4K tv and want to start watching some 4K stuff. Planning on getting the Apple 4K TV to do that.



I have been told my Marantz 8801 will not pass 4K...but when I got the Marantz it says it passes 4K Ultra Deep HD in the owners manual.



Thinking of upgrading to the Anthem AMV60. But have been told it doesn’t work with Apple 4K TV well if at all and you can’t use a MacBook for Anthems ARC.



Just looking for straight honest answers.....thanks in advance!


I think the osd on the Marantz prevents a true pass through. Might need to turn it off


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Newbie789 is offline  
post #9503 of 9861 Old 07-03-2019, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
HarleyRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Far north Chicago suburbs
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrums View Post
Thinking of upgrading to the Anthem AMV60. But have been told it doesn’t work with Apple 4K TV well if at all and you can’t use a MacBook for Anthems ARC.
I've never had an issue with a 4K signal routing through my Anthem, be it from AppleTV 4K or a couple different Panasonic 4K Bluray players. It's even capable of passing through Dolby Vision and HLG and 4k 60p with 4:4:4 subsampling.

Pre/Pro: Anthem AVR 60 | 5.2.4 Config: MartinLogan ElectroMotion ESL X FL/FR, ESL C Center, Motion LX16 Surrounds, Motion 4i Atmos | Subs: Velodyne DD-15, Martin Logan Dynamo 1100x | Amplification: Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 1 FL/C/FR, Emotiva A-700 Surrounds and Atmos

Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread
HarleyRider is offline  
post #9504 of 9861 Old 07-03-2019, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 6,207
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1668 Post(s)
Liked: 2594
Me neither...the only issue I have right now is that in order to get Zone 2 to work, I have to have the main zone on. Also, the volume control doesn't work for Zone 2...I have to use the volume control in my source device. I have an email into Anthem but haven't heard back from them yet.

David Vaughn Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)
Dave Vaughn is online now  
post #9505 of 9861 Old 07-03-2019, 02:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Adz523's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Metro NY
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrums View Post
Hi, I have been using a Marantz AV8801 now for the last 5 years and it’️s been reliable and sounds good. Amp is a McIntosh MC207 I’️ve had since 2004 and running some new Revel Concerta2 speakers and subs.

Just moved to a new house and got a new Sony 85” 4K tv and want to start watching some 4K stuff. Planning on getting the Apple 4K TV to do that.

I have been told my Marantz 8801 will not pass 4K...but when I got the Marantz it says it passes 4K Ultra Deep HD in the owners manual.

Thinking of upgrading to the Anthem AMV60. But have been told it doesn’️t work with Apple 4K TV well if at all and you can’️t use a MacBook for Anthems ARC.

Just looking for straight honest answers.....thanks in advance!
I just made the switch from an older integra to the anthem for its newer technology. I'm running both my oppo and roku which I preferred over the apple TV and others. Its passes 4k signals with ease and the sound is without a doubt more dynamic than my previous integra. I highly recommend the roku ultra too over the apple TV.

Adz
Adz523 is offline  
post #9506 of 9861 Old 07-04-2019, 10:30 AM
Member
 
EDJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adz523 View Post
I just made the switch from an older integra to the anthem for its newer technology. I'm running both my oppo and roku which I preferred over the apple TV and others. Its passes 4k signals with ease and the sound is without a doubt more dynamic than my previous integra. I highly recommend the roku ultra too over the apple TV.
Kinda irritated I missed closing the deal on the AVM60/MCA Nick from AA quoted... got busy and forgot to save 20%, ha.
EDJK is offline  
post #9507 of 9861 Old 07-04-2019, 01:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 6,207
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1668 Post(s)
Liked: 2594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Vaughn View Post
Me neither...the only issue I have right now is that in order to get Zone 2 to work, I have to have the main zone on. Also, the volume control doesn't work for Zone 2...I have to use the volume control in my source device. I have an email into Anthem but haven't heard back from them yet.
Well...I need to be fitted for my dunce cap. When I reinstalled the AVM 60 after replacing a review unit, I hooked up the Zone 2 output to the pre-outs right. Oops...all hooked up right and working now

David Vaughn Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)
Dave Vaughn is online now  
post #9508 of 9861 Old 07-05-2019, 10:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jon SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 56
The Official Anthem AVM 60 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrums View Post
Hi, I have been using a Marantz AV8801 now for the last 5 years and it’s been reliable and sounds good. Amp is a McIntosh MC207 I’ve had since 2004 and running some new Revel Concerta2 speakers and subs.



Just moved to a new house and got a new Sony 85” 4K tv and want to start watching some 4K stuff. Planning on getting the Apple 4K TV to do that.



I have been told my Marantz 8801 will not pass 4K...but when I got the Marantz it says it passes 4K Ultra Deep HD in the owners manual.



Thinking of upgrading to the Anthem AMV60. But have been told it doesn’t work with Apple 4K TV well if at all and you can’t use a MacBook for Anthems ARC.



Just looking for straight honest answers.....thanks in advance!


My Apple TV 4K works fine with my AVM60 into a 75” Sony 900E. Infact it looks great on the Sony 4K. Only issues I have had are when I tried using CEC and BravoSync. Switched off CEC and have no problems.

Also use a Mac which worked fine for the new ARC Genesis Room Correction. Mac did not work with previous ARC 2 Room Correction only on windows.

I read that AV8801 does not support HDCP2.2 despite it being 4k capable, hence will not work with all new 4K devices / content? It has HDMI 1.4 inputs/output whereas you need HDMI 2.0 with HDCP2.2 nowadays for most 4K devices?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mdrums likes this.

HT Room: Anthem AVM60 (replaced Marantz AV7005 & Parasound Halo C2), Parasound Halo A51 & A23, Monitor Audio GR60, GR Centre, GR10, GSFX, SVS SB-4000, Sony 75X900e, PS4

Family Room: Yamaha RX-A2060, PSB Imagine T2, Imagine Centre, Imagine B, Imagine Mini (front heights), Oppo Digital BDP-80, Samsung QN65Q7CN

Last edited by Jon SS; 07-05-2019 at 11:02 AM.
Jon SS is offline  
post #9509 of 9861 Old 07-05-2019, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Newbie789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon SS View Post
My Apple TV 4K works fine with my AVM60 into a 75” Sony 900E. Infact it looks great on the Sony 4K. Only issues I have had are when I tried using CEC and BravoSync. Switched off CEC and have no problems.

Also use a Mac which worked fine for the new ARC Genesis Room Correction. Mac did not work with previous ARC 2 Room Correction only on windows.

I read that AV8801 does not support HDCP2.2 despite it being 4k capable, hence will not work with all new 4K devices / content? It has HDMI 1.4 inputs/output whereas you need HDMI 2.0 with HDCP2.2 nowadays for most 4K devices?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Do you have on-screen display,menus, volume indicator, etc enabled for the Marantz?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Newbie789 is offline  
post #9510 of 9861 Old 07-11-2019, 08:05 AM
Member
 
ZICK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: TX (south of Dallas)
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Smile

Greetings Anthem AVM 60 fans
Need some direction pls, getting wifi to connect.
Page 28 is 'what is this' head scratcher for how to set up wifi.
Confused with the OSD
Is there a step by step instruction somewhere?

So far love the unit, sounded good from first time I turned it on to post ARC Genesis run. Still learning the product & plan to re-run ARC after I have a better understanding how it interacts with my Monitor Audio speakers. This is the first pre/pro or receiver I've had that corrected Center chan dialogue. FINALLY.

Last edited by ZICK; 07-11-2019 at 08:09 AM.
ZICK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
antehm arc genesis , anthem avm 60 , the official anthem avm60 thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off