The "OFFICIAL" 2015 Denon "S-series" / "X-series" AVR Owner's thread + FAQ (HDCP 2.2) - Page 184 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 101683Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5491 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,014
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22015 Post(s)
Liked: 11939
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdasterly View Post
jd your knowledge is unlimited lmao, seems like my old nr646 had my house jumping compared to the 710w
Do you have a dedicated sub in your setup? If yes, and you didn't reset your FL/FR speakers to SMALL/80Hz, then the sub won't be active playing a stereo 2.0 signal.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5492 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
pdasterly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Likely because it was much harder to implement than expected, and the higher models have more processing power to work with so it was easier to implement on them first.
Im sure the firmware is the same, higher end got the first because they paid more
Serve your higher paying customers first then take care of the rest. If it were the other way around and If I had top line model i'd be uneasy if the lower end models got their update first
pdasterly is offline  
post #5493 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 09:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
pdasterly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Do you have a dedicated sub in your setup? If yes, and you didn't reset your FL/FR speakers to SMALL/80Hz, then the sub won't be active playing a stereo 2.0 signal.
I have pc13-ultra, audyssey has full control over my speakers, I think xover is at small/40Hz for fronts(Klipsch B-20)
pdasterly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5494 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,014
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22015 Post(s)
Liked: 11939
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdasterly View Post
I have pc13-ultra, audyssey has full control over my speakers, I think xover is at small/40Hz for fronts(Klipsch B-20)
These are small bookshelf speakers. Confirm set to SMALL and raise their crossover up to 80Hz.
pdasterly and kuli20 like this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5495 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AllenA07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,637
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdasterly View Post
I have pc13-ultra, audyssey has full control over my speakers, I think xover is at small/40Hz for fronts(Klipsch B-20)
I would change the crossover to 60hz-80hz.

I saw elsewhere on this site that D&M is including the fix for the HDMI 2.0 to 2.0a issue through the DTS: X upgrade. I was curious if this fix was in fact being packaged in with DTS: X.
pdasterly likes this.

My Theater: The Ugly Theater
AllenA07 is offline  
post #5496 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
pdasterly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 92
set xover to 80 for fronts, walls rattling now
pdasterly is offline  
post #5497 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,014
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22015 Post(s)
Liked: 11939
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllenA07 View Post
I would change the crossover to 60hz-80hz.

I saw elsewhere on this site that D&M is including the fix for the HDMI 2.0 to 2.0a issue through the DTS: X upgrade. I was curious if this fix was in fact being packaged in with DTS: X.
It's not a fix, rather it's to actually implement this feature which was always intended. There are several updates included with the DTS:X update and the HDMI 2.0a(HDR) is one of them.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5498 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 09:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 858
what other updates are included?
metalsaber is offline  
post #5499 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 09:37 AM
Member
 
wassy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 12
With regard to audessey, my cable on the microphone is not long enough to reach certain areas from the rack to the seating positions. I know extensions are not recommended. Anybody have any ideas what to do in this case?
wassy is offline  
post #5500 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Been following a couple of different threads, are the 2015's already 2.0a compliant or is this a firmware update coming? I have the 4200.
ajgale1975 is offline  
post #5501 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 09:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Audyssey setup my subwoofer at -10dB but when I test it using the pink noises at 0db volume the subwoofer is not 75db like all the speakers. It plays about 9 dB lower. If I want the subwoofer to play at 75dB I need to set it up at -1.5dB. Is this ok? I'm using my iPhone with an spl app.
wrcveen is offline  
post #5502 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
pdasterly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 92
lots of work but move receiver closer to MLP and run audyssey and write down calibration then move back

Quote:
Originally Posted by wassy View Post
With regard to audessey, my cable on the microphone is not long enough to reach certain areas from the rack to the seating positions. I know extensions are not recommended. Anybody have any ideas what to do in this case?
pdasterly is offline  
post #5503 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,014
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22015 Post(s)
Liked: 11939
Quote:
Originally Posted by wassy View Post
With regard to audessey, my cable on the microphone is not long enough to reach certain areas from the rack to the seating positions. I know extensions are not recommended. Anybody have any ideas what to do in this case?
I provide a lot of very helpful information in post 3 of this thread to include information on using a 25' extension cable in item 1.b.

Although not sure what you mean by "certain areas of the rack" as the cable is plugged into the front of the AVR and all mic positions should only be taken within a 1-2' diameter around your main listening position (ie. no other seating positions are taken into account).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5504 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 10:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
I provide a lot of very helpful information in post 3 of this thread to include information on using a 25' extension cable in item 1.b.

Although not sure what you mean by "certain areas of the rack" as the cable is plugged into the front of the AVR and all mic positions should only be taken within a 1-2' diameter around your main listening position (ie. no other seating positions are taken into account).
Hi JD
i know this is a little off topic but you seem to be someone in the know have you heard any news on DTS:X for ONKYO AVR's

DEN Samsung UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ710 5.2.2 Atmos / Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player
Living Room TCL 55R617 55-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 Atmos / M-5010 Amplifier / Sam. UBD-K8500 Blu-Ray Player . BEDROOM Samsung 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player
bargervais is offline  
post #5505 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,014
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22015 Post(s)
Liked: 11939
Quote:
Originally Posted by bargervais View Post
Hi JD
i know this is a little off topic but you seem to be someone in the know have you heard any news on DTS:X for ONKYO AVR's
All other brands should start releasing the DTS:X update beginning in March ... but not aware of any set schedule.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5506 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 10:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
All other brands should start releasing the DTS:X update beginning in March ... but not aware of any set schedule.
thank you

DEN Samsung UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ710 5.2.2 Atmos / Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player
Living Room TCL 55R617 55-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 Atmos / M-5010 Amplifier / Sam. UBD-K8500 Blu-Ray Player . BEDROOM Samsung 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player
bargervais is offline  
post #5507 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Merlin803's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I have a X1200W and have a question about how I should run the Audyssey setup with two subs. I looked through the FAQ at the start of this thread and could not find anything about this scenario.

I have two unmatched subs (BIC PL-200 & Dayton sub-1200) that I would like to try using together, is it best to just have one connected to the AVR when I run the Audyssey setup and afterwards connect the second sub and set the gain & phase to match the first sub? Or should I have both subs connected when I run Audyssey?

LG OLED B7
Denon X1200W AVR
KLIPSCH RF82 II mains, RP-140SA, RC62 II CENTER, RB-10 surrounds
SVS PB-2000
Roku Ultra
Merlin803 is offline  
post #5508 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 12:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,014
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22015 Post(s)
Liked: 11939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin803 View Post
I have a X1200W and have a question about how I should run the Audyssey setup with two subs. I looked through the FAQ at the start of this thread and could not find anything about this scenario.

I have two unmatched subs (BIC PL-200 & Dayton sub-1200) that I would like to try using together, is it best to just have one connected to the AVR when I run the Audyssey setup and afterwards connect the second sub and set the gain & phase to match the first sub? Or should I have both subs connected when I run Audyssey?
I'd run Audyssey setup 2x (3 mic positions only all in the same location) with only one sub connected each time to set the level/delay of each sub, then connect both of them and run Audyssey again for all 8 mic positions.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5509 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Merlin803's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
I'd run Audyssey setup 2x (3 mic positions only all in the same location) with only one sub connected each time to set the level/delay of each sub, then connect both of them and run Audyssey again for all 8 mic positions.
Would I be running the Audyssey the first 2 times just to try to get both subs to measure the same level/delay? Meaning that I would change the gain on one of the subs to try to get the level/delay test as close to the test results for the other sub as possible? And then after that have them both connected and run the full Audyssey setup?

LG OLED B7
Denon X1200W AVR
KLIPSCH RF82 II mains, RP-140SA, RC62 II CENTER, RB-10 surrounds
SVS PB-2000
Roku Ultra
Merlin803 is offline  
post #5510 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 12:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,014
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22015 Post(s)
Liked: 11939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin803 View Post
Would I be running the Audyssey the first 2 times just to try to get both subs to measure the same level/delay? Meaning that I would change the gain on one of the subs to try to get the level/delay test as close to the test results for the other sub as possible? And then after that have them both connected and run the full Audyssey setup?
Not necessarily the same level/delay, but rather the level/delay required to get a 75db test tone to the mic.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5511 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jahjd2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 81
I'm a proud new owner of a x6200. I got an amazing deal from a dealer. The product shipped directly from Denon. I'll probably set it up this weekend. Can't wait.

In the meanwhile, I was curious what others think about the DTS:X upgrade option given some of the limitations that x7200 owners have experienced. Namely, not being able to use up mixers with different formats (e.g., DSU for DTS). If the x6200 experiences the same limitation, do others plan to upgrade?

Dolby Atmos 5.1.4
Denon x6200
Ascend Acoustics Towers and Horizon Center (NrT)
RSL 34CE in-ceilings (4)
Rythmik E15HP
Jahjd2000 is offline  
post #5512 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,014
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22015 Post(s)
Liked: 11939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jahjd2000 View Post
I'm a proud new owner of a x6200. I got an amazing deal from a dealer. The product shipped directly from Denon. I'll probably set it up this weekend. Can't wait.

In the meanwhile, I was curious what others think about the DTS:X upgrade option given some of the limitations that x7200 owners have experienced. Namely, not being able to use up mixers with different formats (e.g., DSU for DTS). If the x6200 experiences the same limitation, do others plan to upgrade?
There is no issue with the 2015 models (to include the X6200W) as they already can't use DSU on DTS audio (even before the update).
ingramba likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5513 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 12:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jahjd2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
There is no issue with the 2015 models (to include the X6200W) as they already can't use DSU on DTS audio (even before the update).
Ahh, good to know. I spent a lot of time on the x7200 thread and got the limitations mixed up. I guess DTS upgrade it is.

Dolby Atmos 5.1.4
Denon x6200
Ascend Acoustics Towers and Horizon Center (NrT)
RSL 34CE in-ceilings (4)
Rythmik E15HP
Jahjd2000 is offline  
post #5514 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 01:36 PM
Member
 
yahknow1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 18
My wife just phoned me with disturbing news My X6200W seems to be exhibiting a somewhat weird problem. The audio only plays out the R/L main speakers? When I left for work this morning it was all working great. She's not exactly technically minded so I walked her through some steps over the phone, but nothing seems to work. I'll know more when I get home to look at it, but short of the "4 or 5 factory resets in a row" ( if it comes to that) does anyone have an idea of what it could be?

Thanks in advance!
yahknow1 is offline  
post #5515 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 01:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
These are small bookshelf speakers. Confirm set to SMALL and raise their crossover up to 80Hz.
Staying on this topic, I setup my speakers and the only option for the fronts are large since I do not have a sub setup at this time. I have MartinLogan Motion 4's for fronts and a Motion 8 center channel. Should I set the center channel to small or large?

I need you to come to St. Pete and set my stuff up with your knowledge!
jstang12 is offline  
post #5516 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,014
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22015 Post(s)
Liked: 11939
Quote:
Originally Posted by yahknow1 View Post
My wife just phoned me with disturbing news My X6200W seems to be exhibiting a somewhat weird problem. The audio only plays out the R/L main speakers? When I left for work this morning it was all working great. She's not exactly technically minded so I walked her through some steps over the phone, but nothing seems to work. I'll know more when I get home to look at it, but short of the "4 or 5 factory resets in a row" ( if it comes to that) does anyone have an idea of what it could be?

Thanks in advance!
More than likely she's just got it in STEREO mode.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5517 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 01:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by yahknow1 View Post
My wife just phoned me with disturbing news My X6200W seems to be exhibiting a somewhat weird problem. The audio only plays out the R/L main speakers? When I left for work this morning it was all working great. She's not exactly technically minded so I walked her through some steps over the phone, but nothing seems to work. I'll know more when I get home to look at it, but short of the "4 or 5 factory resets in a row" ( if it comes to that) does anyone have an idea of what it could be?

Thanks in advance!
Seems obvious and hopelessly not offensive but it isn't set to stereo mode is it?
jstang12 is offline  
post #5518 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,014
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22015 Post(s)
Liked: 11939
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstang12 View Post
Staying on this topic, I setup my speakers and the only option for the fronts are large since I do not have a sub setup at this time. I have MartinLogan Motion 4's for fronts and a Motion 8 center channel. Should I set the center channel to small or large?

I need you to come to St. Pete and set my stuff up with your knowledge!
All 3 have similar capability so try it with center as LARGE and SMALL to see which you prefer, but you will definitely want to get a decent sub in your setup ASAP.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5519 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 01:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
All 3 have similar capability so try it with center as LARGE and SMALL to see which you prefer, but you will definitely want to get a decent sub in your setup ASAP.
I'm already shopping one Thinking of going with the Dynamo 700. The wife is tired of new AV equipment showing up. $2k on a tv and $1,500 in speakers / AVR over the past few weeks. Just a fraction of what a lot of you guys have spent but this more than satisfies my needs.
jstang12 is offline  
post #5520 of 17512 Old 02-10-2016, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,330
Mentioned: 141 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4667 Post(s)
Liked: 4852
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstang12 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
All 3 have similar capability so try it with center as LARGE and SMALL to see which you prefer, but you will definitely want to get a decent sub in your setup ASAP.
I'm already shopping one Thinking of going with the Dynamo 700. The wife is tired of new AV equipment showing up. $2k on a tv and $1,500 in speakers / AVR over the past few weeks. Just a fraction of what a lot of you guys have spent but this more than satisfies my needs.
There is no need to "match" the sub to the brand of the speakers. You can get better bang for the buck with an ID sub like SVS, HSU, Outlaw etc.
batpig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
4:4:4 , alexa , arc , audyseey , Audyssey , avr , AVR-X2200W , bluetooth , chroma , connect , Denon , denon 2200w , denon x1200w , lfe , s710w , s910w , spotify , x-1200w , x1200w , x2200w , x3200w , x4200 , x4200w , x6200w , Yamaha

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off