The "OFFICIAL" 2015 Denon "S-series" / "X-series" AVR Owner's thread + FAQ (HDCP 2.2) - Page 193 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 101727Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5761 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 07:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
dkyork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Did the upgrade on my x4200 and sounds great. Now to route my uhd player directly through it.
gadgtfreek likes this.
dkyork is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5762 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 07:29 AM
Senior Member
 
cyclones22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 177
The update went flawless on my X4200W. It was nice to not have to switch to PCM on DTS movies and achieve an immersive upmix. It was a little too late at night to really test it, but I will today. The dust storm scene in Interstellar is typically a good one for DSU. I imagine it will be for Neural as well.

Denon X4200W, Emotiva XPA-5
Klipsch RF-7II Front Cherry (x2), RC-64II Center Cherry, RP-280FA Surround/Atmos (x2), RP-140SA Atmos (x2)
SVS SB-2000 Subwoofer (x2)
OPPO BDP-103D, Sony UBP-X800, Synology NAS
LG OLED65C6P
cyclones22 is offline  
post #5763 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
dkyork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Upgrade was flawless and it's nice seeing dts-hd neural:x on my avr screen. Do I need to turn on video conversion to see the video encoding pass through my avr? I can still keep in pass through right, by keeping ip scaler off?

I'm trying to see if the uhd player is outputting 10 bit, 2160p at 24hz or 60 hz, etc

Last edited by dkyork; 02-18-2016 at 07:35 AM.
dkyork is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5764 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 07:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,234
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6055
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkyork View Post
Upgrade was flawless and it's nice seeing dts-hd neural:x on my avr screen. Do I need to turn on video conversion to see the video encoding pass through my avr? I can still keep in pass through right, by keeping ip scaler off?

I'm trying to see if the uhd player is outputting 10 bit, 2160p at 24hz or 60 hz, etc

No, I leave video conversion off all the time. Especially now that you can hit info on the remote and get the audio screen popup. Just go into General, Info and Video at any time and it will tell you what is coming in and what is going out, same with Audio.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #5765 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 07:47 AM
DT4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Successful update this morning. Popped Gravity in PS4, DTS - Neural X on the front display, sounded great. Can't wait to play around with it more tonight.

5.4.4 - Subs: SVS PB16-Ultra x 4 | AVR: Denon AVR-X4200W | Ext Amp: Emotiva BasX A-150 | L&R: Polk RTiA7 | F&R Heights: Polk RTiA3 | SL&SR: Polk RTiA7 | C: Polk CSiA6 | Display: Sharp LC-70UH30U | UHD Source: Sony UBP-UX80

Last edited by DT4; 02-18-2016 at 07:48 AM. Reason: Small edit.
DT4 is offline  
post #5766 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 07:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
dkyork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
No, I leave video conversion off all the time. Especially now that you can hit info on the remote and get the audio screen popup. Just go into General, Info and Video at any time and it will tell you what is coming in and what is going out, same with Audio.
Got it. I didn't realize I had to go into the main setup, which stops the novie. It says 4k:24hz, bt.2020, 10 bits.
galonzo likes this.
dkyork is offline  
post #5767 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,234
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6055
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkyork View Post
Hmmm, I must be missing it. I only have an info button. It shows the audio Inc and out. I don't see a video button.
Yes, the Info button on the remote pulls that up, for detailed info go into the MENU.

General, info, audio and video.
dkyork likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #5768 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 08:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnx7 View Post
My Denon AVR-6200 arrived this week. Took about 3hrs to set up as far as I could go with a 9.1 setup.

I could not get the wifi to connect to it. I tried for well over an hour. Everything else that is wireless in my house connects without issue. This better get resolved soon by Denon..... I will do the update next.

On another note.... Below a volume setting of 30 the sound is basically inaudible. From 0-25 it's like I have it on mute. From 25-30 if the refrigerator kicks on you can't hear the sound and I'm being ultra silent trying to hear it. Only above 30 does it actually increase at a steady rate. I found this very odd.

I've turned the volume up to 80 and it is loud... but not crazy loud like my old Harmon Kardon AVR-745 or Denon from the early 90's. I will research and play with it more this weekend; however it doesn't seem as powerful as older amps I've had that would literally rock the house and cause the cops to be called.

Speaker setup is all Klipsch unless noted:

KG 5.2's up front pair
RC-62 center
RP-140sa Atmos pair
RF-62II sides
SUB-12
Insignia rears for now

It does sound good.... however it does seem glitchy thus far for an essentially top of the line consumer model.
I mentioned earlier in my post that some receivers from Dennon are not starting up wireless networking during setup, this seems to be a bug as some do and others dont.
The workaround that worked for me is to use Iphone -Connection method instead of WIFI , which will say starting wireless networking, once connected to internet via iphone you can go back to WIFI and it will work fine after this, however, initial setup is very much a problem, hopefully firmware update may fix why wireless networking drivers are not starting during initial setup of Wifi.
HTH
rockyroad3333 is offline  
post #5769 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
pdasterly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 93
tried to play some 4k content on my media player but I get black screen during playback? I hear audio but no video
710w/lg 65uf8500
pdasterly is offline  
post #5770 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 08:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkyork View Post
Upgrade was flawless and it's nice seeing dts-hd neural:x on my avr screen. Do I need to turn on video conversion to see the video encoding pass through my avr? I can still keep in pass through right, by keeping ip scaler off?

I'm trying to see if the uhd player is outputting 10 bit, 2160p at 24hz or 60 hz, etc
Just turn off the i/p scaler and leave the video conversion setting on. With video conversion on I have used multiple test discs and have never seen so much as a single artifact on any of the test patterns, much less with real world material.

If you turn off video conversion you can no longer see the volume indicator on the screen, and for me at least, that is a big deal in my living room based HT. I guess if that doesn't matter to you and you don't mind grabbing the remote to hit info, then it's OK I guess, but rest assured, you'll see no improvement by turning it off.
galonzo likes this.
D Bone is offline  
post #5771 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 08:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Applifier Assign in Dennon Receivers

I notice that switching Amp assign functions are somewhat necessary if you were to switch back and forth between Atmos\Dolby TruHD\DTS 7 channel audio.
Issue:
If amp assign for 7.1 speaker setup for back surround is set to majority of Atmos mode then if when you listen to True HD the back speakers may not output anything, which it should, in my setup the back two surround speakers were assigned in Atmos mode for Top Middle configuration.(7.1-channel (top middle)
The only way i could get the output back on them ( while using true hd, non atmos blueray) was to put the amp assign and revert to back surround back, the guide on page 36 has the possible combination , however, in my trial i had no output when switched to surround dolby.
Its just a pain to keep reassigning the amp function & receiver seems to make loud clicking noise when doing so, which means if i do it often enough i may break something, hope additional option or middle ground can be reached, especially with DTX coming out, anyone else can confirm or get a work around ?
rockyroad3333 is offline  
post #5772 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 08:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,234
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6055
D&M products have clipped fine chroma resolution, or rolled it off, for years now. The reviewers always say "but, we doubt you'd notice this". For someone who does not need overlay menus and have seen this result on spears and munsil patterns, I leave video conversion OFF. Now if you are using a display that already clips this, or a player that does, then of course it won't matter. But when you have one that passes, and then the AVR clips, no need for that.

Just my 0.02's, and not a blanket "it won't create any issues for you". Is the clipping a big deal? Prob not. But for someone who pays for video calibrations, I want as little processing and negative influence as possible. IMO an AVR is there to pass thru video untouched and D&M products will do that with Video Conversion off.

I once had an Onkyo that still jacked with things with it off, now that sucked. At least with D&M we have options.
galonzo, KMFDMvsEnya and S0S0 like this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #5773 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,056
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22615 Post(s)
Liked: 12308
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad3333 View Post
I notice that switching Amp assign functions are somewhat necessary if you were to switch back and forth between Atmos\Dolby TruHD\DTS 7 channel audio.
Issue:
If amp assign for 7.1 speaker setup for back surround is set to majority of Atmos mode then if when you listen to True HD the back speakers may not output anything, which it should, in my setup the back two surround speakers were assigned in Atmos mode for Top Middle configuration.(7.1-channel (top middle)
The only way i could get the output back on them ( while using true hd, non atmos blueray) was to put the amp assign and revert to back surround back, the guide on page 36 has the possible combination , however, in my trial i had no output when switched to surround dolby.
Its just a pain to keep reassigning the amp function & receiver seems to make loud clicking noise when doing so, which means if i do it often enough i may break something, hope additional option or middle ground can be reached, especially with DTX coming out, anyone else can confirm or get a work around ?

The X1200W is a 7CH model. You have the option of either using the Surround Back speaker posts for the Surround Back speakers or 2 height speakers (eg. Top Middle) by changing the AMP ASSIGN setting, noting that doing so will disable Audyssey for the config that was not selected prior to running Audyssey. If the capability to use both Surround Back and/or Top Middle speaker is desired keeping Audyssey enabled with either setup, the X4200W would be the better choice. No issue with the "clicking" noise.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5774 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 10:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
Hmmm... I was expecting more fervor for the 6200/4200 DTS:X update.

HST, I'm in wait and see mode. And HST, I may head over to BB later and pick up "The Last Witch Hunter" to add to my bald leading men movie collection. Then flip the switch on the DTS:X update... and pray.

*Denon 6200 with Pioneer Elite speakers (Atmos Enabled) running 5.1.4.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon FTV Stick 4K, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is online now  
post #5775 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 10:28 AM
Member
 
ChiWestSider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Update was easy and painless. It was done in 20 minutes. When listening to music (Online Music- Media Server) the sound appears to sound way better blended. The direction which the music comes from sounds like one continuous piece of sound folded around me. Excellent DSU for HDMI & Online Music!!!

Samsung JS9500, Samsung K8500, Nvidia Shield 16gb, Denon AVR-X6200W 7.2.4, Emotiva XPA-1 Gen 2 x2, Emotiva XPA-5 Gen 3, Klipsch RF-62 II x2, Klipsch RC-62 II, Klipsch RS-62 II x 2, Klipsch RS-52 II x2, Klipsch RP-140SA x 4, Klipsch R-115SW x2
ChiWestSider is offline  
post #5776 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 11:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
jcp2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Just outside Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Sorry for the noob question to follow. I currently have a 7.1 system running and have the 6200 coming in a few days. I will be putting 2 in-ceiling speakers just in front of the seats, to make it 7.1.2. I just need to know where to plug them into the avr. Height 1?, height 2? It's just a little confusing to me. Thank you for your help.
John
jcp2 is offline  
post #5777 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 858
height 1
jcp2 likes this.
metalsaber is offline  
post #5778 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 11:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The X1200W is a 7CH model. You have the option of either using the Surround Back speaker posts for the Surround Back speakers or 2 height speakers (eg. Top Middle) by changing the AMP ASSIGN setting, noting that doing so will disable Audyssey for the config that was not selected prior to running Audyssey. If the capability to use both Surround Back and/or Top Middle speaker is desired keeping Audyssey enabled with either setup, the X4200W would be the better choice. No issue with the "clicking" noise.
Thanks JD,
I understand that its 7.1 receiver, my question was more on switching between Atmos and non Atmos sound streams, i like to keep the back speakers configured in a way that they will be in use during Dolby True HD soundtracks Vs Atmos\DTX, which they appear not to be the case without making them as "surround back" amplification assign.
I know before running Audessey i had assigned the back speakers as TML or Top Middle.
There are a few things i need to confirm but i had weired experience with my new X1200

1. While playing Netflix and with a movie that had HD sound via my Samsung 6500 Blue ray player, the movie "score" soundtrack only seems to be playing from Front Left speaker ? Blue ray has been configured and used with other denons without issues, the problem seems to disappear after i switched the movie back and forth?
2. Sound volume while in Netflix via samsung BlueRay was very low ( i had to turn it up to 75), even though i turned up Source level t0 12 and tryed to increase other settings to boost the sound, while listening to it in Audessey reference( may be this has something to do with it)
3. You tube off the same Blue Ray was quite loud and no issues, online music and playing Blueray soundtrack it was loud enough at 60-65.
Its strange issue i had with Netflix that i did not notice with my other receiver on the different Danon.
I am testing everything to make sure all is well, let me know if someone else has seen this happen, i had properly calibrated and confirmed speakers volume and placement prior to running Audessey and after as well.
sometimes the info Button does not have TML and TMR ( my back surrounds) highlighted while pressing info button but they are listed in active speakers, even though they were not highlighted i saw sound output coming from this speakers so this is another strange behavior i am trying to investigate.
rockyroad3333 is offline  
post #5779 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 11:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
jcp2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Just outside Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post
height 1
Thank you so much. Cheers.
jcp2 is offline  
post #5780 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 12:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdasterly View Post
tried to play some 4k content on my media player but I get black screen during playback? I hear audio but no video
710w/lg 65uf8500
Had the same problem. Disabled video conversion and working fine now.
Gandorf is offline  
post #5781 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Carrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 466 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
No. Please read my post again as I am referring to how the "Video Output" setting of "Auto" may not allow 4k to pass whereas "Monitor 2" might.
Thanks JD for your input.
This (pic below) is what I got initially when trying to watch 4k Amazon Fire's "Red Oaks" on Monitor 2 output with HDMI pass through.


But then after troubleshooting and trying to make sure whether it was the FIRE or the 4200, when I went back to the FIRE input it did display 3840x2160 from Monitor 2 and into my pj's dedicated 4k input. Still not sure whether or not it's the 4200 or Amazon FIRE since I haven't been able to duplicate it again. I will have to keep an eye on that while everything is under warranty.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0264.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	165.3 KB
ID:	1263065  
Carrick is offline  
post #5782 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 12:46 PM
Member
 
Ak Gara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi, I have a question about the X4200, specifically about Audyssey Sub EQ HT.

My current AVR is a Denon 2113ci and 2 things I can change is the volume level of the subwoofer and the crossover frequency. (default is 80)

Can the Sub EQ HT let me set 1 subwoofer to -6db at 80hz, and a second subwoofer at -3db at 40hz, or would both subwoofers share the same setting? I can't seem to find a screenshot of the menu :/
Ak Gara is offline  
post #5783 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 858
i have 2 subs and I'm almost 100% positive that they have to share the settings. I could be wrong, but pretty sure they can't be independent.
metalsaber is offline  
post #5784 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,832
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ak Gara View Post
Hi, I have a question about the X4200, specifically about Audyssey Sub EQ HT.

My current AVR is a Denon 2113ci and 2 things I can change is the volume level of the subwoofer and the crossover frequency. (default is 80)

Can the Sub EQ HT let me set 1 subwoofer to -6db at 80hz, and a second subwoofer at -3db at 40hz, or would both subwoofers share the same setting? I can't seem to find a screenshot of the menu :/
You can set the trim levels individually for both subwoofers.

However, the crossover frequencies are associated with the main and surround speakers, not with the subwoofers.

You're probably thinking of the LPF for LFE setting, which actually is the Low Pass Filter for the Low Frequency Effects channel. That's the .1 channel of an incoming soundtrack, not the subwoofers. As a result, there's only one such setting, since there's only 1 incoming LFE channel.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #5785 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 01:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Near San Fran
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New Cable Box Causing Audio Issues - HDMI Switching

I purchased a Denon s710W and have been enjoying the functionality, including the dummy HDMI switching that allows my wife to just turn on the TV.


Recently my cable box broke. U-verse sent a new box, PACE IPH8005. Hooked this one up while the tech was in the house. Utilizing the HDMI through the powered off DENON to watch TV, the audio had a pop noise every 2-5 seconds. The tech said the PACE unit has some additional HDCP features that are probably causing it. I powered up the Denon and the pop noise went away. We tried another PACE box and the results were the same.



Conclusion, the new PACE cable box has some copy protection security that blocks clear audio from routing through the HDMI switch while the DENON is on standby. The tech said 'have the denon on all the time', I said, 'no bring me an older cable box so I don't lose my functionality. He did and everything works as before.


Is the DENON HDCP 2.2 not active while the unit is on standby?
gmauger is offline  
post #5786 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 02:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,565
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4866 Post(s)
Liked: 5193
Quote:
Originally Posted by the7mcs View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
It's actually the SubEQ feature which does this. Just plug the subs into the two different subwoofer outputs on the back of the AVR. Please take the time to look through the Audyssey 101/FAQ It answers these and many other questions, although not those which are unique to the 4200.



"Small" really is an abbreviation for "enable bass management". It is not intended to describe the physical size of your speakers. It is indeed best to set all speakers as Small so that the lowest bass frequencies get redirected to your subwoofers which are better designed to reproduce them.
while I can understand the logic about setting speakers to small and letting the sub handle bass duties but then doesn't that kinda defeat the purpose of people who buy tower speakers that have like one or two sub speaker drivers built into them? To me it sounds like a waste of money buying speakers like those (usually more expensive) and then not use them fully.

Or am I missing something with my train of thought?
Flip your logic around -- doesn't setting speakers to large defeat the purpose of spending money on fancy subwoofers?

Let them do the job they were meant to do. Speakers with big woofers or powered subs built in almost never are as good in the bottom octaves as a dedicated subwoofer system. As someone noted above there is still plenty of work to do above 60-80hz. You're talking about handing off 1/2 or 1 octave of a 10 octave range.
batpig is offline  
post #5787 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 02:21 PM
Senior Member
 
CactusJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mountains of North Carolina.
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Flip your logic around -- doesn't setting speakers to large defeat the purpose of spending money on fancy subwoofers?

Let them do the job they were meant to do. Speakers with big woofers or powered subs built in almost never are as good in the bottom octaves as a dedicated subwoofer system. As someone noted above there is still plenty of work to do above 60-80hz. You're talking about handing off 1/2 or 1 octave of a 10 octave range.
Nice explanation. I, too, had questioned the wisdom of my paying for towers (SVS Ultras) then setting them to Small. I feel better now; thanks, Batpig!
CactusJack is offline  
post #5788 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Catdaddy327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cheverly, MD
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Has anyone auditioned music using both DTS Neural:X and DSU? What do you think? I haven't spent much time with it yet, but from my limited tests, it seems Neural:X collapses the image that I hear. The surrounds seem to be a little more active with Neural:X, but the stereo image seems to fall into the center. What say you?

EDIT: There seems to be a slight bit of distortion in the center channel with Neural:X.

Catdaddy

Last edited by Catdaddy327; 02-18-2016 at 03:11 PM.
Catdaddy327 is offline  
post #5789 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
pdasterly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandorf View Post
Had the same problem. Disabled video conversion and working fine now.
dont have video on 710w model
pdasterly is offline  
post #5790 of 17642 Old 02-18-2016, 02:36 PM
Member
 
Ak Gara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
You're probably thinking of the LPF for LFE setting, which actually is the Low Pass Filter for the Low Frequency Effects channel. That's the .1 channel of an incoming soundtrack, not the subwoofers. As a result, there's only one such setting, since there's only 1 incoming LFE channel.
In the bass submenu:




In the crossover menu:


Ak Gara is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
4:4:4 , alexa , arc , audyseey , Audyssey , avr , AVR-X2200W , bluetooth , chroma , connect , Denon , denon 2200w , denon x1200w , lfe , s710w , s910w , spotify , x-1200w , x1200w , x2200w , x3200w , x4200 , x4200w , x6200w , Yamaha

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off