The "OFFICIAL" 2015 Denon "S-series" / "X-series" AVR Owner's thread + FAQ (HDCP 2.2) - Page 194 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 101707Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5791 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 02:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Newjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Queens, N.Y.
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Trying to update my X4200, stuck on please wait... connecting to server. Maybe everyone is trying update at the same time?
Newjack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5792 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 02:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Mine took awhile to do the connection and authentication this morning.
Newjack likes this.
metalsaber is offline  
post #5793 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 02:58 PM
Member
 
tcassette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catdaddy327 View Post
Has anyone auditioned music using both DTS:Neural X and DSU? What do you think? I haven't spent much time with it yet, but from my limited tests, it seems Neural X collapses the image that I hear. The surrounds seem to be a little more active with Neural X, but the stereo image seems to fall into the center. What say you?
My experience matches yours. I think the DSU is much superior on music, and I use it all the time now. I used to prefer the Denon "matrix" setting for music, but the DSU seems better. In fact, I have been pleasantly surprised on a couple of recordings when applause and instruments have clearly come from the surround and surround back speakers.
tcassette is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5794 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 02:59 PM
Member
 
BeyondHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newjack View Post
Trying to update my X4200, stuck on please wait... connecting to server. Maybe everyone is trying update at the same time?
Don't worry. Mine took almost 3-4 minutes to authentication process and 2 minutes to download the update. After that is a 35-40 minutes process to complete the update but at the end is really worth it. If you have The Last Witch Hunter on Bluray give it try and you'll see what I mean. DTS
X is Awesome!
BeyondHD is offline  
post #5795 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Newjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Queens, N.Y.
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I'll be patient, thanks for the quick responses!
Newjack is offline  
post #5796 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 03:14 PM
Member
 
BeyondHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Tested so far

DTS X

The Last Witch Hunter - great over the head effects, so far the format is promising!

Neural X

AVATAR
Red Dawn
Pacific Rim
The Wolverine

In my opinion Neural X has a bit more impact in the upper channels than DSU and the sound feels with more depth and detailed.
BeyondHD is offline  
post #5797 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 03:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jahjd2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 81
I plan to update my x6200 tonight. I'm excited to try out DTS:X.

Question for those of you who completed the update already. I recall DTS touting the ability to adjust the volume of vocals separately from the rest of audio. Is that the case with up-mixed material and native DTS:X tracks (last Witch Hunter)?

Dolby Atmos 5.1.4
Denon x6200
Ascend Acoustics Towers and Horizon Center (NrT)
RSL 34CE in-ceilings (4)
Rythmik E15HP
Jahjd2000 is offline  
post #5798 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 03:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,199
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6003
I had to go in and make sure mine connected before jumping on, it takes a couple of minutes for the WIFI to connect.

Took awhile but I now have:

Version 0772-8181-8264-04
DTS 3.90.35.00
galonzo likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Roku Ultra / Uverse
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #5799 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 04:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Landenberg, PA
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeyondHD View Post
Don't worry. Mine took almost 3-4 minutes to authentication process and 2 minutes to download the update. After that is a 35-40 minutes process to complete the update but at the end is really worth it. If you have The Last Witch Hunter on Bluray give it try and you'll see what I mean. DTS
X is Awesome!
Obviously, your experience will vary depending on your internet speed. I have lousy DSL, so I expect this to take considerably longer.
jreash is offline  
post #5800 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,199
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6003
Quote:
Originally Posted by jreash View Post
Obviously, your experience will vary depending on your internet speed. I have lousy DSL, so I expect this to take considerably longer.
Thats what I have and it took awhile...

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Roku Ultra / Uverse
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #5801 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 04:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jahjd2000 View Post
I plan to update my x6200 tonight. I'm excited to try out DTS:X.

Question for those of you who completed the update already. I recall DTS touting the ability to adjust the volume of vocals separately from the rest of audio. Is that the case with up-mixed material and native DTS:X tracks (last Witch Hunter)?
So I have been reading as much as I can, and I have not seen anyone figure this out yet (or I missed it). I thought I read it was a future feature, but hopefully someone will come in and clarify.
toofast68 is offline  
post #5802 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 04:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Updated 4200w with new firmware but now a DTS Neo 2.5 issue

Updated receiver software and now when I use my Samsung 65js9500 and tv tuner source for Netflix or YouTube there is an issue with DTS Neo 2.5. When I have it on this setting it works fine until I stop or go forward or backward on the video, then the sound stops. Dolby Digital works fine. The DTS Neo 2.5 sounds better so I would like to continue using it as before. There is no change in listening to cable content. I have tried switching ARC on and off and this has no impact with the tv source issue. Anyone else run into this?
Treck216 is offline  
post #5803 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 04:42 PM
Member
 
Dougb59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 21
IR Remote Extender/Repeater for X-Series Receiver?

I'm planning to get an infrared remote extender to enable me to control my AVR-X6200W receiver and a few other components from my Zone 2 location (an adjacent room). There are a number of them on Amazon with many favorable reviews for around $25-$45, including products from Sewell, BAFX, Vastar, and others. I am concerned, because while they mostly get high ratings, some say they don't work with Marantz devices (which might also mean Denon?), and there are quite a few reports on individual devices (often satellite/cable boxes) not working with them.

Also, I want to be sure that whatever I get will be able to control my receiver via the rear panel IR remote plug (so I don't have to stick an emitter on the front of my 6200).

This is one I'm considering because it advertises that it "supports dual band IR and RC-MM IR signals" - I don't really know what that means, but I understand that some devices (maybe Denon AVRs?) use more complex dual band IR signals that some IR extenders can't reliably duplicate:
http://www.amazon.com/Sewell-Direct-...nder+dual+band.

Does anyone have experience with this unit, or a recommendation for a reasonably-priced extender that should work with my 6200 and other equipment?

Thanks in advance for your advice.


Doug
Dougb59 is offline  
post #5804 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 05:02 PM
Member
 
eloquentsilencee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougb59 View Post
I'm planning to get an infrared remote extender to enable me to control my AVR-X6200W receiver and a few other components from my Zone 2 location (an adjacent room). There are a number of them on Amazon with many favorable reviews for around $25-$45, including products from Sewell, BAFX, Vastar, and others. I am concerned, because while they mostly get high ratings, some say they don't work with Marantz devices (which might also mean Denon?), and there are quite a few reports on individual devices (often satellite/cable boxes) not working with them.

Also, I want to be sure that whatever I get will be able to control my receiver via the rear panel IR remote plug (so I don't have to stick an emitter on the front of my 6200).

This is one I'm considering because it advertises that it "supports dual band IR and RC-MM IR signals" - I don't really know what that means, but I understand that some devices (maybe Denon AVRs?) use more complex dual band IR signals that some IR extenders can't reliably duplicate:
http://www.amazon.com/Sewell-Direct-...nder+dual+band.

Does anyone have experience with this unit, or a recommendation for a reasonably-priced extender that should work with my 6200 and other equipment?

Thanks in advance for your advice.


Doug
Am using the Sewell for my Denon X6200, Vten, LG and oppo.

All works as advertised.

All my components are inside a DIY cabinet.

Denon X6200 | Benq TK800 | KEF T305 | Stack KK DXD808 | HSU VTF 3 MK5 | Orb Audio Mod1x4 Ceiling | KEF T301 wides
(9.2.4)
eloquentsilencee is offline  
post #5805 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 05:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ak Gara View Post
In the bass submenu:
For some reason your menu Manual -> Speakers -> Crossovers is missing an option. Maybe a selection that you've made in some other menu is disabling it.

At the top of the Crossovers menu there should be an option named "Speaker Selection" which can be set to either "All" or "Individual".

When "Speaker Selection = All", all of your speakers use the same crossover frequency, which usually is not appropriate. When "All" has been selected, only a single crossover frequency is available in the Bass menu, which is what you're seeing now. When "Individual" has been selected, you'll see a crossover frequency option available for each of the three front speakers plus one for every pair of surround and overhead speakers that you have.

Somehow the option "Speaker Selection" needs to be changed from "All" to "Individual", so we need to find out what other menu option is disabling that option.

What is shown when you go to the "Amp Assign" menu?

In most cases it should be "11.1 ch", and under that should be listed the availability of the speakers in your system -- by that I mean the settings in the receiver which tells it which speakers are connected and by what means.

It'll probably be easier if you access the receiver's Web pages and do screengrabs of them instead of photographing the TV screen.

Here's what mine shows. (I have a Marantz, so the color scheme is different. Otherwise the menus should be identical.)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	capture_070_18022016_201558.png
Views:	150
Size:	94.5 KB
ID:	1263505   Click image for larger version

Name:	capture_071_18022016_201617.png
Views:	150
Size:	99.2 KB
ID:	1263513   Click image for larger version

Name:	capture_069_18022016_201525.png
Views:	128
Size:	102.7 KB
ID:	1263521  

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #5806 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 05:36 PM
Member
 
Dougb59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. When the 4k source is selected for both displays using the Zone 2 HDMI output for the second display, the signal resolution will only be what is common to both (eg. 1080p).
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...VRRemote&hl=en
Thank you JD for the replies to my questions. I've spent some time reading your explanation, the manual, Batpig's Denon Dictionary/tutorial, and experimenting with my Zone 2 setup (before I actually install it). I appreciate all the great information.

If I'm understanding correctly, when I'm using my AVR-X6200W to route video and audio to Zone 2 at the same time it is feeding Zone 1 (4K TV & 5.2.4 Atmos), the Zone 1 video output will be downgraded to whatever the resolution is of my Zone 2 monitor (probably a 1080P 32" TV being viewed from about 10 feet). This isn't a huge deal, but is kind of frustrating. It makes me consider buying a 32" 4K TV (if there is such a thing) just to preserve maximum resolution on my main TV (I'm sure that 4K won't provide a visible benefit on a 32" screen from 10').

Also, am I to understand that when I'm feeding my Zone 2 speakers (just 2-channel stereo), my Zone 1 sound will also be downgraded from 5.2.4 Atmos (or whatever surround encoding he source provides) to two-channel stereo? FYI, the Zone 2 speakers will be fed from the Zone 2 preamp outs and an old receiver acting as the amp.


Does it matter if we have different sources playing in each zone (i.e. satellite TV in Zone 1, DVD in Zone 2)?

Or am I misunderstanding how this works? It appears that there are a few options for configuring Zone 2 – is there a preferred way to achieve maximum performance?
Dougb59 is offline  
post #5807 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 05:45 PM
Member
 
Dougb59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by eloquentsilencee View Post
Am using the Sewell for my Denon X6200, Vten, LG and oppo.

All works as advertised.

All my components are inside a DIY cabinet.

eloquentsilencee,
Thank you for the quick reply - that's what I was hoping to hear. Did you purchase the Sewell unit in my link (there are several variations)? Do you have it connected to your 6200 via the rear jack? Thanks again.
Dougb59 is offline  
post #5808 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 05:52 PM
Member
 
eloquentsilencee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougb59 View Post
eloquentsilencee,
Thank you for the quick reply - that's what I was hoping to hear. Did you purchase the Sewell unit in my link (there are several variations)? Do you have it connected to your 6200 via the rear jack? Thanks again.
Mine is different. Am using the SW-29311.

But I think should work fine though.

YMMV.
eloquentsilencee is offline  
post #5809 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Dougb59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by eloquentsilencee View Post
Mine is different. Am using the SW-29311.

But I think should work fine though.

YMMV.
Did you connect it via the rear jack on your 6200? Thanks
Dougb59 is offline  
post #5810 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 07:16 PM
Member
 
eloquentsilencee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougb59 View Post
Did you connect it via the rear jack on your 6200? Thanks
No. Did not connect to the rear jack.

As per instruction, you connect the receiver and placed it with a line of sight from your MLP and connect the transmitter to your different HT component IR sensor.

Hope this helps.

Cheers

Denon X6200 | Benq TK800 | KEF T305 | Stack KK DXD808 | HSU VTF 3 MK5 | Orb Audio Mod1x4 Ceiling | KEF T301 wides
(9.2.4)
eloquentsilencee is offline  
post #5811 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 07:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Xeneize12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 73
My 6200w updated with no issues, however when testing Ex Machina I do not see the DTS X banner on my receiver, seems to default to DTS surround... Is this normal ?

| Sony XBR65AE1 | Denon X6200W | 7.2.4 | Oppo 203 | Nvidia Shield | Harmony Elite |
| Emotiva mini-X a-100 | Ascend CMT-340 | Emotiva ERD-1 | SVS SB2000 + Martin Logan Abyss |
| PS4 Pro | Xbox One X |
|Sony XBR65X950B | Samsung UN49KS8000 |
Xeneize12 is offline  
post #5812 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 07:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 4,079
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1874 Post(s)
Liked: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeneize12 View Post
My 6200w updated with no issues, however when testing Ex Machina I do not see the DTS X banner on my receiver, seems to default to DTS surround... Is this normal ?
No. It should show DTS:X.
Did you select DTS:X in BD Menu?
If Yes, press "Movie" button on your Denon remote to see if you see DTS:X in the list.
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #5813 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
cyclones22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Did you buy it or rent it? Because Lionsgate neuters their rental disc's audio.

Denon X4200W, Emotiva XPA-5
Klipsch RF-7II Front Cherry (x2), RC-64II Center Cherry, RP-280FA Surround/Atmos (x2), RP-140SA Atmos (x2)
SVS SB-2000 Subwoofer (x2)
OPPO BDP-103D, Sony UBP-X800, Synology NAS
LG OLED65C6P
cyclones22 is offline  
post #5814 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 08:39 PM
Member
 
odesseiron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Need a bit of hand here. Pretty sure I know what the problem is, doing a search. This might be a dealbreaker otherwise. Just want input.

So I just bought Denon X1200, along with a JS9000. My old receiver which was a VSX1020K did pass through from my PC (albeit at 1080p) no problem.

I finished hooking up everything tonight. Here's my problem.

I have a GTX980ti, trying to pass through my avr. No bueno. Saying there is a repeater connected. So I can't get audio/video. It's a Mediabridge 15 footer.

Reading that KabelDirekt will fix the problem. Can anyone confirm it's the HDMI cable that's the issue? Also reading that connecting it to 2160 will cause screen issues such as flashing? Totally defeats the purpose of why I spent the money on the avr. Granted it's lovely, but one of the biggest things I wanted to do was 4k game on a 65"

Thanks!

Also; for the life of my I CANNOT get audio from my cable box (I have cablevision) I have video, but no audio. My cable box is set for digital. Getting used to a new avr sucks

Last edited by odesseiron; 02-18-2016 at 08:47 PM.
odesseiron is offline  
post #5815 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Xeneize12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
No. It should show DTS:X.
Did you select DTS:X in BD Menu?
If Yes, press "Movie" button on your Denon remote to see if you see DTS:X in the list.
Thanks, after pressing movie I selected DTS + Neural X, and it does display that on the display, I'm assuming, DTS neural x is indeed DTS x?.

| Sony XBR65AE1 | Denon X6200W | 7.2.4 | Oppo 203 | Nvidia Shield | Harmony Elite |
| Emotiva mini-X a-100 | Ascend CMT-340 | Emotiva ERD-1 | SVS SB2000 + Martin Logan Abyss |
| PS4 Pro | Xbox One X |
|Sony XBR65X950B | Samsung UN49KS8000 |
Xeneize12 is offline  
post #5816 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Shniks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeneize12 View Post
Thanks, after pressing movie I selected DTS + Neural X, and it does display that on the display, I'm assuming, DTS neural x is indeed DTS x?.

No Neural X is the upmixer (like DSU).


Cheers,

Nikhil
http://www.lihkin.net

Definitive Technology Mythos ST-Ls (Fronts), Definitive Technology CS8080HD (Center), Definitive Technology Gem XLs (Surrounds), Definitive Technology DI 6.5R (5.1.4 Atmos), JTR Captivator 1400, Denon X4200W, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Player, Onkyo M-5010 Amp, Onkyo C-7030
Shniks is offline  
post #5817 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 08:52 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast68 View Post
So I have been reading as much as I can, and I have not seen anyone figure this out yet (or I missed it). I thought I read it was a future feature, but hopefully someone will come in and clarify.
It's a future feature of native DTS:X only but wil never be in the upmixer. The dialogue is encoded as a separate object on it's own but that means it will take it an actual speaker location so you won't see it in an AVR for a long time.
RedheadMurray is offline  
post #5818 of 17570 Old 02-18-2016, 10:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,394
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4728 Post(s)
Liked: 4945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jahjd2000 View Post
I plan to update my x6200 tonight. I'm excited to try out DTS:X.

Question for those of you who completed the update already. I recall DTS touting the ability to adjust the volume of vocals separately from the rest of audio. Is that the case with up-mixed material and native DTS:X tracks (last Witch Hunter)?
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast68 View Post
So I have been reading as much as I can, and I have not seen anyone figure this out yet (or I missed it). I thought I read it was a future feature, but hopefully someone will come in and clarify.
This is one of the DTS:X "features" that is mostly marketing fluff. In order for this "separate dialogue adjustment" to be of any use, the content needs to be native DTS:X encoded AND the mix needs to have been made to support the feature. There is basically no content, and none of it uses this feature yet, so at this point it's vaporware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedheadMurray View Post
It's a future feature of native DTS:X only but wil never be in the upmixer. The dialogue is encoded as a separate object on it's own but that means it will take it an actual speaker location so you won't see it in an AVR for a long time.
Correction: the dialogue COULD BE encoded as a separate object. It's not happening yet.

Also note that, theoretically, you could do the same thing with Atmos. But nobody's doing it yet.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #5819 of 17570 Old 02-19-2016, 02:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Still no word on DTS:X for the remaining models? X3200, X2200, X1200 and so on?
TheCoolDoc is offline  
post #5820 of 17570 Old 02-19-2016, 03:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,371
Mentioned: 722 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22214 Post(s)
Liked: 12075
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCoolDoc View Post
Still no word on DTS:X for the remaining models? X3200, X2200, X1200 and so on?
No word yet.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
4:4:4 , alexa , arc , audyseey , Audyssey , avr , AVR-X2200W , bluetooth , chroma , connect , Denon , denon 2200w , denon x1200w , lfe , s710w , s910w , spotify , x-1200w , x1200w , x2200w , x3200w , x4200 , x4200w , x6200w , Yamaha

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off