The "OFFICIAL" 2015 Denon "S-series" / "X-series" AVR Owner's thread + FAQ (HDCP 2.2) - Page 217 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 101761Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6481 of 17765 Old 03-08-2016, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
bigboygelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: macomb, michigan
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 21
im viewing Youtube through my display's (JS9500) youtube app which is connected to my 3200 via ARC.

how do i get OSD with this type of connection? when i try to check AVR settings or INFO nothing shows...

DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY:
BP7006 FRONTS,CLR2006 CENTER, BP1.2X SURROUNDS,A60 ATMOS ENABLED SPEAKERS

SAMSUNG UN65JS9500
AVR-X3200W
SAMSUNG UBD-K8500
bigboygelo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6482 of 17765 Old 03-08-2016, 07:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4262 Post(s)
Liked: 4574
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigboygelo View Post
im viewing Youtube through my display's (JS9500) youtube app which is connected to my 3200 via ARC.

how do i get OSD with this type of connection? when i try to check AVR settings or INFO nothing shows...

I was under the impression that you can't because the tv is not using the video connection from the AVR.
bigboygelo likes this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #6483 of 17765 Old 03-08-2016, 08:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigboygelo View Post
im viewing Youtube through my display's (JS9500) youtube app which is connected to my 3200 via ARC.

how do i get OSD with this type of connection? when i try to check AVR settings or INFO nothing shows...
Not possible to have an AVR's overlay with the TV's internal apps.
bigboygelo likes this.
doctorwizz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6484 of 17765 Old 03-08-2016, 08:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
zalusky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
When 2CH audio is playing (eg. commercial), simply press the MOVIE button on the remote and select "Dolby Surround."
Thanks but it still seems to jump now and then.
zalusky is offline  
post #6485 of 17765 Old 03-08-2016, 09:49 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,835
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2852
Quote:
Originally Posted by abeas View Post
This has probably been addressed but 216 pages is a lot to go through so I apologize. I just got the S910W today. When using it with my Xfinity STB Dolby Digital 5.1 works fine, but SD channels and HD channels not in 5.1 are producing sound through all of the speakers, mainly the center. I'd like for them to be stereo, in Left Right and Sub only when not in DD 5.1. I have been using the Pure AUTO sound setting. Anyway to achieve stereo sound when the input gives left and right? Thanks!
The "Auto" selection which happens to be on the "Direct" button is indeed the easiest way to ensure that you get the original soundtrack with no upmixing, no matter what the soundtrack's encoding is. All other processing is applied when Auto is selected, including Audyssey, bass management and Dynamic EQ.

The settings on the Movie, Music and Game buttons apply only to the specific type of encoding being used by the soundtrack that's playing when you select one of those buttons. You could, for example, use them to have Dolby Surround applied to Dolby soundtracks but not to PCM.
abeas likes this.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #6486 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,081
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23191 Post(s)
Liked: 12720
Quote:
Originally Posted by dshetler View Post
I have a 5.1.2 setup, would it be better for me to run my hdmi cable from my 8500 to my x2200w or keep my 2 hdmi set up from my 8500 to my tv, then from hdmi 2 on my 8500 to my receiver?
Yes. Only one cable and connect it to the AVR.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6487 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,081
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23191 Post(s)
Liked: 12720
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Use two HDMI cables. The x2200w doesn't have the new firmware update for HDMI 2.0a yet and there have been reports of HDCP errors when trying to pass through the AVR. SOme say you can ignore the error and it plays, some say the movie will play 1080p and not 4k. To be safe, continue using the dual HDMI.
I posted a few days ago (correcting myself from post 1) that all the 2015 models already have the required HDMI 2.0a(HDR) firmware installed.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6488 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 09:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,634
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1926 Post(s)
Liked: 598
Since the x1200 has 2 sub outputs does it calibrate them as one or individually?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600
asere is offline  
post #6489 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,081
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23191 Post(s)
Liked: 12720
Quote:
Originally Posted by abeas View Post
This has probably been addressed but 216 pages is a lot to go through so I apologize. I just got the S910W today. When using it with my Xfinity STB Dolby Digital 5.1 works fine, but SD channels and HD channels not in 5.1 are producing sound through all of the speakers, mainly the center. I'd like for them to be stereo, in Left Right and Sub only when not in DD 5.1. I have been using the Pure AUTO sound setting. Anyway to achieve stereo sound when the input gives left and right? Thanks!
Yes. When the 2CH audio is playing ... select MOVIE - STEREO.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6490 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,081
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23191 Post(s)
Liked: 12720
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
Since the x1200 has 2 sub outputs does it calibrate them as one or individually?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
On the X3200W and lower (to include the X1200), the dual sub pre-outs are nothing more than an internal "Y" splitter cable so the level and delay of both subs is set together as one before being EQ'd. On the X4200W and X6200W, the sub pre-outs are independent such that Audyssey Sub EQ HT will set the level and delay of each sub independently before EQing them together. You would then have independent volume control of each sub with these two models as well.
asere likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6491 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4262 Post(s)
Liked: 4574
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
I posted a few days ago (correcting myself from post 1) that all the 2015 models already have the required HDMI 2.0a(HDR) firmware installed.

Well I wonder why the hdcp errors and strange issues when using it. Maybe needs further update.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #6492 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 10:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,081
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23191 Post(s)
Liked: 12720
Quote:
Originally Posted by j3cwill View Post
From what I have read, you can use an amp to power the front three and still run 5.1.4 on the Marantz SR6010.

Has this been confirmed for the X4200 as well?
Confirmed possible on the X4200W as well (ie. using 4 height speakers while externally powering the FL/FR speakers and connecting the Height 2 speakers to the Front Wide speaker posts).

Assign Mode: 9.1
Floor
- Layout
: 5ch
Height
– Height Sp
: 4ch
- Layout: Top Front + Top Rear
- Pre-out: Front

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 07-08-2016 at 12:44 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6493 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 10:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,081
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23191 Post(s)
Liked: 12720
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Well I wonder why the hdcp errors and strange issues when using it. Maybe needs further update.
Possibly, however, as one member previously posted .... of the (12) 4k/UHD disks he played, there are only issues with 2 of them and after getting beyond the initial menu, they too play 4k without any further issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MtnBiker2001 View Post
Ok as for the hdcp 2.2 error going through a Denon S910W using monster ultra hd black platinums, here's the rundown of my collection of 4k's.
Y = getting hdcp 2.2 error
N = not getting hdcp 2.2 error

Ender's Game - N - Lionsgate
Fantastic 4 - Y - Fox
Hancock - N - Sony
Hitman - N - Fox
Kingsman - N - Fox
Witch Hunter - N - Lionsgate
Mad Max - Y BD Menu Only - WB
Maze Runner - N - Fox
Scorch Trials - N - Fox
Salt - N - Sony
Sicario - N - Lionsgate
Xmen Days of - N - Fox

I must say I was surprised by my results I thought the issue was more prevalent than this. As far as Fantasic 4 goes this happens before the menu loads. All of these play in 4K. Mad Max just gets the error on the menu only, it plays in 4k fine. So the problem is minor considering it only affects 2 titles out of the ones i have. And again they both goto 4k after that error. My tv is the sony xbr65x850b. With this in mind I can't help but think a firmware update might take care of this. I think i'll be keeping it going through the denon avr.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 03-09-2016 at 11:47 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6494 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 11:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 5
UPDATE when the firmware upgrade is coming for AVR-X2200W to handle HDCP 2.2 and DTS-X???


Having to run two separate HDMI cables to my JVC 4K projector. One for UHD 4K Blu-ray watching and one for the rest of my HDMI signal sent from the X2200.
Bkelley3rd is offline  
post #6495 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 11:04 AM
Newbie
 
woolfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi

I have just purchased a Denon AVR-X2200W and just wondered if DTS:X is available and if not what is the likely timescale for the upgrade

Many Thanks
woolfg is offline  
post #6496 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 11:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,081
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23191 Post(s)
Liked: 12720
Quote:
Originally Posted by woolfg View Post
Hi

I have just purchased a Denon AVR-X2200W and just wondered if DTS:X is available and if not what is the likely timescale for the upgrade

Many Thanks
The DTS:X update has only been released to the top 3 models: X4200W, X6200W, and X7200WA to date. Unknown as to when the release will be made available to the X3200W and lower models.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 03-09-2016 at 11:28 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6497 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
woolfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The DTS:X update has only been released to the top 3 models: X4200W, X6200W, and 7200WA to date. Unknown as to when the release will be made available to the X3200W and lower models.
Hi jdsmoothie

Many thanks for the update
woolfg is offline  
post #6498 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,835
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2852
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bkelley3rd View Post

Having to run two separate HDMI cables to my JVC 4K projector. One for UHD 4K Blu-ray watching and one for the rest of my HDMI signal sent from the X2200.
Did you try just running a single cable through the receiver?

According to a recent post by JDSmoothie, the 2015 receivers did actually ship with HDMI v2.0a (HDR) support.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #6499 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Did you try just running a single cable through the receiver?

According to a recent post by JDSmoothie, the 2015 receivers did actually ship with HDMI v2.0a (HDR) support.
Tried a single HDMI cable two weeks ago when the first UHD 4K discs arrived and no picture. I got a picture and sound
watching Blu-rays from the Samsung 8500 player to 2200x and then the JVC projector, but no picture with 4K discs. That's why I'm bypassing and using two cables.
Bkelley3rd is offline  
post #6500 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,081
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23191 Post(s)
Liked: 12720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bkelley3rd View Post
Tried a single HDMI cable two weeks ago when the first UHD 4K discs arrived and no picture. I got a picture and sound
watching Blu-rays from the Samsung 8500 player to 2200x and then the JVC projector, but no picture with 4K discs. That's why I'm bypassing and using two cables.
What HDMI cable are you using? Some having issues are finding the issue is resolved when upgrading to a newer 18gbps High Speed cable. See my post 6492 a few posts back.
bluemoon737 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6501 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
jaseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I have read this entire thread...my head hurts!

My current setup...
Vizio M80-C3
Denon AVR-X4200WE3

Planning on getting the UBD-K8500...just missed before they sold out EVERYWHERE!

I have read from a few who have the Denon 5200 and I think a 2200.
They are using two HDMI cables from the Samsung K8500...one for video straight into the TV and one for sound into the AVR.

I was planning one using one HDMI cable from the K8500 into the 4200 AVR and then out from the AVR into the TV port #5.
Am I understanding this correctly that the AVR will NOT pass through the video signal properly due to something related to HDMI 2.0 instead of HDMI 2.0a?

My understanding is that the Denon AVR-X4200w IS capable of HDMI 2.0a.
Am I missing something? I would prefer to use one cable instead of two.

Any and all clarification is truly appreciated!

Vizio M80-C3 - Denon AVR-X4200w - Samsung UBD-K8500 - Roku 4 - Charter Spectrum - Logitech Harmony 700 Remote
Axiom VP150-v2 Center - M60-v2 Front Left & Right - 4>QS8-v2 Quad Polar Surrounds - EP500 Front Sub - DIY 12" Rear Sub
jaseman is offline  
post #6502 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 12:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,835
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2852
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaseman View Post
I have read this entire thread...my head hurts!

My current setup...
Vizio M80-C3
Denon AVR-X4200WE3

Planning on getting the UBD-K8500...just missed before they sold out EVERYWHERE!

I have read from a few who have the Denon 5200 and I think a 2200.
They are using two HDMI cables from the Samsung K8500...one for video straight into the TV and one for sound into the AVR.

I was planning one using one HDMI cable from the K8500 into the 4200 AVR and then out from the AVR into the TV port 5.
Am I understanding this correctly that the AVR will NOT pass through the video signal properly due to something related to HDMI 2.0 instead of HDMI 2.0a?

My understanding is that the Denon AVR-X4200w IS capable of HDMI 2.0a.
Am I missing something? I would prefer to use one cable instead of two.

Any and all clarification is truly appreciated!
The sad fact is that many HDMI cables certified as "High Speed" simply aren't good enough to carry the full bandwidth of a 4K video signal. Some are OK and some aren't. Also, the internal menus of the Samsung player are more demanding than the actual movies are. To be certain, you need to use HDMI cables with the new "Premium" rating.

Can you try connecting the working cable (the one that's currently connecting the player directly to the TV) between the receiver and the TV? That *might* be sufficient, but more likely you'll also need a new Premium cable between the player and the receiver.

Edited to add: Despite its numbering, the AVR X5200W is a 2014 model and does not support the HDCP V2.2 copy protection required by the 4K discs. The AVR X4200W is a 2015 model and does support it.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped

Last edited by Selden Ball; 03-09-2016 at 12:23 PM.
Selden Ball is offline  
post #6503 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 12:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
What HDMI cable are you using? Some having issues are finding the issue is resolved when upgrading to a newer 18gbps High Speed cable. See my post 6492 a few posts back.
Both cables are 18gbps High Speed HDMI cables. 26ft Rocketfish from BB and one 40ft from Monoprice.
Bkelley3rd is offline  
post #6504 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,081
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23191 Post(s)
Liked: 12720
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaseman View Post
I have read this entire thread...my head hurts!

My current setup...
Vizio M80-C3
Denon AVR-X4200WE3

Planning on getting the UBD-K8500...just missed before they sold out EVERYWHERE!

I have read from a few who have the Denon 5200 and I think a 2200.
They are using two HDMI cables from the Samsung K8500...one for video straight into the TV and one for sound into the AVR.

I was planning one using one HDMI cable from the K8500 into the 4200 AVR and then out from the AVR into the TV port #5.
Am I understanding this correctly that the AVR will NOT pass through the video signal properly due to something related to HDMI 2.0 instead of HDMI 2.0a?

My understanding is that the Denon AVR-X4200w IS capable of HDMI 2.0a.
Am I missing something? I would prefer to use one cable instead of two.

Any and all clarification is truly appreciated!
Yes, that is correct ... the X4200W is HDMI 2.0a capable while the X5200W is not.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6505 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 01:28 PM
Member
 
dshetler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: FT WORTH, TX
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
yes. Only one cable and connect it to the avr.
thank you jd i will try it tonight.

Sony OLED 65A8G & LG OLED 55B7A
Denon AVRS740H & Denon AVRX2200W
Direct TV, PS4, PS, & XBoxS
Pioneer Elite Atmos SP-EBS73 x 2 & 2 Centers
Sony X-700 BD & Samsung K8500 BD
dshetler is offline  
post #6506 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 01:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluemoon737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 3,725
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2204 Post(s)
Liked: 2707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
The sad fact is that many HDMI cables certified as "High Speed" simply aren't good enough to carry the full bandwidth of a 4K video signal. Some are OK and some aren't. Also, the internal menus of the Samsung player are more demanding than the actual movies are. To be certain, you need to use HDMI cables with the new "Premium" rating.

Can you try connecting the working cable (the one that's currently connecting the player directly to the TV) between the receiver and the TV? That *might* be sufficient, but more likely you'll also need a new Premium cable between the player and the receiver.

Edited to add: Despite its numbering, the AVR X5200W is a 2014 model and does not support the HDCP V2.2 copy protection required by the 4K discs. The AVR X4200W is a 2015 model and does support it.

This should read advertised as there is now a certification program and if you buy one of those cables the HDMI.org has provided it's "stamp of approval" via independent testing that the cable meets the high speed label specs. You can find the certified cables in all price ranges just as before but I would suggest Blue Jeans Cable as a place to start. Obviously you don't need to have the certified cables as many of the advertised high speed cables do in fact meet the specs...the certified cables just give you peace of mind.

-Jeff-
Man cave: Sony XBR75Z9D, Marantz SR8012, and OPPO UDP-203
Living room: Sony XBR75X950G, Denon x4500, and Sony UBP-X800M2
bluemoon737 is offline  
post #6507 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 01:45 PM
Member
 
steph280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for JD to point me to this correct forum.

I was wondering if anybody use the X-series to play FLAC lossless music files through the USB port? I have been playing FLAC files through a USB memory stick on my X2200, and occasionally would experience crashes which causes the X2200 to reboot. I have the latest firmware installed.

Thanks.
steph280 is offline  
post #6508 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4262 Post(s)
Liked: 4574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Did you try just running a single cable through the receiver?

According to a recent post by JDSmoothie, the 2015 receivers did actually ship with HDMI v2.0a (HDR) support.
I just tried again with ny x2200w and discs that previously gave HDCP errors no longer did. Perhaps the order my equipment was switched on made a difference? Seems possible that if I turn the AVR on before the UHD player that I would have a greater chance of no error.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bkelley3rd View Post
Both cables are 18gbps High Speed HDMI cables. 26ft Rocketfish from BB and one 40ft from Monoprice.
I think perhaps the long distance has something to do with it as well.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #6509 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 02:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,019
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 995 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bkelley3rd View Post
Both cables are 18gbps High Speed HDMI cables. 26ft Rocketfish from BB and one 40ft from Monoprice.
From my reading on other threads, there are no passive HDMI cables longer than 25' that have been independently certified by the HDMI Institute to actually perform at the 18gbps speed. BJC has only certified it's cables up to 15' length. The certification is for a specific cable AND a specific length. Apparently, vendors are testing a type of cable at a shorter length and then applying that "pass" to cables of longer length, which don't actually meet the spec. The Monster "Black" series, which seems to have active components is reported to be working at longer than 25'. However, some displays are not doing a handshake with some "active" HDMI cables. The Samsung 4K Blu-ray player is causing all kinds of headaches with the new 4K JVC projectors because the startup menu is 4:4:4 and requires a cable that actually passes 18 gpbs, even though the later movie does not. They are having a lot of different cables that were supposedly 18 gpbs-capable failing to pass the 18 gpbs signal over cables exceeding 25'.

JVC RS600 Chad-callibrated, 120" 1.3g in Batcave HT, Denon X8500 Polk LSiM703 fronts,
RTi-12 rears, LSiM 706 center, Monitor 40 Heights, Monitor 60 FW, FXiA4 Bi-pole sides,
LSiC CH, Infinity 6" VOG. 4X 12" subs w/mini DSP on sub 1 and nearfield 18" from sub 2.
Ted99 is offline  
post #6510 of 17765 Old 03-09-2016, 02:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I'm having a weird issue with my s710w and my comcast x1 box. When I change channels sometimes I lose sound. It gets fixed by either changing inputs and then going back or turning off the reciever. Wondering if it's my HDMI cable. Amy other ideas?

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk
mbergh22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
4:4:4 , alexa , arc , audyseey , Audyssey , avr , AVR-2310CI , avr-s710w , AVR-X2200W , bluetooth , chroma , connect , Denon , denon 2200w , denon x1200w , lfe , s710w , s910w , spotify , x-1200w , x1200w , x2200w , x3200w , x4200 , x4200w , x6200w , Yamaha

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off