The "OFFICIAL" 2015 Denon "S-series" / "X-series" AVR Owner's thread + FAQ (HDCP 2.2) - Page 266 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 101740Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7951 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 11:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,833
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soupy1970 View Post
I'm not sure what makes a cable "premium" but I'm sure these cables would work just fine. http://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-H...rds=hdmi+cable
"Certified Premium" cable designs have been tested by the HDMI organization and are guaranteed to deliver better than 18GBits/sec. They come with a special label on them. See http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/premiumcable/faq.aspx

Vague market-speak descriptions like "High-Speed HDMI Cable - 6 Feet (Latest Standard)" don't give me the warm-and-fuzzies.
Madmax67 likes this.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7952 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,293
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22746 Post(s)
Liked: 12390
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCalGuy-99 View Post
That's why my AVR-X4200W was 36% off for a open box with full 3 year warranty. Any idea what changes are coming up for the "X" series? Btw, You do an Awesome job running this thread!
No information has been released yet, other than the "S" series; however, the X1300W/X2300W/X3300W announcement is expected this week with the X4300W/X6300W announcement likely in July sometime.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7953 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pclausen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 105
I'm trying to get my 6200 configured with a floor layout of 5ch & FW along with FH + RH for ceiling speakers.

I want to drive the fronts via an external amp, but with a floor layout of 5ch & FW, it won't let me assign the pre-out to the fronts, I'm only allowed to assign pre-outs to FW or Top Rear.

The only way I can get the pre-outs assigned to the front is by changing the floor layout to 5ch & SB.

So this works:

Assign Mode: 11.1
Floor
- Layout: 5ch & SB
Height
– Height Sp: 4ch
- Layout: Front Height + Rear Height
- Pre-out: Front

This is not allowed:

Assign Mode: 11.1
Floor
- Layout: 5ch & FW
Height
– Height Sp: 4ch
- Layout: Front Height + Rear Height
- Pre-out: Front

What am I missing?

Last edited by pclausen; 05-04-2016 at 12:18 PM.
pclausen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7954 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 158 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1397 Post(s)
Liked: 1842
Exclamation No Neural:X for DTS-HD MA @96kHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by rokki View Post
Hi all I have the AVR-X4200W and have just bought this Blu Ray http://http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/The-Beatles-1--Deluxe-Blu-ray/140690/ and it has a DTS HD MA track but it won't up mix to DTS X is it because it is a higher quality track ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
There is no up mixing to DTS:X, rather the audio track is either DTS:X or it isn't. However, if the DTS:X firmware update has been installed to your X4200W, you can select the DTS Neural:X upmixer to simulate audio to any "height" speakers you have configured.
@rokki , if you are referring to applying Neural:X, you won't be able to since it is a 96kHz track. You can only apply Neural:X to DTS-HD MA tracks that are 48kHz.
rokki and Madmax67 like this.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.4) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Shield
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Hobbs & Shaw and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
post #7955 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,293
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22746 Post(s)
Liked: 12390
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclausen View Post
I'm trying to get my 6200 configured with a floor layout of 5ch & FW along with FH + RH for ceiling speakers.

I want to drive the fronts via an external amp, but with a floor layout of 5ch & FW, it won't let me assign the pre-out to the fronts, I'm only allowed to assign pre-outs to FW or Top Rear.

The only way I can get the pre-outs assigned to the front is by changing the floor layout to 5ch & SB.

So this works:

Assign Mode: 11.1
Floor
- Layout: 5ch & SB
Height
– Height Sp: 4ch
- Layout: Front Height + Rear Height
- Pre-out: Front

This is not allowed:

Assign Mode: 11.1
Floor
- Layout: 5ch & FW
Height
– Height Sp: 4ch
- Layout: Front Height + Rear Height
- Pre-out: Front

What am I missing?
Nothing. If you want to externally power the FL/FR speakers, you'll also need to power the FW or HT2 as well as the FW and HT2 share the same speaker posts so one set of these speakers must be externally amped.
Madmax67 likes this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 05-04-2016 at 12:59 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7956 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pclausen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 105
I'm not sure I follow.

The 6200 has 9 internal amps. I'd like it to power the following:

Center (1)
Atmos ceiling speakers (4)
Side Surrounds (2)
Front Wides (2)

That's 9 channels. I don't plan to use any rear surround speakers.

So why do I need to use a 2nd external amp to power the FW, why can't I use the 2 unused internal amps?

EDIT: Sorry, didn't see the last part of your above post. Now I understand.
pclausen is offline  
post #7957 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 01:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 858
So you have no intentions of using Front Left or Right speakers?
metalsaber is offline  
post #7958 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,293
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22746 Post(s)
Liked: 12390
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclausen View Post
I'm not sure I follow.

The 6200 has 9 internal amps. I'd like it to power the following:

Center (1)
Atmos ceiling speakers (4)
Side Surrounds (2)
Front Wides (2)

That's 9 channels. I don't plan to use any rear surround speakers.

So why do I need to use a 2nd external amp to power the FW, why can't I use the 2 unused internal amps?
If you look at the back panel of your AVR (or the image below), you'll notice the Front Wide and Height 2 speakers share the same speaker posts. If you plan on using both FW and HT2, then one set must be externally amped as there are not dedicated speaker posts for each set of speakers.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	556
Size:	13.6 KB
ID:	1422794  
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7959 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pclausen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post
So you have no intentions of using Front Left or Right speakers?
Yes, those are being powered by an external amp connected to the main left and right pre-outs.
pclausen is offline  
post #7960 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pclausen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you look at the back panel of your AVR (or the image below), you'll notice the Front Wide and Height 2 speakers share the same speaker posts. If you plan on using both FW and HT2, then one set must be externally amped as there are not dedicated speaker posts for each set of speakers.

Thanks JD. Now I understand. Might just let the internal amps power the mains then and use the external amp for another set.
pclausen is offline  
post #7961 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 01:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,293
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22746 Post(s)
Liked: 12390
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclausen View Post
Thanks JD. Now I understand. Might just let the internal amps power the mains then and use the external amp for another set.
Indeed. That is what most of us do .. simply using an old AVR or 2CH stereo amp (eg. AudioSource AMP100VS) to power the Height 2 L/R speakers.

http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Source-A.../dp/B00ZSEFU94
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7962 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 01:18 PM
Member
 
JonnyBCookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The OC
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
Possible; have you verified both (TV and AVR) are up to date as far as firmware?
Yes, both firmwares are up to date.
galonzo likes this.

Denon AVR-X4200W receiver
Gallo Strada 2 fronts on Mapleshade stands
Gallo Strada 2 center
Gallo A'diva SE surrounds
SVS SB2000 sub
JonnyBCookin is offline  
post #7963 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
hasta666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Does someone know if the X2200W supports 10 bit video input? I think I output 10 bit with MPC-HC and madVR but the Denon says it's only 10 bit input.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
hasta666 is offline  
post #7964 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 01:54 PM
Member
 
diverdra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclausen View Post
Wow, yeah that's too late. I was hoping the speed was variable and they would start kicking on at much lower temps, much like the fans on modern Graphics cards.


Ok, that's what I'll do then since I'll be doing the same for the amp on the lower shelf.

Has anyone fabbed a PSU to power 12V PC fans that can be triggered from the 6200? Perhaps there is a niece market for something like that?
I've used this for moving air across Denon AVRs in a enclosed cabinet for 9 years and the temp stays below 94F.

http://smile.amazon.com/Thermal-Mana...dp_o_pC_nS_ttl

Dan
Samsung UN75HU8550 (TS01 10 bit panel), SEK-3500 OCB (FW 1471), Denon AVR-X3300W w/ Sunfire Theatre Grand Amp (5.1.2); Oppo UDP-203; DTV 4K, Martin Logan Vantage & ML Ctr, Sur, Sub & Motion AFX ATMOS speakers.
diverdra is offline  
post #7965 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
hasta666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by hasta666 View Post
Does someone know if the X2200W supports 10 bit video input? I think I output 10 bit with MPC-HC and madVR but the Denon says it's only 10 bit input.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I meant "only 8 bit input". Cannot edit sorry.
hasta666 is offline  
post #7966 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 02:15 PM
Member
 
JonnyBCookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The OC
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Denon is telling me that my 2014 TV with HDCP 2.0 is not compatible with my x4200w because the x4200w is only compatible with TVs that have HDCP 2.2, even though I'm not running 4K, just 1080P.

Is that everyone's experience here?

Denon AVR-X4200W receiver
Gallo Strada 2 fronts on Mapleshade stands
Gallo Strada 2 center
Gallo A'diva SE surrounds
SVS SB2000 sub
JonnyBCookin is offline  
post #7967 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 02:17 PM
Member
 
Tony Vega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
My TV from 2010 works just fine after recently picking up a AVR-X4200W and I run the same Monoprice HDMI cables I used on my AVR-2311CI as I do now.
Tony Vega is offline  
post #7968 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
SoCalGuy-99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyBCookin View Post
Denon is telling me that my 2014 TV with HDCP 2.0 is not compatible with my x4200w because the x4200w is only compatible with TVs that have HDCP 2.2, even though I'm not running 4K, just 1080P. Is that everyone's experience here?
When updating the fw on the X4200W I had it hooked up to a older 1080i TV that is 1.3 HDCP compliant and had no problems, I did not run any media content thru the 4200 while connected to that TV though, so it might not have been looking for the full HDCP handshake and only looking for the E-EDID info during FW update. Had this issue with the new Amazon Fire TV, could set it up and do everything like view pictures and listen to music but could not view HD content thru the Fire TV yet DirectTv, Bluray and Roku all have no problems sending 1080i content to this TV. Amazon never could figure it out even after running diagnostics and setting the box back for eval to Engineering department and replacing it with a new box.

Here's how I fixed the TV to work but it doesn't look like they make a HDMI 2.0a/HDCP 2.0 box yet

http://www.amazon.com/ViewHD-Ultra-P.../dp/B00J4D3RTU

Article explaining the issue

http://www.howtogeek.com/208917/htg-...how-to-fix-it/

Here's someone that makes a HDMI 2.0a/HDCP 2.0 box but it isn't cheap

https://www.hdfury.com/shop/splitter...60-444-600mhz/

Edit: Added HDMI 2.0a/HDCP 2.0 box info

SCG

Last edited by SoCalGuy-99; 05-04-2016 at 04:34 PM.
SoCalGuy-99 is offline  
post #7969 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 02:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by diverdra View Post
I've used this for moving air across Denon AVRs in a enclosed cabinet for 9 years and the temp stays below 94F.

http://smile.amazon.com/Thermal-Mana...dp_o_pC_nS_ttl
$110? For 2 $4 fans, a 12v transformer, and some black box that is likely just a temeperature/potentiometer for fan control? Ouch. That seems a bit steep.
darrellr is offline  
post #7970 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 03:02 PM
Member
 
diverdra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by darrellr View Post
$110? For 2 $4 fans, a 12v transformer, and some black box that is likely just a temeperature/potentiometer for fan control? Ouch. That seems a bit steep.
Probably easy for an EE to fabricate but cheap insurance given the cost of gear its protecting. Oh and did I mention it's been in use for 9 years ... $1 per month. I lose that in the couch cushions.
Madmax67 likes this.

Dan
Samsung UN75HU8550 (TS01 10 bit panel), SEK-3500 OCB (FW 1471), Denon AVR-X3300W w/ Sunfire Theatre Grand Amp (5.1.2); Oppo UDP-203; DTV 4K, Martin Logan Vantage & ML Ctr, Sur, Sub & Motion AFX ATMOS speakers.
diverdra is offline  
post #7971 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 03:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hi guys. Had my X2200W for about 2.5 months now and I've had an issue that seems to rear its' head on specific feeds, but it doesn't all the time.

I have it set up in a 5.1 configuration and on my rear left speaker it makes a fuzzing noice, sort of like static. It only ever happens on this speaker and I only notice it on 2 particular sound formats: Doldy D (Netflix on ARC) and Multi Input (PS4). It only happens however when there's minimal sound on the centre speaker or if the front speakers are outputting sound at a low level.

[EDIT]: on the Multi Input it only happens when I'm doing nothing that involves audio. Like browsing the web on the built in browser.

Anybody got any advice to possibly prevent this or a bit of technical as to why it happens?

Last edited by David Carey 2; 05-04-2016 at 03:10 PM.
David Carey 2 is offline  
post #7972 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
rick98761's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Any new info I missed on the update for the x2200? I'm excited to get dts:X , but more so I'm hoping to clear up my HDMI issues with my Vizio p65
rick98761 is offline  
post #7973 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 04:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MA. USA
Posts: 4,549
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 642
I need a new AVR, so I'm looking at the X2200.
I've been reading of network issues(which have plagued Denon for awhile it seems), and having WiFi is a fair part of getting this machine.
I have Sensitive speakers, so no need for higher power, and will do no more than 7.1, so the 2200 looks like a no-brainer..
Been reading this thread since last night, but it's a LONG thread with a lot of models...so, anything I should be concerned about?
P.S. Will be hooked up to an RS400, I can't imagine any issues with the GUI(reason I'm upgrading from 988-can't access OSD), is this correct?
Thanks!

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

Why waste $ on more cheap stuff, it's like challenging a dragon with a pocket knife.
muzz is offline  
post #7974 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 04:35 PM
Member
 
JonnyBCookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The OC
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Denon doesn't know what's going on.

The more I look into it, I think I need either a HDCP 2.2 to 1.4 converter or a HDCP stripper.

If anyone knows of some reasonably inexpensive options, I'm all ears.

If this is not an appropriate subject to talk about here, please PM me any suggestions or product recommendations.

Denon AVR-X4200W receiver
Gallo Strada 2 fronts on Mapleshade stands
Gallo Strada 2 center
Gallo A'diva SE surrounds
SVS SB2000 sub
JonnyBCookin is offline  
post #7975 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 04:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,134
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4727 Post(s)
Liked: 2756
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyBCookin View Post
Denon is telling me that my 2014 TV with HDCP 2.0 is not compatible with my x4200w because the x4200w is only compatible with TVs that have HDCP 2.2, even though I'm not running 4K, just 1080P.

Is that everyone's experience here?
I don't have any problems with my older TV as well. The X4200W is backward compatible. It's nonsense when they say it's not compatible.

lujan
567 Ultra HD
728 HD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #7976 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,601
Mentioned: 150 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4891 Post(s)
Liked: 5256
Quote:
Originally Posted by hasta666 View Post
Does someone know if the X2200W supports 10 bit video input? I think I output 10 bit with MPC-HC and madVR but the Denon says it's only 10 bit input.
These models are fully 4K/UHD capable including HDR and wide color gamut, so it should definitely support 10-bit video.
muzz likes this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #7977 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 04:44 PM
Member
 
JonnyBCookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The OC
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I don't have any problems with my older TV as well. The X4200W is backward compatible. It's nonsense when they say it's not compatible.
I know.

My old Denon X4000 worked with this TV, and the X4200W works with an old computer monitor of mine. So I think this particular TV is having an issue with the new HDCP 2.2 that the X4200W now has.

Denon has sent my issue up to Tier 2 Support. We'll see what they have to say, but I think in the end I'm going to have to find something that either converts the signal or strips it.

Either that or buy a new TV

Denon AVR-X4200W receiver
Gallo Strada 2 fronts on Mapleshade stands
Gallo Strada 2 center
Gallo A'diva SE surrounds
SVS SB2000 sub
JonnyBCookin is offline  
post #7978 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 04:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 29,601
Mentioned: 150 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4891 Post(s)
Liked: 5256
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyBCookin View Post
Denon is telling me that my 2014 TV with HDCP 2.0 is not compatible with my x4200w because the x4200w is only compatible with TVs that have HDCP 2.2, even though I'm not running 4K, just 1080P.

Is that everyone's experience here?
That's nonsense. HDCP is backwards compatible. You won't be able to pass through protected 4K content to the non-HDCP 2.2 display (e.g. a UHD Blu-ray) but that would happen with or without the AVR -- and there's no reason it shouldn't work fine with all other sources.
Randy Schmidt and Madmax67 like this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #7979 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,293
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22746 Post(s)
Liked: 12390
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCalGuy-99 View Post
I have to admit in this day and age of steady leaks Denon does a good job of keeping the lid on new product releases. Is this the international versions of the X3300W and X4300W?
Off topic for this thread, however, the new 2016 Owner's thread is now available for posting.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...l#post43790578


Note too that information provided by the European websites is often inaccurate and not necessarily how the USA/CA models will be released.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #7980 of 17682 Old 05-04-2016, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,293
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22746 Post(s)
Liked: 12390
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyBCookin View Post
I know.

My old Denon X4000 worked with this TV, and the X4200W works with an old computer monitor of mine. So I think this particular TV is having an issue with the new HDCP 2.2 that the X4200W now has.

Denon has sent my issue up to Tier 2 Support. We'll see what they have to say, but I think in the end I'm going to have to find something that either converts the signal or strips it.

Either that or buy a new TV

Yup. As others have commented .... hogwash. I have two older 1080p TVs, neither of which has any problems. Note however, there may be an issue with your particular model of TV having a connection problem.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
4:4:4 , alexa , arc , audyseey , Audyssey , avr , AVR-2310CI , avr-s710w , AVR-X2200W , bluetooth , chroma , connect , Denon , denon 2200w , denon x1200w , lfe , s710w , s910w , spotify , x-1200w , x1200w , x2200w , x3200w , x4200 , x4200w , x6200w , Yamaha

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off