The "OFFICIAL" 2015 Denon "S-series" / "X-series" AVR Owner's thread + FAQ (HDCP 2.2) - Page 338 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 101764Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10111 of 17771 Old 08-03-2016, 05:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cal1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,889
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked: 1151
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Looks like both the DTS:X update and Pandora fix should be released sometime in September. As has been mentioned numerous times ... there are many other ways to stream Pandora to the AVR which makes this issue trivial at best.
The fact that you disagree does not make a legitimate concern trivial.
Rudy1 and JP32 like this.

Last edited by Cal1981; 08-04-2016 at 09:06 AM.
Cal1981 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10112 of 17771 Old 08-03-2016, 07:42 PM
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,945
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 374
I'd like to see Pandora fixed as well.

I've had problems with vTuner this week too.
JP32 likes this.
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #10113 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
erwos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I hate being that guy, but... I need a new receiver for my LG 60UH8500, because my current Sony STR-DA2400ES receiver only supports HDMI 1.2. I am leaning heavily towards the AVR-X3200W due to its HDCP 2.2 compatibility on all inputs, native 4k scaling support, Dolby Atmos support, eventual DTS:X support, and very reasonable price. Is there some kind of catch that I should know about?
erwos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10114 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 11:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
dcbii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
It's been said that the introduction of the new HDMI 2.0 High Dynamic Range (HDR) feature has a bigger impact on the picture quality then upgrading from a 1080p to 4k TV. There are two competing HDR technologies so when purchasing a new 4k TV (or if you already own one) it is important to understand whether your TV supports HDR at all (older 4k models do not) and if yes, whether it supports only HDR10 or also supports Dolby Vision (see chart below indicating some early information):

HDR10 - open standard; firmware upgradeable; required format on the new 4k UHD BDs

Dolby Vision - Dolby's proprietary hardware chip required in both the source device and the TV but not the AVR; optional format on 4k BDs

All 2015 and 2016 Denon and Marantz AVRs are HDR10 capable. AFAIK, all 2015 and 2016 Denon and Marantz AVRs should pass the Dolby Vision metadata as long as the AVR is not doing any video processing [/U](ie. Video Conversion and i/p Scaler must be set to OFF) resulting in the video signal simply passing through to the TV.


I'm replying to an old post, but was searching the thread for something dealing with passing HDR through my 4200 from a device to my TV, which currently isn't working. If Video Conversion needs to be off for Dolby Vision, does this also apply to HDR10? I'm currently trying to use my Shield TV to send Netflix HDR to my LG 55EF9500, and it's not currently working. I don't have i/p scaling on, but I do have Video conversion on. Would having this on strip the HDR being sent from the Shield (just found this post, but I'm not at home to try it)?

(None of the references to Video Conversion on page 1 of this thread say anything about HDR.)

Dave Barnhart

Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-83, Denon X4200W, Denon X8500H, LG 55EF9500, NVidia Shield TV, Apple TV 4K, Roku Ultra, RSL speakers, all Monoprice Premium Certified HDMI cables

Last edited by dcbii; 08-04-2016 at 12:13 PM.
dcbii is online now  
post #10115 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,534
Mentioned: 785 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23453 Post(s)
Liked: 12897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cal1981 View Post
The fact that you disagree does not make a legitimate concern trivial.
Considering there at are least a half a dozen other different ways to stream Pandora to the AVR, then yes, I would say the current issue is trivial at best.
cmdrdredd and gonzlobo like this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 08-04-2016 at 01:52 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10116 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,534
Mentioned: 785 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23453 Post(s)
Liked: 12897
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbii View Post
I'm replying to an old post, but was searching the thread for something dealing with passing HDR through my 4200 from a device to my TV, which currently isn't working. If Video Conversion needs to be off for Dolby Vision, does this also apply to HDR10? I'm currently trying to use my Shield TV to send Netflix HDR to my LG 55EF9500, and it's not currently working. I don't have i/p scaling on, but I do have Video conversion on. Would having this on strip the HDR being sent from the Shield (just found this post, but I'm not at home to try it)?

(None of the references to Video Conversion on page 1 of this thread say anything about HDR.)
It shouldn't no, but certainly worth a try to confirm.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10117 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
JP32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Considering there at are least a half a dozen other different ways to stream Pandora to the AVR, then yes, I would say the current issue is trivial at best.
That's just like... your opinion, man.
batpig likes this.
JP32 is offline  
post #10118 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 02:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4262 Post(s)
Liked: 4574
Quote:
Originally Posted by JP32 View Post
That's just like... your opinion, man.
It makes sense though. Everyone has a phone that can do pandora and the Denon supports BT Audio and Apple AirPlay. Smart TVs, some Blu-Ray Players, a laptop or other computer, your tablet. They can all Stream pandora to your AVR so for Denon to spend a lot of resources to fix it immediately doesn't make a lot of sense. Should it work? Sure it should work, but it's really a very small issue that is not at the top of the list of priorities. I don't even know for sure if it isn't the app itself that is not working correctly. Does Denon make the app or does a 3rd party write the app for the Denon AVRs? If it's too inconvenient to use your TV, Phone, Tablet or what have you then that's pretty sad.

That's my opinion man
D Bone likes this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #10119 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 02:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,234
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1339 Post(s)
Liked: 1411
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Considering there at are least a half a dozen other different ways to stream Pandora to the AVR, then yes, I would say the current issue is trivial at best.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JP32 View Post
That's just like... your opinion, man.
Hmmm... I think JD is onto something here. I can stream Pandora from my:
1) Tivo Roamio Pro.
2) Panasonic Blu-ray player.
3) Amazon Fire Stick.
4) Samsung Galaxy S5 via Bluetooth.
5) Samsung Galaxy S5 casting to Chromecast.
6) My Windows 10 Pro PC.

7) If I had a Roku, then it could stream Pandora.
8) If my plasma TV were a "smart" TV with apps, I expect it could stream Pandora.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon FTV Stick 4K, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is online now  
post #10120 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
JP32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
It makes sense though. Everyone has a phone that can do pandora and the Denon supports BT Audio and Apple AirPlay. Smart TVs, some Blu-Ray Players, a laptop or other computer, your tablet. They can all Stream pandora to your AVR so for Denon to spend a lot of resources to fix it immediately doesn't make a lot of sense. Should it work? Sure it should work, but it's really a very small issue that is not at the top of the list of priorities. I don't even know for sure if it isn't the app itself that is not working correctly. Does Denon make the app or does a 3rd party write the app for the Denon AVRs? If it's too inconvenient to use your TV, Phone, Tablet or what have you then that's pretty sad.

That's my opinion man
Your opinion on matters like these isn't really relevant, as the joke implied.

A couple people asked for a tidbit of info, on a tech forum, in a tech thread for owners of said tech. If you feel the need to be snarky or belittle them, that really says more about 'you'. If the small number of questions about it was too much for 'you' (in the royal sense), then let one of the dozens other knowledgeable posters answer it. 'You' don't need to answer every question posted.

I'm not arguing the importance of a radio app, that's just silliness and I won't waste my time on it. But the holier-than-thou attitude gets fairly annoying, fairly quickly... and I get embarrassed to even be part of the group.
JP32 is offline  
post #10121 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 02:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4262 Post(s)
Liked: 4574
Quote:
Originally Posted by JP32 View Post
Your opinion on matters like these isn't really relevant, as the joke implied.

A couple people asked for a tidbit of info, on a tech forum, in a tech thread for owners of said tech. If you feel the need to be snarky or belittle them, that really says more about 'you'. If the small number of questions about it was too much for 'you' (in the royal sense), then let one of the dozens other knowledgeable posters answer it. 'You' don't need to answer every question posted.

I'm not arguing the importance of a radio app, that's just silliness and I won't waste my time on it. But the holier-than-thou attitude gets fairly annoying, fairly quickly... and I get embarrassed to even be part of the group.
Even jdsmoothie gave you the same answer. I bet denon would even tell you to use another device for now. Why get bent out of shape over it? We don't know when it'll be fixed for sure just that there is supposed to be a firmware released in Sept and jdsmoothie says it should include the fix for pandora. Since numerous devices can do it too we just do that and are telling people to do that. I'm sorry that people being honest about the reality of the situation doesn't meet your standards. I'm sure jdsmoothie is tired of answering a question he can't really answer definitively when there are work arounds.
Weaselboy and mrtickleuk like this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II

Last edited by cmdrdredd; 08-04-2016 at 02:55 PM.
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #10122 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
JP32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
Hmmm... I think JD is onto something here. I can stream Pandora from my:
1) Tivo Roamio Pro.
2) Panasonic Blu-ray player.
3) Amazon Fire Stick.
4) Samsung Galaxy S5 via Bluetooth.
5) Samsung Galaxy S5 casting to Chromecast.
6) My Windows 10 Pro PC.
7) If I had a Roku, then it could stream Pandora.
8) If my plasma TV were a "smart" TV with apps, I expect it could stream Pandora.
I'll say it again, just for prosperity. I don't disagree with the FACT that there are many ways to get Pandora. I only disagree with the SNARK present when replying to a simple, easy to answer question.
JP32 is offline  
post #10123 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,234
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1339 Post(s)
Liked: 1411
Quote:
Originally Posted by JP32 View Post
I'll say it again, just for prosperity. I don't disagree with the FACT that there are many ways to get Pandora. I only disagree with the SNARK present when replying to a simple, easy to answer question.
I didn't interpret JD's post as being snarky. If you did, so be it, although you might cut JD some slack on this particular one. As you stated in post 9866:
Quote:
Originally Posted by JP32 View Post
AVS seconded... JD puts a ton of effort into answering all our questions here (and there's a LOT). Definitely give his company a shot.
Weaselboy likes this.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon FTV Stick 4K, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is online now  
post #10124 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
JP32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
I didn't interpret JD's post as being snarky. If you did, so be it, although you might cut JD some slack on this particular one. As you stated in post 9866:
All I did was quote the Big Lebowski with a smiley face... not like I motioned for his arrest and trial.

(I got more annoyed with the other user who called (implied) the people asking for info 'sad')
JP32 is offline  
post #10125 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 03:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Feelings - whoa, whoa feelings..................
D Bone is offline  
post #10126 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
JP32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Cues 'march of the bobos.'
JP32 is offline  
post #10127 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 04:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Witchboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Anyway... so what happens if I use a stereo rather than a mono cable for the trigger out on the receiver?
Witchboard is online now  
post #10128 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,234
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1339 Post(s)
Liked: 1411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Witchboard View Post
Anyway... so what happens if I use a stereo rather than a mono cable for the trigger out on the receiver?
Don't know but Denon specs a mono cable. I have purchased two mono trigger cables from this ebay vendor so I can vouch for them: http://www.ebay.com/itm/3-5mm-12V-Tr...item43ccae1242

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon FTV Stick 4K, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is online now  
post #10129 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 05:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
vipergts2207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 135
I'm running 3.1 at the moment and for whatever reason, when I use the radio tuner source, sound will play in every audio mode except for stereo, which of course is the setting I want to run the radio tuner on. Any idea why I'm not getting sound in stereo mode? I am getting audio in direct and pure direct mode as well.
vipergts2207 is offline  
post #10130 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 06:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,534
Mentioned: 785 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23453 Post(s)
Liked: 12897
Quote:
Originally Posted by vipergts2207 View Post
I'm running 3.1 at the moment and for whatever reason, when I use the radio tuner source, sound will play in every audio mode except for stereo, which of course is the setting I want to run the radio tuner on. Any idea why I'm not getting sound in stereo mode? I am getting audio in direct and pure direct mode as well.
Strange indeed. However, when such a strange issue presents .... your best recourse is to do a "soft reset." Power off and unplug the AVR for 10 minutes. Try again. Can you select STEREO mode with other sources?
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10131 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 06:17 PM
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,945
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 374
First chance to listen to an SA-CD via DSD and HDMI with my external amp and 5.2.4, 2 front height speakers and 2 TML in ceiling. Using multi-channel in with Neural:X so all speakers being used.

Again its one of those it sounded so great before just how much better can it sound. It however sounds better. Fuller. The sound stage is incredible. And instrument placing on that sound stage is very precise. Hiroshima is stunning.

Focus of course has been about movie audio but I can tell you music with the 5.1.4 is amazingly enjoyable. Piano notes that ring, they ring through the entire front room.
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #10132 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 06:55 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkAELSU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
So I just bought a denon 4200w receiver to go with my current klipsch 5.1 system. I bought klipsch rp140sa atmos top sitting speakers. I have a ps4 currently decoding but here's what I'm getting. Is this what I should want for my sound mode ? TIA. I also have a xbox s shipping in bound for my uhd blu rays, so kind of managing with what i got right now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1470358495110.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	95.7 KB
ID:	1584769   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1470358506691.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	124.3 KB
ID:	1584777   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1470358511729.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	169.5 KB
ID:	1584785   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1470358516870.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	58.7 KB
ID:	1584793  
MarkAELSU is offline  
post #10133 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 07:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,534
Mentioned: 785 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23453 Post(s)
Liked: 12897
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkAELSU View Post
So I just bought a denon 4200w receiver to go with my current klipsch 5.1 system. I bought klipsch rp140sa atmos top sitting speakers. I have a ps4 currently decoding but here's what I'm getting. Is this what I should want for my sound mode ? TIA. I also have a xbox s shipping in bound for my uhd blu rays, so kind of managing with what i got right now.
As I requested in your other post ... as I cannot see the attachment at this time, it would help if you would simply list what you are getting please.

If your PS4 is set to "bitstream" then you should see Dolby Atmos/DTS:X when playing a Dolby Atmos/DTS:X BD and "DD + Dolby Surround"/DTS Neural:X when playing a non Atmos/DTS:X disc.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10134 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkAELSU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
As I requested in your other post ... as I cannot see the attachment at this time, it would help if you would simply list what you are getting please.

If your PS4 is set to "bitstream" then you should see Dolby Atmos/DTS:X when playing a Dolby Atmos/DTS:X BD and "DD + Dolby Surround"/DTS Neural:X when playing a non Atmos/DTS:X disc.
Should the audio format on my ps4 be "Dolby (bitstream) which allows Dolby Digital + Dolby Surround" "DTS (bitstream) which allows DTS + Neural:X" or "Linear PCM which allows Multi In + Neural : X" ? Does that depend entirely on what movie/ game I'm playing and if its capabilities allow certain audio formats, ala no easy answer to my question? Is there a particular format of the 3 I should probably NOT use, given I'm using the rp140sa Klipsch on top of my 2 fronts Rf-82II's?

Last edited by MarkAELSU; 08-04-2016 at 08:28 PM.
MarkAELSU is offline  
post #10135 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 09:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4262 Post(s)
Liked: 4574
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkAELSU View Post
Should the audio format on my ps4 be "Dolby (bitstream) which allows Dolby Digital + Dolby Surround" "DTS (bitstream) which allows DTS + Neural:X" or "Linear PCM which allows Multi In + Neural : X" ? Does that depend entirely on what movie/ game I'm playing and if its capabilities allow certain audio formats, ala no easy answer to my question? Is there a particular format of the 3 I should probably NOT use, given I'm using the rp140sa Klipsch on top of my 2 fronts Rf-82II's?


The ps4 has two different audio settings. One for game and menus and one for blu-Ray play back. For games and such you should use linear PCM because it is uncompressed audio from games. When you play a blu-Ray press the options button and go to settings and set the audio format to bitstream direct. That will bitstream all the audio from blu-Ray movies and allow Atmos and DTS:X and only applies to the blu-Ray player.
galonzo and williamwallace like this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #10136 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 09:36 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkAELSU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
The ps4 has two different audio settings. One for game and menus and one for blu-Ray play back. For games and such you should use linear PCM because it is uncompressed audio from games. When you play a blu-Ray press the options button and go to settings and set the audio format to bitstream direct. That will bitstream all the audio from blu-Ray movies and allow Atmos and DTS:X and only applies to the blu-Ray player.
According to your directions then I should always have the linear pcm on, and only when i play movies should i press options on my controller and change it to bitstream direct?

So again, the audio settings that are on the ps4 settings menu from dashboard should always be on linear pcm. and when I play movies, i can start the movie, leave the settings from the ps4 dashboard on linear pcm, and as movie plays press options and change it from that menu that pops up to bitstream direct? sorry just want to clarify
MarkAELSU is offline  
post #10137 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 10:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,114
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4262 Post(s)
Liked: 4574
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkAELSU View Post
According to your directions then I should always have the linear pcm on, and only when i play movies should i press options on my controller and change it to bitstream direct?



So again, the audio settings that are on the ps4 settings menu from dashboard should always be on linear pcm. and when I play movies, i can start the movie, leave the settings from the ps4 dashboard on linear pcm, and as movie plays press options and change it from that menu that pops up to bitstream direct? sorry just want to clarify


Once you set the blu ray player to bitstream it will remember that setting and you don't have to touch it again.

So set PCM on the main OS settings. and set bitstream in the blu Ray player. Both settings will be remembered and you don't have to do it every time.
MarkAELSU and galonzo like this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #10138 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 10:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,322
Mentioned: 161 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1450 Post(s)
Liked: 1980
Thumbs down XBOX Slim doesn't output Atmos or DTS:X

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkAELSU View Post
...I also have a xbox s shipping in bound for my uhd blu rays, so kind of managing with what i got right now.
Unfortunately, the XBOXS cannot (and will probably never) output Atmos or DTS:X (it decodes internally so that it can mix with system audio and then output as PCM; and they haven't done anything about it since Atmos has been available); you might consider waiting for the "PS4K", or looking at one of the standalone players for UHD playback.
MarkAELSU likes this.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | 2019 Shield | PS4 Pro | Roku P+ (4630)
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Knives Out (2019) and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
post #10139 of 17771 Old 08-04-2016, 10:43 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkAELSU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
Unfortunately, the XBOXS cannot (and will probably never) output Atmos or DTS:X (it decodes internally so that it can mix with system audio and then output as PCM; and they haven't done anything about it since Atmos has been available); you might consider waiting for the "PS4K", or looking at one of the standalone players for UHD playback.
Ehhh I'll keep it just because I have too many xbone games to catch up on. Maybe the newer xbox next year will throw that in ? Who knows. Not really a deal breaker for me, I'm more or less just worried about getting my configurations correct on the current stuff I have in my room
galonzo likes this.
MarkAELSU is offline  
post #10140 of 17771 Old 08-05-2016, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
erwos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
You can get an AVR-X3200W for the money you're talking about. Prices dropped dramatically when the X3300W was released.

As for the speakers, I got mine back in the day by trolling CL until I found some acceptable ones for a good price. I'm still using all of them. Only thing I'd recommend in particular is try to buy the entire front sound stage at once if the speakers are on the older side... you don't want to be in a situation where you can't find the right center for your L/R fronts.
erwos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
4:4:4 , alexa , arc , audyseey , Audyssey , avr , AVR-2310CI , avr-s710w , AVR-X2200W , bluetooth , chroma , connect , Denon , denon 2200w , denon x1200w , lfe , s710w , s910w , spotify , x-1200w , x1200w , x2200w , x3200w , x4200 , x4200w , x6200w , Yamaha

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off