The "OFFICIAL" 2015 Denon "S-series" / "X-series" AVR Owner's thread + FAQ (HDCP 2.2) - Page 500 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 101725Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14971 of 17634 Old 12-19-2017, 12:24 PM
Member
 
BlackLightning3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I don't know if I'm having the same green lines issue because I usually have video select for a different source when listening to music. My 3200 only stays connected to the network for 10-20 min when playing online music (pandora or streaming from media server). At first I thought my Vizio tablet remote was causing it, because another user on here had issues with the tablet causing devices on his network to disconnect. Sometimes it does it when I unlock my phone, which is on a 5 Ghz band. Did a network chip reboot already and still no luck. This also only recently started around a few weeks ago when other users on here were posting similar problems in different threads.

PSN - Escobar
Yamaha RX-A870 Fronts: Bowers and Wilkins 704 S2 Rosenut Center: Martin Logan Motion 8i Rears: Martin Logan Motion 4 Front Heights: Martin Logan Motion 2 Subwoofers: 2 x Definitive Technology Supercube 2000
Sony 55" A8F, Panasonic UB820
BlackLightning3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14972 of 17634 Old 12-19-2017, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebdixson View Post
I've been having issues with my 4200 the last 2 weeks - primarily when playing online music. The receiver will flash horizontal green bars onto the TV and lose the connection. Almost as if the network card is rebooting. It happens randomly but no less than once every 20 minutes. I have it hooked up to an ethernet switch but it also happens through wifi. It is the only device on the switch experiencing issues.

I have tried a soft reset, several network resets and a microprocessor reset last night. I also tried resetting my router. The screen almost looks like an HDMI failure but I only have one cable running to the TV and it is only happening when the Denon is doing an on screen display. Any thoughts or suggestions?



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
I hope the recommendations you have received from other members help you resolve your issues. just wanted to comment on your "Chris Stapleton" selection - saw him in Telluride a few years ago when he was with The Steeldrivers - great performance and their album is memorable.
ebdixson likes this.

ggsantafe is offline  
post #14973 of 17634 Old 12-19-2017, 01:59 PM
Member
 
locob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I recently set up a Sony X800 UHD bluray with my Denon S710W. The main HDMI from the X800 goes directly to my TV and the second HDMI from the X800 goes to the Denon. The X800 is supposed to switch the audio in this method from the Denon when used to the TV when the Denon is off. I cannot get it to switch the audio to the TV unless I unplug the power from the Denon. I tried turning off "Network always on in standby" on the Denon, but it did not help. Are there any other settings in standby on the Denon I can change or other suggestions?? Thanks.
locob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14974 of 17634 Old 12-19-2017, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebdixson View Post
I've been having issues with my 4200 the last 2 weeks - primarily when playing online music. The receiver will flash horizontal green bars onto the TV and lose the connection. Almost as if the network card is rebooting. It happens randomly but no less than once every 20 minutes. I have it hooked up to an ethernet switch but it also happens through wifi. It is the only device on the switch experiencing issues.

I have tried a soft reset, several network resets and a microprocessor reset last night. I also tried resetting my router. The screen almost looks like an HDMI failure but I only have one cable running to the TV and it is only happening when the Denon is doing an on screen display. Any thoughts or suggestions?



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
I am having the same issue. This just started a week or so ago. All other sources work fine, only the online music causes this issue.
Principe likes this.
houbu is offline  
post #14975 of 17634 Old 12-19-2017, 02:47 PM
Member
 
ebdixson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by houbu View Post
I am having the same issue. This just started a week or so ago. All other sources work fine, only the online music causes this issue.
Well that gives some hope that it is an issue with Denon's network and not a hardware issue (hopefully). Thanks for the update.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
Principe likes this.

Denon X4200W
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, CDT-5800-C II's
SVS SB-16 Ultra x 2 / Emotiva XPA-5 Gen2
Sony XBR75X940D
XBox One X
ebdixson is offline  
post #14976 of 17634 Old 12-19-2017, 09:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
There is a lot of very helpful information provided in the first 8 posts of this thread to include a section (post 3, 12.D) on connecting wireless headphones.
Hi JD, I read this section and I’m also looking at a pair of wireless headphones. Particularly the Seinn RS 185s which use the Toslink connector. Is there a way to easily use Toslink / PCM stereo out of the X4300W for these headphones? Easy switching / muting of main audio? Can Zone 2 output thru Toslink?
Thanks.

EDIT: Ugh. I guess I just realized Toslink is only used as inputs on the DENON AVR. Which means I’m stuck with analog out, which semi defeats the purpose of $300 optical headphones..
If I were to do RCA out of ZONE2 is that a pretty easy one-button affair for Stereo PCM out of those ZONE2 preamps?

HTPC | NAS | Harmony Elite | DENON X4200W | Sony XBR75X940D
Philips BDP7501 | Klipsch RF7II, RC64II, CDT5650CII | SVS SB2000 x2

Last edited by Brahmzy; 12-19-2017 at 10:25 PM.
Brahmzy is offline  
post #14977 of 17634 Old 12-20-2017, 01:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,971
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22568 Post(s)
Liked: 12282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy View Post
Hi JD, I read this section and I’m also looking at a pair of wireless headphones. Particularly the Seinn RS 185s which use the Toslink connector. Is there a way to easily use Toslink / PCM stereo out of the X4300W for these headphones? Easy switching / muting of main audio? Can Zone 2 output thru Toslink?
Thanks.

EDIT: Ugh. I guess I just realized Toslink is only used as inputs on the DENON AVR. Which means I’m stuck with analog out, which semi defeats the purpose of $300 optical headphones..
If I were to do RCA out of ZONE2 is that a pretty easy one-button affair for Stereo PCM out of those ZONE2 preamps?
Sure. As long as the source is PCM 2.0.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #14978 of 17634 Old 12-20-2017, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy View Post
Hi JD, I read this section and I’m also looking at a pair of wireless headphones. Particularly the Seinn RS 185s which use the Toslink connector. Is there a way to easily use Toslink / PCM stereo out of the X4300W for these headphones? Easy switching / muting of main audio? Can Zone 2 output thru Toslink?
Thanks.

EDIT: Ugh. I guess I just realized Toslink is only used as inputs on the DENON AVR. Which means I’m stuck with analog out, which semi defeats the purpose of $300 optical headphones..
If I were to do RCA out of ZONE2 is that a pretty easy one-button affair for Stereo PCM out of those ZONE2 preamps?
HDMI to Toslink converters are readily available. You could use one of those to avoid using the receiver's DAC conversion in Zone 2.
galonzo likes this.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #14979 of 17634 Old 12-20-2017, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Xeneize12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I have a couple of questions for 6200W owners/experts

Between the Denon X6200W / Sony A1E / Oppo 203

1) Does the 6200W support Dolby Vision HDR?
2) What's the best way to hook up the Oppo 203 UDP to the receiver? Do I simply use the HDMI out on the Oppo to the receiver? Do I let the receiver, the Oppo or the TV do the processing for Video/Audio?

Thanks,

| Sony XBR65AE1 | Denon X6200W | 7.2.4 | Oppo 203 | Nvidia Shield | Harmony Elite |
| Emotiva mini-X a-100 | Ascend CMT-340 | Emotiva ERD-1 | SVS SB2000 + Martin Logan Abyss |
| PS4 Pro | Xbox One X |
|Sony XBR65X950B | Samsung UN49KS8000 |
Xeneize12 is offline  
post #14980 of 17634 Old 12-20-2017, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,971
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22568 Post(s)
Liked: 12282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeneize12 View Post
I have a couple of questions for 6200W owners/experts

Between the Denon X6200W / Sony A1E / Oppo 203

1) Does the 6200W support Dolby Vision HDR?
2) What's the best way to hook up the Oppo 203 UDP to the receiver? Do I simply use the HDMI out on the Oppo to the receiver? Do I let the receiver, the Oppo or the TV do the processing for Video/Audio?

Thanks,
1. Not yet, although the 2015 models are expected to receive the DV + HLG update summer 2018 as noted in post 1 of this thread.
2. If passing DV video, Oppo 203 (video) --> TV and Oppo 203 (audio) ---> AVR, otherwise if just standard 4k then Oppo 203 (audio+video) ---> X6200W. Anything <4k, most prefer to simply pass the signal through the AVR and let the 4k TV do the upscaling.
galonzo and Xeneize12 like this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #14981 of 17634 Old 12-20-2017, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
HDMI to Toslink converters are readily available. You could use one of those to avoid using the receiver's DAC conversion in Zone 2.
Thanks.
So how would that get connected?
Can I have HDMI Monitor 1 enabled for video while concurrently sending the audio out HDMI Zone 2 to the HDMI > Toslink adapter?

HTPC | NAS | Harmony Elite | DENON X4200W | Sony XBR75X940D
Philips BDP7501 | Klipsch RF7II, RC64II, CDT5650CII | SVS SB2000 x2
Brahmzy is offline  
post #14982 of 17634 Old 12-20-2017, 10:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
aKa DaShiznit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Old Bridge, NJ
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeneize12 View Post
I have a couple of questions for 6200W owners/experts

Between the Denon X6200W / Sony A1E / Oppo 203

1) Does the 6200W support Dolby Vision HDR?
2) What's the best way to hook up the Oppo 203 UDP to the receiver? Do I simply use the HDMI out on the Oppo to the receiver? Do I let the receiver, the Oppo or the TV do the processing for Video/Audio?

Thanks,
1) Nope not yet. Slated for a Summer 2018 update.

2) If you need DV then HDMI 1 directly to TV and HDMI 2(audio only) to the 6200 for audio. If you go this route no video will pass through the 6200 so no need to worry about any processing on that end.
galonzo and Xeneize12 like this.

Sony XBR-65X930E (w/luminoodle)/Sony UBP-X700/Apple TV 4K/PS4 Pro/Xbox One X
Denon AVR-X6200W(Surround/Height)/Emotiva XPA-3(L/C/R)/AC Infinity Aircom T8 x2
DefTech SM 65 x3(L/C/R)/DefTech PM 1000 x4(Surround)/DefTech DI5.5R x4(Atmos/DTS X)
SVS PC-2000 x2(Subs)/Panamax M4300-PM(Main) & MD2(Subs)/Logitech Harmony Elite
aKa DaShiznit is online now  
post #14983 of 17634 Old 12-20-2017, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Xeneize12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by aKa DaShiznit View Post
1) Nope not yet. Slated for a Summer 2018 update.

2) If you need DV then HDMI 1 directly to TV and HDMI 2(audio only) to the 6200 for audio. If you go this route no video will pass through the 6200 so no need to worry about any processing on that end.
Thanks guys, so let me get this straight.

HDMI Out (Main) to TV
HDMI Out (Audio) to the 6200W

My TV only has one ARC HDMI, I'd like to leave that one to the 6200W, I will be connecting the Oppo out video to HDMI 2 on the TV, will there be any audio sync issues? I'm assuming the HDMI audio from the Oppo to the receiver will handle it just fine, or do I need an optical cable from the TV to the receiver?

Thanks for the help.

| Sony XBR65AE1 | Denon X6200W | 7.2.4 | Oppo 203 | Nvidia Shield | Harmony Elite |
| Emotiva mini-X a-100 | Ascend CMT-340 | Emotiva ERD-1 | SVS SB2000 + Martin Logan Abyss |
| PS4 Pro | Xbox One X |
|Sony XBR65X950B | Samsung UN49KS8000 |
Xeneize12 is offline  
post #14984 of 17634 Old 12-20-2017, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy View Post
Thanks.
So how would that get connected?
Can I have HDMI Monitor 1 enabled for video while concurrently sending the audio out HDMI Zone 2 to the HDMI > Toslink adapter?
Yes. The Zone 2 HDMI output only works for signals coming in from one of the HDMI inputs, though.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #14985 of 17634 Old 12-20-2017, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
aKa DaShiznit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Old Bridge, NJ
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeneize12 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by aKa DaShiznit View Post
1) Nope not yet. Slated for a Summer 2018 update.

2) If you need DV then HDMI 1 directly to TV and HDMI 2(audio only) to the 6200 for audio. If you go this route no video will pass through the 6200 so no need to worry about any processing on that end.
Thanks guys, so let me get this straight.

HDMI Out (Main) to TV
HDMI Out (Audio) to the 6200W

My TV only has one ARC HDMI, I'd like to leave that one to the 6200W, I will be connecting the Oppo out video to HDMI 2 on the TV, will there be any audio sync issues? I'm assuming the HDMI audio from the Oppo to the receiver will handle it just fine, or do I need an optical cable from the TV to the receiver?

Thanks for the help.
Your over thinking it and they are completely separate.

If you use the second HDMI out of the Oppo then the ARC will have nothing to do with the Oppo as the audio will come straight from the player to whichever HDMI input you choose on the AVR.

I suppose you could have the audio pass through the TV ARC to the 6200 but then I think your asking for more complication and possible limitations. I personally would set up the ARC for use with the TVs built in apps If you want then just run an HDMI to another input on the TV from HDMI 1 on the Oppo then HDMI 2 to one of the inputs on the 6200.
galonzo and Xeneize12 like this.

Sony XBR-65X930E (w/luminoodle)/Sony UBP-X700/Apple TV 4K/PS4 Pro/Xbox One X
Denon AVR-X6200W(Surround/Height)/Emotiva XPA-3(L/C/R)/AC Infinity Aircom T8 x2
DefTech SM 65 x3(L/C/R)/DefTech PM 1000 x4(Surround)/DefTech DI5.5R x4(Atmos/DTS X)
SVS PC-2000 x2(Subs)/Panamax M4300-PM(Main) & MD2(Subs)/Logitech Harmony Elite
aKa DaShiznit is online now  
post #14986 of 17634 Old 12-20-2017, 05:45 PM
Member
 
ebdixson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
This can indicate a defective HDMI cable. Try replacing the HDMI cable from the AVR to the TV.
I just swapped the cable and unfortunately, it didn't fix it. If anything, the receiver is now losing connection and getting the green horizontal lines much more frequently. I don't know if I should consider getting it serviced (my warranty runs 3 more months) or see if there is an actual issue on Denon's end with their server. It seems like a few people have had the same problem but not enough for it to be widespread.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

Denon X4200W
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, CDT-5800-C II's
SVS SB-16 Ultra x 2 / Emotiva XPA-5 Gen2
Sony XBR75X940D
XBox One X
ebdixson is offline  
post #14987 of 17634 Old 12-21-2017, 07:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,629
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1924 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct. If you want to use the 805 to power Zone 2 speakers, then you would connect the patio speakers to the 805 Zone 2 speaker posts.
If I run Audyssey on the 4200 will it also calibrate the top rear speakers that I plan on connecting to the 805?

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600
asere is offline  
post #14988 of 17634 Old 12-21-2017, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,971
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22568 Post(s)
Liked: 12282
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
If I run Audyssey on the 4200 will it also calibrate the top rear speakers that I plan on connecting to the 805?

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Top Rear. Yup. Zone 2. Nope.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #14989 of 17634 Old 12-21-2017, 07:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,629
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1924 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Top Rear. Yup. Zone 2. Nope.
That's good to know. Yes I figured no for zone 2 thanks.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600
asere is offline  
post #14990 of 17634 Old 12-23-2017, 11:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Ok I am thinking of finally doing dolby atmos with the s710w. What is a good pair of atmos speakers that I can place on top of my polk audio monitor 60s? Are the Pioneer ones worth it? I'm in a 10x12 room with 8 ft ceilings.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk
mbergh22 is offline  
post #14991 of 17634 Old 12-23-2017, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,971
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22568 Post(s)
Liked: 12282
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbergh22 View Post
Ok I am thinking of finally doing dolby atmos with the s710w. What is a good pair of atmos speakers that I can place on top of my polk audio monitor 60s? Are the Pioneer ones worth it? I'm in a 10x12 room with 8 ft ceilings.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk
Best place to ask speaker questions is in the Speakers forum. Better yet in the following specific thread in that forum. Review post 1.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/89-spe...-speakers.html
galonzo likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #14992 of 17634 Old 12-23-2017, 11:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Best place to ask speaker questions is in the Speakers forum. Better yet in the following specific thread in that forum. Review post 1.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/89-spe...-speakers.html
Ok thanks. I thought I would ask here just to see what others with that have the same receiver were doing.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk
mbergh22 is offline  
post #14993 of 17634 Old 12-24-2017, 11:47 AM
Member
 
BlackLightning3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebdixson View Post
I just swapped the cable and unfortunately, it didn't fix it. If anything, the receiver is now losing connection and getting the green horizontal lines much more frequently. I don't know if I should consider getting it serviced (my warranty runs 3 more months) or see if there is an actual issue on Denon's end with their server. It seems like a few people have had the same problem but not enough for it to be widespread.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
It's not a faulty HDMI cable. It has something to do with HDMI Control. Since another user who had a Vizio was having the same problem I turned off CEC on the TV and HDMI Control/ARC/Passthrough on the AVR. Now when I unlock my phone or wake up my Vizio tablet when playing online music I no longer get a lost connection. I do get a black screen/video drop out and a few seconds of distortion or static, but no lost connection. I can live with that since I primarily use my AVR to stream music from my media server or Tidal.

PSN - Escobar
Yamaha RX-A870 Fronts: Bowers and Wilkins 704 S2 Rosenut Center: Martin Logan Motion 8i Rears: Martin Logan Motion 4 Front Heights: Martin Logan Motion 2 Subwoofers: 2 x Definitive Technology Supercube 2000
Sony 55" A8F, Panasonic UB820
BlackLightning3 is offline  
post #14994 of 17634 Old 12-26-2017, 07:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Refurb Denon X6200

Paid $999 for a refurb Denon X6200 from Accesories4Less. Would you return if the only thing wrong was a small chipped up plastic ring on the front of the receiver?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	59E6EE0A-5BCB-4AAC-88EC-3E95C857434E.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	104.7 KB
ID:	2335496  
milellie111 is offline  
post #14995 of 17634 Old 12-26-2017, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tom Grooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Villages, Fl
Posts: 2,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by milellie111 View Post
Paid $999 for a refurb Denon X6200 from Accesories4Less. Would you return if the only thing wrong was a small chipped up plastic ring on the front of the receiver?
Are you serious?

Hear me now, Listen to me later....
Tom Grooms is offline  
post #14996 of 17634 Old 12-26-2017, 07:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,580
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 697 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackLightning3 View Post
I don't know if I'm having the same green lines issue because I usually have video select for a different source when listening to music. My 3200 only stays connected to the network for 10-20 min when playing online music (pandora or streaming from media server). At first I thought my Vizio tablet remote was causing it, because another user on here had issues with the tablet causing devices on his network to disconnect. Sometimes it does it when I unlock my phone, which is on a 5 Ghz band. Did a network chip reboot already and still no luck. This also only recently started around a few weeks ago when other users on here were posting similar problems in different threads.
Yeah, my Motorola G5 (nougat) seems to be doing the same thing. I did the network reset too. I thought at first it was the sonos app, but I just turned on the phone appto makea call and it stopped the internet radio. The phone is on ac 5 ghz and the x4200 is wired.
gregoryperkins is online now  
post #14997 of 17634 Old 12-26-2017, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,971
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22568 Post(s)
Liked: 12282
Quote:
Originally Posted by milellie111 View Post
Paid $999 for a refurb Denon X6200 from Accesories4Less. Would you return if the only thing wrong was a small chipped up plastic ring on the front of the receiver?
It's a used receiver for pete's sake. You're lucky it's not more banged up.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #14998 of 17634 Old 12-26-2017, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
vipervick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Hi all,

I finally got a pair of speaker stands for Christmas! I have been debating the surround issue for a long time with kids and pets to fark things up.

I have the 4200, which output do I hook the surround speaker cable up to? I will be placing them to the sides of my couch, facing listening position 90 degrees from how the LCR are. This is normal right? I haven't had surround speakers in years!

Only a 5.1 surround setup.

L C R


LS x RS

The accumulated filth of all their sex and murder will foam up about their waists and all the whores and politicians will look up and shout "Save us!"... and I'll whisper "no."
Samsung 65KS800D - Denon AVR X4200W - Oppo UDP-203 - PS4 Pro - Apple TV 4K - Aperion Intimus 6T - Aperion Intimus 6C - Aperion Intimus 4BP - SVS PC-13 Ultra
vipervick is offline  
post #14999 of 17634 Old 12-26-2017, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,971
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22568 Post(s)
Liked: 12282
Quote:
Originally Posted by vipervick View Post
Hi all,

I finally got a pair of speaker stands for Christmas! I have been debating the surround issue for a long time with kids and pets to fark things up.

I have the 4200, which output do I hook the surround speaker cable up to? I will be placing them to the sides of my couch, facing listening position 90 degrees from how the LCR are. This is normal right? I haven't had surround speakers in years!

Only a 5.1 surround setup.

L C R


LS x RS
Connect the speakers to the "Surround" speaker posts.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15000 of 17634 Old 12-26-2017, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
vipervick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Connect the speakers to the "Surround" speaker posts.
Thanks,

That's what I thought. The "surround back" is for 7.1 right? Not going that far any time soon. However, I'd like some in-ceiling speakers for Atmos.

The accumulated filth of all their sex and murder will foam up about their waists and all the whores and politicians will look up and shout "Save us!"... and I'll whisper "no."
Samsung 65KS800D - Denon AVR X4200W - Oppo UDP-203 - PS4 Pro - Apple TV 4K - Aperion Intimus 6T - Aperion Intimus 6C - Aperion Intimus 4BP - SVS PC-13 Ultra
vipervick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
4:4:4 , alexa , arc , audyseey , Audyssey , avr , AVR-X2200W , bluetooth , chroma , connect , Denon , denon 2200w , denon x1200w , lfe , s710w , s910w , spotify , x-1200w , x1200w , x2200w , x3200w , x4200 , x4200w , x6200w , Yamaha

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off