The "OFFICIAL" 2015 Denon "S-series" / "X-series" AVR Owner's thread + FAQ (HDCP 2.2) - Page 520 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 101740Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15571 of 17682 Old 05-12-2018, 02:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,629
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1924 Post(s)
Liked: 597
I was told not to change the trim using the avr test tones after audyssy but instead use an external disc. I'm using one but...

A. At what level do you keep the avr volume when using the disc 80db?
B. Since the changes cannot be made through the disc you end up using the avr trim after all and the trim and disc going back and forth is different.
What then?

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600

Last edited by asere; 05-12-2018 at 02:36 PM.
asere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15572 of 17682 Old 05-12-2018, 02:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,189
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1317 Post(s)
Liked: 1357
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
I was told not to change the trim using the avr test tones after audyssy but instead use an external disc. I'm using one but...

A. At what level do you keep the avr volume when using the disc 80db?
B. Since the changes cannot be made through the disc you end up using the avr trim after all and the trim and disc going back and forth is different.
What then?

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...l#post55626982

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon FTV Stick 4K, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is online now  
post #15573 of 17682 Old 05-12-2018, 02:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,629
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1924 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
Thanks. I know how to set up the spl meter.
What I don't get is using the disc.
You play the disc for L speaker as an example. The tones are heard from the disc but the trim can't be changed from the disc itself. So I go to avr internal tones which of course plays a different set of tones.

What I'm trying to do is calibrate using the disc.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600
asere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15574 of 17682 Old 05-12-2018, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,189
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1317 Post(s)
Liked: 1357
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
Thanks. I know how to set up the spl meter.
What I don't get is using the disc.
You play the disc for L speaker as an example. The tones are heard from the disc but the trim can't be changed from the disc itself. So I go to avr internal tones which of course plays a different set of tones.

What I'm trying to do is calibrate using the disc.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
The disc test tones are for verification. Reread and follow the procedure in my prior post again please.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon FTV Stick 4K, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is online now  
post #15575 of 17682 Old 05-12-2018, 03:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,629
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1924 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
The disc test tones are for verification. Reread and follow the procedure in my prior post again please.
I read it again. With my disc it reads 85db and with internal tones 75db.


Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600
asere is offline  
post #15576 of 17682 Old 05-12-2018, 03:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,189
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1317 Post(s)
Liked: 1357
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
I read it again. With my disc it reads 85db and with internal tones 75db.


Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
What's the name of the disc? What level were the disc test tones recorded at?

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon FTV Stick 4K, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is online now  
post #15577 of 17682 Old 05-12-2018, 03:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,629
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1924 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
What's the name of the disc? What level were the disc test tones recorded at?
Disney WOW. Idk at what level it's recorded.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

Samsung PN F8500 60'' TV, Denon AVR X4200W, Onkyo TX SR805, Parasound HCA 1500A, SVS Prime Towers and Center, SVS Prime satellites, Proficient Surrounds, Duo Kreisel DXD subs, PSA S3000i sub, Oppo 103D player, Panamax M5300 PM, Monster HTR 3600
asere is offline  
post #15578 of 17682 Old 05-12-2018, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,189
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1317 Post(s)
Liked: 1357
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
Disney WOW. Idk at what level it's recorded.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
I googled and I cannot find what level the WOW test tones are recorded at (which makes it kind of useless).
Get the Spears and Munsil disc because it's test tones are known to be at 75dB when the avr volume is set to 0db with the avr trims measured at 75db.
Also using the remote, check to make sure the Option->Channel Level Adjusts are all set to 0db and the Setup->Inputs->Source Level is set to 0db.
galonzo and asere like this.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon FTV Stick 4K, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is online now  
post #15579 of 17682 Old 05-12-2018, 05:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,189
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1317 Post(s)
Liked: 1357
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
Disney WOW. Idk at what level it's recorded.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Or if you have the 2015 Dolby Demo disc, @Roger Dressler verified the test tones were recorded at 85db with the volume set to 0db and trims levels measured at 75db.
galonzo and asere like this.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon FTV Stick 4K, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is online now  
post #15580 of 17682 Old 05-12-2018, 08:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 15
No audio from Spotify or anything online

I have a Denon AVR-X6200 receiver. It has been awesome and love to watch my movies. I use Plex sometimes or just tap directly into my media player all through my network. I use to listen to ONLINE MUSIC all the time with picking a radio station using the on screen display. Would start playing once a little buffering started and then would work fine for hours. Forward several months I wanted to listen to some online music and pick a radio station. For the life of me I cannot get ANY audio. I even tried my premium account on Spotify. I would start listening to Spotify on my phone and then select Denon from my phone for audio output, the on screen display would change to the Spotify and show the correct information. I can get audio out of all my Alexa devices, all my Google Cast devices, just not the receiver itself. Everything works perfectly with the receiver except just this function. Just stopped sending the signal to my speakers only with this online stuff and not sure why. Went over and viewed ALL my settings and can't seem to figure it out. It is sending the signal for sure since my other devices play online just fine, but just the receiver is not itself. Anyone have any suggestions on this? I would love to get my online audio back with my receiver since that has the best speakers in the house.

Thanks!
Opentoe is offline  
post #15581 of 17682 Old 05-13-2018, 04:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,304
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22749 Post(s)
Liked: 12394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post
I have a Denon AVR-X6200 receiver. It has been awesome and love to watch my movies. I use Plex sometimes or just tap directly into my media player all through my network. I use to listen to ONLINE MUSIC all the time with picking a radio station using the on screen display. Would start playing once a little buffering started and then would work fine for hours. Forward several months I wanted to listen to some online music and pick a radio station. For the life of me I cannot get ANY audio. I even tried my premium account on Spotify. I would start listening to Spotify on my phone and then select Denon from my phone for audio output, the on screen display would change to the Spotify and show the correct information. I can get audio out of all my Alexa devices, all my Google Cast devices, just not the receiver itself. Everything works perfectly with the receiver except just this function. Just stopped sending the signal to my speakers only with this online stuff and not sure why. Went over and viewed ALL my settings and can't seem to figure it out. It is sending the signal for sure since my other devices play online just fine, but just the receiver is not itself. Anyone have any suggestions on this? I would love to get my online audio back with my receiver since that has the best speakers in the house.

Thanks!
There is a lot of very helpful information provided in the first 8 posts of this thread to include reset procedures listed in post 5.
ChromeJob likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15582 of 17682 Old 05-13-2018, 03:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
There is a lot of very helpful information provided in the first 8 posts of this thread to include reset procedures listed in post 5.
So a reset of the receiver will resolve this issue?
Opentoe is offline  
post #15583 of 17682 Old 05-13-2018, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,304
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22749 Post(s)
Liked: 12394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post
So a reset of the receiver will resolve this issue?
Not necessarily, no, however, it is your next step to "try" to resolve the issue.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15584 of 17682 Old 05-14-2018, 08:27 PM
Member
 
goldenegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I have a problem with my X4200W and I'm hoping someone here might know how to fix it.

Over the past few weeks, my receiver has started randomly switching inputs. It will happen randomly, within 30 minutes or so of turning on my home theatre. I originally thought it was my TV acting up, so I disabled CEC on it, but it still kept happening. I then disabled CEC on all my devices and have HDMI Control and ARC disabled in the receiver's menu. Still, the receiver will randomly switch inputs.

What's weirder is that the input it switches to depends on the input I'm on when it happens. For example, I can be watching something on my Oppo 203, which is on the Blu-Ray input, and then the system automatically switches to the DVD input, which is what I have my computer hooked up to. My computer doesn't even support CEC, so why it would change to that input is beyond me. But it will always be the DVD input that it switches to when I'm watching something from my Blu-Ray input. Other inputs have similar combinations that will always occur when the switching happens.

I'm at a complete loss now as to what I should do to resolve this. I'm considering bringing in the receiver to be repaired, as I'm unsure what else could possibly be wrong. This problem just started occurring out of nowhere.

Any suggestions or advice are greatly appreciated!

EDIT:

I'm doing a microprocessor reset right now. We'll see if that makes any difference. I don't have time to test until tomorrow.

EDIT 2:

New problem now. Before doing the reset, I backed up my settings. After the reset, I loaded them. It's been stuck on 'loading' for 30+ minutes now. The web portion showed 'Load Completed' after about 10 minutes, but there has been no change on the receiver's display. I might just leave it like this over night, to see if it sorts itself out. Not hoping for much though.

EDIT 3:

Pulled the power and found the config loaded fine. Regardless, I reset the microprocessor again and reloaded the config using Chrome (I used Safari earlier). This time it went smoothly and it rebooted when it was supposed to. No time to test the input switching now. Will need to wait until tomorrow night.

Last edited by goldenegg; 05-14-2018 at 09:52 PM.
goldenegg is offline  
post #15585 of 17682 Old 05-15-2018, 04:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,304
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22749 Post(s)
Liked: 12394
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldenegg View Post
I have a problem with my X4200W and I'm hoping someone here might know how to fix it.

Over the past few weeks, my receiver has started randomly switching inputs. It will happen randomly, within 30 minutes or so of turning on my home theatre.
There is a lot of very helpful information provided in posts 1-8 of this thread to include discussion of your issue in post 3 (Troubleshooting 11.3).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15586 of 17682 Old 05-15-2018, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
highmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 67
IR jack input - type of cable

The owner's manual mentions the presence of the IR input jack, but it does not specify a type of 3.5 mm connection. Should it require a mono or stereo cable?
Does this imply that the transmitting device should also be a mono or stereo connection on the other end?

(as opposed to the trigger in/out connections which are definitely mono.)

Living room: Samsung PN60F8500, Sony X800M2, Roku Premiere+, Revel W763, Revel M16, Hsu HB-1 MK2, RSL C34E, Rhythmik D15SE, Denon X4200W; Zone 2: Speaker selector, Yamaha RX-V495 (1999); Bedroom: Panasonic P50U54, Oppo BDP-80, Chromecast Audio, Advent Legacy III (1994), Denon 2310ci; Cabin: Roku 3, NHT Super Zero (1996), Hsu VTF-2 MK4, Denon 1712
highmr is offline  
post #15587 of 17682 Old 05-15-2018, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,304
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22749 Post(s)
Liked: 12394
Quote:
Originally Posted by highmr View Post
The owner's manual mentions the presence of the IR input jack, but it does not specify a type of 3.5 mm connection. Should it require a mono or stereo cable?
Does this imply that the transmitting device should also be a mono or stereo connection on the other end?

(as opposed to the trigger in/out connections which are definitely mono.)
There is a lot of very helpful information provided in posts 1-8 of this thread to include a section in post 3 para 9.b (Rear Panel Connections).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15588 of 17682 Old 05-15-2018, 10:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Purple X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Osaka, Japan
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
There is a lot of very helpful information provided in posts 1-8 of this thread to include a section in post 3 para 9.b (Rear Panel Connections).
FWIW I have never got the remote in to work with my IR distribution box on any of my Denons. I does work with my Oppos (83 then 101ci).  I would love to hear confirmation from someone that is using one of the cheap IR repeater kits that are common on Amazon from various resellers. I have a Cables to Go 40430 specifically.

Is it certain that Denon uses a mono plug? I was always wondering if there was a special wiring needed like forcing ring to NC on a stereo plug that is the reason why it doesn't work for me.
galonzo likes this.
Purple X is offline  
post #15589 of 17682 Old 05-16-2018, 06:22 AM
Senior Member
 
highmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Purple X View Post
FWIW I have never got the remote in to work with my IR distribution box on any of my Denons. I does work with my Oppos (83 then 101ci).  I would love to hear confirmation from someone that is using one of the cheap IR repeater kits that are common on Amazon from various resellers. I have a Cables to Go 40430 specifically.
I am going to try this (IR unit ordered from Monoprice). If it doesn't work I will resort to covering the eye on the front. Will report back.

Living room: Samsung PN60F8500, Sony X800M2, Roku Premiere+, Revel W763, Revel M16, Hsu HB-1 MK2, RSL C34E, Rhythmik D15SE, Denon X4200W; Zone 2: Speaker selector, Yamaha RX-V495 (1999); Bedroom: Panasonic P50U54, Oppo BDP-80, Chromecast Audio, Advent Legacy III (1994), Denon 2310ci; Cabin: Roku 3, NHT Super Zero (1996), Hsu VTF-2 MK4, Denon 1712
highmr is offline  
post #15590 of 17682 Old 05-17-2018, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nexgen76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 759 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Okay guys i come you looking for answers because I've had my X6200 for well over a year coming from Pioneer. After i run Audyssey x32 i can never get my SVS Atmos elevation play louder & more aggressive like my Pioneer. I have played with cross over setting just about every setting i could use to get Atmos or DTS-X stop sounding so faint. I'm i missing a setting or something on my Denon because I'm to the point i may sale it & go back Pioneer or something else....Thxs

JVC NX5 Panasonic UB820 PC Madvr
Sliver Ticket 120' Cinema white screen
Aggressive 1299 L/C/R/, Volt 10XL x 2 surround, MKII Atmos Modules x 4(Jav's build)
Pioneer Elite SC-LX801 Acurus A125x5
Ported Primate SI 18" HST subs x 2(DIY) V.B.S.S.x 4(MBM)
Nexgen76 is offline  
post #15591 of 17682 Old 05-17-2018, 06:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,304
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22749 Post(s)
Liked: 12394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexgen76 View Post
Okay guys i come you looking for answers because I've had my X6200 for well over a year coming from Pioneer. After i run Audyssey x32 i can never get my SVS Atmos elevation play louder & more aggressive like my Pioneer. I have played with cross over setting just about every setting i could use to get Atmos or DTS-X stop sounding so faint. I'm i missing a setting or something on my Denon because I'm to the point i may sale it & go back Pioneer or something else....Thxs
If you want specific speakers or subwoofer to be louder, simply go to the Manual Setup - Levels - Test Tones and set them louder.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15592 of 17682 Old 05-17-2018, 06:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nexgen76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 759 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you want specific speakers or subwoofer to be louder, simply go to the Manual Setup - Levels - Test Tones and set them louder.
I did that also...I was using Atmos Demo disk to tell the difference from each setting.

JVC NX5 Panasonic UB820 PC Madvr
Sliver Ticket 120' Cinema white screen
Aggressive 1299 L/C/R/, Volt 10XL x 2 surround, MKII Atmos Modules x 4(Jav's build)
Pioneer Elite SC-LX801 Acurus A125x5
Ported Primate SI 18" HST subs x 2(DIY) V.B.S.S.x 4(MBM)
Nexgen76 is offline  
post #15593 of 17682 Old 05-17-2018, 06:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,304
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22749 Post(s)
Liked: 12394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexgen76 View Post
I did that also...I was using Atmos Demo disk to tell the difference from each setting.
If you have them mounted on top of existing speakers (ie. bouncing off the ceiling), then you may need to adjust their elevation such that they are wedged in the front or back (ie. do some trigonometry to determine the best angle). In some cases, members have found placing the modules on their own dedicated stands works much better.
Madmax67 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15594 of 17682 Old 05-18-2018, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Denon X6200W wont play out of height channels!!!

Im starting to have a meltdown. For the life of me I can not get my Denon receiver to play out of the Height channels. I have the proper amp assigned to "front height" and shows the height terminals as being assigned etc. No test tone will play out of the right or left ceiling speakers? I plugged the speaker into a different channel and the speaker works fine. So it has to be the amp is not getting power or not assigned properly. Can anyone help! I have a 5.2.2 set up for Atmos.

Thanks!
Dbruce13 is offline  
post #15595 of 17682 Old 05-18-2018, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Problem solved...both of the screw pins on the height channel were slightly unscrewed. I was using plugs but for some reason were not making a connection.
galonzo and mrtickleuk like this.
Dbruce13 is offline  
post #15596 of 17682 Old 05-18-2018, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Witchboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 190
My X4200 started going into protection mode today. Unplugged it for about an hour. Same issue. Disconnected all speakers and components. Same issue. Bypassed the power strip and plugged directly into wall of a different outlet. Same issue. Tried resetting the microprocessor multiple times. Same Issue. Just thought I'd double check to see if I missed anything before shipping it off for repair.

Rumble & Frenzy - My Mini-Marty Build
Screaming Eagles - My Fusion-15 Sentinel Build

Last edited by Witchboard; 05-18-2018 at 09:02 PM.
Witchboard is online now  
post #15597 of 17682 Old 05-19-2018, 02:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,304
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22749 Post(s)
Liked: 12394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Witchboard View Post
My X4200 started going into protection mode today. Unplugged it for about an hour. Same issue. Disconnected all speakers and components. Same issue. Bypassed the power strip and plugged directly into wall of a different outlet. Same issue. Tried resetting the microprocessor multiple times. Same Issue. Just thought I'd double check to see if I missed anything before shipping it off for repair.
Nope. Repair.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15598 of 17682 Old 05-19-2018, 09:34 AM
Member
 
wbree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
There are recent discussions in the newsgroup of the latest QLED Samsung Q9F TV that there are problems with the transmission of HDR by DENON receivers with HDMI passthrough.
Someone familiar with this problem or solution?

_________________________________________________
SAMSUNG 65Q9FN - DENON AVR-X6200W - Monitor Audio Gold speakers - REL205 sub - Nvidia Shield TV - DENON DBT-3313UD - SONY UBP-X800
wbree is offline  
post #15599 of 17682 Old 05-19-2018, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,319
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5053 Post(s)
Liked: 7373
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbree View Post
There are recent discussions in the newsgroup of the latest QLED Samsung Q9F TV that there are problems with the transmission of HDR by DENON receivers with HDMI passthrough.
Someone familiar with this problem or solution?
Yes, it's covered in either the 2016, 7, or 8 Denon threads.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #15600 of 17682 Old 05-19-2018, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Yes, it's covered in either the 2016, 7, or 8 Denon threads.
If someone finds it, id be interested as well, as i can't pass HDR through the Denon to my 2018 Samsung TV either

Denon X3200W
Bower & Wilkins HTM72 Centre, M1 & PV1 Sub
Samsung 2014 75 inch and Samsung 2018 NU8000 82 inch 4K
QED Speaker Cables and HDMI
Bryn23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
4:4:4 , alexa , arc , audyseey , Audyssey , avr , AVR-2310CI , avr-s710w , AVR-X2200W , bluetooth , chroma , connect , Denon , denon 2200w , denon x1200w , lfe , s710w , s910w , spotify , x-1200w , x1200w , x2200w , x3200w , x4200 , x4200w , x6200w , Yamaha

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off