The "OFFICIAL" 2015 Denon "S-series" / "X-series" AVR Owner's thread + FAQ (HDCP 2.2) - Page 8 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 101726Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 17640 Old 07-10-2015, 12:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,042
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22608 Post(s)
Liked: 12301
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
How does Denon handle HMDI connections when unplugged, and if it makes any difference, particularly the S700W? I'll have reason to be away from home about 6+ the weeks several times the remainder of the year, and I imagine the rest of family won't have reason to fire-up the AVR...
The AVR uses very little power in Standby mode. You would be best served leaving the AVR in Standby while on your trips. As noted, the signal will pass through to the TV. If still concerned, simply connect the source HDMI directly to the TV while on travel.


Also note you're posting in the 2015 thread as opposed to the 2014 thread which covers the S700W and linked below ...


https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...hread-faq.html
TonyB1966 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 17640 Old 07-10-2015, 01:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,042
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22608 Post(s)
Liked: 12301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post
I thought that was not possible for the X4100 in 5.2.4 setup (ext amp assigned to top rear only). Is it now possible in the newer X#200 series?
We won't know for sure until the 2015 Owner's manuals are published; however, likely no change from the 2014 models. Was focusing on the X6200W/X7200W. Edited my previous post.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 07-10-2015 at 01:53 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #213 of 17640 Old 07-10-2015, 01:47 AM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Thank you for the thoughtful replies.

I don't think I'm going to have time to set this up before my next trip. Even if I got things all sorted-out, the Harmony set to manage desired activities, I don't think I'd have time explain how to operate it while I'm gone. So, I was pondering in what state I should leave the Denon connected, even without power, to avoid any confusion or mishaps...

Thanks much.
TonyB1966 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #214 of 17640 Old 07-10-2015, 03:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
HotAhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyB1966 View Post
Thank you for the thoughtful replies.

I don't think I'm going to have time to set this up before my next trip. Even if I got things all sorted-out, the Harmony set to manage desired activities, I don't think I'd have time explain how to operate it while I'm gone. So, I was pondering in what state I should leave the Denon connected, even without power, to avoid any confusion or mishaps...

Thanks much.
In my Opinion, what others have said is really the best way to go. That is to put the receiver in Stand by mode. If your family mostly watches tv (just as an example), I'd put the DVR on that setting, so they could use it and I would leave the rest until I got home, and away I'd go. But, that is just me..
TonyB1966 likes this.

Television: Samsung UN65JS9000
A/V Receiver: Denon AVR-X4300H (Ordered Dec. 9, 2016)
Subwoofer: HSU VTF Subwoofer
Speakers: Definitive Tech StudioMonitor 65, ProCenter 2000, ProMonitor 800, Heos 1 HS2
Digital Video Recorder: Directv 4K DVR
Set Top Box: Apple TV
HotAhr is offline  
post #215 of 17640 Old 07-10-2015, 04:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,042
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22608 Post(s)
Liked: 12301
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotAhr View Post
In my Opinion, what others have said is really the best way to go. That is to put the receiver in Stand by mode. If your family mostly watches tv (just as an example), I'd put the DVR on that setting, so they could use it and I would leave the rest until I got home, and away I'd go. But, that is just me..


As an FYI ... all 2014 and 2015 models factory default to the CBL/SAT source as the Standby Pass through source, so no setting change required.
TonyB1966 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #216 of 17640 Old 07-10-2015, 06:09 AM
Senior Member
 
RobDMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Would the Denon X2200W be a significant step up from a Pioneer VSX1018 I have now? I have a Mirage Omnisat v.2 5.1 system with a Mirage S12 sub. Thanks.
RobDMB is offline  
post #217 of 17640 Old 07-10-2015, 06:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,042
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22608 Post(s)
Liked: 12301
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDMB View Post
Would the Denon X2200W be a significant step up from a Pioneer VSX1018 I have now? I have a Mirage Omnisat v.2 5.1 system with a Mirage S12 sub. Thanks.
Significant is in the ear of the beholder ... although likely some improvement yes using Audyssey MultEQ XT as your Pioneer is not EQing the sub whereas Audyssey will.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #218 of 17640 Old 07-10-2015, 07:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
HotAhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDMB View Post
Would the Denon X2200W be a significant step up from a Pioneer VSX1018 I have now? I have a Mirage Omnisat v.2 5.1 system with a Mirage S12 sub. Thanks.
If you are interested in purchasing the X2200W, I would highly recommend giving JDSmoothie a phone call. Recently his company just received a shipment. Very nice receiver. JD's work phone number can be found beneath his posts. The pricing quote he offers for this model is very competitive.

Television: Samsung UN65JS9000
A/V Receiver: Denon AVR-X4300H (Ordered Dec. 9, 2016)
Subwoofer: HSU VTF Subwoofer
Speakers: Definitive Tech StudioMonitor 65, ProCenter 2000, ProMonitor 800, Heos 1 HS2
Digital Video Recorder: Directv 4K DVR
Set Top Box: Apple TV
HotAhr is offline  
post #219 of 17640 Old 07-10-2015, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 482
I'm happy my X2200W is shipping sooner than expected and I should have it on Tuesday. Looking forward to see if I can spot any difference in audio quality to my 2310ci. One thing is for sure, I won't miss the Dolby Digital Plus issues.
bull3964 is offline  
post #220 of 17640 Old 07-10-2015, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,042
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22608 Post(s)
Liked: 12301
Quote:
Originally Posted by bull3964 View Post
I'm happy my X2200W is shipping sooner than expected and I should have it on Tuesday. Looking forward to see if I can spot any difference in audio quality to my 2310ci. One thing is for sure, I won't miss the Dolby Digital Plus issues.
Yes, AVScience just got our first shipment of X2200W's as well and started shipping to our customers this week.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #221 of 17640 Old 07-10-2015, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
TonyB1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotAhr View Post
In my Opinion, what others have said is really the best way to go. That is to put the receiver in Stand by mode. If your family mostly watches tv (just as an example), I'd put the DVR on that setting, so they could use it and I would leave the rest until I got home, and away I'd go. But, that is just me..
Me too (agreed).

I'm thinking I might tackle this before I leave. I'm currently making use of an HDMI switch. I was contemplating having the output of such go into the Denon's default standby pass through of CBL/SAT (thanks jdsmoothie). This way the family can select sources as they currently do, while the Denon is off (plugged in, in standby mode). I'd just put the Denon remote out the way and instruct no one to power on the Denon.

Since most TV viewing in our home will not require the use of the AVR, I think this might be a good solution for us (Sources -> HDMI switch -> Denon -> TV). Once a week, like on movie night, or a big game, then the Denon would get fired-up. The HDMI switch would do the toggling of inputs, the Denon seeing just one HDMI input...

If anyone forecasts anything problematic with this approach, kindly let me know. Since this pertains to 2015 models too, i hope it's ok to ask here, in this thread... Thank you.
TonyB1966 is offline  
post #222 of 17640 Old 07-10-2015, 11:00 AM
Member
 
Marauder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotAhr View Post
The short answer to your question on power is, No.
OK thanks, so just to clarify what my system is, I'm running Def Tech Promonitor 1000 Front L/R/C plus 800s for L/R surround. I haven't bought a sub yet, but I'll be getting the SVS SB1000, and at some point also, I'd like to add 2x ceiling speakers to enable atmos. So you think the x1200 wouldn't provide enough power for a 5.1.2 setup with these specs? My wife and I don't listen to our music/movies at very loud levels, and after reading up on power needs it seemed like an 80W/ch system would be sufficient to provide reasonable headroom.
Marauder is offline  
post #223 of 17640 Old 07-10-2015, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,042
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22608 Post(s)
Liked: 12301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marauder View Post
OK thanks, so just to clarify what my system is, I'm running Def Tech Promonitor 1000 Front L/R/C plus 800s for L/R surround. I haven't bought a sub yet, but I'll be getting the SVS SB1000, and at some point also, I'd like to add 2x ceiling speakers to enable atmos. So you think the x1200 wouldn't provide enough power for a 5.1.2 setup with these specs? My wife and I don't listen to our music/movies at very loud levels, and after reading up on power needs it seemed like an 80W/ch system would be sufficient to provide reasonable headroom.
Def Tech speakers are fairly efficient. Any model in this thread (to include the X1200W) would provide more than enough power, especially with the SVS SB1000 taking the heavy load off of the AVR.
HotAhr and Marauder like this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #224 of 17640 Old 07-11-2015, 12:34 AM
Member
 
antness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How will something like a Synology NAS work as a media server with a Denon AVR-X4100W?
antness is offline  
post #225 of 17640 Old 07-11-2015, 01:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,042
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22608 Post(s)
Liked: 12301
Quote:
Originally Posted by antness View Post
How will something like a Synology NAS work as a media server with a Denon AVR-X4100W?
If you're looking for other owner experiences, this is the 2015 thread. Please post in the 2014 thread below .....


https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...l#post26013746
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #226 of 17640 Old 07-11-2015, 11:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Denon X2200W on the way

I just ordered the X2200W through JDSmoothie after an informative QA session! Can't wait!
daviper1996 is offline  
post #227 of 17640 Old 07-13-2015, 05:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 938 Post(s)
Liked: 424
I just got my 2200 and set up quickly. I'm very impressed and there is no dought I did the right thing swapping out my VSX-90.
FYI
MarkMul1 is offline  
post #228 of 17640 Old 07-14-2015, 08:21 AM
Member
 
doctor15's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone received an x1200 or x2200 yet who has listened to the Onkyo 646? I have a few days left to return my 646 and am wondering if I might be better off with the Denon. The specs are relatively similar, at least for my uses.
doctor15 is offline  
post #229 of 17640 Old 07-14-2015, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 482
I got my X2200W yesterday as well. Didn't get home until late so I didn't get to use it much after swapping out my AVR-2310ci, but I did notice a marked difference in the sound. What made it really easy to swap them is both had a removable power cable so I didn't have to fish around behind to plug something new in, that always takes the longest time whenever I add or change something.

My impressions are that there must be more 'under the hood' changes to Audyssey in the past 5 years because I don't know what I've seen and heard can just be accounted for by the change from MultEQ to MultEQ XT. Everything I've read just talks about the resolution of the EQ filters as the difference between the two, but the X2200W had a far easier time with my room than my 2310ci did. My 2310ci used to claim that my one speaker was out of phase due to the wall reflection that was happening, but I didn't get any such warning from the X2200W. The X2200W also seemed as though it had a much more accurate distance measurements of the speakers when I got to the details screen. I have to say, the cardboard speaker stand was a nice touch for making it easy to move the mic around the room.

In general, I'm noticing much more active surrounds and much better anchoring and clarity of the dialog in the center channel. Sound panning between speakers also seems quite a bit more seamless (especially when the rears are involved.)

Dolby Surround also seems much much better than Prologic II as I notice a much more active rear soundfield from 2 channel PCM sources such as Hulu.

Also, joy of joys, no more sibilance artifacts with Netflix DD+ audio streams.

Also of note, Logitech doesn't have the AVR-X2200W in their database yet so I had to setup my harmony with the AVR-X2100W. I haven't run into any issues with that yet though.
bull3964 is offline  
post #230 of 17640 Old 07-14-2015, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 938 Post(s)
Liked: 424
I also used the 2100 codes to reset my Harmony remote.

I have heard the Onkyo 646 and the 2200. I quickly set up the 646 for a friend who had no idea of what he was doing. Only set up a 5.1 set up. Quickly ran set up mode and heard a few old DVD's played in sections. I was pretty surprised it sounded good.

After setting up my 2200 last night i love it. The subs just are so much better than my Pioneer. Cant say how much better than 646 it is, would not be a fair comparison. My suggestion is if you like it and cant see a reason to spend an extra $200 on the 2200, keep it, at least its up to date with al the bells and whistles. My 2 cents
MarkMul1 is offline  
post #231 of 17640 Old 07-14-2015, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 938 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quick question if anyone is out there.

I just set up new Denon 2200 and watching a blueray rental that is DTS-HD-MA and trying to get the Dolby Surround up mixer to kick in but it's not an option. I must be missing something. I'm just coming from a Pioneer VSX-90 and DSU was always an option.

What am I missing.


Thanks in advance.
MarkMul1 is offline  
post #232 of 17640 Old 07-14-2015, 03:34 PM
Member
 
jleroy68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkMul1 View Post
Quick question if anyone is out there.

I just set up new Denon 2200 and watching a blueray rental that is DTS-HD-MA and trying to get the Dolby Surround up mixer to kick in but it's not an option. I must be missing something. I'm just coming from a Pioneer VSX-90 and DSU was always an option.

What am I missing.


Thanks in advance.
I'm hearing DTS disc on Atmos receiver is that correct?
jleroy68 is offline  
post #233 of 17640 Old 07-14-2015, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,042
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22608 Post(s)
Liked: 12301
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkMul1 View Post
Quick question if anyone is out there.

I just set up new Denon 2200 and watching a blueray rental that is DTS-HD-MA and trying to get the Dolby Surround up mixer to kick in but it's not an option. I must be missing something. I'm just coming from a Pioneer VSX-90 and DSU was always an option.

What am I missing.


Thanks in advance.
Is the DTS HD-MA a 5.1 or 7.1 audio? And do you have a 5.1 or 7.1 setup? If 5.1 and you only have a 5.1 setup or if 7.1 and you only have a 7.1 setup, there's nothing to simulate.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #234 of 17640 Old 07-14-2015, 04:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 938 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Yes DTS disc on Atmos reciever.

I have 5.2.2 Atmos up firing set up on new Denon 2200.

On myVSX-90 with the same set up I could always use DSU up mixer to simulate Atmos and hit all of my speakers.

Thanks
MarkMul1 is offline  
post #235 of 17640 Old 07-14-2015, 04:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1681 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkMul1 View Post
Yes DTS disc on Atmos reciever.

I have 5.2.2 Atmos up firing set up on new Denon 2200.

On myVSX-90 with the same set up I could always use DSU up mixer to simulate Atmos and hit all of my speakers.

Thanks
What are your sound options on Screen when you press the Movie button on your Denon remote? maybe take a picture and post?

LG OLED 65C7P, Denon AVR-X7200WA, Apple 4K, Oppo UDP-203, PS4, Xbox One X
Nvidia Sheild Pro, HTPC, (2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (4)RS-52IIs,, (1)RP-450CA,
(4) RP-140SA, SVS PB12-Plus, Emotiva XPA-100, XPA-200, Emotiva A-700
LG OLED 55C8PUA, Denon x4400h, Apple TV 4K, Panasonic DP-UB820,
Nvidia Shield, Klipsch G-42,(2) R-3650-W-II,(4) RSL-C34E, SVS SB-1000, UPA-200
sikclown is offline  
post #236 of 17640 Old 07-14-2015, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 938 Post(s)
Liked: 424
When you hit the movie button you only have the DTS option and the regular other options like mono and multi ch.

Interesting. I just restarted it and the previews gave you multi in + Dolby Surround option. As soon as movie kicked in it switched to DTS Master as the only option. I looked and it does not have a Dolby version you can switch to. It's a rental blue ray. Maybe if it's only DTS mix you can't use DSU. ?

Time will tell
MarkMul1 is offline  
post #237 of 17640 Old 07-14-2015, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 938 Post(s)
Liked: 424
I just pulled the manual up online and it does not show DSU as a possibility when inputting DTX. Hmmm
I love the DSU. Hopefully the DTS-X up mixer comes out soon.
MarkMul1 is offline  
post #238 of 17640 Old 07-14-2015, 08:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1681 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkMul1 View Post
When you hit the movie button you only have the DTS option and the regular other options like mono and multi ch.

Interesting. I just restarted it and the previews gave you multi in + Dolby Surround option. As soon as movie kicked in it switched to DTS Master as the only option. I looked and it does not have a Dolby version you can switch to. It's a rental blue ray. Maybe if it's only DTS mix you can't use DSU. ?

Time will tell
what model bluray player are you watching it on? How do you have your bluray sound set to output? Every DTS file I throw at my x7200wa lets me choose DTS (insert version here) + Dolby Surround. I am set up with a 7.1.4 Atmos layout but it shouldn't matter.

LG OLED 65C7P, Denon AVR-X7200WA, Apple 4K, Oppo UDP-203, PS4, Xbox One X
Nvidia Sheild Pro, HTPC, (2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (4)RS-52IIs,, (1)RP-450CA,
(4) RP-140SA, SVS PB12-Plus, Emotiva XPA-100, XPA-200, Emotiva A-700
LG OLED 55C8PUA, Denon x4400h, Apple TV 4K, Panasonic DP-UB820,
Nvidia Shield, Klipsch G-42,(2) R-3650-W-II,(4) RSL-C34E, SVS SB-1000, UPA-200
sikclown is offline  
post #239 of 17640 Old 07-14-2015, 10:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,042
Mentioned: 743 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22608 Post(s)
Liked: 12301
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkMul1 View Post
I just pulled the manual up online and it does not show DSU as a possibility when inputting DTX. Hmmm
I love the DSU. Hopefully the DTS-X up mixer comes out soon.
First you said you were playing a DTS HD-MA audio track and now you're saying DTS:X. As the DTS:X encoder has not been installed yet, and given the only DTS:X Blu Ray on the market is Ex Machina, the AVR would play the DTS HD-MA 7.1 audio track therefore on a 5.2.2 setup, you should have the option of selecting either (a) DTS HD-MA or (b) DTS HD + Dolby Surround.


Edit: As has since been learned, the DSU cannot be used with DTS HD audio, rather you must set the BDP to "PCM" first to use DSU until the new DTS:X firmware update is installed and DTS Neural:X can be used.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 07-21-2015 at 06:55 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #240 of 17640 Old 07-15-2015, 05:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 938 Post(s)
Liked: 424
First

I did not post to be talked down to and treated like I was lying and changing my story. It was a typo, DTX instead of DTS. I know DTS-X is not out yet I was saying I hope it hurries up so I can use their up converter if DSU did not work. I don't care who you are or how long you've been selling whatever to who ever. You need to take a chill pill and a vacation.

Sikclown

I'm using a Panasonic player. I just looked at the 7200 manual online and it shows DTS + Dolby Surround as an option. The 2200 manual does not show it as an option. I'm bummed as I really enjoy it.
MarkMul1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
4:4:4 , alexa , arc , audyseey , Audyssey , avr , AVR-X2200W , bluetooth , chroma , connect , Denon , denon 2200w , denon x1200w , lfe , s710w , s910w , spotify , x-1200w , x1200w , x2200w , x3200w , x4200 , x4200w , x6200w , Yamaha

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off