*Official* Marantz 2015 NR-1506/1606, SR-5010/6010/7010 & AV7702mkII owner's thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12658Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 12466 Old 08-06-2015, 11:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1850 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by jruser View Post
Did anyone happen to save the sr6010 manual while it was online? Wondering what the differences are between it and the x3200w. That $400 price difference between the two seems steep compared to the x2200w/sr5010.
jruser,

The price differences are due to the feature differences set offered by each unit.

The pre-amp circuit of the Marantz uses their own proprietary HDAM modules which are of better quality and supposed to be higher fidelity. Whether one can hear it and it's importance can be debatable.

There are some the feature differences between the X3200W and SR-6010. Look at the back panel between the two units. I'm not that familiar with Denon products. Both jdsmoothie and batpig will correct me I'm sure if there are errors.

The SR-6010 has 7.1 analogue inputs. So does the SR-5010. This for connection of source devices which might have higher end DACs, i.e. blu-ray players. There is phono input available for the turntable so that one can spin some vinyl.

Pre-outs include front wides as well as Height 1 and Height 2. Speaker binding posts include wides and Height 1.

The SR-6010 has the top end Audyssey XT32 with sub EQ HT room correction algorithm. This will impact perceived sound quality more than anything else when compared to the Denon X3200W. The Denon has the step down Audyssey XT.

For Atmos, the SR-6010 is a 9-channel processor that can do a 5.1.4 speaker configuration while the X3200W can only do 5.1.2 (i.e. 7-channel processor). So choose the right receiver for one's speaker setup.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 12466 Old 08-06-2015, 11:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Back in Asia for now
Posts: 3,708
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1757 Post(s)
Liked: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by jruser View Post
Did anyone happen to save the sr6010 manual while it was online? Wondering what the differences are between it and the x3200w. That $400 price difference between the two seems steep compared to the x2200w/sr5010.
I did, if you pm me, I can email it to you.
petetherock is offline  
post #273 of 12466 Old 08-07-2015, 12:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,933
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23666 Post(s)
Liked: 13031
Quote:
Originally Posted by jruser View Post
Did anyone happen to save the sr6010 manual while it was online? Wondering what the differences are between it and the x3200w. That $400 price difference between the two seems steep compared to the x2200w/sr5010.
Last year's MSRP price difference between the SR6009 and X3100W is $300. Additional cost this year likely attributed to Audyssey XT32, Sub EQ HT, and LFC being featured. Also X3200W dropped Audyssey DSX and is no longer Audyssey Pro capable while the SR6010 retains these features from the SR6009.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #274 of 12466 Old 08-07-2015, 06:48 AM
Member
 
HEELSFINL4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 13
nr 1606 sound modes

JD....I have tried running Audyssey multiple times both with the supplied microphone and the one from my Onkyp 609. The lowest I can get the crossover and front L/R is 120 and the Center is 110. Again I'n using definitive 1000's for the L/R and a 2000 center speaker. Iknow you stated the crossover for these should be lower (80?) but I know I'm not ever suppossed to just lower the crossover because it messes up the calibration. The way I currently have it, the center channel is sometimes too dominant...to the point where nothing is coming out of the front L/R speakers.
Maybe I'm still doing something wrong with Audyssey, but 80-120 seems like a big difference. Any other suggestions?
HEELSFINL4 is offline  
post #275 of 12466 Old 08-07-2015, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,933
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23666 Post(s)
Liked: 13031
Quote:
Originally Posted by HEELSFINL4 View Post
JD....I have tried running Audyssey multiple times both with the supplied microphone and the one from my Onkyp 609. The lowest I can get the crossover and front L/R is 120 and the Center is 110. Again I'n using definitive 1000's for the L/R and a 2000 center speaker. Iknow you stated the crossover for these should be lower (80?) but I know I'm not ever suppossed to just lower the crossover because it messes up the calibration. The way I currently have it, the center channel is sometimes too dominant...to the point where nothing is coming out of the front L/R speakers.
Maybe I'm still doing something wrong with Audyssey, but 80-120 seems like a big difference. Any other suggestions?
If the 609 mic produces similar results, then not a mic problem. Most likely just the way the speakers are reacting based on their placement in your room. I wouldn't worry about the crossover setting, and correct, don't lower the setting. Although note, lowering it doesn't "mess" with the calibration, rather it simply leaves a gap between those frequencies that have been EQ'd and those that have not (eg. changing crossover from 120Hz to 80Hz, leaves a 40Hz gap from 120Hz down to 80Hz) Also, if the center channel is too dominant, then simply lower the volume a few db using the Manual Setup - Test Tones - Center setting.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #276 of 12466 Old 08-07-2015, 11:08 PM
Member
 
b_dogg623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DTS Headphone: X & assignable amps?

Will the new 7010 (and I assume all receivers w/ DTS:X) have this new Headphone X included for virtual surround?

Also, w/ the 7010, will it be possible to assign the internal amp to run all Surrounds + Center for 7.1.4 while using an external amp to run the FL&FR? I would like to setup 7.1.4 but, run some Martin Logan ESL's or Motion 60XT's w/ an external amp. Thanx in advance for any info.
b_dogg623 is offline  
post #277 of 12466 Old 08-08-2015, 01:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,933
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23666 Post(s)
Liked: 13031
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_dogg623 View Post
Will the new 7010 (and I assume all receivers w/ DTS:X) have this new Headphone X included for virtual surround?

Also, w/ the 7010, will it be possible to assign the internal amp to run all Surrounds + Center for 7.1.4 while using an external amp to run the FL&FR? I would like to setup 7.1.4 but, run some Martin Logan ESL's or Motion 60XT's w/ an external amp. Thanx in advance for any info.


Not sure about Headphone:X as there is no mention in the D+M Owner manuals, however, as with the SR7009, so to shall the SR7010 be able to use the FL/FR CH to expand to 11CH.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #278 of 12466 Old 08-08-2015, 07:19 AM
Member
 
jp381242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I know Denon and Marantz are similar. Do they sounds similar? Looking at the Denon 3200 and the Marantz 5010. Thanks!
jp381242 is offline  
post #279 of 12466 Old 08-08-2015, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,933
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23666 Post(s)
Liked: 13031
Quote:
Originally Posted by jp381242 View Post
I know Denon and Marantz are similar. Do they sounds similar? Looking at the Denon 3200 and the Marantz 5010. Thanks!
Both will sound similar for movies/TV but the SR5010 uses HDAM pre-amps which some say provides a more detailed music listening experience. The SR5010 is the sister model to the X2200W so the X3200W will have more features than the SR5010 (eg. Zone 2 HDMI out to another TV/AVR).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #280 of 12466 Old 08-08-2015, 08:45 PM
Member
 
tc51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just picked up an SR5010 from Best Buy tonight. Right side speakers are getting no sound. Tried every troubleshooting step I could think of. It's not the speakers as they just worked with my rx-a800 earlier today. Could there be a setting somewhere preventing sound from getting to those speaker? Or did I just get a dud? I'm leaning towards dud.
tc51 is offline  
post #281 of 12466 Old 08-08-2015, 10:51 PM
Member
 
hiprecked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by tc51 View Post
Just picked up an SR5010 from Best Buy tonight. Right side speakers are getting no sound. Tried every troubleshooting step I could think of. It's not the speakers as they just worked with my rx-a800 earlier today. Could there be a setting somewhere preventing sound from getting to those speaker? Or did I just get a dud? I'm leaning towards dud.
Probably a dud. You can always swap the speaker wires to confirm. My 5010 was a very simple install.
hiprecked is offline  
post #282 of 12466 Old 08-09-2015, 02:19 AM
Member
 
tc51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiprecked View Post
Probably a dud. You can always swap the speaker wires to confirm. My 5010 was a very simple install.
Swapped it with the left side, and still got nothing.
tc51 is offline  
post #283 of 12466 Old 08-09-2015, 03:36 PM
Newbie
 
PixelMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Marantz AVS 7701 - IR extender

How does one "hardwire extend" the IR receiver for the 7701?
I have a Niles Audio MF1VF MicroFlasher plugged-into the "IR Flasher" jack of the 7701, but it doesn't work.
The unit sits just low enough to be off-angle of a direct hit from the remote when sitting on my couch; I want to be able to aim the remote straight-ahead and control the 7701.

Thanks in advance for advice!
PixelMixer is offline  
post #284 of 12466 Old 08-09-2015, 03:49 PM
Newbie
 
Jay Broonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone on here who has ANY of these receivers (specifically the NR1606 and SR-5010) have DirecTV? Experiencing any issues? I've gone through three Marantz/Denon receivers all of which don't work on the CBL/SAT input but work on AUX1 (front HDMI). I have the HR24 box (DVR non-genie).

I ended up going with the Pioneer Elite VSX-90, which is obviously missing DTS-X. Just wondering if anyone has been experiencing the same issue as I am.

Thanks!
Jay Broonz is offline  
post #285 of 12466 Old 08-09-2015, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,933
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23666 Post(s)
Liked: 13031
The problem is that not all IR extenders will work with the unit. Better question to ask is what IR extenders others are using that actually work.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #286 of 12466 Old 08-09-2015, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach
Posts: 3,297
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 310
I have a 3 part ir extender similar to this that plugs into the remote in port. That niles flasher is to control other devices.
You need the sensor part. Most a/v receivers don't have a flasher port. The manual says flasher in from control box
so it may act similar to remote in jack. Not sure if sensor plugged directly into that port will work though. Here is a
sensor. Pretty expensive. I use the Xantech brand kit because it was way cheaper than the Niles kit. This is the sensor
I use plugged into control box with that wired to stereo remote in. Something like this would probably work for cheap.
That kit allows me to keep all my gear in the room behind the tv. Cleaner looking, quiet and cooler setup.

Last edited by kikkenit2; 08-09-2015 at 05:02 PM.
kikkenit2 is offline  
post #287 of 12466 Old 08-09-2015, 05:50 PM
Newbie
 
PixelMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks kikkenit2. For the expense needed to do what I thought was simply purchasing a cable with an IR receiver on the end of it, I'll just lean forward more with my remote. I didn't realize it would cost hundreds of dollars to "remote" the IR sensor. Based on what I read in the Marantz manual, and what a Marantz service person told me over the phone, the Niles accessory should have worked.
PixelMixer is offline  
post #288 of 12466 Old 08-10-2015, 05:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach
Posts: 3,297
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 310
A flasher sends an output ir signal. If you placed that on the front of bluray player the stereo remote
would control the bluray player. Your stereo can't receive a signal so you need a sensor to extend that
input signal. The manual clearly states port for control box so I doubt bypassing that signal converter works.
kikkenit2 is offline  
post #289 of 12466 Old 08-10-2015, 08:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ppshooky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Where the sun don't shine.
Posts: 2,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any word on whether Harmony has an update for the NR1506?
ppshooky is offline  
post #290 of 12466 Old 08-10-2015, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_dogg623 View Post
Will the new 7010 (and I assume all receivers w/ DTS:X) have this new Headphone X included for virtual surround?

Also, w/ the 7010, will it be possible to assign the internal amp to run all Surrounds + Center for 7.1.4 while using an external amp to run the FL&FR? I would like to setup 7.1.4 but, run some Martin Logan ESL's or Motion 60XT's w/ an external amp. Thanx in advance for any info.
This is a good question. I do have Martin Logan ESL's. I do have an external 2 channel amp to run my height speakers. It would be better if I could run the heights off the Marantz and the ESL's off the external amp.. Also,isn't difficult to figure out what's going on with settings of your receiver with only a porthole to see from 12 ft away? Not sure I like that. Looks cool tho.
LowTech1 is offline  
post #291 of 12466 Old 08-10-2015, 11:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,933
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23666 Post(s)
Liked: 13031
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
This is a good question. I do have Martin Logan ESL's. I do have an external 2 channel amp to run my height speakers. It would be better if I could run the heights off the Marantz and the ESL's off the external amp.. Also,isn't difficult to figure out what's going on with settings of your receiver with only a porthole to see from 12 ft away? Not sure I like that. Looks cool tho.
If you open up the front panel flap on the SR7010, there is a 2 line display as noted below, although the GUI is also displayed on the TV as well for this model and the lower level models as well .....


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	2623
Size:	28.3 KB
ID:	879306  

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 08-10-2015 at 11:13 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #292 of 12466 Old 08-10-2015, 11:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 276
I know there is a flap,but I don't want that open all the time. I suppose I can hit info on the remote and it will show up on my tv like my Onkyo 818.
LowTech1 is offline  
post #293 of 12466 Old 08-10-2015, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 276
When do the Denon and Marantz receiver's come out?
LowTech1 is offline  
post #294 of 12466 Old 08-10-2015, 12:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,933
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23666 Post(s)
Liked: 13031
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
When do the Denon and Marantz receiver's come out?
The lower level D+M 2015 models have already been released to include the Marantz NR1606 and SR5010. The Marantz SR6010 and SR7010 and Denon X4200W, and X6200W should be released in September.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 08-13-2015 at 04:27 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #295 of 12466 Old 08-10-2015, 12:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Thanks JD..
LowTech1 is offline  
post #296 of 12466 Old 08-10-2015, 12:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
This is a good question. I do have Martin Logan ESL's. I do have an external 2 channel amp to run my height speakers. It would be better if I could run the heights off the Marantz and the ESL's off the external amp.. Also,isn't difficult to figure out what's going on with settings of your receiver with only a porthole to see from 12 ft away? Not sure I like that. Looks cool tho.
I was in 2 minds about the port-hole design prior to buying a SR6008. I wanted more display size surely!?

How wrong I was, I love the port-hole design now. When you're watching a movie or listening to music why do you want an intrusive display anyway ? You'd only be turning it on and off all the time.

With the on-screen display being far far easier to setup the unit, I haven't missed a normal sized display once.
Richard Nutman is offline  
post #297 of 12466 Old 08-10-2015, 12:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 276
I suppose you would get used to it. When I'm listening to music,the display on my Onk 818 doesn't bother me,but I can put it into pure direct and it shuts off the display if it bothered me..
LowTech1 is offline  
post #298 of 12466 Old 08-10-2015, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,933
Mentioned: 799 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23666 Post(s)
Liked: 13031
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
I suppose you would get used to it. When I'm listening to music,the display on my Onk 818 doesn't bother me,but I can put it into pure direct and it shuts off the display if it bothered me..
This is true, but then you would also disable Audyssey and bass management in the process.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #299 of 12466 Old 08-10-2015, 12:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Ack! Your right.. I forgot about that.. Good thing is doesn't bother me..
LowTech1 is offline  
post #300 of 12466 Old 08-10-2015, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1850 Post(s)
Liked: 652
^ If you have an iDevice an app called DeRemote will provide a lot more information than what's shown on the 2 line front display. As the iDevice is nearby, it will be far more legible than the 2 line display that's further away.

DeRemote also allows control of the Marantz receiver.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7010 , av7702mkii , hdmi marantz nr1506 , Marantz , marantz 7702 256gb ssd , marantz sr5010 , no sound , nr1506 , NR1606 , SR5010 , sr6010 , sr7010 , subwoofer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off