*Official* Marantz 2015 NR-1506/1606, SR-5010/6010/7010 & AV7702mkII owner's thread - Page 143 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12651Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4261 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mashie Saldana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 2,365
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1318 Post(s)
Liked: 1168
Quote:
Originally Posted by epony View Post
I'm wondering if I could set up a system based on a Marantz SR xx10 model (I currently own the 7007, but looking to upgrade to an Atmos setup) and a miniDSP DDRC-88A, without investing in active speakers or power amps.

In other words, can I rely on a path that would push an Atmos signal to the Marantz over HDMI, then out to the 88A for Dirac Live calibration, and then back into the Marantz through its analog 7.1 multichannel inputs to be powered and fed to my (passive) speakers?

Atmos Source >>> HDMI >>> Marantz xx10 >>> 7.1 Preouts >>> DDRC-88A >>> 7.1 INPUTS >>> Marantz xx10 >>> Speakers

Thanks in advance for you consideration and reply!
You can't send the pre-outs to the line in on the same AVR, however if you still have that 7007 you could do this:

Atmos Source >>> HDMI >>> Marantz 7010 >>> 7.1 Preouts >>> DDRC-88A >>> 7.1 INPUTS >>> Marantz 7007 >>> Speakers

That would get you Dirac Live for the bed channels and you can then use the internal amps of the 7010 to drive the height speakers. The only thing to remmeber there is to add 20-25ms delay for the heights to compensate for the delay introduced by the 88A.

Tower Cinema - 9.1.6 in a 12'x12' room
Input : Nvidia Shield TV, Panasonic DMP-UB400
Magic : Marantz SR7010, Marantz SR6010, 2x NAD T743
Output : Panasonic TX65EZ952B, SVS PB13 Ultra, Monitor Audio GSLCR 2xGS20 2xGS10 4xGSFX 6xBX1
Mashie Saldana is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4262 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 04:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by landonsdad View Post
I think he means you are using your own ext amps for the mains.

If you do not use the FR/C/LF internal amps of the 7010 for the FR/C/FL , they are useless amps. They can not run other channels of info.

So now you have 6 internal amps left to use. So you will need a 2 channel amp to use 8 more speakers. Many are using $100 amps from Amazon for this.

You can do 5.2.4 or 7.2.2 as is. 7.2.4 would need a 2 channel amp.
No that is not true, the FL and FR amps can be used for the height 2 speaker posts. So you can use 8 amps from the 7010.
DLCPhoto likes this.

Steve - Blogger at http://www.nextgenhometheater.com
Home Theater: Marantz SR7010 7.2.4 - Emotiva XPA-5/Outlaw 770 - KEF Q Series 2017 Speakers - SVS PB2000 Subs - JVC DLA-X550R - Samsung UBD-K8500
Living Room: Denon S710W 5.2.1 - KEF/Polk Speakers/Sub - LG OLED65C7P - XBox One X
SteveTheGeek is offline  
post #4263 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 04:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,099
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23202 Post(s)
Liked: 12731
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveTheGeek View Post
No that is not true, the FL and FR amps can be used for the height 2 speaker posts. So you can use 8 amps from the 7010.
He is indeed correct. Unlike the flagship Denon X7200WA which can reassign the FL/FR speaker posts to any other speakers, this is not the case for any other Denon or Marantz model. Rather, there are 11 speaker posts which includes dedicated Height 1/2 speaker posts, so on the SR7010 if the FL/C/FR speakers are externally amped, you can still use 8 of the on board amps of the SR7010 to power other speakers but you must use their dedicated speaker posts.
DLCPhoto likes this.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 04-14-2016 at 04:52 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4264 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 05:02 PM
Member
 
suixt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: London UK
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Got my 6010 but I am struggling to passthrough DTS audio. No matter what I've tried so far, the input signal is always set to PCM.
My set up is pc-->hdmi-->avr
would really appreciate some tips Got my 6010 but I am struggling to passthrough DTS audio. No matter what I've tried so far, the input signal is always set to PCM. My set up is pd-->hdmi-->avr

Could you please offer some tips?

Got my 6010 but I am struggling to passthrough DTS audio. No matter what I've tried so far, the input signal is always set to PCM. My set up is pd-->hdmi-->avr

Could you please offer some tips?
suixt is offline  
post #4265 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 05:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
cswiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by suixt View Post
Got my 6010 but I am struggling to passthrough DTS audio. No matter what I've tried so far, the input signal is always set to PCM.
My set up is pc-->hdmi-->avr
would really appreciate some tips
Your message was a bit duplicated, but in order to bitstream DTS, your player and audio drivers need to support that.

Installing the LAV audio filters and using a player like VLC or Daum PotPlayer is likely to help; start here:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=156191
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-hom...tup-guide.html

Primary (2.1): Thiel CS 1.2 / Velodyne F1000 sub / Adcom GFA-555 Mk2 / Rotel 970BX / Sony CDP-CA9 ES
Secondary (5.1): Paradigm Mini-Monitor v.3 / CC270 v.3 center / ADP-170 v.2 surrounds /
SVS SB1000 sub / Marantz SR-6010 / AppleTV + Win7 PC / BenQ BL3200PT
cswiger is offline  
post #4266 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
mark754's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Has anyone here had a chance to compare the sound quality of a NR14xx/16xx receiver to a Marantz integrated amp, either the PM5005 or PM6005?

I'm looking to buy a Marantz receiver or amp that'll be used exclusively for music. Having a receiver would of course offer more flexibility than an amp (Audessey, more inputs, the option to go 3.1 for use with a tv, etc.), but I know that the integrated amp would be preferable for sound quality, which is my top priority. I'm wondering however, how much difference there would actually be (apart from power differences), since the NR receivers also get great reviews on sound quality.

Thanks.
mark754 is offline  
post #4267 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 06:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Back in Asia for now
Posts: 3,680
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1737 Post(s)
Liked: 907
IMO the rule of thumb is an AVR has the SQ of a stereo amp that is about 2-3 times lower in price..
petetherock is offline  
post #4268 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 06:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,099
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23202 Post(s)
Liked: 12731
Quote:
Originally Posted by petetherock View Post
IMO the rule of thumb is an AVR has the SQ of a stereo amp that is about 2-3 times lower in price..
Yup. Pretty much would agree with that.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4269 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 06:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,099
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23202 Post(s)
Liked: 12731
Quote:
Originally Posted by suixt View Post
Got my 6010 but I am struggling to passthrough DTS audio. No matter what I've tried so far, the input signal is always set to PCM.
My set up is pc-->hdmi-->avr
would really appreciate some tips Got my 6010 but I am struggling to passthrough DTS audio. No matter what I've tried so far, the input signal is always set to PCM. My set up is pd-->hdmi-->avr

Could you please offer some tips?

Got my 6010 but I am struggling to passthrough DTS audio. No matter what I've tried so far, the input signal is always set to PCM. My set up is pd-->hdmi-->avr

Could you please offer some tips?
If the input signal is PCM it means the source device is passing PCM and not bitstream audio. Your issue is the result of the setting of your PC.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4270 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 06:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Luke M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark754 View Post
Has anyone here had a chance to compare the sound quality of a NR14xx/16xx receiver to a Marantz integrated amp, either the PM5005 or PM6005?

I'm looking to buy a Marantz receiver or amp that'll be used exclusively for music. Having a receiver would of course offer more flexibility than an amp (Audessey, more inputs, the option to go 3.1 for use with a tv, etc.), but I know that the integrated amp would be preferable for sound quality, which is my top priority. I'm wondering however, how much difference there would actually be (apart from power differences), since the NR receivers also get great reviews on sound quality.
There's room for improvement in the 1606, since it has audible hiss when Audessy is used. It doesn't sound bad, but it's lacking in the signal-to-noise ratio department.
Luke M is offline  
post #4271 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 07:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 3
How can you tell the difference between "New" and "B" stock on a SR6010 or SR7010.
LedBizkit is offline  
post #4272 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 07:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1849 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by epony View Post
I'm wondering if I could set up a system based on a Marantz SR xx10 model (I currently own the 7007, but looking to upgrade to an Atmos setup) and a miniDSP DDRC-88A, without investing in active speakers or power amps.

In other words, can I rely on a path that would push an Atmos signal to the Marantz over HDMI, then out to the 88A for Dirac Live calibration, and then back into the Marantz through its analog 7.1 multichannel inputs to be powered and fed to my (passive) speakers?

Atmos Source >>> HDMI >>> Marantz xx10 >>> 7.1 Preouts >>> DDRC-88A >>> 7.1 INPUTS >>> Marantz xx10 >>> Speakers

Thanks in advance for you consideration and reply!
Hi epony,

The loop back arrangement on the SR-xx10 series you're thinking of might not work.

The number channels the DDRC-88A is limited to 8, so while it will cover the floor level speakers (including the subs), you'll need a second unit if you want to have Dirac Live correction filters for the Atmos ceiling speakers (4 numbers). There is also the issue of time aligning two DDRC-88A units. A guide has been written up to do this if you're interested.

Also going with four ceiling speakers means getting an external amp.

As Mashie Saldana suggested, you can re-purpose the existing SR-7007 as an external amp for the DDRC-88A and use the internal amps of the SR-7010 to power the Atmos ceiling speakers. This will get the 7.1.4 Atmos setup. Note that in this arrangement, the ceiling speakers would be uncorrected. The levels and delays can still be setup up, but no Audyssey or Dirac Live filters will be applied.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.

Last edited by steveting99; 04-14-2016 at 11:48 PM. Reason: typo and additional text
steveting99 is offline  
post #4273 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 07:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
cswiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by LedBizkit View Post
How can you tell the difference between "New" and "B" stock on a SR6010 or SR7010.
"B" stock is either a return, possibly with minor scratches or other cosmetic blemishes, or a refurb which should be repaired or restored to like-new condition, and should come with the full warranty that is offered with new product.

Primary (2.1): Thiel CS 1.2 / Velodyne F1000 sub / Adcom GFA-555 Mk2 / Rotel 970BX / Sony CDP-CA9 ES
Secondary (5.1): Paradigm Mini-Monitor v.3 / CC270 v.3 center / ADP-170 v.2 surrounds /
SVS SB1000 sub / Marantz SR-6010 / AppleTV + Win7 PC / BenQ BL3200PT
cswiger is offline  
post #4274 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 09:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 8,292
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 715 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by cswiger View Post
"B" stock is either a return, possibly with minor scratches or other cosmetic blemishes, or a refurb which should be repaired or restored to like-new condition, and should come with the full warranty that is offered with new product.
Up here in Canuckistan, Marantz B-stock SRx010 (returned items) comes with a 1-year warranty, not the usual 3-year warranty of the SR line.
2Turbofan likes this.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #4275 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 09:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
cswiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuGsArEtAsTy View Post
Up here in Canuckistan, Marantz B-stock SRx010 (returned items) comes with a 1-year warranty, not the usual 3-year warranty of the SR line.
Hmm, interesting. Is that B-stock sold from an authorized Marantz reseller, or grey market?

Grey market tends to have shorter warranties, but authorized resellers should be offering like-new warranty coverage.

Primary (2.1): Thiel CS 1.2 / Velodyne F1000 sub / Adcom GFA-555 Mk2 / Rotel 970BX / Sony CDP-CA9 ES
Secondary (5.1): Paradigm Mini-Monitor v.3 / CC270 v.3 center / ADP-170 v.2 surrounds /
SVS SB1000 sub / Marantz SR-6010 / AppleTV + Win7 PC / BenQ BL3200PT
cswiger is offline  
post #4276 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 09:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 8,292
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 715 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by cswiger View Post
Hmm, interesting. Is that B-stock sold from an authorized Marantz reseller, or grey market?

Grey market tends to have shorter warranties, but authorized resellers should be offering like-new warranty coverage.
Authorized Marantz dealer. The warranty is from Marantz BTW, not the store. But then again lots of things are different in Canada. For example, Denon's X*200W line has a 2-year warranty here for new units, whereas in the US it's 3 years.

OTOH, I will also point out that B-stock Denon units in the US are also just 1 year warranty, just like B-stock Denon in Canada.

See here: http://assets.denon.com/DocumentMast...S-Dec11_04.pdf

I couldn't find a similar document for B-stock Marantz in the US though.

Last edited by BuGsArEtAsTy; 04-13-2016 at 09:39 PM.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #4277 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 09:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by cswiger View Post
"B" stock is either a return, possibly with minor scratches or other cosmetic blemishes, or a refurb which should be repaired or restored to like-new condition, and should come with the full warranty that is offered with new product.

Yes I know what it is......sorry I should have clarified my question lol.

Is there a sticker confirming "B" stock on the unit or a different set of serial numbers? I have a chance to pick up a second unit for my house but I want to know how to verify which version it is

Thanks
LedBizkit is offline  
post #4278 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
 
landonsdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveTheGeek View Post
No that is not true, the FL and FR amps can be used for the height 2 speaker posts. So you can use 8 amps from the 7010.
I will delete my post so as not to confuse anyone. I have been told this and read this here, so that is where I got my facts. This is good to know because my question was I wanted more amp for my fronts for music. So I should be able to do this now.
SteveTheGeek likes this.
landonsdad is offline  
post #4279 of 12393 Old 04-13-2016, 09:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
cswiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by LedBizkit View Post
Yes I know what it is......sorry I should have clarified my question lol.

Is there a sticker confirming "B" stock on the unit or a different set of serial numbers? I have a chance to pick up a second unit for my house but I want to know how to verify which version it is

Thanks
I've never had a refurb'ed D+M product, but standard practice for repair returns where they swap out the unit and for B-stock, (C-stock, etc) is to place a sticker on the product near the model plate and serial # stating "Refurbished Product".

Every once in a while, I've seen a refurb issued a new serial #, but that's uncommon and probably indicates a unit which extensively rebuilt from cannibalized parts.

Primary (2.1): Thiel CS 1.2 / Velodyne F1000 sub / Adcom GFA-555 Mk2 / Rotel 970BX / Sony CDP-CA9 ES
Secondary (5.1): Paradigm Mini-Monitor v.3 / CC270 v.3 center / ADP-170 v.2 surrounds /
SVS SB1000 sub / Marantz SR-6010 / AppleTV + Win7 PC / BenQ BL3200PT
cswiger is offline  
post #4280 of 12393 Old 04-14-2016, 02:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,099
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23202 Post(s)
Liked: 12731
Quote:
Originally Posted by cswiger View Post
"B" stock is either a return, possibly with minor scratches or other cosmetic blemishes, or a refurb which should be repaired or restored to like-new condition, and should come with the full warranty that is offered with new product.
A "refurbished" unit sold by an authorized Marantz dealer only gets a 1 year warranty vice the 3 year warranty featured on actual "new" units.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4281 of 12393 Old 04-14-2016, 04:16 AM
Member
 
suixt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: London UK
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
cool, thanks. I will try that and let you know!
suixt is offline  
post #4282 of 12393 Old 04-14-2016, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Newbie789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by suixt View Post
Got my 6010 but I am struggling to passthrough DTS audio. No matter what I've tried so far, the input signal is always set to PCM.
My set up is pc-->hdmi-->avr
would really appreciate some tips Got my 6010 but I am struggling to passthrough DTS audio. No matter what I've tried so far, the input signal is always set to PCM. My set up is pd-->hdmi-->avr

Could you please offer some tips?

Got my 6010 but I am struggling to passthrough DTS audio. No matter what I've tried so far, the input signal is always set to PCM. My set up is pd-->hdmi-->avr

Could you please offer some tips?


For my windows 10 NUC pc I needed the cccp codec pac. In Windows 7 LAV filters with ffdshow worked fine but when I upgraded, DTS out did not work anymore.

I switched to cccp project codec pac and I have no issues. Also when you install cccp make sure to install their version of media player classic because the native Windows 10 did not support DTS ... It would play the video but had no audio.
Newbie789 is offline  
post #4283 of 12393 Old 04-14-2016, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Trojita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Any rumblings or word on when the successors to the 6010/7010 might be announced or come out?
Trojita is offline  
post #4284 of 12393 Old 04-14-2016, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,099
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23202 Post(s)
Liked: 12731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojita View Post
Any rumblings or word on when the successors to the 6010/7010 might be announced or come out?
Likely announced in July/Aug and released Aug/Sep.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4285 of 12393 Old 04-14-2016, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
2Turbofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by LedBizkit View Post
Yes I know what it is......sorry I should have clarified my question lol.

Is there a sticker confirming "B" stock on the unit or a different set of serial numbers? I have a chance to pick up a second unit for my house but I want to know how to verify which version it is

Thanks
My "B" stock SR5010 looked brand new with all the decals and no finger prints. The only blemish I see is the IR sensor mount protudes slightly from the face plate. (Bent outwards). It probably failed quality control. Works perfectly fine but only has a one year warranty instead of three years. I saved about $300 and purchased from authorized dealer.

LG OLED 65B7 Marantz SR7010 AVR
Sony FDR-AX100 4K Camcorder, SONY RX10M4 Camera, NIKON D500, Nikon Z6, 55HU8550,
SEK-3500, DMP-U820, Oppo 203, Sony X800, iScan Mini,
Harmony ONE Remote + Harmony Ultra Home
2Turbofan is offline  
post #4286 of 12393 Old 04-14-2016, 12:46 PM
Member
 
gidgiddonihah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by LedBizkit View Post
Yes I know what it is......sorry I should have clarified my question lol.

Is there a sticker confirming "B" stock on the unit or a different set of serial numbers? I have a chance to pick up a second unit for my house but I want to know how to verify which version it is

Thanks
Unfortunately my experience with Marantz B-Stock is not so great. A4L sent me my original SR5008 and replaced it within a few days (both B-Stock). After that one died in a week, Marantz upgraded me to a B-Stock SR5009 and had to send a replacement 5009 within a month. 5 minutes of use and the 4rth Marantz product died on me. After chatting with cooperate for a few days over email I agreed to pay $250 to get a brand new SR5010 shipped to me which is what I have now. Crossing my fingers it continues to work.

Not trying to convince you to steer clear of refurbs but thought you should know.

All the B-Stock receivers were clearly labeled 'B-SR50XX' on the product box. All were cosmetically in perfect condition. I don't think there was a notation on the receiver itself but you could always call Marantz and double check the serial number.

Sent from my LG-D850 using Tapatalk

Last edited by gidgiddonihah; 04-14-2016 at 04:06 PM.
gidgiddonihah is offline  
post #4287 of 12393 Old 04-14-2016, 02:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Any word on the HDMI 2.0a HDR update for the SR5010?
DustNavy is offline  
post #4288 of 12393 Old 04-14-2016, 04:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 85,099
Mentioned: 766 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23202 Post(s)
Liked: 12731
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustNavy View Post
Any word on the HDMI 2.0a HDR update for the SR5010?
The 2015 models were actually released with this feature fully capable.
Newbie789 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4289 of 12393 Old 04-14-2016, 09:09 PM
Member
 
gsrinivas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Remote programming

Hi, I am trying to configure Denon 6200 remote to operate my sony blu ray player. I tried all the preset codes but none of them worked.

I remember when i connected my receiver for the first time, I saw a prompt to configure external devices but i ignore it. How do i get that prompt again?

Speakers: Klipsch 2 x RF 82II, 1 x RC 62II, 2 x RS 54II, 2 x RS 42 II , 4 X Klipsch CDT 5800
Subwoofer: SVS PB 2000
AVR : Denon X6200W
Amplifier: AudioSource 100VS
gsrinivas is offline  
post #4290 of 12393 Old 04-14-2016, 09:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Dolby Issues SR-6010

Wondering if anyone else is having issues with Dolby decoding on SR-6010? Its inconsistent, but there are times when the center channel is muffled and/or completely cuts out. Happens with DirecTV as input (via HDMI) as well as Android TV & Fire TV using Netflix w/ DD+.

Have swapped cables, checked inputs, outputs, re-run cables to speakers, etc.

Unbelievably frustrating as it comes and goes.

Anyone else experience anything similar.
rtcjr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7010 , av7702mkii , hdmi marantz nr1506 , Marantz , marantz 7702 256gb ssd , marantz sr5010 , no sound , nr1506 , NR1606 , SR5010 , sr6010 , sr7010 , subwoofer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off