*Official* Marantz 2015 NR-1506/1606, SR-5010/6010/7010 & AV7702mkII owner's thread - Page 292 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12628Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8731 of 12286 Old 03-10-2017, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by smfins View Post
Won't i have to disable my ceiling speakers anytime i want to do this? Also, when disabling speakers after running audyysey doesn't that defeat the audyysey settings?
You'll only have to run Audyssey again if you add more speakers than were configured the previous time you ran Audyssey. Disabling and re-enabling the same speakers should not require a new run of Audyssey.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8732 of 12286 Old 03-10-2017, 07:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12288
Quote:
Originally Posted by smfins View Post
Won't i have to disable my ceiling speakers anytime i want to do this? Also, when disabling speakers after running audyysey doesn't that defeat the audyysey settings?
I said nothing about disabling speakers, rather you simply select the desired surround mode (ie. Dolby Digital - floor speakers only; Dolby Digital + Dolby Surround - floor + height speakers).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8733 of 12286 Old 03-10-2017, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,959
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1811 Post(s)
Liked: 490
LFE+Main

In the manual it says LFE+Main means: "The low range signal of all channels is added to the LFE signal output from the subwoofer." If I have my fronts set to Large then what would the "low range" be given that there is no crossover set?

I know LEF+Main is not the reccomended route but I'm missing serious midbass based on my subwoofer placement. So I figured this may be a way to rectify it despite "double bass"

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8734 of 12286 Old 03-10-2017, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
In the manual it says LFE+Main means: "The low range signal of all channels is added to the LFE signal output from the subwoofer." If I have my fronts set to Large then what would the "low range" be given that there is no crossover set?
The crossover frequency actually is set and is used for the subwoofer when +Main is selected. It's just not used for the Main speakers when they're designated as Large.

Quote:
I know LEF+Main is not the reccomended route but I'm missing serious midbass based on my subwoofer placement. So I figured this may be a way to rectify it despite "double bass"
If your seating is in a bass null due to subwoofer placement, it's usually for a very narrow frequency range related to one or more of the dimensions of your room. Setting the fronts to Large (and using the +Main setting) would add low frequencies over a relatively broad frequency range. Only you can determine if that actually provides any audible improvement in your room.
tjcinnamon and audiodane like this.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #8735 of 12286 Old 03-10-2017, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,959
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1811 Post(s)
Liked: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
The crossover frequency actually is set, but it's just not used for the Main speakers themselves when they're designated as Large.
Will everything under the crossover from my mains also be sent to the Subs? Sometimes there's not an LFE track.

Example: crossover is set to 80, fronts are set to large, no LFE track (.1)

Everything under 80 from all speakers goes to subs
Fronts get the full range


What I don't want to end up happening is that no LR (front) signal goes to the subs.

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #8736 of 12286 Old 03-10-2017, 10:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,959
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1811 Post(s)
Liked: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
If your seating is in a bass null due to subwoofer placement, it's usually for a very narrow frequency range related to one or more of the dimensions of your room. Setting the fronts to Large (and using the +Main setting) would add low frequencies over a relatively broad frequency range. Only you can determine if that actually provides any audible improvement in your room.
It's not at a null but given the size of the subs the signal "feels" weak. Also, given the size of the subs due to WAF, I cannot have them in the sweet spot which is next to my mains. They are tucked behind a sectional. If I walk up to the TV that is the actual sweet spot. So I get a decent signal at MLP BUT the best seat in the house is sitting on the TV

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #8737 of 12286 Old 03-10-2017, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
Will everything under the crossover from my mains also be sent to the Subs? Sometimes there's not an LFE track.

Example: crossover is set to 80, fronts are set to large, no LFE track (.1)

Everything under 80 from all speakers goes to subs
Fronts get the full range
Yup, that's what's supposed to happen: bass below their crossovers is redirected from "Small" speaker channels to the subwoofer output, and bass below the Mains' crossover frequency is copied from the front L&R speaker channels to the subwoofer. It doesn't matter whether or not there's any LFE signal.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #8738 of 12286 Old 03-10-2017, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,959
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1811 Post(s)
Liked: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Yup, that's what's supposed to happen: bass below their crossovers is redirected from "Small" speaker channels to the subwoofer output, and bass below the Mains' crossover frequency is copied from the front L&R speaker channels to the subwoofer. It doesn't matter whether or not there's any LFE signal.
excellent! double bass here I come!

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #8739 of 12286 Old 03-10-2017, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
smfins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
I said nothing about disabling speakers, rather you simply select the desired surround mode (ie. Dolby Digital - floor speakers only; Dolby Digital + Dolby Surround - floor + height speakers).
Right,I understand that, however when a two channel input signal is received, the only options are Stereo ,Dolby Surround ,DTS Neural X ,Multi Channel Stereo and Virtual. In the past Dolby Surround would just utilize the L/C/R and RS/LS Now it utilizes all 9 speakers.
smfins is offline  
post #8740 of 12286 Old 03-11-2017, 05:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12288
Quote:
Originally Posted by smfins View Post
Right,I understand that, however when a two channel input signal is received, the only options are Stereo ,Dolby Surround ,DTS Neural X ,Multi Channel Stereo and Virtual. In the past Dolby Surround would just utilize the L/C/R and RS/LS Now it utilizes all 9 speakers.
Ah, then yes, for 2CH audio you would have to use a simulator which would apply to all speakers, except when using the Multi CH Stereo in which you can set the Surround Parameter = Floor only.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8741 of 12286 Old 03-11-2017, 02:03 PM
Member
 
jmbissell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Marantz NR1506 Powers Off w/ TV

Just purchased a new NR1506 to replace a Denon AVR-591.

I have one annoying problem in that the NR1506 powers off when I power off my Sharp HDTV. Powering on the TV does not power on the Marantz. This happens whether I use the Power button on the TiVo remote or the Power Off on my Harmony 650.

The TV is an eight year-old Sharp.
Any ideas on whether this can be fixed?
jmbissell is offline  
post #8742 of 12286 Old 03-11-2017, 04:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12288
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmbissell View Post
Just purchased a new NR1506 to replace a Denon AVR-591.

I have one annoying problem in that the NR1506 powers off when I power off my Sharp HDTV. Powering on the TV does not power on the Marantz. This happens whether I use the Power button on the TiVo remote or the Power Off on my Harmony 650.

The TV is an eight year-old Sharp.
Any ideas on whether this can be fixed?

Yup. Set Pow.Off Control (p. 147 Owner's manual) to OFF on the NR1506.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8743 of 12286 Old 03-11-2017, 08:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Back in Asia for now
Posts: 3,649
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1713 Post(s)
Liked: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by smfins View Post
Won't i have to disable my ceiling speakers anytime i want to do this? Also, when disabling speakers after running audyysey doesn't that defeat the audyysey settings?
If you switch off some of the speakers, it doesn't affect the Audyssey for the other speakers, unless you turn off the sub.
petetherock is offline  
post #8744 of 12286 Old 03-12-2017, 06:51 AM
Member
 
jmbissell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yup. Set Pow.Off Control (p. 147 Owner's manual) to OFF on the NR1506.
Thanks, that worked. There are almost too many options/defaults to keep with.
The TV doesn't support HDMI control functions so perhaps I should just keep HDMI Control off as well.
jmbissell is offline  
post #8745 of 12286 Old 03-12-2017, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
EricST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I have updated my entire HT , now I'm saving for a new receiver and have decided to go with the Marantz 6011 I'm really looking forward to getting it.

60" Samsung KS-8000
Oppo 203 UHBD
Denon X6300H eceiver
PSB X series 7.2.4
SVS Dual PB-1000
SVS Prime Elevation
EricST is offline  
post #8746 of 12286 Old 03-12-2017, 04:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Looking to purchase the Marantz NR105 - I currently have a Denon model but I am having issues with dynamic range - it's too high, no matter how perfectly my speakers are set up. I'm not looking for any advice regarding speaker position etc as this is not my issue; I don't like my volume loud as I live in flats.

With this in mind can anybody advise specifically if the Audyssey Dynamic Volume on the NR105 makes a significant difference to dynamic range when set to high? (Or whatever the scale is on this model). Not interested in improving my audio quality as such as I am happy with my speakers, just want to be able to hear dialog and not be blown away by action sequences when watching Blurays. I have neighbours to think about and find that I just can't enjoy blu-rays anymore.
theonematt is offline  
post #8747 of 12286 Old 03-12-2017, 10:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
audiodane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Hmm.. so how does this airplay stuff work? I'm using wired connection to AV7702mkII ... playing some music on iPhone 5S and selecting AirPlay but nothing happens.. just stuck "looking for apple tv" ... Surely I'm missing the obvious somewhere? AVR has wireless disabled and using wired ethernet. Both connected to same subnet...

Is airplay Bluetooth only or can it be done over a LAN?

cheers,
..dane
audiodane is offline  
post #8748 of 12286 Old 03-13-2017, 05:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12288
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiodane View Post
Hmm.. so how does this airplay stuff work? I'm using wired connection to AV7702mkII ... playing some music on iPhone 5S and selecting AirPlay but nothing happens.. just stuck "looking for apple tv" ... Surely I'm missing the obvious somewhere? AVR has wireless disabled and using wired ethernet. Both connected to same subnet...

Is airplay Bluetooth only or can it be done over a LAN?

cheers,
..dane
Unless you are streaming to an Apple TV connected to the AVP, you should just have to select the Airplay icon on iTunes and it should stream to the AVP. As long as other networking is working (eg. internet radio) then Airplay should work as well. Airplay is a "wireless" streaming service (not Bluetooth).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8749 of 12286 Old 03-13-2017, 06:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 13,518
Mentioned: 240 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5472 Post(s)
Liked: 4972
Airplay works over wired ethernet or wireless. So technically it is a LAN streaming service.
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #8750 of 12286 Old 03-13-2017, 07:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by theonematt View Post
Looking to purchase the Marantz NR105 - I currently have a Denon model but I am having issues with dynamic range - it's too high, no matter how perfectly my speakers are set up. I'm not looking for any advice regarding speaker position etc as this is not my issue; I don't like my volume loud as I live in flats.

With this in mind can anybody advise specifically if the Audyssey Dynamic Volume on the NR105 makes a significant difference to dynamic range when set to high? (Or whatever the scale is on this model). Not interested in improving my audio quality as such as I am happy with my speakers, just want to be able to hear dialog and not be blown away by action sequences when watching Blurays. I have neighbours to think about and find that I just can't enjoy blu-rays anymore.
Dynamic Volume does make a significant difference.

However... Audyssey's Dynamic Volume is the same in all equipment which provides it. Denon and Marantz have identical implementations. If your current Denon provides it, switching to Marantz won't make any difference.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #8751 of 12286 Old 03-13-2017, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
audiodane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Unless you are streaming to an Apple TV connected to the AVP, you should just have to select the Airplay icon on iTunes and it should stream to the AVP. As long as other networking is working (eg. internet radio) then Airplay should work as well. Airplay is a "wireless" streaming service (not Bluetooth).


Hmm.. you said iTunes.. Just playing from the music app on my iPhone and select "airplay" should work, yes? It doesn't ever seem to find the AVR ... Networking is fine, I can see the AVR through my laptop over the router's wifi (AVR is setup for wired only). I will keep investigating. I have big plans for airplay, if I can ever get it working ...


cheers,
..dane
audiodane is offline  
post #8752 of 12286 Old 03-13-2017, 08:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
audiodane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiodane View Post
Hmm.. you said iTunes.. Just playing from the music app on my iPhone and select "airplay" should work, yes? It doesn't ever seem to find the AVR ... Networking is fine, I can see the AVR through my laptop over the router's wifi (AVR is setup for wired only). I will keep investigating. I have big plans for airplay, if I can ever get it working ...
Huh, well, it seems that on my iPhoneSE, the Pandora app can airplay to the AVR (yay!) ... my wife's 6S Plus? "AirPlay: Unable to connect to 'Marantz AV7702mkII'".

Boo.

No idea why.

..dane
audiodane is offline  
post #8753 of 12286 Old 03-13-2017, 10:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Back in Asia for now
Posts: 3,649
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1713 Post(s)
Liked: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiodane View Post
Hmm.. you said iTunes.. Just playing from the music app on my iPhone and select "airplay" should work, yes? It doesn't ever seem to find the AVR ... Networking is fine, I can see the AVR through my laptop over the router's wifi (AVR is setup for wired only). I will keep investigating. I have big plans for airplay, if I can ever get it working ...


cheers,
..dane
Is your AVR on the same wifi network as your phone? If not, your phone won't find it..
Try using the wifi antenna and switch to wireless and see if it works?
petetherock is offline  
post #8754 of 12286 Old 03-13-2017, 11:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 13,518
Mentioned: 240 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5472 Post(s)
Liked: 4972
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiodane View Post
Huh, well, it seems that on my iPhoneSE, the Pandora app can airplay to the AVR (yay!) ... my wife's 6S Plus? "AirPlay: Unable to connect to 'Marantz AV7702mkII'".

Boo.

No idea why.

..dane
Whenever our "iDevices" lose sight of AirPlay devices we have to power cycle. Not so much a big deal any longer since we rarely use Airplay now. We added Heos via Heos Links and a Heos Amp.
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #8755 of 12286 Old 03-14-2017, 05:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
audiodane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by petetherock View Post
Is your AVR on the same wifi network as your phone? If not, your phone won't find it..
Try using the wifi antenna and switch to wireless and see if it works?
All devices on same network. Funny thing is, both phones "see" the "Marantz AVR7702mkII" in the drop-down list when you hit airplay. Hit it on mine, the phone kind of pauses then starts playing over AVR.. Her phone never pauses... it's as if you selected "iPhone" for playback instead of AVR ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
Whenever our "iDevices" lose sight of AirPlay devices we have to power cycle. Not so much a big deal any longer since we rarely use Airplay now. We added Heos via Heos Links and a Heos Amp.
Power cycle the phone(s), or the AVR? And if the AVR, then by power cycle do you mean go into standby and then turn back on, or pull the power cord for 10 minutes? In my phone's case, my phone will actually wake up the AVR from standby (though it won't go back to standby when I'm done, unfortunately). I will do some more testing tonight based on this feedback and post back...

cheers,
..dane
audiodane is offline  
post #8756 of 12286 Old 03-14-2017, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
ANRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Has anyone tried to use their AV7702mkII with Roon ?

Any knowledge if Marantz is planning to support RAAT ?
ANRE is offline  
post #8757 of 12286 Old 03-14-2017, 09:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,329
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2726 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
They aren't making feature updates like that to this generation of gear.
nathan_h is offline  
post #8758 of 12286 Old 03-14-2017, 11:49 AM
Member
 
dkbks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Audyssey issue:

I recently added 2 Dolby Atmos speakers and had a quiet day (its snowing) to re-run Audyssey. Twice during the setup. the receiver, Marantz SR5010, shut down (usually about the 5th or 6th position.) After the second time, I changed the settings on the AVR from 8 ohms to 6. Still failed. I then did a manual setup setting the distances and doing my best to match with the test tones. All speakers are working.

Suggestions?

LG 55C6P
Marantz SR5010
ELAC F5; C5; B6 Surrounds; A4 Atmos (2); Hsu Research VTF-1 MK3
Oppo UDP-203; Roku Premium+; Fire TV; Adcom 535 amp; Chromecast Audio
Sonograph SG3 'table
dkbks is offline  
post #8759 of 12286 Old 03-14-2017, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,992
Mentioned: 739 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22581 Post(s)
Liked: 12288
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkbks View Post
Audyssey issue:

I recently added 2 Dolby Atmos speakers and had a quiet day (its snowing) to re-run Audyssey. Twice during the setup. the receiver, Marantz SR5010, shut down (usually about the 5th or 6th position.) After the second time, I changed the settings on the AVR from 8 ohms to 6. Still failed. I then did a manual setup setting the distances and doing my best to match with the test tones. All speakers are working.

Suggestions?
First, never change the impedance from the default setting of 8-ohm as you simply limit the power even more.
Second, check your speaker wire connections to ensure there are no loose strands from one post touching another post.
Third, setting the distance and volume is in addition to what Audyssey does when it EQs the speakers.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8760 of 12286 Old 03-15-2017, 01:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
rolldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 602 Post(s)
Liked: 204
jdsmoothie,

Any ideas if the Marantz AV7703 is going to be the only model released this year? I've been using an SR7010 with an Outlaw 5 channel amplifier for a 7.1.4 setup, and I just found a deal on a Sunfire TGA-7401 7 channel 400W amplifier. So, now I'd finally like to move from the AV receiver world to the world of separates. I'd like to find a pre/pro to replace my 7010. How does the new 7703 compare with the 8802?
rolldog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7010 , av7702mkii , hdmi marantz nr1506 , Marantz , marantz 7702 256gb ssd , marantz sr5010 , no sound , nr1506 , NR1606 , SR5010 , sr6010 , sr7010 , subwoofer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off