*Official* Marantz 2015 NR-1506/1606, SR-5010/6010/7010 & AV7702mkII owner's thread - Page 321 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12682Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9601 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 02:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
As noted in post 7 of this thread, there are 3 different resets. Try doing the "Discrete network chip only" reset instead.
Thanks jd for such a quick response. I just tried the reset, got a few reset messages on the display in the marantz. Unfortunately the same problem is still there. Guess I should try the microprocessor and network resets now?

On a side note, my airplay has also stopped working on the Marantz. Again the 7702mkii gets listed in the speaker list on the iphone, but gets an error on trying to connect.

Thanks again for your help.
carlthess40 likes this.
Austinminton1956 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9602 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 02:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,633
Mentioned: 854 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24671 Post(s)
Liked: 13884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austinminton1956 View Post
Thanks jd for such a quick response. I just tried the reset, got a few reset messages on the display in the marantz. Unfortunately the same problem is still there. Guess I should try the microprocessor and network resets now?

On a side note, my airplay has also stopped working on the Marantz. Again the 7702mkii gets listed in the speaker list on the iphone, but gets an error on trying to connect.

Thanks again for your help.
There may be an issue with the firmware then. Try downloading the update listed on the Marantz Product Updates webpage (most likely the previous version) to a USB thumb drive and install it.

http://us.marantz.com/us/support/pag...ctupdates.aspx
Austinminton1956 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9603 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 03:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
There may be an issue with the firmware then. Try downloading the update listed on the Marantz Product Updates webpage (most likely the previous version) to a USB thumb drive and install it.

http://us.marantz.com/us/support/pag...ctupdates.aspx
Thanks jd. I didnt know the update could be rolled back. Will try it now and get back on the results.
Austinminton1956 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9604 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 03:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Back in Asia for now
Posts: 3,742
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1775 Post(s)
Liked: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Strange though that he would list all of the 2015 D+M models separately though so I contacted my D+M rep and it turns out that yes, they have decided to update all of the 2015 D+M models with the DV + HLG update as well by the end of 2017/early 2018.

Thank you JD, thank you D&M..
petetherock is offline  
post #9605 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 03:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,989
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6261 Post(s)
Liked: 9117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newbie789 View Post
Does anyone have issues getting 4:4:4 color from their xbox one s to their sr6010. I can only get 4:2:0 hdr to my sr6010 from my Xbox one s?

The xbox shows I can do [email protected] with 8 bit color.

I'm using a Sony xbr940d.
This is normally because the TV defaults to the safe, compatible, HDMI1.4a EDID mode. You need to change the TV to send the HDMI2.0a EDID.

From https://www.cnet.com/forums/discussi...and-hdr-notes/

"activate the "HDMI Enhanced" function on the input I used (to do so, from the Home menu scroll down to Settings -> External Inputs -> HDMI Signal Format -> Select Enhanced). This is the equivalent of the "HDMI UHD Color" setting on Samsung TVs and "HDMI Ultra HD Deep Color" on LG TVs.

According to Sony, "HDMI Enhanced enables the HDMI2.0a compatibility mode. Some legacy HDMI devices don??t understand the HDMI2.0a EDID so all TVs need to ship with legacy HDMI1.4a EDID by default." (On the 2016 LG UH8500, a little pop-up reminds you to engage the setting. It would be nice if Sony and others followed suit.)"

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #9606 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 05:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Newbie789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
This is normally because the TV defaults to the safe, compatible, HDMI1.4a EDID mode. You need to change the TV to send the HDMI2.0a EDID.



From https://www.cnet.com/forums/discussi...and-hdr-notes/



"activate the "HDMI Enhanced" function on the input I used (to do so, from the Home menu scroll down to Settings -> External Inputs -> HDMI Signal Format -> Select Enhanced). This is the equivalent of the "HDMI UHD Color" setting on Samsung TVs and "HDMI Ultra HD Deep Color" on LG TVs.



According to Sony, "HDMI Enhanced enables the HDMI2.0a compatibility mode. Some legacy HDMI devices don??t understand the HDMI2.0a EDID so all TVs need to ship with legacy HDMI1.4a EDID by default." (On the 2016 LG UH8500, a little pop-up reminds you to engage the setting. It would be nice if Sony and others followed suit.)"


Thanks
Do I need to do any settings on the marantz?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Newbie789 is offline  
post #9607 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 05:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
There may be an issue with the firmware then. Try downloading the update listed on the Marantz Product Updates webpage (most likely the previous version) to a USB thumb drive and install it.

http://us.marantz.com/us/support/pag...ctupdates.aspx
Its been over 2 hours now since I started the usb update. There is spinning wheel with Please wait.... Checking update files on TV and Please Wait... UpdateFileCheck on the marantz display. Is that normal please? Should I just leave it like this for a few more hours? I haven't done a usb update before on a Marantz, usually its over network and takes a lot less time.

Thanks.
Austinminton1956 is offline  
post #9608 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 06:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Newbie789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
This is normally because the TV defaults to the safe, compatible, HDMI1.4a EDID mode. You need to change the TV to send the HDMI2.0a EDID.



From https://www.cnet.com/forums/discussi...and-hdr-notes/



"activate the "HDMI Enhanced" function on the input I used (to do so, from the Home menu scroll down to Settings -> External Inputs -> HDMI Signal Format -> Select Enhanced). This is the equivalent of the "HDMI UHD Color" setting on Samsung TVs and "HDMI Ultra HD Deep Color" on LG TVs.



According to Sony, "HDMI Enhanced enables the HDMI2.0a compatibility mode. Some legacy HDMI devices don??t understand the HDMI2.0a EDID so all TVs need to ship with legacy HDMI1.4a EDID by default." (On the 2016 LG UH8500, a little pop-up reminds you to engage the setting. It would be nice if Sony and others followed suit.)"


Thanks!!!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
NSCTripleAgent and mrtickleuk like this.
Newbie789 is offline  
post #9609 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,633
Mentioned: 854 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24671 Post(s)
Liked: 13884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austinminton1956 View Post
Its been over 2 hours now since I started the usb update. There is spinning wheel with Please wait.... Checking update files on TV and Please Wait... UpdateFileCheck on the marantz display. Is that normal please? Should I just leave it like this for a few more hours? I haven't done a usb update before on a Marantz, usually its over network and takes a lot less time.

Thanks.
Not at all. Update should complete fairly quickly. Did you copy to a FAT16/32 formatted drive?
Austinminton1956 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9610 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 10:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,633
Mentioned: 854 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24671 Post(s)
Liked: 13884
Quote:
Originally Posted by petetherock View Post
Thank you JD, thank you D&M..
All thanks go to D+M for coming through ... I'm just the messenger.
IMWhizzle likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9611 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,461
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1126 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
All thanks go to D+M for coming through ... I'm just the messenger.


It's really great to see the appreciation and the acknowledgement of their customers. Very thankful for the voice of this community and D&M for making this happen for us.

And thank you JD for sharing your knowledge with us.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C, 4x RP-500SA’s and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED C9 65 inch
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #9612 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,694
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1843 Post(s)
Liked: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
All thanks go to D+M for coming through ... I'm just the messenger.
I don't suppose this would also provide the 7010 with the ability to adjust EQ using the new Audyssey App?

JVC NX7, DCR Lens, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is online now  
post #9613 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 02:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,874
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3053 Post(s)
Liked: 2133
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
I don't suppose this would also provide the 7010 with the ability to adjust EQ using the new Audyssey App?
I wish! But there is no indication of that.


My current setup.
Recommended podcasts: The Next Picture Show, the /filmcast, AV Rant.
nathan_h is offline  
post #9614 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 04:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,633
Mentioned: 854 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24671 Post(s)
Liked: 13884
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
I don't suppose this would also provide the 7010 with the ability to adjust EQ using the new Audyssey App?
Sorry, but no.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9615 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
TrueDis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Sorry, but no. Still waiting on the change log info from D+M to post.


Any idea what the big holdup is? I don't get why they aren't more forthcoming with this info...

LG OLED65B6P
Marantz SR7010 driving 5.1.4
Klipsch RP-280FA Atmos Towers (Front) | RP-250C (Center) | R-115SW (Sub)
Pioneer SP-EFS73 Atmos Towers (Rear)
TrueDis is offline  
post #9616 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Not at all. Update should complete fairly quickly. Did you copy to a FAT16/32 formatted drive?
Thanks jd, yes i tried multiple usb formatted in fat32. It would just get stuck on checking files. The capacity of the usb should not make a difference I guess? I tried 8gb to 32gb ones. I am trying to get a smaller 2gb one to try.

I read in one of your initial posts that its not possible to downgrade firmware, could that be the problem?

As a workaround, I disabled DHCP and manually put in the IP on the 7702mkii and things are working fine now. As soon as I turn on DHCP, the problem resurfaces. It used to work fine for over 2 years on DHCP so no too sure what the problem really is. Maybe my router needs a new firmware update after the marantz update. All my other devices connected to the router continue to work fine.
Austinminton1956 is offline  
post #9617 of 12578 Old 07-25-2017, 09:08 PM
Member
 
harshw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Strange though that he would list all of the 2015 D+M models separately though so I contacted my D+M rep and it turns out that yes, they have decided to update all of the 2015 D+M models with the DV + HLG update as well by the end of 2017/early 2018.
He doesn't list the NR1606 specifically. So the 1606 is still covered as per your conversation with the D+M rep?
harshw is offline  
post #9618 of 12578 Old 07-26-2017, 12:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Back in Asia for now
Posts: 3,742
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1775 Post(s)
Liked: 954
petetherock is offline  
post #9619 of 12578 Old 07-26-2017, 01:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,419
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 829 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by petetherock View Post
I love my 7010
Sadly it's a one way street. It will never love you back.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #9620 of 12578 Old 07-26-2017, 02:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,633
Mentioned: 854 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24671 Post(s)
Liked: 13884
Quote:
Originally Posted by harshw View Post
He doesn't list the NR1606 specifically. So the 1606 is still covered as per your conversation with the D+M rep?
Yes, all of the 2015 models in this thread.
harshw likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9621 of 12578 Old 07-26-2017, 02:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,633
Mentioned: 854 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24671 Post(s)
Liked: 13884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austinminton1956 View Post
Thanks jd, yes i tried multiple usb formatted in fat32. It would just get stuck on checking files. The capacity of the usb should not make a difference I guess? I tried 8gb to 32gb ones. I am trying to get a smaller 2gb one to try.

I read in one of your initial posts that its not possible to downgrade firmware, could that be the problem?

As a workaround, I disabled DHCP and manually put in the IP on the 7702mkii and things are working fine now. As soon as I turn on DHCP, the problem resurfaces. It used to work fine for over 2 years on DHCP so no too sure what the problem really is. Maybe my router needs a new firmware update after the marantz update. All my other devices connected to the router continue to work fine.
1. Originally, I was under the impression that the AVR couldn't revert back to a previous version, but have since learned that is not true.
2. Could be the router needs an update, but reverting to an earlier version would also likely resolve the issue.
Austinminton1956 likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9622 of 12578 Old 07-26-2017, 02:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,633
Mentioned: 854 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24671 Post(s)
Liked: 13884
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueDis View Post
Any idea what the big holdup is? I don't get why they aren't more forthcoming with this info...
Change log information now listed in post 11 of this thread.
TrueDis likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9623 of 12578 Old 07-26-2017, 09:40 AM
Newbie
 
silkience's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone know if the Marantz AVR 5010/6010/7010 Dolby Vision update will also include HLG?

It's really great news that Marantz/Denon are making this change!
silkience is offline  
post #9624 of 12578 Old 07-26-2017, 09:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,633
Mentioned: 854 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24671 Post(s)
Liked: 13884
Quote:
Originally Posted by silkience View Post
Does anyone know if the Marantz AVR 5010/6010/7010 Dolby Vision update will also include HLG?

It's really great news that Marantz/Denon are making this change!
Yes. As I noted in my post on Monday.
TrueDis likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9625 of 12578 Old 07-26-2017, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
silkience's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes. As I noted in my post on Monday.
My bad! Must have been too excited about the DV update!

I wish someone would come up with an AVR with the streaming apps on that rather than the TV or other device! Such a missed opportunity!
silkience is offline  
post #9626 of 12578 Old 07-26-2017, 12:08 PM
Member
 
jasn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Outer Cape, MA
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 22
My 7010 is located on a shelf to the left of my HT and the angle is a bit too sharp for the remote to work without pointing it directly at the AVR (as opposed to the TV, which is desirable). I'd like to add an IR extender to plug in to the back of the unit and am looking at This One

Anyone else have experience with a particular model that works? There seems to be more than one type.

Thx

Last edited by jasn; 07-26-2017 at 12:11 PM.
jasn is online now  
post #9627 of 12578 Old 07-26-2017, 07:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Back in Asia for now
Posts: 3,742
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1775 Post(s)
Liked: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes. As I noted in my post on Monday.
Does the update cover the Denon cousins?
petetherock is offline  
post #9628 of 12578 Old 07-27-2017, 01:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 87,633
Mentioned: 854 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24671 Post(s)
Liked: 13884
Quote:
Originally Posted by petetherock View Post
Does the update cover the Denon cousins?
Yup.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9629 of 12578 Old 07-27-2017, 06:14 AM
Member
 
puntloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Sorry, but no.
Is this because of a hardware limitation, or is Marantz doing this for commercial reasons?

NVidia Shield -> Denon X4500
-> Nord 500DMUP Amp -> Quad 2912 Fronts
-> Ken Kreisel Quattro SBL, SBR, SL, SR
-> 2x SVS SB13U Subs
puntloos is offline  
post #9630 of 12578 Old 07-27-2017, 09:21 AM
Member
 
MrGrim999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NJ USA
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hey guys. I was considering purchasing an amp to power my fronts and hopefully improve sound quality and would love to hear a few suggestions. I use everything mainly for movies, tv, games, and some music. I wasn't looking to spend more than 1000. Here's what I have:

Sony 55X930E 4K tv
Marantz SR5010
Bowers 683 S2 towers (biamped)
Bowers HTM61 S2 center
Bowers 686 S2 rears
SVS PB1000 sub

I've seen alot of people mention the brand Emotiva. I was thinking about just getting the Marantz MM7025. But if it's definitely going to be a noticeable difference I'm definitely open to suggestions...
MrGrim999 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7010 , av7702mkii , hdmi marantz nr1506 , Marantz , marantz 7702 256gb ssd , marantz sr5010 , no sound , nr1506 , NR1606 , SR5010 , sr6010 , sr7010 , subwoofer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off