*Official* Marantz 2015 NR-1506/1606, SR-5010/6010/7010 & AV7702mkII owner's thread - Page 339 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12635Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10141 of 12311 Old 11-05-2017, 02:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 796 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austinminton1956 View Post
I use an HTPC with my 7702mkII and it works perfect in HDR10 using madvr+mpc-hc. Have you tried connecting the pc directly to your TV? As long as you have the right hardware in the pc, its quite straightforward. Now that we can dump UHDs I personally think a pc is much better than a bd player. Just for the chroma upscaling, I prefer madvr over any uhd-player.
Many thanks for the input. I will give it a try and see if I can get things to work. What I have been doing is playing my HDR files from a hard drive connected straight to the TV (LG B7) and using the TVs media player. That does give great results BUT it will not play Atmos Lossless files, only the Lossy variety so it is not perfect. I live in hope that LG will provide an update which will give us that function. They do seem to be fairly on the ball when it comes to updates.
alexbarbel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10142 of 12311 Old 11-05-2017, 12:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Marantz SR5003 Help needed

Hi, i know i'm not in the right place, but i was hoping some one could point me in the right direction to get some help with my SR5003

Thank you in Advance
Robpv is offline  
post #10143 of 12311 Old 11-05-2017, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Waterboy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robpv View Post
Hi, i know i'm not in the right place, but i was hoping some one could point me in the right direction to get some help with my SR5003

Thank you in Advance
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...03-thread.html

One day I will start the new theater....... one day..... THAT DAY HAS ARRIVED
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." Red Green
Family Cave Theater
Automation Thoughts/ Questions
Waterboy77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10144 of 12311 Old 11-05-2017, 02:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you!
Robpv is offline  
post #10145 of 12311 Old 11-05-2017, 02:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,717
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4690 Post(s)
Liked: 2731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austinminton1956 View Post
I use an HTPC with my 7702mkII and it works perfect in HDR10 using madvr+mpc-hc. Have you tried connecting the pc directly to your TV? As long as you have the right hardware in the pc, its quite straightforward. Now that we can dump UHDs I personally think a pc is much better than a bd player. Just for the chroma upscaling, I prefer madvr over any uhd-player.
One of the best UHD Blu-ray players is the Oppo 203. I wouldn't trade it for a HTPC any day of the week. If you and others are ripping UHD discs, you're ripping us all off as that will affect studio output (they've been buzzing about the rips that have come out... and there is a built-in backup copy protection Plan B that no one wants them to use... phone-home DRM with servers that can go dark), especially if you haven't paid for the originals.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!

Last edited by Dan Hitchman; 11-05-2017 at 03:01 PM.
Dan Hitchman is offline  
post #10146 of 12311 Old 11-05-2017, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Hi All,

Do all the HDMI inputs on the SR7010 support HDCP 2.2? I'm having sporadic problems with my Roku Ultra plugged into the GAME HDMI input.

TIA
JimLely is offline  
post #10147 of 12311 Old 11-05-2017, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,311
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22753 Post(s)
Liked: 12398
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post
Hi All,

Do all the HDMI inputs on the SR7010 support HDCP 2.2? I'm having sporadic problems with my Roku Ultra plugged into the GAME HDMI input.

TIA
Yup.
TrueDis likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10148 of 12311 Old 11-05-2017, 08:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
One of the best UHD Blu-ray players is the Oppo 203. I wouldn't trade it for a HTPC any day of the week. If you and others are ripping UHD discs, you're ripping us all off as that will affect studio output (they've been buzzing about the rips that have come out... and there is a built-in backup copy protection Plan B that no one wants them to use... phone-home DRM with servers that can go dark), especially if you haven't paid for the originals.
Have you tried madvr with a high quality graphics card? There are a lot of options on what you can do with chroma. I have tried an oppo 205 and personally felt it was inferior to some of the algorithms in madvr. As far as I know every player has to upscale the chroma of a uhd from 4:2:0 to higher to meet the hdmi spec. That is really where the picture quality makes a difference.

As for ripping uhds, I am dumping those I own and that is completely legal.

Either way both these points are beyond the scope of this particular forum.
Austinminton1956 is offline  
post #10149 of 12311 Old 11-05-2017, 09:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,717
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4690 Post(s)
Liked: 2731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austinminton1956 View Post
Have you tried madvr with a high quality graphics card? There are a lot of options on what you can do with chroma. I have tried an oppo 205 and personally felt it was inferior to some of the algorithms in madvr. As far as I know every player has to upscale the chroma of a uhd from 4:2:0 to higher to meet the hdmi spec. That is really where the picture quality makes a difference.

As for ripping uhds, I am dumping those I own and that is completely legal.

Either way both these points are beyond the scope of this particular forum.
Dolby is introducing the ICtCp protocol into Dolby Vision encoding for UHD Blu-ray's (they already use it in their Netflix DV encodes). It is a superior carrier than standard YCbCr component, especially for color gamuts greater than Rec. 709. From what I'm reading, some DV discs are already 4:2:2 thanks to their enhancement layer. PC video cards may not keep up with the HDR standards changes fast enough, so the benefits may start to favor going back to disc players.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is offline  
post #10150 of 12311 Old 11-05-2017, 11:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Have to agree with you there. Most of the mass market has now moved to disc players simply because they can buy a black box and play everything. HTPCs are more of a niche segment where users prefer to tinker under the hood. With closed box proprietary technologies like dolby vision gaining momentum, it will be more and more difficult for htpc users to keep up.

What I do not agree with is that disc players will evolve faster than video cards. Firmware updates can only do so much (which will be done by pc video cards as well). As tech continues to evolve disc player users will keep upgrading their hardware just like pc video cards.

Call me lazy but I like to have my entire bluray/UHD collectionavailable at the click of a button, and arguably in better quality than a dedicated disc player.

Thats it from me, this debate can go on forever, and this is definitely not the right place for it.
Austinminton1956 is offline  
post #10151 of 12311 Old 11-06-2017, 02:56 AM
Member
 
obwizards's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austinminton1956 View Post
Call me lazy but I like to have my entire bluray/UHD collectionavailable at the click of a button, and arguably in better quality than a dedicated disc player.

Thats it from me, this debate can go on forever, and this is definitely not the right place for it.
Well you can call me lazy too, I agree sir!
Austinminton1956 likes this.
obwizards is offline  
post #10152 of 12311 Old 11-06-2017, 05:33 AM
Member
 
sakgoz79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guys, Is there anyone to use Marantz Processor with Classe Power? I'm using now av7702mk2 with rotel rmb 1095 5 channel power so I want to learn about harmony of this gears.. I can changed my power amp with Classe Ca 5200 What you think? I need your advice about it.
sakgoz79 is offline  
post #10153 of 12311 Old 11-06-2017, 09:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post
Hi All,

Do all the HDMI inputs on the SR7010 support HDCP 2.2? I'm having sporadic problems with my Roku Ultra plugged into the GAME HDMI input.

TIA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yup.

Thanks, but then why does the Denon FAQ site say : "...use one of the inputs at the AVR that support 4k / HDCP 2.2 - it is recommended not to use the Front HDMI input of the AVR." Doesn't this imply that not all of the HDMI inputs are HDCP2.2 compliant?



. .

JimLely is online now
JimLely is offline  
post #10154 of 12311 Old 11-06-2017, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,311
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22753 Post(s)
Liked: 12398
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post
Thanks, but then why does the Denon FAQ site say : "...use one of the inputs at the AVR that support 4k / HDCP 2.2 - it is recommended not to use the Front HDMI input of the AVR." Doesn't this imply that not all of the HDMI inputs are HDCP2.2 compliant?



. .

JimLely is online now
1. Your issue involves the GAME input which supports 4k/HDCP 2.2 with a chroma subsampling of 4:4:4 as do all of the rear HDMI inputs.
2. The front HDMI input supports 4k/HDCP 2.2 with a chroma subsampling of 4:2:0 so therefore may not pass 4k video from a PC or game box.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10155 of 12311 Old 11-06-2017, 10:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Your issue involves the GAME input which supports 4k/HDCP 2.2 with a chroma subsampling of 4:4:4 as do all of the rear HDMI inputs.
2. The front HDMI input supports 4k/HDCP 2.2 with a chroma subsampling of 4:2:0 so therefore may not pass 4k video from a PC or game box.
Thank you kind sir.

When I connect my Roku Ultra with a Monoprice Certified Premium High Speed HDMI cable directly to my Vizio P-series, there is no issue. When I instead connect the Roku to "GAME" I sporadically experience failure (using another CPHS HDMI cable from AVR to Vizio); if I instead connect Roku to front Marantz HDMI (CPHS cable), it always fails.
JimLely is offline  
post #10156 of 12311 Old 11-06-2017, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,833
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post
Thank you kind sir.

When I connect my Roku Ultra with a Monoprice Certified Premium High Speed HDMI cable directly to my Vizio P-series, there is no issue. When I instead connect the Roku to "GAME" I sporadically experience failure (using another CPHS HDMI cable from AVR to Vizio); if I instead connect Roku to front Marantz HDMI (CPHS cable), it always fails.
You might ask in the Roku Ultra thread if you haven't already done so. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-net...rs-thread.html

My understanding is that some older Roku streamers had HDMI compatibility problems when used with receivers.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #10157 of 12311 Old 11-06-2017, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
You might ask in the Roku Ultra thread if you haven't already done so. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-net...rs-thread.html

My understanding is that some older Roku streamers had HDMI compatibility problems when used with receivers.
I haven't tried the Roku site as yet since I've only had the Ultra for a few weeks; but thanks for the reference and I'll give it a try.
JimLely is offline  
post #10158 of 12311 Old 11-06-2017, 02:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1822 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
This update for the 2015 Denon and Marantz models has been confirmed by Denon/Marantz and is scheduled for summer 2018.
ughhhhhh! 8 months!
TrueDis likes this.

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #10159 of 12311 Old 11-06-2017, 03:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,330
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5060 Post(s)
Liked: 7382
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
ughhhhhh! 8 months!
It's summer at Christmas in Australia. Could be next month.
Brandon B and tjcinnamon like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #10160 of 12311 Old 11-06-2017, 09:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post
Thank you kind sir.

When I connect my Roku Ultra with a Monoprice Certified Premium High Speed HDMI cable directly to my Vizio P-series, there is no issue. When I instead connect the Roku to "GAME" I sporadically experience failure (using another CPHS HDMI cable from AVR to Vizio); if I instead connect Roku to front Marantz HDMI (CPHS cable), it always fails.

I had similar issues with my setup. Turned out even certified premium cables at longer lengths can cause hdmi dropouts. Try very short cables from roku->avr and avr->tv as a test. In my experience anything less than 6ft with the certification works well.
Austinminton1956 is offline  
post #10161 of 12311 Old 11-07-2017, 06:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Back in Asia for now
Posts: 3,664
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
It's summer at Christmas in Australia. Could be next month.
Yeah, we have a direct link to Marantz HQ via a special tunnel called "The Drop"... Matt Damon takes it every day to work...
mrtickleuk likes this.
petetherock is offline  
post #10162 of 12311 Old 11-07-2017, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1822 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Possible issue with Terminal: speaker crackle

Has anyone ever heard of an issue with the Marantz (or AVR) where a speaker terminal puts out a partial signal during impact sounds? My right speaker's tweeter occasionally crackles on impact sounds and is generally quieter until I re-seat the speaker-wire.

------------------------

I have a Paradigm F75 tower connected to a Marantz SR7010 and I have crackling in the tweeter fairly infrequently (the worst type to troubleshoot). It generally happens on impact sounds where there is a spike in volume. It could be the speaker wire. I used 12 gauge monoprice wire with Sewell deadlock banana plugs. I moved to those from regular monoprice plugs and it seemed to fix the issue for awhile.

I was getting crackling noises with those. So I went to the Sewells and that fixed it. Then it happened again, so I cut the Sewells off on both ends have have a direct connection (no plugs). So it's AVR to speaker with no connectors. This fixed it for one night.

But it happened again!?!?

So I had a pre-terminated wire from Sewell and plugged that in. Fixed! But I'm not confident it won't happen again.

TL;DR

Is it possible that there is damage to the speaker that infrequently has the tweeter crackle? It's not the mid-woofers (or at least not noticeable).

Is it my AVR? Any ideas?

Further testing options

1) swap the right and left to see if it's the AVR. It only happens on the right hand side
2) see what moving the speaker wire does (more methodically, reseat in AVR, reseat in speaker)
3) use a new pre-terminated wire (in the mail)

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints

Last edited by tjcinnamon; 11-07-2017 at 08:44 AM.
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #10163 of 12311 Old 11-07-2017, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,833
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
Has anyone ever heard of an issue with the Marantz (or AVR) where a speaker terminal puts out a partial signal during impact sounds? My right speaker's tweeter occasionally crackles on impact sounds and is generally quieter until I re-seat the speaker-wire.
Intermittent crackling sometimes is caused by poor speaker wiring connections. The poor connections could be inside the receiver (perhaps caused by poor solder joins), in the connection of the cable to the receiver's binding post, in the cable itself,in the connection of the cable to the speaker's binding post, or inside the speaker (again, perhaps caused by poor solder joins).

Gently wiggling or pressing in on each end of each of the cables while playing a continuous tone (or music) might help to isolate where the intermittent connection is located.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #10164 of 12311 Old 11-07-2017, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Back in Asia for now
Posts: 3,664
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 904
+1
Very likely to be a poor connection..
petetherock is offline  
post #10165 of 12311 Old 11-07-2017, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
TrueDis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Your issue involves the GAME input which supports 4k/HDCP 2.2 with a chroma subsampling of 4:4:4 as do all of the rear HDMI inputs.
2. The front HDMI input supports 4k/HDCP 2.2 with a chroma subsampling of 4:2:0 so therefore may not pass 4k video from a PC or game box.
What is the possible rationale for this limitation?

EDIT: Just looked through my entire 377 page SR7010 manual and didn't see a mention of this limitation. Where is this documented?

LG OLED65B6P
Marantz SR7010 driving 5.1.4
Klipsch RP-280FA Atmos Towers (Front) | RP-250C (Center) | R-115SW (Sub)
Pioneer SP-EFS73 Atmos Towers (Rear)

Last edited by TrueDis; 11-07-2017 at 09:40 AM.
TrueDis is offline  
post #10166 of 12311 Old 11-07-2017, 10:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
Has anyone ever heard of an issue with the Marantz (or AVR) where a speaker terminal puts out a partial signal during impact sounds? My right speaker's tweeter occasionally crackles on impact sounds and is generally quieter until I re-seat the speaker-wire.

------------------------

I have a Paradigm F75 tower connected to a Marantz SR7010 and I have crackling in the tweeter fairly infrequently (the worst type to troubleshoot). It generally happens on impact sounds where there is a spike in volume. It could be the speaker wire. I used 12 gauge monoprice wire with Sewell deadlock banana plugs. I moved to those from regular monoprice plugs and it seemed to fix the issue for awhile.

I was getting crackling noises with those. So I went to the Sewells and that fixed it. Then it happened again, so I cut the Sewells off on both ends have have a direct connection (no plugs). So it's AVR to speaker with no connectors. This fixed it for one night.

But it happened again!?!?

So I had a pre-terminated wire from Sewell and plugged that in. Fixed! But I'm not confident it won't happen again.

TL;DR

Is it possible that there is damage to the speaker that infrequently has the tweeter crackle? It's not the mid-woofers (or at least not noticeable).

Is it my AVR? Any ideas?

Further testing options

1) swap the right and left to see if it's the AVR. It only happens on the right hand side
2) see what moving the speaker wire does (more methodically, reseat in AVR, reseat in speaker)
3) use a new pre-terminated wire (in the mail)
its not your connections it’s the avr
Chase_Monkey is offline  
post #10167 of 12311 Old 11-07-2017, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1822 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Intermittent crackling sometimes is caused by poor speaker wiring connections. The poor connections could be inside the receiver (perhaps caused by poor solder joins), in the connection of the cable to the receiver's binding post, in the cable itself,in the connection of the cable to the speaker's binding post, or inside the speaker (again, perhaps caused by poor solder joins).

Gently wiggling or pressing in on each end of each of the cables while playing a continuous tone (or music) might help to isolate where the intermittent connection is located.
Quote:
Originally Posted by petetherock View Post
+1
Very likely to be a poor connection..
I'll give the wiggle a shot. I have some test footage I can use.

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #10168 of 12311 Old 11-07-2017, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 84,311
Mentioned: 746 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22753 Post(s)
Liked: 12398
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueDis View Post
What is the possible rationale for this limitation?

EDIT: Just looked through my entire 377 page SR7010 manual and didn't see a mention of this limitation. Where is this documented?

See the note at the bottom of p. 332.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	752
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	2311544  
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10169 of 12311 Old 11-07-2017, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
TrueDis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
See the note at the bottom of p. 332.

Wow, you are the man! That is certainly easy to miss - thanks for finding it!

... but any idea why that is?

LG OLED65B6P
Marantz SR7010 driving 5.1.4
Klipsch RP-280FA Atmos Towers (Front) | RP-250C (Center) | R-115SW (Sub)
Pioneer SP-EFS73 Atmos Towers (Rear)
TrueDis is offline  
post #10170 of 12311 Old 11-07-2017, 12:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,833
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4815 Post(s)
Liked: 2850
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueDis View Post
Wow, you are the man! That is certainly easy to miss - thanks for finding it!

... but any idea why that is?
The front panel connector is a long way away from the HDMI circuit board. My guess is that it has a special line driver which simply doesn't have the bandwidth.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7010 , av7702mkii , hdmi marantz nr1506 , Marantz , marantz 7702 256gb ssd , marantz sr5010 , no sound , nr1506 , NR1606 , SR5010 , sr6010 , sr7010 , subwoofer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off