*Official* Marantz 2015 NR-1506/1606, SR-5010/6010/7010 & AV7702mkII owner's thread - Page 402 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12619Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12031 of 12246 Old 05-29-2019, 11:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
bekindrewind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 107
AV7702mkII....Happy with this unit and would like advise on an upgrade in the Marantz line. Currently running 7.2.4 Not interested in more ceiling or floor speakers. Would upgrading this processor improve HT movies? McIntosh MC205, Marantz MM8077, Oppo-UDP 203, (2) JLAudio F113, B&W 805, HTM2, (4)LM1, (4)Canton ceiling. Room has been addressed.

7.2.4, AV7702mkII, MM8077, MC205, UDP-203, 82Q90R, Tivo Bolt, Richard Gray 400s, B&W Nautilus, Fathom F113, Harmony Elite
bekindrewind is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12032 of 12246 Old 05-29-2019, 11:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,553
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4583 Post(s)
Liked: 2653
Quote:
Originally Posted by bekindrewind View Post
AV7702mkII....Happy with this unit and would like advise on an upgrade in the Marantz line. Currently running 7.2.4 Not interested in more ceiling or floor speakers. Would upgrading this processor improve HT movies? McIntosh MC205, Marantz MM8077, Oppo-UDP 203, (2) JLAudio F113, B&W 805, HTM2, (4)LM1, (4)Canton ceiling. Room has been addressed.
Not without a substantial uptick in price and moving away from Marantz. The upcoming Monoprice HTP-1 pre-amp looks interesting with Dirac room correction. Made in concert with ATI/Datasat.

Actually has up to 9.1.6 Atmos processing, but can correct for multiple sub outs if in 7.1.4 processing mode.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #12033 of 12246 Old 05-29-2019, 11:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,553
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4583 Post(s)
Liked: 2653
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePrisoner View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
I wonder if this is for DTS: X Pro or if they finally did away with cross platform upmixing because Dolby is being a dick.

Check if you can still apply Dolby Surround to DTS audio streams and DTS Neural: X on Dolby audio streams.
I just installed recent firmware on my 6010 and yes, I can still apply Dolby Surround to DTS streams and vice versa.
Great!

So I wonder what this mysterious upgrade is then?

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12034 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 07:17 AM
Member
 
Michaeldef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
Great!

So I wonder what this mysterious upgrade is then?
Whatever Update was installed yesterday,i just hope it fixes the Pandora dropouts,It still keeps Neural over DD, Being there is a mention of UPGRADE,that usually applies to a paid for option, like Auro for this model year,I'm sure JD will know soon
Michaeldef is offline  
post #12035 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
The upcoming Monoprice HTP-1 pre-amp looks interesting with Dirac room correction. Made in concert with ATI/Datasat.

Actually has up to 9.1.6 Atmos processing, but can correct for multiple sub outs if in 7.1.4 processing mode.

I like the option of wide front speakers but it looks like you trade this away for multiple subs:

"7.3.6 (3 subwoofers instead of wide channels)"
JimLely is offline  
post #12036 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 09:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by puntloos View Post

Ah yes, so perhaps I mentioned it in another post somewhere but my current plan/hope is that I can get a swap with a friend for a Denon 4300H which does have this functionality.
You might just want to keep your 7010 and forget about the "functionality". Did you see the reviews of the MultEq Editor in Google Play? It's filled with bugs. and even after the most recent update.
JimLely is offline  
post #12037 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,553
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4583 Post(s)
Liked: 2653
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
The upcoming Monoprice HTP-1 pre-amp looks interesting with Dirac room correction. Made in concert with ATI/Datasat.

Actually has up to 9.1.6 Atmos processing, but can correct for multiple sub outs if in 7.1.4 processing mode.

I like the option of wide front speakers but it looks like you trade this away for multiple subs:

"7.3.6 (3 subwoofers instead of wide channels)"
You can do multi subs with fairly inexpensive external calibration modules and keep your wides.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #12038 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 09:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,650
Mentioned: 727 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22378 Post(s)
Liked: 12178
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post
You might just want to keep your 7010 and forget about the "functionality". Did you see the reviews of the MultEq Editor in Google Play? It's filled with bugs. and even after the most recent update.
And yet, the functionality the Mult EQ Editor app is much improved over the standard on board version of Audyssey as noted in the MultEQ Editor forum thread.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 05-30-2019 at 06:20 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12039 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 10:02 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,650
Mentioned: 727 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22378 Post(s)
Liked: 12178
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegios View Post
I'm struggling with some settings...

In the manual it is written that "surround parameter settings are stored for each audio mode". This means that the values ​​in SURROUND PARAMETER apply regardless of the input source, so I cannot have different SURROUND PARAMETER settings for each source (example: I cannot set CINEMA EQ to ON for SAT and OFF for CD).

Question 1

Given a certain audio mode (example: Dolby Surround) what is the difference between selecting this audio mode from the MOVIE button or from the MUSIC button? (Example: what changes between pushing the MOVIE button and choosing Dolby Surround or pushing the MUSIC button and choosing Dolby Surround?) I would expect a different equalization but I cannot hear any difference.


Question 2

Given a certain audio mode, is there a way to set different values ​​in SURROUND PARAMETER when the same sound mode is selected from the MOVIE button or from the MUSIC button?

What I'm trying to achieve is, under SURROUND PARAMETER, to have CINEMA EQ set to ON when an audio mode is selected from the MOVIE button and set to OFF when the same audio mode is selected from the MUSIC button.

Thanks
1. Nothing.
2. AFAIK, no.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12040 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 10:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,650
Mentioned: 727 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22378 Post(s)
Liked: 12178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaeldef View Post
Whatever Update was installed yesterday,i just hope it fixes the Pandora dropouts,It still keeps Neural over DD, Being there is a mention of UPGRADE,that usually applies to a paid for option, like Auro for this model year,I'm sure JD will know soon
So far my SU contact has not responded.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12041 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 10:56 AM
Member
 
puntloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
And yet, the functionality the Mult EQ Editor app does provide, is much improved over the standard on board version of Audyssey as noted in the MultEQ Editor forum thread.
Also: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...app-files.html

Kodi Streamer -> Marantz 7010 -> Nord 500DMUP -> Quad 2912
puntloos is offline  
post #12042 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
You can do multi subs with fairly inexpensive external calibration modules and keep your wides.
Thanks for your reply. I'd appreciate it if you could elaborate a bit more on this.
JimLely is offline  
post #12043 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 12:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
And yet, the functionality the Mult EQ Editor app does provide, is much improved over the standard on board version of Audyssey as noted in the MultEQ Editor forum thread.
I don't have the app. The reports that I've seen on Google Play involve unexpected and frequent disconnections between your device and the AVR, and an enforced, unmodifiable roll-off in frequency response below 25Hz. Maybe this is only true for Android OS. However, it is not unrealistic to expect an app to work properly, especially after a couple of years in deployment. (Otherwise it should be free while in "beta testing".) And, in fact, it is a necessary prerequisite for realizing the much vaunted functionality which I really like.
JimLely is offline  
post #12044 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,553
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4583 Post(s)
Liked: 2653
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
You can do multi subs with fairly inexpensive external calibration modules and keep your wides.
Thanks for your reply. I'd appreciate it if you could elaborate a bit more on this.
I'll let batpig explain:

"...if you have a mic + REW you can just use a cheap MiniDSP 2x4 box to align the dual subs, then feed them from a single output from the HTP and let Dirac [from the HTP-1] do the final polish of the combined response..."

REW:
https://www.roomeqwizard.com/

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #12045 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
I'll let batpig explain:

"...if you have a mic + REW you can just use a cheap MiniDSP 2x4 box to align the dual subs, then feed them from a single output from the HTP and let Dirac [from the HTP-1] do the final polish of the combined response..."

REW:
https://www.roomeqwizard.com/
GULP!
solarrdadd likes this.
JimLely is offline  
post #12046 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
BdoUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
And yet, the functionality the Mult EQ Editor app does provide, is much improved over the standard on board version of Audyssey as noted in the MultEQ Editor forum thread.
Is it safe to say that Audyssey Pro would provide an equal or better calibration compared to what MultEQ offers on newer models?
puntloos likes this.
BdoUK is online now  
post #12047 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 04:47 PM
Member
 
puntloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
I'll let batpig explain:

"...if you have a mic + REW you can just use a cheap MiniDSP 2x4 box to align the dual subs, then feed them from a single output from the HTP and let Dirac [from the HTP-1] do the final polish of the combined response..."
Uh, that seems like a very weird thing to do. Not saying "hey, your kind aint welcome here.", but while Dirac seems to have the better "audiophile cred" vs Audyssey, I've seen quite a few reviews pitting them against each other and they turn out to give quite similar results.

And even assuming Dirac has the edge in audio quality, putting a processor in front of the devices that this topic is about - Marantz receivers that come with Ady XT 32 - makes your setup needlessly elaborate, suddenly you can't really use the smooth experience the receivers offer etc.

Perhaps a slight edge in audiophile sense but while I do consider myself an audiophile, I doubt it'd be worth it for me..


Kodi Streamer -> Marantz 7010 -> Nord 500DMUP -> Quad 2912
puntloos is offline  
post #12048 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 04:51 PM
Member
 
puntloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post
I don't have the app. The reports that I've seen on Google Play involve unexpected and frequent disconnections between your device and the AVR, and an enforced, unmodifiable roll-off in frequency response below 25Hz.
Source? This seems weird, unless it's just standard in AdyXT32.. As I understand it the multeq app only provides the option to 'fake' (adjust) the microphone measurments you provide to the algorithm, so whatever you feed it, it won't suddenly be less good/capable than the original results you could've gotten..

Quote:
Maybe this is only true for Android OS.
Indeed, would love to hear if the ratbuddy thing would help this..
Quote:
However, it is not unrealistic to expect an app to work properly, especially after a couple of years in deployment.
... and costs 20 quid..

Quote:
(Otherwise it should be free while in "beta testing".) And, in fact, it is a necessary prerequisite for realizing the much vaunted functionality which I really like.

Kodi Streamer -> Marantz 7010 -> Nord 500DMUP -> Quad 2912
puntloos is offline  
post #12049 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 05:04 PM
Member
 
puntloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 15
One quick question: As I understand it the Marantz 7010 has 9 amplifiers built in, so if you want to do 11.1, you need to use the 9 amps, 2 pre-outs into a seperate power amp (to get from 9 to 11), and then the .1 (subwoofer) is already assumed to be a self-powered subwoofer.

Does the 7010 allow more pre-amps and would it generate more atmos signals? For example assuming I have a second power amp, could I go to "13.1" or "9.2.4" etc? I think the official Atmos spec goes all the way up to 24.4.10 or something crazy, but could a consumer receiver get 'close' to that if you help it out with more poweramps?

Kodi Streamer -> Marantz 7010 -> Nord 500DMUP -> Quad 2912
puntloos is offline  
post #12050 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 06:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by puntloos View Post
Source?

Google Play MultEq Editor reviews.
JimLely is offline  
post #12051 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 06:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by puntloos View Post
Does the 7010 allow more pre-amps and would it generate more atmos signals? For example assuming I have a second power amp, could I go to "13.1" or "9.2.4" etc? I think the official Atmos spec goes all the way up to 24.4.10 or something crazy, but could a consumer receiver get 'close' to that if you help it out with more poweramps?
No more than 11 using the inherent 9 channels and the 2 pre-outs with an outboard amp.
JimLely is offline  
post #12052 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 06:18 PM
Member
 
puntloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post
Google Play MultEq Editor reviews.
Ah thanks

Reviews say there's a 20hz roll off not present in running audyssey in stand-alone mode. Wonder how they figured that out. Also, I'm not completely sure what it actually means.. a roll-off that just starts throwing away frequencies lower than 20hz?

Given how I understand the app to work - it can 'play with' the source data, e.g. the microphone sound samples, but not with 'what the algorithm does with it' - this sounds highly implausible.

To "generate" a roll-off, if you only can modify the source data, what you would have to do is strongly amplify the 0-20Hz band in the microphone signal, so a 'sensible' Audyssey run would detect the low frequencies are way too loud, and then roll off at 20 to counteract these shockingly loud subwoofers.

Doesn't sound like a sane thing to do if you're building such an app? Or?

Kodi Streamer -> Marantz 7010 -> Nord 500DMUP -> Quad 2912
puntloos is offline  
post #12053 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,650
Mentioned: 727 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22378 Post(s)
Liked: 12178
Quote:
Originally Posted by BdoUK View Post
Is it safe to say that Audyssey Pro would provide an equal or better calibration compared to what MultEQ offers on newer models?
Sure. If you want to pay $750 vs. $20.
nathan_h likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12054 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 06:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,650
Mentioned: 727 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22378 Post(s)
Liked: 12178
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post
I don't have the app. The reports that I've seen on Google Play involve unexpected and frequent disconnections between your device and the AVR, and an enforced, unmodifiable roll-off in frequency response below 25Hz. Maybe this is only true for Android OS. However, it is not unrealistic to expect an app to work properly, especially after a couple of years in deployment. (Otherwise it should be free while in "beta testing".) And, in fact, it is a necessary prerequisite for realizing the much vaunted functionality which I really like.
Not true for either iOS or Android. I'd suggest you review the MultEQ Editor app thread rather than following Google Play.

Enough discussion on the app however, as this thread should focus on the 2015 models. Please take any further app discussion to the MultEQ Editor app.
nathan_h likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12055 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 06:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegios View Post
I'm struggling with some settings...


Question 1

Given a certain audio mode (example: Dolby Surround) what is the difference between selecting this audio mode from the MOVIE button or from the MUSIC button? (Example: what changes between pushing the MOVIE button and choosing Dolby Surround or pushing the MUSIC button and choosing Dolby Surround?) I would expect a different equalization but I cannot hear any difference.



Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Nothing.
.
This is surprising since the old Dolby PLII had Music and Movie modes which did differ. The Movie mode had a focused center channel while the Music mode dispersed some of the center to the left and right channels for greater soundstage width.
JimLely is offline  
post #12056 of 12246 Old 05-30-2019, 10:51 PM
Member
 
thegios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post
I don't have the app. The reports that I've seen on Google Play involve unexpected and frequent disconnections between your device and the AVR, and an enforced, unmodifiable roll-off in frequency response below 25Hz. Maybe this is only true for Android OS. However, it is not unrealistic to expect an app to work properly, especially after a couple of years in deployment. (Otherwise it should be free while in "beta testing".) And, in fact, it is a necessary prerequisite for realizing the much vaunted functionality which I really like.[IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif[/IMG]
Not true for either iOS or Android. I'd suggest you review the MultEQ Editor app thread rather than following Google Play.

Enough discussion on the app however, as this thread should focus on the 2015 models. Please take any further app discussion to the MultEQ Editor app.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegios View Post
I'm struggling with some settings...


Question 1

Given a certain audio mode (example: Dolby Surround) what is the difference between selecting this audio mode from the MOVIE button or from the MUSIC button? (Example: what changes between pushing the MOVIE button and choosing Dolby Surround or pushing the MUSIC button and choosing Dolby Surround?) I would expect a different equalization but I cannot hear any difference.



Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Nothing.
.
This is surprising since the old Dolby PLII had Music and Movie modes which did differ. The Movie mode had a focused center channel while the Music mode dispersed some of the center to the left and right channels for greater soundstage width.
That's what I'd expect as well
thegios is offline  
post #12057 of 12246 Old 05-31-2019, 01:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,650
Mentioned: 727 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22378 Post(s)
Liked: 12178
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimLely View Post
This is surprising since the old Dolby PLII had Music and Movie modes which did differ. The Movie mode had a focused center channel while the Music mode dispersed some of the center to the left and right channels for greater soundstage width.
Indeed they did; however, no longer the case with the successor Dolby Surround.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12058 of 12246 Old 06-01-2019, 05:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,831
Mentioned: 176 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4691 Post(s)
Liked: 6960
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePrisoner View Post
I just installed recent firmware on my 6010 and yes, I can still apply Dolby Surround to DTS streams and vice versa.
Note that even on the future models where Dolby are going to restrict up-mixing of Dolby content, it's only in that direction. If it's a Dolby bitstream, you'll have to use the Dolby up-mixer.

As I understand it they are not killing "cross platform upmixing" entirely; only in ONE direction. That is to say, you'll still be able to use the Dolby up-mixers on DTS bitstreams.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #12059 of 12246 Old 06-01-2019, 07:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,553
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4583 Post(s)
Liked: 2653
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePrisoner View Post
I just installed recent firmware on my 6010 and yes, I can still apply Dolby Surround to DTS streams and vice versa.
Note that even on the future models where Dolby are going to restrict up-mixing of Dolby content, it's only in that direction. If it's a Dolby bitstream, you'll have to use the Dolby up-mixer.

As I understand it they are not killing "cross platform upmixing" entirely; only in ONE direction. That is to say, you'll still be able to use the Dolby up-mixers on DTS bitstreams.
It still sucks because I would rather use Neural: X since it allows for front wides.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #12060 of 12246 Old 06-01-2019, 07:54 AM
Member
 
Michaeldef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
So far my SU contact has not responded.
Looks like Europe got this update on same day for some 2015 Denons, prob similar to US D&Ms being a 4 minute update. ■ 2019/05/21

【Version: 0461-8471-8263-05】

(1) Improved the bug that Dolby Vision is not output on a specific TV................ Still interested in what they mean by an Upgrade coming on Marantz website, Bad timing as upgrading to an 8012 soon !
Michaeldef is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7010 , av7702mkii , hdmi marantz nr1506 , Marantz , marantz 7702 256gb ssd , marantz sr5010 , no sound , nr1506 , NR1606 , SR5010 , sr6010 , sr7010 , subwoofer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off