Owner's Thread for Anthem 60, 720 and 1120 Receivers - Page 115 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13223Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3421 of 8323 Old 05-18-2017, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Applemike68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Hi all

Does the 1120 have a rack kit? If so, I cannot find it on their website. Thx

JVC RS2000 : Panamorph DCR Lens : Screen Innovations 125" Slate 1.2 2.40.1
Anthem MRX 1120 : Kaleidescape Strato :Kaleidescape 24TB Server :Apple TV 4K
Oppo 203 : Xbox One X
Paradigm 95f , 55c, Paradigm Elite in wall surround and atmos speakers
SVS sb16 ultra x 3 : Emotiva XPA 3 DR 3 for LCR : Current Setup 7.3.4 Atmos : Control 4
Applemike68 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3422 of 8323 Old 05-19-2017, 07:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 6,714
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1215 Post(s)
Liked: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applemike68 View Post
Hi all

Does the 1120 have a rack kit? If so, I cannot find it on their website. Thx
Yes there is a rack mount kit for the 1120, here the installation doc https://www.anthemav.com/products-cu...0/page=reviews

You might have to contact Anthem to purchase it.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"
Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread
Legairre is offline  
post #3423 of 8323 Old 05-19-2017, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Applemike68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post
Yes there is a rack mount kit for the 1120, here the installation doc https://www.anthemav.com/products-cu...0/page=reviews

You might have to contact Anthem to purchase it.
Thank you.. I just missed it looking at it late last night.

JVC RS2000 : Panamorph DCR Lens : Screen Innovations 125" Slate 1.2 2.40.1
Anthem MRX 1120 : Kaleidescape Strato :Kaleidescape 24TB Server :Apple TV 4K
Oppo 203 : Xbox One X
Paradigm 95f , 55c, Paradigm Elite in wall surround and atmos speakers
SVS sb16 ultra x 3 : Emotiva XPA 3 DR 3 for LCR : Current Setup 7.3.4 Atmos : Control 4
Applemike68 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3424 of 8323 Old 05-19-2017, 10:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 6,714
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1215 Post(s)
Liked: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applemike68 View Post
Thank you.. I just missed it looking at it late last night.
Hey no problem, glad to help.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"
Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread
Legairre is offline  
post #3425 of 8323 Old 05-19-2017, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madhuski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1340 Post(s)
Liked: 866
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
I would probably have though maybe ARC2 is the key difference that might make you want to keep the 720. I'd have kept it anyway FWIW for the coin involved.


Maybe, but for the price difference I can buy an ounce of gold to save for a rainy day....
madhuski is offline  
post #3426 of 8323 Old 05-19-2017, 07:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 3,271
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1239 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhuski View Post
Maybe, but for the price difference I can buy an ounce of gold to save for a rainy day....
Really.. I just its the kind of thing that's never really worried me in this hobby, even going back to the 90's when I was in my early Twenties and swapping out various Yamaha receivers with my local hifi store. On top of that I've always struggled with the notion of stepping back if I'd actually had the current model in place. But if it's that much of a thing for you fair enough. You'd probably have a heart attack at the amount of spare equipment I've got laying around for sale right now.
OzHDHT is online now  
post #3427 of 8323 Old 05-21-2017, 02:34 PM
Member
 
terrspin11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
ARC Help!

Hi! I just got my MRX 720 setup, and been working on 'breaking in' the speakers. I went to perform ARC, downloaded the current software etc. But, It sent the test tone, then gave me an error message saying unable to measure. I thought maybe it was bc the laptop fan was going, so I tried the Mobile ARC on my phone. Again, it sent the test tone, then said there was too much background noise or the tone was too quiet, and was unable to measure.
I did this at midnight with no background noises I assure you. Any suggestions or ideas would be appreciated!!
terrspin11 is offline  
post #3428 of 8323 Old 05-21-2017, 07:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong / Australia
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by terrspin11 View Post
Hi! I just got my MRX 720 setup, and been working on 'breaking in' the speakers. I went to perform ARC, downloaded the current software etc. But, It sent the test tone, then gave me an error message saying unable to measure. I thought maybe it was bc the laptop fan was going, so I tried the Mobile ARC on my phone. Again, it sent the test tone, then said there was too much background noise or the tone was too quiet, and was unable to measure.
I did this at midnight with no background noises I assure you. Any suggestions or ideas would be appreciated!!
Is it test tones for all speaker locations or just some? If just some then might be something blocking the test tones hitting mic at loud enough volume (e.g. back of sofa for rear surround speakers).
Apgood is offline  
post #3429 of 8323 Old 05-22-2017, 12:00 AM
Senior Member
 
ebr9999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Note also that in manual there is "measure" feature that allows you to verify the resulting SPL speaker by speaker (and tune the volume level of your SUB).

TV: LG 55E8PLA, Pana TX-L37ET5E BD/DVR: Panasonic BMR-BWT735 Media player: Teufel Connector 2, HT Rec: ANTHEM MRX 510,
Front: Woofer&Tweeter, Center: 2Woofer&1Tweeter, Surround: Bose acoustimass 5 series II, Sub: SVS SB2000
ebr9999 is offline  
post #3430 of 8323 Old 05-22-2017, 06:58 AM
Member
 
terrspin11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apgood View Post
Is it test tones for all speaker locations or just some? If just some then might be something blocking the test tones hitting mic at loud enough volume (e.g. back of sofa for rear surround speakers).
I saw somewhere else to raise the test tones by 6+, so I did to no avail. I did 12+, same thing. It happens at the onset of measuring (Front Left), gives me the error, I click 'Retry' and nothing happens (no sound, nothing).
I emailed Anthem for help too.
terrspin11 is offline  
post #3431 of 8323 Old 05-22-2017, 07:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong / Australia
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 79
That is a bit strange. Assume it all works fine if you just play music or watch a movie?
Apgood is offline  
post #3432 of 8323 Old 05-22-2017, 07:47 AM
Member
 
terrspin11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apgood View Post
That is a bit strange. Assume it all works fine if you just play music or watch a movie?
Yes, everything else works. Ive been holding off on Arc to break the speakers in, which is why I am frustrated that it is not working.
I did finally engage my curiosity to see if Atmos is all what its cracked up to be (superman v batman, don't judge) and all I can say is WOW!!!
But I can tell with listening to all sources, my room needs to be 'Arc'd"
terrspin11 is offline  
post #3433 of 8323 Old 05-22-2017, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong / Australia
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by terrspin11 View Post
Yes, everything else works. Ive been holding off on Arc to break the speakers in, which is why I am frustrated that it is not working.
I did finally engage my curiosity to see if Atmos is all what its cracked up to be (superman v batman, don't judge) and all I can say is WOW!!!
But I can tell with listening to all sources, my room needs to be 'Arc'd"
You don't have air conditioning or anything running when doing arc test tones do you? Reason I ask is because my server used to interfere with the test tones when I ran them for my rear surrounds.
Apgood is offline  
post #3434 of 8323 Old 05-22-2017, 08:56 AM
Member
 
terrspin11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apgood View Post
You don't have air conditioning or anything running when doing arc test tones do you? Reason I ask is because my server used to interfere with the test tones when I ran them for my rear surrounds.
Correct, all HVAC was off, etc. I was doing in the middle of the night, totally silent. The test tones were quite loud, but kept getting errors.
terrspin11 is offline  
post #3435 of 8323 Old 05-22-2017, 09:35 AM
Member
 
designmule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 34
do you have the mic mounted to a tripod? If it's handheld I could see where movement during the measurement could cause an issue.

MRX-520. Mirage OMD-5: left, right & surrounds. Mirage OMD-C1: center. 2x SVS-SB-2000: subwoofer.
Intel NUC running JRiver 22. Samsung BD-C6900. Roku 3.
designmule is offline  
post #3436 of 8323 Old 05-22-2017, 09:49 AM
Member
 
terrspin11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by designmule View Post
do you have the mic mounted to a tripod? If it's handheld I could see where movement during the measurement could cause an issue.
I did use the tripod, stayed away to let it run.

designmule- How do you like your sb-2000? I have a pb-1000 in my room, and have been contemplating going sealed. Just curious, thanks!
terrspin11 is offline  
post #3437 of 8323 Old 05-22-2017, 10:51 AM
Member
 
designmule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by terrspin11 View Post
I did use the tripod, stayed away to let it run.

designmule- How do you like your sb-2000? I have a pb-1000 in my room, and have been contemplating going sealed. Just curious, thanks!
I like it. My room is about 2500 cubic feet, it plays plenty loud and low for me but I'd describe my listening habits as "tame".
terrspin11 likes this.

MRX-520. Mirage OMD-5: left, right & surrounds. Mirage OMD-C1: center. 2x SVS-SB-2000: subwoofer.
Intel NUC running JRiver 22. Samsung BD-C6900. Roku 3.
designmule is offline  
post #3438 of 8323 Old 05-22-2017, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 23,130
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4156 Post(s)
Liked: 2388
Quote:
Originally Posted by terrspin11 View Post
I did use the tripod, stayed away to let it run.
You probably want to contact Anthem. I have a vague recollection that someone else reported something similar, and Anthem said it was a bad mic and sent them a new one.
terrspin11 likes this.
stanger89 is offline  
post #3439 of 8323 Old 05-22-2017, 12:24 PM
Member
 
The Soapbox Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just upgraded my AVR from a Pioneer Elite VSX-32 to the MRX-520. There is definitely an improvement in detail and clarity and it sound great musically. However, I am picking up some sibilance in dialogue that I find annoying.

The speakers are B&W 600 series (684 Towers with an HTM 61 Centre). I've attached the ARC printout (first four pages) if anyone has any thoughts on how I might tweak the settings to cut the brightness from the centre just a bit and here's the data from the last page.

Config 1 Speaker Levels
Front Left: 3 dB
Center: 7 dB
Front Right: 3 dB
Surround Right: 0 dB
Surround Left: 0 dB
Subwoofer: -1 dB

Config 1 Targets
Fronts Crossover: 80 Hz
Center Crossover: 80 Hz
Surrounds Crossover: 140 Hz
Subwoofer Crossover: 90 Hz
Subwoofer HP: 8th Order @ 31 Hz
Min Subwoofer EQ: 26 Hz

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ARC.pdf (914.1 KB, 65 views)
The Soapbox Kid is offline  
post #3440 of 8323 Old 05-22-2017, 12:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bkeeler10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Woods Cross, Utah
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Soapbox Kid View Post
I just upgraded my AVR from a Pioneer Elite VSX-32 to the MRX-520. There is definitely an improvement in detail and clarity and it sound great musically. However, I am picking up some sibilance in dialogue that I find annoying.

The speakers are B&W 600 series (684 Towers with an HTM 61 Centre). I've attached the ARC printout (first four pages) if anyone has any thoughts on how I might tweak the settings to cut the brightness from the centre just a bit and here's the data from the last page.

Config 1 Speaker Levels
Front Left: 3 dB
Center: 7 dB
Front Right: 3 dB
Surround Right: 0 dB
Surround Left: 0 dB
Subwoofer: -1 dB

Config 1 Targets
Fronts Crossover: 80 Hz
Center Crossover: 80 Hz
Surrounds Crossover: 140 Hz
Subwoofer Crossover: 90 Hz
Subwoofer HP: 8th Order @ 31 Hz
Min Subwoofer EQ: 26 Hz

Thanks.
Were you running any room correction in the Pioneer?

The thing I notice from your charts is that your speakers have a depression in output in the sibilance range, which ARC boosted to fit its target curve. So the first thing I'd try is to change the high frequency limit of correction in ARC to somewhere between 500 Hz and 1 kHz and see how that sounds.

System
Transducers: Revel Concerta2 F36 (3), M16 (4); Tannoy AMS 6DC (4); Rythmik F18 (2)
Front end: NAD T758 v3; Outlaw Model 7125
Sources: Panasonic UB820; Oppo BDP-103; Toshiba HD-A2
Projection: JVC DLA-RS440; Seymour CenterStage UF retractable 110" 2.35:1

bkeeler10 is offline  
post #3441 of 8323 Old 05-22-2017, 03:53 PM
Member
 
The Soapbox Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkeeler10 View Post
Were you running any room correction in the Pioneer?

The thing I notice from your charts is that your speakers have a depression in output in the sibilance range, which ARC boosted to fit its target curve. So the first thing I'd try is to change the high frequency limit of correction in ARC to somewhere between 500 Hz and 1 kHz and see how that sounds.
Thanks, are you talking about the Max EQ level in the Target tab of the software?

The Pioneer did have their own proprietary correction system (MCACC) but it only did one measurement at the listening position.
The Soapbox Kid is offline  
post #3442 of 8323 Old 05-23-2017, 12:32 AM
Senior Member
 
ebr9999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by terrspin11 View Post
I did use the tripod, stayed away to let it run.

designmule- How do you like your sb-2000? I have a pb-1000 in my room, and have been contemplating going sealed. Just curious, thanks!
Hi,
a couple of suggestion to troubleshoot your issue.
  1. If you connect your ARC mic to the PC (windows10), driver are installed and you should see your ARC mic as recording device (Control panel => Sound device, recording tag). Then tapping on the mic you should see some level.
  2. In ARC manual mode, try a quick measure on your speakers. You should hear the swap tone (if the speaker is connected) and the significant signal on the screen. Even if you tap on your mic in this phase some signal shoudl show tap. If you launch the quick measure on a not connect speaker you will be measuring the noise level.
My guess (starting from 2.): if you can't hear the swap tone you have an issue with your MRX. Otherwise have a look at what you see on the screen. You should see something like what I have uploaded (in that case the mike was very closed to speaker, so the level was pretty high). If by tapping the mic no SPL is shown, you have an issue with the mic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ARC left.PNG
Views:	78
Size:	30.1 KB
ID:	2151466  

TV: LG 55E8PLA, Pana TX-L37ET5E BD/DVR: Panasonic BMR-BWT735 Media player: Teufel Connector 2, HT Rec: ANTHEM MRX 510,
Front: Woofer&Tweeter, Center: 2Woofer&1Tweeter, Surround: Bose acoustimass 5 series II, Sub: SVS SB2000

Last edited by ebr9999; 05-23-2017 at 05:34 AM.
ebr9999 is offline  
post #3443 of 8323 Old 05-23-2017, 01:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Ian Wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Pukekohe, New Zealand
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by terrspin11 View Post
Hi! I just got my MRX 720 setup, and been working on 'breaking in' the speakers. I went to perform ARC, downloaded the current software etc. But, It sent the test tone, then gave me an error message saying unable to measure. I thought maybe it was bc the laptop fan was going, so I tried the Mobile ARC on my phone. Again, it sent the test tone, then said there was too much background noise or the tone was too quiet, and was unable to measure.
I did this at midnight with no background noises I assure you. Any suggestions or ideas would be appreciated!!
Bad mic probably. Had the same problem when I bought my 1120. Dealer gave me a new mic, downloaded the new cal file and never looked back.
Ian Wilson is offline  
post #3444 of 8323 Old 05-23-2017, 04:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bkeeler10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Woods Cross, Utah
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Soapbox Kid View Post
Thanks, are you talking about the Max EQ level in the Target tab of the software?

The Pioneer did have their own proprietary correction system (MCACC) but it only did one measurement at the listening position.
Yes, and I don't think you have to remeasure either. Just change that parameter, calculate and upload.

System
Transducers: Revel Concerta2 F36 (3), M16 (4); Tannoy AMS 6DC (4); Rythmik F18 (2)
Front end: NAD T758 v3; Outlaw Model 7125
Sources: Panasonic UB820; Oppo BDP-103; Toshiba HD-A2
Projection: JVC DLA-RS440; Seymour CenterStage UF retractable 110" 2.35:1

bkeeler10 is offline  
post #3445 of 8323 Old 05-23-2017, 09:12 AM
Member
 
The Soapbox Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkeeler10 View Post
Yes, and I don't think you have to remeasure either. Just change that parameter, calculate and upload.
Thanks. I did it at 1k and it made a huge difference. Still not perfect but I'll play around with it some more.

Sent from my SM-T813 using Tapatalk
The Soapbox Kid is offline  
post #3446 of 8323 Old 05-23-2017, 05:52 PM
Member
 
terrspin11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebr9999 View Post
Hi,
a couple of suggestion to troubleshoot your issue.
  1. If you connect your ARC mic to the PC (windows10), driver are installed and you should see your ARC mic as recording device (Control panel => Sound device, recording tag). Then tapping on the mic you should see some level.
  2. In ARC manual mode, try a quick measure on your speakers. You should hear the swap tone (if the speaker is connected) and the significant signal on the screen. Even if you tap on your mic in this phase some signal shoudl show tap. If you launch the quick measure on a not connect speaker you will be measuring the noise level.
My guess (starting from 2.): if you can't hear the swap tone you have an issue with your MRX. Otherwise have a look at what you see on the screen. You should see something like what I have uploaded (in that case the mike was very closed to speaker, so the level was pretty high). If by tapping the mic no SPL is shown, you have an issue with the mic.
Thank you! Ill try this tonight. I've been emailing with Anthem support. They had me reupdate the firmware and update play fi, but still same result. I tried the mobile app too, and got an error as well. Frustrating, I am hoping this gets resolved so I can start enjoying this even more!
terrspin11 is offline  
post #3447 of 8323 Old 05-23-2017, 06:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Ian Wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Pukekohe, New Zealand
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Talking about ARC, subs and more specifically the SVS SB1000 that someone was asking about. I just replaced my old HSU ported sub with a pair of SVS SB1000's which are sealed subs. The reason I chose a sealed sub over a ported sub was because a sealed sub has a shallower roll-off compared to a ported sub. By using two I can compensate for the lower output compared to a ported sub at its resonant frequency (as well as improve the rooms bass response and listening area).

However while that all sounds good on paper, actually achieving it in real life is another thing entirely! Having read a few articles on the best places to position dual subs I was quite disappointed to see the results when I ran ARC. Massive drop in frequency response from 35hz or so, with ARC applying a very steep 7th order slope.




I then spent the next week or so, moving the subs around the room trying to dial out the hole in the frequency response. Incredibly frustrating, power cords and cables everywhere, the problem is that with two subs the number of possible positions is almost limitless! After a week I was nearly at my wits end! When at last I arrived at a position that offered a much improved frequency response over most of prime listening area.




Much better! Now ARC is only applying a 1st order roll-off. But more importantly was the instantly noticeable improvement while watching content. So if at first you don't succeed, keep trying! As far as I'm concerned the Anthem paid for itself in that one exercise alone.

As for the SB1000's, great! They look good and are much smaller than their ported cousins. Only niggle is the status light on the front which I wish wasn't there or could be switched off (both the subs ended up on the front wall). But I may just dab the lights with a permanent marker.

Last edited by Ian Wilson; 05-23-2017 at 06:27 PM.
Ian Wilson is offline  
post #3448 of 8323 Old 05-23-2017, 07:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 6,714
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1215 Post(s)
Liked: 664
Switch ARC to flat instead of 1st order, you're forcing your sub to roll off prematurely.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"
Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread
Legairre is offline  
post #3449 of 8323 Old 05-24-2017, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Ian Wilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Pukekohe, New Zealand
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post
Switch ARC to flat instead of 1st order, you're forcing your sub to roll off prematurely.
Yes, I probably should, although there is still a bit of a hole at around 27hz. I haven't touched it since finally arriving at an acceptable result for the subs. Need to drop the max EQ freq back to somewhere around the schroeder frequency for the room as well.

At some point in the future I'll probably have another go, but right now I'd rather walk on hot coals than move another sub!
Ian Wilson is offline  
post #3450 of 8323 Old 05-24-2017, 05:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
seplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Posts: 845
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post
Switch ARC to flat instead of 1st order, you're forcing your sub to roll off prematurely.
Is this generally good advice when using ARC? When would using a roll-off curve be beneficial?
seplant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
24bit/192kHz , 24bit/96khz , Anthem , anthem mrx720 , anthem triad in-wall subwoofer , atmos , firetv , hi res audio , mrx 1120 mrx 720 mrx 520 , MRX720 , [email protected] , Xbox

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off