Owner's Thread for Anthem 60, 720 and 1120 Receivers - Page 231 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13148Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6901 of 8044 Old 04-03-2019, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,763
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post
Even with other receivers you can’t turn a 2.0 signal into DD 5.1. What you can do with older receivers is up mix a 2.0 signal to like PLIIx to make the receiver use all your speakers, though it’s still not DD 5.1 it’s just an up mix. With the MRX and other modern receivers you have Dolby Surround and Dolby Surrounds can up mix 2.0 or any other format to use all your speakers.

One thing to note is that the MRX display shows the format being input to the MRX that’s why I say you are getting 2.0 from xfinity. If you want to see the format of what is being output to your speakers you have to hit the “mode” button on the remote and then you use the up/down arrows on the remote to cycle through the different output modes that are available.

Go into the input setup menu (for each input) and set the “Preset for Stereo” and the “Preset for Multichannel” to Dolby Surround so that by default the MRX will up mix audio all your speakers. Never use “Last Used”, because that will make the MRX always default that input to whatever the last format used was .

By having it set to last used you are getting the last used(probably 2.0) all the time until you change it manually with the remote to something else. If you set the inputs to Dolby Surrounds 2.0 then everything else will always get up mixed to all your speakers. So go into the inputs and set it up as Dolby Surrounds for all your inputs.
I agree. My guess is Xfinity streaming is only pcm 2.0. There are no settings for audio in the iOS or Android Xfinity stream app and there are no audio settings at the Xfinity stream web site. So that and the fact that computers don’t have settings like that and the Anthem shows pcm multichannel or similar says to me that Xfinity streaming just doesn’t have native sound. Something I have to complain about.

But in the input menu for sound on the Anthem it is set for Dolby Surround yet I still only have sound from 2.0. No center.
buggs1a is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6902 of 8044 Old 04-03-2019, 01:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 6,643
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1167 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post
I agree. My guess is Xfinity streaming is only pcm 2.0. There are no settings for audio in the iOS or Android Xfinity stream app and there are no audio settings at the Xfinity stream web site. So that and the fact that computers don’t have settings like that and the Anthem shows pcm multichannel or similar says to me that Xfinity streaming just doesn’t have native sound. Something I have to complain about.

But in the input menu for sound on the Anthem it is set for Dolby Surround yet I still only have sound from 2.0. No center.
Can you hit the mode button on the remote just one time to see what the mode is. It should say Dolby Surround. If it doesn't keep hitting it until it says Dolby Surround. Even though you have it set in the setup menu to Dolby Surround the mode button overrides the input setup menu and maybe for some reason yours is in 2.0.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"
Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread
Legairre is online now  
post #6903 of 8044 Old 04-03-2019, 02:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,763
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post
Can you hit the mode button on the remote just one time to see what the mode is. It should say Dolby Surround. If it doesn't keep hitting it until it says Dolby Surround. Even though you have it set in the setup menu to Dolby Surround the mode button overrides the input setup menu and maybe for some reason yours is in 2.0.
I’ll try tomorrow as I just got in bed. Zzzzzzz.
buggs1a is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6904 of 8044 Old 04-03-2019, 09:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 3,233
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1216 Post(s)
Liked: 732
So we're into April. I had a tiny hope that ARC Genesis might be out by the weekend so I could have a play with it and the 1120 while at my weekender but that hope is fading fast.. It will probably turn up next week after I've been lol.



Don't suppose anyone has any inside info from Anthem on the release?
OzHDHT is offline  
post #6905 of 8044 Old 04-04-2019, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,449
Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2926 Post(s)
Liked: 1681
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post
My guess is Xfinity streaming is only pcm 2.0.
Mr. Google agrees with you.
https://forums.xfinity.com/t5/XFINIT...d/td-p/3176108

Deadwood II Theater (Previous Deadwood Theater HTOM)
Anthem AVM 60 7.4.4; Classé SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4; MiniDSP OpenDRC-AN
Oppo UDP-203; Oppo BDP-93; Win7 media PC w/Roon+Kodi; Roku Ultra; DirecTV Genie
Adam Audio S3V/S3H LCR, KEF Ci200QS 4 srrnd, Tannoy Di6 DC 4 hts, Hsu ULS-15 4 subs
JVC RS520; Stewart Cima Neve screen 125" diag 2.35:1, MLP at 115"
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #6906 of 8044 Old 04-04-2019, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 5,723
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2545 Post(s)
Liked: 2379
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
So we're into April. I had a tiny hope that ARC Genesis might be out by the weekend so I could have a play with it and the 1120 while at my weekender but that hope is fading fast.. It will probably turn up next week after I've been lol.



Don't suppose anyone has any inside info from Anthem on the release?
We will ship no ARC before its time - Paul Masson Anthem

OzHDHT likes this.

#JB17
BGLeduc is offline  
post #6907 of 8044 Old 04-04-2019, 03:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Nugget's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Houston Texas USA
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by BGLeduc View Post
We will ship no ARC before its time - Paul Masson Anthem
I hope Anthem is more like that and less like this:
.
BGLeduc and OzHDHT like this.

I like cars, airplanes, running, and coding || current gear: two eyes, two ears, one brain, and some other junk.
Nugget is online now  
post #6908 of 8044 Old 04-04-2019, 04:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 3,233
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1216 Post(s)
Liked: 732
Quote:
Originally Posted by BGLeduc View Post
We will ship no ARC before its time - Paul Masson Anthem

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oSs6DcA6dFI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nugget View Post
I hope Anthem is more like that and less like this: Maaaahhaaaaaaaa. . . the. . . French.

That's gold. My god I remember those ads from when they were on TV when I was kid!
OzHDHT is offline  
post #6909 of 8044 Old 04-04-2019, 04:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
desray2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzHDHT View Post
So we're into April. I had a tiny hope that ARC Genesis might be out by the weekend so I could have a play with it and the 1120 while at my weekender but that hope is fading fast.. It will probably turn up next week after I've been lol.



Don't suppose anyone has any inside info from Anthem on the release?


Hopefully before this weekend? Very excited.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
desray2k is offline  
post #6910 of 8044 Old 04-04-2019, 05:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 3,233
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1216 Post(s)
Liked: 732
Quote:
Originally Posted by desray2k View Post
Hopefully before this weekend? Very excited.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yeah would be great however my weekend starts from today as its Friday here. So doesn't exactly leave much time lol.
OzHDHT is offline  
post #6911 of 8044 Old 04-04-2019, 05:59 PM
Member
 
dean122601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I am trying to run ARC and on the last speaker I get the error message
Measurement not able to acquire a proper response. Code 0X03.
Anyone know what this is
dean122601 is offline  
post #6912 of 8044 Old 04-05-2019, 02:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
glangford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,170
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 702 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by dean122601 View Post
I am trying to run ARC and on the last speaker I get the error message
Measurement not able to acquire a proper response. Code 0X03.
Anyone know what this is

When I bought my 520, I had a similar error, maybe the same one. I called Anthem and he suggested running test tones. I got no response from one speaker. Then I discovered a speaker wire had come loose. I felt pretty dumb! Check your wiring.

Supercharged Song Towers, Oppo BDP-203, Anthem MRX-520, LG B6 OLED
Headphone Rig: Oppo BDP-95, Burson Audio Soloist MKII Headphone amp/ Sennheiser HD800S, Sennheiser HD650
glangford is offline  
post #6913 of 8044 Old 04-05-2019, 02:37 AM
Member
 
dean122601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by glangford View Post
When I bought my 520, I had a similar error, maybe the same one. I called Anthem and he suggested running test tones. I got no response from one speaker. Then I discovered a speaker wire had come loose. I felt pretty dumb! Check your wiring.


Test tones are working on all speakers.
The mobile app works fine. Getting error message when I use computer and microphone
dean122601 is offline  
post #6914 of 8044 Old 04-05-2019, 02:45 AM
Senior Member
 
nucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: scotland
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Anthem must be updating the website as I can't get on it. I've been checking everyday. So hopefully the new room correction will be out soon.
Legairre and dean122601 like this.

AV Lexicon GX 7, Anthem MRX-720, Oppo 203, Panasonic UB420, Xbox one x, PS4 pro, TV LG 55C6, 65 C8,OLED. HD projector 106 Jvc X5000 X550, Sub Paradigm signature sub1, Speakers monitor audio platinum PL200 PLC150, Dali phantom ikon in wall & 4 phantom kompas 6m in ceiling speakers, 5.1.4 Atmos
nucky is online now  
post #6915 of 8044 Old 04-05-2019, 02:50 AM
Member
 
dean122601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by nucky View Post
Anthem must be updating the website as I can't get on it. I've been checking everyday. So hopefully the new room correction will be out soon.


Just let me on. No genesis
dean122601 is offline  
post #6916 of 8044 Old 04-05-2019, 03:06 AM
Senior Member
 
nucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: scotland
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by dean122601 View Post
Just let me on. No genesis
I've been on everyday. But still can't get on. Weird

AV Lexicon GX 7, Anthem MRX-720, Oppo 203, Panasonic UB420, Xbox one x, PS4 pro, TV LG 55C6, 65 C8,OLED. HD projector 106 Jvc X5000 X550, Sub Paradigm signature sub1, Speakers monitor audio platinum PL200 PLC150, Dali phantom ikon in wall & 4 phantom kompas 6m in ceiling speakers, 5.1.4 Atmos
nucky is online now  
post #6917 of 8044 Old 04-05-2019, 04:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
desray2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Yep. Seems like the software release is imminent as the website team is preparing the changes. Haha



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
desray2k is offline  
post #6918 of 8044 Old 04-05-2019, 07:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 6,643
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1167 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by dean122601 View Post
Test tones are working on all speakers.
The mobile app works fine. Getting error message when I use computer and microphone
I've had this and I replaced my USB cable from the computer to the mic and it worked fine after that.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"
Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread
Legairre is online now  
post #6919 of 8044 Old 04-05-2019, 07:59 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
Quote:
Originally Posted by dean122601 View Post
I am trying to run ARC and on the last speaker I get the error message
Measurement not able to acquire a proper response. Code 0X03.
Anyone know what this is
You'll get this if you mistakenly tell ARC you have more speakers than you actually have. Make sure you've got the right check boxes selected for the speakers you actually have wired before you start the ARC Measurement pass.
--Bob
dean122601 likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6920 of 8044 Old 04-05-2019, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Cant seem to find much info out there so I figured I was ask the question here. Building a house with media room and plan on using mrx 1120. My question is do I need any kind of dsp for the subs? I can get a great deal on a dbx driverack 260 but I am just wondering if its really neccesary.
nucky likes this.
[email protected] is offline  
post #6921 of 8044 Old 04-05-2019, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
vollans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by desray2k View Post
Hopefully before this weekend?
*wince* No software developer in their right mind releases new software on a Friday afternoon.

New Home Cinema: Sony VPL-VW760, Anthem MRX 1120, Q Acoustics 30x0 series speakers fronts, SVS Prime Elevation surround speakers, Proficient C791 Atmos, SVS PB2000 sub, Panasonic DMP-UB820, Apple TV, Pioneer CLD-D5V laserdisc, FetchTV, eeColor 3D LUT & Radiance XD-3D and ScreenTechnics CinemaSnap Hi Contrast 130" screen
vollans is offline  
post #6922 of 8044 Old 04-05-2019, 04:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
desray2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by vollans View Post
*wince* No software developer in their right mind releases new software on a Friday afternoon.


Haha. U r right. But it’s good to be always optimistic. Alrighty. Next week I have a good warm and fuzzy vibe that we will get our hands on the new ARC Genesis software.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mbroadus and vollans like this.
desray2k is offline  
post #6923 of 8044 Old 04-05-2019, 04:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
desray2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Cant seem to find much info out there so I figured I was ask the question here. Building a house with media room and plan on using mrx 1120. My question is do I need any kind of dsp for the subs? I can get a great deal on a dbx driverack 260 but I am just wondering if its really neccesary.


No you don’t. ARC will take care of it. Besides you should run the Anthem ARC first to see what’s the issue, if any in your room before committing to purchase additional gears which not be used after all.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
desray2k is offline  
post #6924 of 8044 Old 04-05-2019, 04:19 PM
Member
 
dean122601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
You'll get this if you mistakenly tell ARC you have more speakers than you actually have. Make sure you've got the right check boxes selected for the speakers you actually have wired before you start the ARC Measurement pass.

--Bob


This is exactly what I was doing.
Thanks.
Bob Pariseau likes this.
dean122601 is offline  
post #6925 of 8044 Old 04-05-2019, 07:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thank you very much thats what i needed to know.
[email protected] is offline  
post #6926 of 8044 Old 04-06-2019, 04:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
glangford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,170
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 702 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by nucky View Post
Anthem must be updating the website as I can't get on it. I've been checking everyday. So hopefully the new room correction will be out soon.
I got on the website fine this morning. Doesn't look any different. Still the same ARC Genesis "coming soon' banner.

Supercharged Song Towers, Oppo BDP-203, Anthem MRX-520, LG B6 OLED
Headphone Rig: Oppo BDP-95, Burson Audio Soloist MKII Headphone amp/ Sennheiser HD800S, Sennheiser HD650
glangford is offline  
post #6927 of 8044 Old 04-06-2019, 06:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
desray2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by glangford View Post
I got on the website fine this morning. Doesn't look any different. Still the same ARC Genesis "coming soon' banner.


Definitely coming soon.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
desray2k is offline  
post #6928 of 8044 Old 04-06-2019, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
cargen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 85
What IR receiver cable for the "IR IN" on back of AVM-60 ???

I thought this "Infrared (IR) Receiver Extender Cable" might work and tried it without success:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The AVM-60 manual provides no help.

Can anyone educate me as to what IR Receiver cable to use and provide a vendor source, hopefully with a hyperlink?

JVC RS3000 in AeroLift 150, Paladin DCR lens, Lumagen Radiance Pro, Two Screens: Stewart ElectiScreen StudioTek 130G 153” 240:1 and Screen Innovations Motorized Series 5 Slate 1.2 120" 16:9, Rack: Anthem AVM-60, Oppo 203, Sony CX-7000ES BD Changer, two Anthem A-5's, Rotel 1075, Atmos 7.2.4: 7 Thiel PowerPoint 1.2's, 2 SVS SB-16 Ultra's, 4 Thiel PowerPlane 1.2's. Projector cabling: FIBBR + RUIPro 10M, Remote: URC MX-990.
cargen is offline  
post #6929 of 8044 Old 04-06-2019, 12:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Norris Kasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by cargen View Post
I thought this "Infrared (IR) Receiver Extender Cable" might work and tried it without success:



https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1



The AVM-60 manual provides no help.



Can anyone educate me as to what IR Receiver cable to use and provide a vendor source, hopefully with a hyperlink?
Are you using this with a harmony remote just for you avm60? If so maybe you can get a 2.5mm mono to 3.5 mono cable and plug it to the back of the avm60. I am going to try this when I get back home from vacation.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Norris Kasey is offline  
post #6930 of 8044 Old 04-06-2019, 12:44 PM
Member
 
dean122601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Anyone ever have the volume stuck in the wide open (loud) position?
Have an AVM 60 that I can turn down
dean122601 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
24bit/192kHz , 24bit/96khz , Anthem , anthem mrx720 , anthem triad in-wall subwoofer , atmos , firetv , hi res audio , mrx 1120 mrx 720 mrx 520 , MRX720 , [email protected] , Xbox

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off