Owner's Thread for Anthem 60, 720 and 1120 Receivers - Page 241 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13123Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7201 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 07:23 AM
Senior Member
 
travis-g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylanthomasfan View Post
I tried running ARC genesis on my mac osx and maybe I am just stupid, but I found the UI quite bad. In addition, as I try to run anything, it says "critical audio problem. Please check microphone and speaker connections." The microphone is "visible" to my OS. And yes, I am running the latest mac OS.



Fail.



I don't see what the point of ARC is, especially when their software is bad.


Should I be looking at the classified section for your Anthem equipment?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Boom Boom, out go the lights.
travis-g is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7202 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
rondongon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: MTL, QC
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Remeasure !

If I read correctly, one can now re-measure any speakers without redoing ALL speaker measurements. And it is also possible to add a complete new measurement set without redoing all the previous ones.

In the previous software, you had to redo everything. Example, I just did a 2.1 measurement, and I am about to do a 5.1, so with Genesis I can just add the 5.1 measurement and not redo 2.1 ! That is big time savings and IMHO a very welcome feature.
GeekWave likes this.
rondongon is offline  
post #7203 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 07:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by travis-g View Post
Should I be looking at the classified section for your Anthem equipment?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ha! Nice try. They do make kickass audio products despite making software for a generation ago (no REST API support, terrible app, no network update, and now terrible ARC genesis). So, I am sorry to inform you my Anthem AV and (soon to be here) MCA 525 aint going nowhere.

Last edited by Dylanthomasfan; 05-03-2019 at 07:36 AM. Reason: Added more information
Dylanthomasfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7204 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 07:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HeffeMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,501
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Hello question to everybody who just ran GENESIS, are your speaker levels about 3db hotter? I called anthem and asked them if this is normal and they told me nothing has changed just a different room readout.

Regards,
Jeff
HeffeMusic is offline  
post #7205 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 103
On my system with ARC 2 and now this new ARC.. It always makes my speakers 10db to hot..

I confirmed with REW and hdmi test tones in REW and also from AIX records BluRay..

That being said... I wonder if I reduce the levels by 10db in new ARC speaker levels section, will this effect final calibration?
Or would end result for final calibration be same if I left all levels at the levels arc set..

Also..

How does the global level adjustment affect arc eq calculation?

When trying the demo last night, I calculated with leaving master global level at 0, then tried - 3db..
Seemed with - 3d the final eq curve looked different then leaving the global level at 0...

Weird...

Last edited by muad'dib; 05-03-2019 at 07:52 AM.
muad'dib is offline  
post #7206 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
desray2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeffeMusic View Post
Hello question to everybody who just ran GENESIS, are your speaker levels about 3db hotter? I called anthem and asked them if this is normal and they told me nothing has changed just a different room readout.

Regards,
Jeff
My Dolby enabled speakers indeed get a boost of 3db compared to ARC 2. As for the rest of the speakers, its perfectly fine (meaning not much change in terms of sound levels)
desray2k is offline  
post #7207 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
rondongon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: MTL, QC
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 57
WARNING: File is corrupt!

Ah the joy of early adopters... So I first did a 2.1 profile, then added a 5.1 measurement. I saved each measurement in separate file, however the file with 5.1 does NOT open in Genesis, you will get an error popup. Emailed Anthem support, note for Genesis issues send to: [email protected]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	corrupt file.png
Views:	37
Size:	49.1 KB
ID:	2561904  

Last edited by rondongon; 05-03-2019 at 08:38 AM.
rondongon is offline  
post #7208 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 09:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 6,624
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1154 Post(s)
Liked: 629
Hey guys Anthem put together a pretty good page on how to run Genesis properly and how and where to position the mic. https://www.anthemarc.com/arc-genesis/users-guide.php

They also have a page for all the setting :https://www.anthemarc.com/arc-genesi...ings/index.php

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"
Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread
Legairre is online now  
post #7209 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 09:21 AM
Senior Member
 
rondongon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: MTL, QC
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Corrupt file: missing info

Quote:
Originally Posted by rondongon View Post
Ah the joy of early adopters... So I first did a 2.1 profile, then added a 5.1 measurement. I saved each measurement in separate file, however the file with 5.1 does NOT open in Genesis, you will get an error popup. Emailed Anthem support, note for Genesis issues send to: [email protected]
Jeez, with the re-measure, they are missing sections from the previous profile, and overwriting values ... This is bad, and I wouldn't trust using it at this point.

I did a manual tedious beyond compare exercise between both files, and noticed in the 2nd file, that they magically removed the sub from Profile 1 which caused that error and somehow changed the Fronts filter values in Profile 1.

I was able to prove that this was the issue by modifying the 2nd file and then it loaded in Genesis.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Genesis_missing_sections.png
Views:	37
Size:	75.6 KB
ID:	2561926  
Dylanthomasfan likes this.
rondongon is offline  
post #7210 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 09:24 AM
Member
 
ManMower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by rondongon View Post
Jeez, with the re-measure, they are missing sections from the previous profile, and overwriting values ... This is bad, and I wouldn't trust using it at this point.

I did a manual tedious beyond compare exercise between both files, and noticed in the 2nd file, that they magically removed the sub from Profile 1 which caused that error and somehow changed the Fronts filter values in Profile 1.

I was able to prove that this was the issue by modifying the 2nd file and then it loaded in Genesis.
Good debug strategy! The extra tedious work makes for a much more useful bug report.

If you haven't already, please bring this to the attention of anthem tech support so they know it's a problem.
ManMower is online now  
post #7211 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 11:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by rondongon View Post
Jeez, with the re-measure, they are missing sections from the previous profile, and overwriting values ... This is bad, and I wouldn't trust using it at this point.

I did a manual tedious beyond compare exercise between both files, and noticed in the 2nd file, that they magically removed the sub from Profile 1 which caused that error and somehow changed the Fronts filter values in Profile 1.

I was able to prove that this was the issue by modifying the 2nd file and then it loaded in Genesis.
Could I ask if you ran your measurement on mac OSX or Windows?

Nice to know that there are some SW types here...
Dylanthomasfan is offline  
post #7212 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 11:42 AM
Senior Member
 
rondongon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: MTL, QC
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylanthomasfan View Post
Could I ask if you ran your measurement on mac OSX or Windows?

Nice to know that there are some SW types here...
I ran it on both Win10 and macOS HighSierra/Mojave, though the last run both 2.1 and 5.1 were generated on macOS. I think the issue has nothing to do with the OS, rather the software and that there is some bug with the remeasure feature that corrupts the file.
PS: EE here ;-)
rondongon is offline  
post #7213 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 11:55 AM
Newbie
 
mleuba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Adding MCA250 power amp to MRX720?

Hi All,
I'm not near making a decision on this but wanted to get your input(s) about the MCA series power amp to drive the two front Golden Ear Triton One speakers in my setup. I listen primarily to stereo music streamed from Spotify or my NAS. I actually like the Spotify Connect feature of the MRX 720 but I find the Volumio Primo streamer I use provides a bit more depth to the soundstage (different DAC than what's built in). That's an aside of course to my main query, which is whether the amp in the MCA 250 is noticeably better sonically then the built in amp for the 720? I note the toroidal power supply and "super low noise" floor etc. Just curious what y'all might think about that?

The listening room is smallish 12x18 but opens into a larger area behind a 1/2 wall. I listen at level 22-28 when I'm in my groove. Thoughts, experience and opinions?

Thanks!
mleuba is offline  
post #7214 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Erod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,732
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1170 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by mleuba View Post
Hi All,
I'm not near making a decision on this but wanted to get your input(s) about the MCA series power amp to drive the two front Golden Ear Triton One speakers in my setup. I listen primarily to stereo music streamed from Spotify or my NAS. I actually like the Spotify Connect feature of the MRX 720 but I find the Volumio Primo streamer I use provides a bit more depth to the soundstage (different DAC than what's built in). That's an aside of course to my main query, which is whether the amp in the MCA 250 is noticeably better sonically then the built in amp for the 720? I note the toroidal power supply and "super low noise" floor etc. Just curious what y'all might think about that?

The listening room is smallish 12x18 but opens into a larger area behind a 1/2 wall. I listen at level 22-28 when I'm in my groove. Thoughts, experience and opinions?

Thanks!
I just got the MCA525, and it's everything I hoped it would be. Doesn't make a peep, doesn't get hot at all, and can crank out 400 watts at 4 ohms. WAY more than I'd ever need, so tons of headroom I didn't previously have.

And it should pair nicely with your preamp like it does my AVM60.
Dylanthomasfan likes this.

Video: JVC RS620/X9500 projector, Stewart ST130 screen, Panasonic ub820 UHD player
Audio: Anthem AVM60 preamp, Anthem MCA525 amp, B&K Reference 125.7 amp
Subs: dual SVS PC-12 cylinders
Speakers: Jamo 626k4 in-wall mains, Jamo 631k4 bi/dipole surrounds, DefTech DI6.5R heights
Erod is online now  
post #7215 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HeffeMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,501
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Hello All,
After listening to some 5.1 SACDs with Genesis activated I have to say my1120 never sounded this good! Depth, width, bass all increased to another level! Sounds amazing! Thank you Anthem!
desray2k and Bleeding Edge like this.
HeffeMusic is offline  
post #7216 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
nucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: scotland
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I can't get it to work, I've got windows 7 it connects to my amp but can't download the calibration file.

AV Lexicon GX 7, Anthem MRX-720, Oppo 203, Panasonic UB420, Xbox one x, PS4 pro, TV LG 55C6, 65 C8,OLED. HD projector 106 Jvc X5000 X550, Sub Paradigm signature sub1, Speakers monitor audio platinum PL200 PLC150, Dali phantom ikon in wall & 4 phantom kompas 6m in ceiling speakers, 5.1.4 Atmos
nucky is offline  
post #7217 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 01:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 6,624
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1154 Post(s)
Liked: 629
On the "Adjust ARC Settings >> Adjust Targets" screen there is a settings that allow you to build up to a 6dB house curve. The "Deep Bass Boost" is how much to increase the bass and the "Deep Bass Boost Center Frequency" is where to start the increase from. Using these two together works really well at creating up to a 6dB house curve starting from whatever frequency to want. Darn I may not need my miniDSP 2x4 HD anymore.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"
Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread
Legairre is online now  
post #7218 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Erod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,732
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1170 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post
On the "Adjust ARC Settings >> Adjust Targets" screen there is a settings that allow you to build up to a 6dB house curve. The "Deep Bass Boost" is how much to increase the bass and the "Deep Bass Boost Center Frequency" is where to start the increase from. Using these two together works really well at creating up to a 6dB house curve starting from whatever frequency to want. Darn I may not need my miniDSP 2x4 HD anymore.
So exactly what would you set that to? And what is "tilt"?

Video: JVC RS620/X9500 projector, Stewart ST130 screen, Panasonic ub820 UHD player
Audio: Anthem AVM60 preamp, Anthem MCA525 amp, B&K Reference 125.7 amp
Subs: dual SVS PC-12 cylinders
Speakers: Jamo 626k4 in-wall mains, Jamo 631k4 bi/dipole surrounds, DefTech DI6.5R heights
Erod is online now  
post #7219 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
HarleyRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Far north Chicago suburbs
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erod View Post
So exactly what would you set that to? And what is "tilt"?
My understanding of a "tilt" eq is that it linearly boosts the frequencies on one side of the center frequency and linearly reduces the frequencies on the other side by the same amount. Think of it as sort of a see-saw. If you raise one side, the other side goes down. The fulcrum on the see-saw is the center starting frequency. Now what practical application there is for that is beyond me. Hopefully someone with more knowledge than me can chime in. Maybe if your speakers are excessively bright, you could use tilt to tame the treble and boost the bass?

Pre/Pro: Anthem AVR 60 | 5.2.4 Config: MartinLogan ElectroMotion ESL X FL/FR, Motion 50XT Center, Motion LX16 Surrounds, Motion 4i Atmos | Subs: Velodyne DD-15, Martin Logan Dynamo 1100x | Amplification: Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 1 FL/C/FR, Emotiva A-700 Surrounds and Atmos

Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread
HarleyRider is offline  
post #7220 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
jmacari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Cranston, RI
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by nucky View Post
I can't get it to work, I've got windows 7 it connects to my amp but can't download the calibration file.
I have Win10 and have the same problem (program cant download mic cal file); Anthem Support told me its a known problem.....said he was going to email me a work-around, but I never received/or he never sent it...oh, well. Anyways, I grabbed a copy of the calibration file out of the Arc 2 folder and copied it to the Genesis folder; later on, I will see if that works....

Anthem MRX-720,Outlaw 7500 5ch amp, B&K ST 202 amp
Oppo BDP-103, Sony XBR-65X930D, Rotel RP-855, Phillips BDP-7501
Paradigm Studio 100 Fronts, Martin Logan Motion LX16 rears,Martin Logan Motion 2's
Paradigm Studio cc-590 Center, Martin Logan Dynamo subwoofer, DefTech Supercube 4000
Roku Ultra, DIRECTV 4K Genie HR-54 DVR, C61K-700, OPPO Sonica DAC, Amazon Fire TV
jmacari is offline  
post #7221 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 03:48 PM
Member
 
madrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmacari View Post
I have Win10 and have the same problem (program cant download mic cal file); Anthem Support told me its a known problem.....said he was going to email me a work-around, but I never received/or he never sent it...oh, well. Anyways, I grabbed a copy of the calibration file out of the Arc 2 folder and copied it to the Genesis folder; later on, I will see if that works....
Let us know if that works.
madrac is offline  
post #7222 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 03:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Could anyone running v1.4.05 firmware version on their MRX x20 (mine is MRX 720) please let me know if they are able to run ARC genesis on their Mac (I tried two Macbook Pros, both 15 inch (late 2013 and 2017) and running Mojave/10.14.4). The software I am trying to run is ARC genesis version 1.0.0 (8849). They crash for the errors shown in the pictures ("Critical audio problem. Please check the microphone and speaker connections"). I can confirm that the laptop detects the microphone (listed in the sound preferences as soon as I connect the USB microphone). However I am confused about why it complains about a speaker connection at this stage in the software workflow.

I have already sent the ARC genesis errors to Anthem.

I have been noticing other wackiness in their firmware on the MRX 720 (the DSP version suddenly turned all weird on me and listed the version as yyyy4 (only the y's are with umlauts). I had to reload the software update (the DSP version is now correctly stated as 0.8.4). I am not sure if this issue is related to my ARC genesis issue. Anthem is also aware of the firmware issue I mention in this paragraph. My MRX 720 has firmware version of 1.4.095, DSP version of 0.8.4 and OSD version of 0.2.2.

In addition, could anyone tell me how I could go about debugging the software (ARC genesis) on my mac? Does anyone know where the log files are? Does this thing produce any log files?

Any help is appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-05-03 at 10.24.08 AM.png
Views:	33
Size:	1.05 MB
ID:	2562068   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-05-03 at 12.48.21 PM.png
Views:	34
Size:	360.0 KB
ID:	2562070  

Last edited by Dylanthomasfan; 05-03-2019 at 03:53 PM. Reason: Made some clarifications
Dylanthomasfan is offline  
post #7223 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 04:37 PM
Member
 
dgrfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ran ARC Genesis on my MacBook running OS10.12.6 (Sierra) to my MRX720 (with the latest firmware) over Wi-Fi. It loaded, ran, and uploaded ARC profiles and data to the MRX seamlessly. All controls and UI buttons seemed to work fine as well. Adjustments to compare the sound before and after one changes a setting to fine-tune a roll-off or set a house curve are quick and easy. Would be great if there were a file with the actual target curve data to show the values that it is shooting for vs frequency so that one could easily modify that to the B&K target curve for example but i haven't found that yet so one has to just use your eyes on the screen and then your ears to get something that you want to leave it set at for good.
Dylanthomasfan likes this.
dgrfan is offline  
post #7224 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 05:03 PM
Senior Member
 
rondongon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: MTL, QC
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylanthomasfan View Post
Could anyone running v1.4.05 firmware version on their MRX x20 (mine is MRX 720) please let me know if they are able to run ARC genesis on their Mac (I tried two Macbook Pros, both 15 inch (late 2013 and 2017) and running Mojave/10.14.4).
I ran it successfully on MBA/High Sierra, though I have an older MRX720 fw. I dont think the MRX firmware should matter. I'll try tom using my iMac/Mojave and see if Mojave is causing issues.

PS: ok tried it quickly on my iMac/Mojave 14.4, and I got past the initial screen where you had the error.
Dylanthomasfan likes this.

Last edited by rondongon; 05-03-2019 at 05:08 PM.
rondongon is offline  
post #7225 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 05:49 PM
Member
 
pdube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Downloaded and ran Genesis on Windows 7 laptop, because that's what I had available. Keeps crashing and not recognizing the mic. :-(
Still works with ARC2.
Will have to bring a Win10 laptop from work next week.
pdube is offline  
post #7226 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 06:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by rondongon View Post
I ran it successfully on MBA/High Sierra, though I have an older MRX720 fw. I dont think the MRX firmware should matter. I'll try tom using my iMac/Mojave and see if Mojave is causing issues.

PS: ok tried it quickly on my iMac/Mojave 14.4, and I got past the initial screen where you had the error.
Thanks; were you able to actually run ARC (i.e., beyond that screen)?

So, it looks like the new firmware on he MRX is the culprit then (assuming they did not introduce any new hardware on either the MRX or the microphone since you bought the MRX 720). What firmware version do you have? And do you know if I can download old firmware from someplace? I am thinking of rolling back my firmware.
Dylanthomasfan is offline  
post #7227 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 06:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgrfan View Post
Ran ARC Genesis on my MacBook running OS10.12.6 (Sierra) to my MRX720 (with the latest firmware) over Wi-Fi. It loaded, ran, and uploaded ARC profiles and data to the MRX seamlessly. All controls and UI buttons seemed to work fine as well. Adjustments to compare the sound before and after one changes a setting to fine-tune a roll-off or set a house curve are quick and easy. Would be great if there were a file with the actual target curve data to show the values that it is shooting for vs frequency so that one could easily modify that to the B&K target curve for example but i haven't found that yet so one has to just use your eyes on the screen and then your ears to get something that you want to leave it set at for good.
Do you mind telling what version of firmware/OSD/DSP versions you have? Thanks!
Dylanthomasfan is offline  
post #7228 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
rondongon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: MTL, QC
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylanthomasfan View Post
Thanks; were you able to actually run ARC (i.e., beyond that screen)?

So, it looks like the new firmware on he MRX is the culprit then (assuming they did not introduce any new hardware on either the MRX or the microphone since you bought the MRX 720). What firmware version do you have? And do you know if I can download old firmware from someplace? I am thinking of rolling back my firmware.
No I didn’t, my iMac is in another floor as the MRX and I didn’t see a need for it. IMHO, most likely an issue on the client side rather than the MRX. Though to prove it, I’ll need to update my MRX which I will do tomorrow evening. My MRX has
V .89, I still have that version from Anthem, PM me your email and I’ll send it.

Does the anthem mic show up fine in System Preferences, under input?
rondongon is offline  
post #7229 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 07:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Erod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Texas
Posts: 1,732
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1170 Post(s)
Liked: 703
OK, I broke one of my cardinal rules and joined the early adoption crew.

A bug and a couple of oberservations, and then some good.

Each time I moved the mic, I got a "critical error with mic or speaker connection". I just had to go back to the previous step, re-recognize the mic, then resume. It would then work.

All the levels are hot by 3-4 dB. Perhaps we should assign an offset prior? Not sure. Perhaps this will be part of an update or explanation soon. Certainly doesn't matter in the end, but I had to turn down the volume a bit from my typical level.

Then, when trying to download the settings into the AVM60, it wouldn't recognize my device until I unplugged the mic from my computer. Didn't used to have to do that.

Now, for the good. Yes, it is better than than ARC-2.

The first thing I noticed was more detail, separation, and level that has been added to the surrounds and atmos heights. They're more active now, and there are some subtle effects that are more audible because they are set a little bolder. They don't seem more localized, but they definitely have more prominence in the mix.

Second, and this requires more critical listening, the dialog seems more connected and clear to the overall calibration. Same basic clarity, but seemingly a more accurate volume level and tone to go with the other speakers. Slightly less bright in my setup. This will take more review with familiar sources, but I'm curious if anyone else has that observation.

Needs some updates to fix a few quirks, but the goods are there.
desray2k and Bleeding Edge like this.

Video: JVC RS620/X9500 projector, Stewart ST130 screen, Panasonic ub820 UHD player
Audio: Anthem AVM60 preamp, Anthem MCA525 amp, B&K Reference 125.7 amp
Subs: dual SVS PC-12 cylinders
Speakers: Jamo 626k4 in-wall mains, Jamo 631k4 bi/dipole surrounds, DefTech DI6.5R heights
Erod is online now  
post #7230 of 7868 Old 05-03-2019, 07:36 PM
Senior Member
 
vollans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Having listened to a few films now with the Genesis setup, I’m very happy. It seems to be getting the surround, rear surround, and Atmos levels a lot better for them actually to be heard properly and mesh properly. Panning shots really do properly pan now, whereas before I used to get the volume tailing off a bit much if something went behind or over. On my setup and my room it seems to be a big improvement.
desray2k and Bleeding Edge like this.

New Home Cinema: Sony VPL-VW760, Anthem MRX 1120, Q Acoustics 30x0 series speakers fronts, SVS Prime Elevation surround speakers, Proficient C791 Atmos, SVS PB2000 sub, Panasonic DMP-UB820, Apple TV, Pioneer CLD-D5V laserdisc, FetchTV, eeColor 3D LUT & Radiance XD-3D and ScreenTechnics CinemaSnap Hi Contrast 130" screen
vollans is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
24bit/192kHz , 24bit/96khz , Anthem , anthem mrx720 , anthem triad in-wall subwoofer , atmos , firetv , hi res audio , mrx 1120 mrx 720 mrx 520 , MRX720 , [email protected] , Xbox

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off