Owner's Thread for Anthem 60, 720 and 1120 Receivers - Page 270 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13246Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8071 of 8398 Old 07-22-2019, 02:07 AM
Senior Member
 
nucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: scotland
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyld0 View Post
I bought the 1120 thinking I wouldn't need any external amps but I'm running into distortion on the center channel with both a Polk CSi5 and pn recently purchased a Chane 2.4 to try out. I think either something is wrong with the center channel on the 1120 or it's underpowered or I am just somehow more demanding than an average user?

I believe when I run ARC, it is setting the target to match -20dB on the volume control, is that right? It targets 75dB by default but I turn that down by 3dB to 72dB and then turn the results down an additional -3dB which makes me suspect my -20 is now set to 69. That should mean if I'm up to -10 I should be at 79 and at 0 if be at 89.

Based on all the calculations I've looked at, I would think the MRX1120 would be able to handle that fine with 90dB sensitive speakers sitting about 10.5' away. I'm getting clipping and distortion on dialog from the center channel. Haven't really noticed anything on other channels. Not sure how to measure this since REW only gives options to run sweeps on L, R or L+R.

Never had these issues on my Marantz SR7009 with 9 channels driven. Should I have gotten the 720 or prepro Anthem with external amp since I might need an amp anyway? Or should I try more sensitive speakers? Or is something just not right with this new AVR?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
ARC Genesis Try setting the front and centre speakers to 2khz that should take the distortion away. It did it with mine.

AV Lexicon GX 7, Anthem MRX-720, Oppo 203, Panasonic UB420, Xbox one x, PS4 pro, TV LG 55C6, 65 C8,OLED. HD projector 106 Jvc X5000 X550, Sub Paradigm signature sub1, Speakers monitor audio platinum PL200 PLC150, Dali phantom ikon in wall & 4 phantom kompas 6m in ceiling speakers, 5.1.4 Atmos
nucky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8072 of 8398 Old 07-22-2019, 06:47 AM
Member
 
wyld0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by nucky View Post
ARC Genesis Try setting the front and centre speakers to 2khz that should take the distortion away. It did it with mine.
Distortion is still there if I go into the input and turn ARC off. I will also try this though.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
wyld0 is offline  
post #8073 of 8398 Old 07-22-2019, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
nucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: scotland
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyld0 View Post
Distortion is still there if I go into the input and turn ARC off. I will also try this though.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
If it still does that then there must be a problem with the amp.

AV Lexicon GX 7, Anthem MRX-720, Oppo 203, Panasonic UB420, Xbox one x, PS4 pro, TV LG 55C6, 65 C8,OLED. HD projector 106 Jvc X5000 X550, Sub Paradigm signature sub1, Speakers monitor audio platinum PL200 PLC150, Dali phantom ikon in wall & 4 phantom kompas 6m in ceiling speakers, 5.1.4 Atmos
nucky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8074 of 8398 Old 07-22-2019, 10:43 AM
Member
 
wyld0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by nucky View Post
If it still does that then there must be a problem with the amp.
Get this - I tried using the preamp output on the Anthem to the pre-amp input on the Marantz and still had distortion. Problem with the preamp??

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
wyld0 is offline  
post #8075 of 8398 Old 07-22-2019, 01:21 PM
Member
 
theSteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by madrac View Post
Correct..need an external amp for second set of Atmos heights.
I always think of Zone 2 as being located in another room. Not as part of ATMOS channels. Is this my mistake?

theSteam is offline  
post #8076 of 8398 Old 07-22-2019, 02:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Norris Kasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyld0 View Post
Get this - I tried using the preamp output on the Anthem to the pre-amp input on the Marantz and still had distortion. Problem with the preamp??

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
What firmware are you on? What version of Genesis?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Norris Kasey is online now  
post #8077 of 8398 Old 07-22-2019, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Delija's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: NS
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 287
@wyld0
What are the speaker levels?

Anthem MRX 720 | Parasound Halo A21
Dynaudio Contour 60 | Dynaudio Excite X28 | Dynaudio Emit M20 | 2x SVS SB16-Ultra
LG OLED65C7V
Delija is offline  
post #8078 of 8398 Old 07-22-2019, 03:24 PM
Member
 
madrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by theSteam View Post
I always think of Zone 2 as being located in another room. Not as part of ATMOS channels. Is this my mistake?

That's how I think of it, as well. Zone 2 isn't part of the ATMOS channels. You can reassign zone 2 to height speakers. See pg 17 of the manual
madrac is offline  
post #8079 of 8398 Old 07-22-2019, 04:48 PM
Member
 
wyld0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norris Kasey View Post
What firmware are you on? What version of Genesis?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Firmware 1.4.095, ARC Genesis 1.1.0.9006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delija View Post
@wyld0
What are the speaker levels?
ARC Genesis wanted to put L and R at +15 and Center at +14. I set the target to -3dB in ARC which set the L and R to +12 and center to +11. After loading the filters and calibration, I went into the UI on the AVR and further reduced each speaker by 3 more dB so now the center is at +8.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
wyld0 is offline  
post #8080 of 8398 Old 07-22-2019, 04:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
MRX 1120 Freezes Controls after being on for a while (1 or 2 movies). The remote or front panel controls do not respond and I have to physically unplug power for control to come back. Playback continues though as if nothing happened. Anyone else have this issue? I have emailed Anthem support as well but no reply yet. I am running latest version of firmware.
AnthemOwner is offline  
post #8081 of 8398 Old 07-22-2019, 06:53 PM
Member
 
wyld0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthemOwner View Post
MRX 1120 Freezes Controls after being on for a while (1 or 2 movies). The remote or front panel controls do not respond and I have to physically unplug power for control to come back. Playback continues though as if nothing happened. Anyone else have this issue? I have emailed Anthem support as well but no reply yet. I am running latest version of firmware.
I think I might look for another brand. I'd be willing to work through the issues but would need support to respond for that.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
wyld0 is offline  
post #8082 of 8398 Old 07-22-2019, 07:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyld0 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthemOwner View Post
MRX 1120 Freezes Controls after being on for a while (1 or 2 movies). The remote or front panel controls do not respond and I have to physically unplug power for control to come back. Playback continues though as if nothing happened. Anyone else have this issue? I have emailed Anthem support as well but no reply yet. I am running latest version of firmware.
I think I might look for another brand. I'd be willing to work through the issues but would need support to respond for that.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
I am happy with the sound so far, just this one issue. It just recently started happening as well. I would be surprised if noone else has encountered this. I recently did a factory reset of the receiver and it seems to happen more now. Thanks in advance!
AnthemOwner is offline  
post #8083 of 8398 Old 07-23-2019, 08:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Delija's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: NS
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthemOwner View Post
MRX 1120 Freezes Controls after being on for a while (1 or 2 movies). The remote or front panel controls do not respond and I have to physically unplug power for control to come back. Playback continues though as if nothing happened. Anyone else have this issue? I have emailed Anthem support as well but no reply yet. I am running latest version of firmware.
It happened to me just once - the second day of owning.
It never happened again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delija View Post
Second day of owning and I've already had to pull the power cord - it got stuck/frozen.

I fell a sleep listening to the music and when I woke up I've tried to lower the volume on mobile application (I was using it for couple of hours without problems) - it wasn't working. But, remote control and all buttons on AVR were also not working. Completely stuck/frozen.

Not a great way to start...
I had Yamaha AVRs for more than 15 years and not even one issue.

Anthem MRX 720 | Parasound Halo A21
Dynaudio Contour 60 | Dynaudio Excite X28 | Dynaudio Emit M20 | 2x SVS SB16-Ultra
LG OLED65C7V
Delija is offline  
post #8084 of 8398 Old 07-23-2019, 01:46 PM
Member
 
theSteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just a quick note of thanks for the answers to my question!
Thanks! (Page 17)

theSteam is offline  
post #8085 of 8398 Old 07-23-2019, 11:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delija View Post
It happened to me just once - the second day of owning.
It never happened again.
Just to update the thread, I got this response from Anthem for the control freezing/stuck problem:

This could be caused by a couple different things. It could be caused by out of date firmware. I will include instructions on how to update the Anthem and Play-Fi firmware on the unit, please perform both updates.

​Another cause of this problem could be a CEC conflict. I would recommend ensuring that CEC is disabled on HDMI devices that are connected to the unit to see if that helps resolve the issue if updating the firmware does not.

I haven't yet tried these recommendations but will do and update if they work.
AnthemOwner is offline  
post #8086 of 8398 Old 07-24-2019, 10:14 PM
Member
 
wyld0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthemOwner View Post
Just to update the thread, I got this response from Anthem for the control freezing/stuck problem:



This could be caused by a couple different things. It could be caused by out of date firmware. I will include instructions on how to update the Anthem and Play-Fi firmware on the unit, please perform both updates.



​Another cause of this problem could be a CEC conflict. I would recommend ensuring that CEC is disabled on HDMI devices that are connected to the unit to see if that helps resolve the issue if updating the firmware does not.



I haven't yet tried these recommendations but will do and update if they work.
I'm glad they responded to you. First thing I do whenever I get new electronics is update to latest firmware even before I start setting it up so that's a good call. I also disable CEC due to issues I've had in the past with Harmony and things getting screwed up from multiple control sources.

Unfortunately they still haven't replied to my request regarding the center channel distortion / clipping and I'm torn on whether I need to be buying an amp, different speakers, or a different AVR brand or if this one is just faulty. I wish there was a good way for me to measure or show evidence of what I'm hearing.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
wyld0 is offline  
post #8087 of 8398 Old 07-24-2019, 10:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Norris Kasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 70
How big is the room? How many measurements do you take with Genesis?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Norris Kasey is online now  
post #8088 of 8398 Old 07-24-2019, 10:36 PM
Member
 
wyld0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norris Kasey View Post
How big is the room? How many measurements do you take with Genesis?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
22.5' x 21.75' x 8.75' (4035 ft3 modeled in sketchup)

7.2.4
Polk RTi 10 - Front L/R
Polk CSi 6 - C (currently also evaluating Chane A2.4 because of the center voice / dialog distortion)
Polk OWM5 - Surround (Side) L/R
Polk FXi 6 - Rear L/R dipole
4 x Polk OMW3 - ceiling mount Atmos
2 x Rythmik FV15HP sub/LFE

Have been wondering if I should try Power Sound Audio but hate to think there's something wrong with this expensive MRX1120 that my Marantz SR7009 handled no problem.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
wyld0 is offline  
post #8089 of 8398 Old 07-24-2019, 10:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Norris Kasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 70
How many measurement positions did you take? Have you set the speaker distances from the listening position?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Norris Kasey is online now  
post #8090 of 8398 Old 07-24-2019, 10:49 PM
Member
 
wyld0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norris Kasey View Post
How many measurement positions did you take? Have you set the speaker distances from the listening position?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
I've tried it 7 or 8 times - always use 5 positions. Most times is the tight X approach but I've done the standard positions approach too.

Happens even if ARC is disabled on the input so I don't think it's an ARC thing.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
wyld0 is offline  
post #8091 of 8398 Old 07-24-2019, 10:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Norris Kasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Try using more measurements. Did you set the distances?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Norris Kasey is online now  
post #8092 of 8398 Old 07-24-2019, 10:52 PM
Member
 
wyld0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norris Kasey View Post
Try using more measurements. Did you set the distances?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Yes, set the distances. You really think more measurements will help if it happens even if ARC is disabled?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
wyld0 is offline  
post #8093 of 8398 Old 07-24-2019, 11:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Norris Kasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 70
I had a similar issue and I think it was related to Genesis. I had distortion on my left front mainly in vocals and mid range. The distortion was noticeable at any volume level. I thought my speaker was blown. I would try uninstalling Genesis install it again. Do a factory reset on the mrx. Hold select button on recover and power on. I would even try loading the firmware again. See if that helps first. If all this fails I guess one of us could send you a arc file just to see if it works without distortion

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Norris Kasey is online now  
post #8094 of 8398 Old 07-24-2019, 11:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Norris Kasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Have you tried hooking up a different speaker to the center. Or the center to a different channel on the MRX

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Norris Kasey is online now  
post #8095 of 8398 Old 07-25-2019, 07:30 AM
Member
 
wyld0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Yes. I bought a new center and same thing. Only at higher volumes - distortion/sharp peaks in vocals - might be clipping.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
wyld0 is offline  
post #8096 of 8398 Old 07-25-2019, 05:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
rwheelwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyld0 View Post
Yes. I bought a new center and same thing. Only at higher volumes - distortion/sharp peaks in vocals - might be clipping.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Try a factory reset and see if it does it without running ARC. If it still does return it and maybe replace it? That is up to you.
rwheelwright is offline  
post #8097 of 8398 Old 07-25-2019, 11:45 PM
Senior Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Post Getting Comcast X1 voice remote to work

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyld0 View Post
First thing I do whenever I get new electronics is update to latest firmware even before I start setting it up so that's a good call. I also disable CEC due to issues I've had in the past with Harmony and things getting screwed up from multiple control sources.
Yes, CEC sucks, but it can be used effectively in limited ways.

Comcast does not recognize Anthem branded equipment which means you can't use their nice X1 voice remotes directly to watch TV and get sound through your nice audio system. I have sorted out a way that works, but it does involve the dreaded CEC (and ARC.) I hope it is useful to others.

My system is: AVR (Anthem 1120), 4K TV (LG C7), STB (Comcast X1), Universal remote (Harmony hub) and other input sources (XboneS, OPPO 203, Roku...). Hookup is as follows:
Comcast STB-> TV HDMI non-ARC (Input 1 for me)
Anthem AVR-> TV HDMI ARC (Input 2 for me)
Other input sources -> AVR inputs

You must create an input on the Anthem that has no video and uses ARC-HDMI for audio. (This is Input 8 for me, retitled COMCAST.) Make sure all HDMI cables are good high speed ones.

CEC is fully turned on for TV and for Anthem, but for no other component. (If anything else has CEC turned on, weird stuff will happen.)
Set TV to output sound to ARC.

This way when the Comcast remote powers on the TV, the AVRwill turn on and will be set to the right input. When the power to the TV goes off, the AVR will go off. This way simple TV watchers can use the nice Comcast remote to do everything. In getting this to work, I seem to have to set certain audio and video features on the TV twice; I probably did them in the wrong order or something, but be prepared for that.

The Universal remote can be programmed to also do all othe TV stuff too but w/o the nice voice features; more importantly it is used for any non-TV sources. So when playing e.g. a 4K disk, I use my harmony with the AVR as the hub.

Using ARC for the TV sound means that nothing better than 5.1 sound get transmitted, but that only affects Comcast and they do not have any sound better than 5.1. For 4K disks and ROKU streaming, which do have some atmos content, the sound goes to the AVR first and so there is no loss.

CEC is not implemented in all TVs the same way. My LG version (called SIMPLELINK) handshakes with the Anthem quite well, others may not. So far I am a happy camper, but any software update could mess me up.

====
MRX1120, Oppo 203, LG & Samsung HDR, XboneS, Xfinity X1, Harmony
vodil is offline  
post #8098 of 8398 Old 07-26-2019, 06:04 PM
Member
 
knmlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Glen Haven, Colorado
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post
These "dual HDMI output" AVRs are not really equipped for our needs. It's the video equivalent of typical "dual subwoofer outputs" that cannot adjust delay offsets or EQ individually. So I fortify the AVM 60 with an external HDMI splitter/scaler and the Sub output with a MiniDSP. Might seem clunky but it works seamlessly.

I'm feeding the splitter's "2k" output into the SSP-800 which feeds a 2k display.
I’m considering an upgrade to the 1120 (from a Yamaha 2060) mainly because of ARC (my room needs lots of help). I have two 4K displays to connect. One is an LG OLED and the other is an Epson 5040 projector. Both can take 4K HDR. On the Yamaha, I don’t do anything special. Just turn the TV off and the projector on and everything works. Will that not be the case with the 1120? I’m not opposed to using a splitter, just want to make sure what I am getting into it.

One other question for you Anthem owners that have upgraded from Yamaha. Do you miss any of the DSP stuff? I don’t use much of it, but do use the Movie mode and stuff like dialog lift. What mode do you prefer when playing 5.1 sources (like DIRECTV stuff)? I have a 7.2.2 setup.

Thanks,
Mark

Mark
knmlee is offline  
post #8099 of 8398 Old 07-26-2019, 08:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jon SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by knmlee View Post
I’m considering an upgrade to the 1120 (from a Yamaha 2060) mainly because of ARC (my room needs lots of help). I have two 4K displays to connect. One is an LG OLED and the other is an Epson 5040 projector. Both can take 4K HDR. On the Yamaha, I don’t do anything special. Just turn the TV off and the projector on and everything works. Will that not be the case with the 1120? I’m not opposed to using a splitter, just want to make sure what I am getting into it.



One other question for you Anthem owners that have upgraded from Yamaha. Do you miss any of the DSP stuff? I don’t use much of it, but do use the Movie mode and stuff like dialog lift. What mode do you prefer when playing 5.1 sources (like DIRECTV stuff)? I have a 7.2.2 setup.



Thanks,

Mark


I have the Yamaha 2060 in Family Room using 5.1 (with PSB Imagine speakers), and AVM60 in Media Room using 7.1 (with Monitor Audio Gold Reference speakers). I had the Yamaha for a while and then when my Marantz AV7005 broke bought the Anthem.

I much prefer the Anthem and ARC to the Marantz and Yamaha. I found night and day with ARC.

If I knew what I know now I would have bought and Anthem Receiver for my family room instead of the Yamaha but at the time I did not want to spend too much but in retrospect I think the extra $$$ are worth it.

Yamaha is good but I think Anthem is a class above.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bleeding Edge likes this.

HT Room: Anthem AVM60 (replaced Marantz AV7005 & Parasound Halo C2), Parasound Halo A51 & A23, Monitor Audio GR60, GR Centre, GR10, GSFX, SVS SB-4000, Sony 75X900e, PS4

Family Room: Yamaha RX-A2060, PSB Imagine T2, Imagine Centre, Imagine B, Oppo Digital BDP-80, Samsung QN65Q7CN
Jon SS is offline  
post #8100 of 8398 Old 07-27-2019, 04:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 837 Post(s)
Liked: 673
I should be getting a 720 on Monday.
I have an amp (for the Top Rear Atmos speakers) that has a 12V trigger port.
I know that a mono 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable is recommended, but would a stereo cable work as well?
sigpig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
24bit/192kHz , 24bit/96khz , Anthem , anthem mrx720 , anthem triad in-wall subwoofer , atmos , firetv , hi res audio , mrx 1120 mrx 720 mrx 520 , MRX720 , [email protected] , Xbox

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off