Owner's Thread for Anthem 60, 720 and 1120 Receivers - Page 336 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 14036Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10051 of 10196 Old 06-29-2020, 04:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Quattro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan Pinto View Post
Just as an update, heard that Anthem will skip MRX-30's for the new models and call them MRX-40's. Let's see.
Also, i got rid of my B&W subwoofer (old AS-6) and got myself a Paradigm Defiance X-12. I've set it up, run ARC and it sounds pretty awesome. Still playing with some tweaks. I did notice one thing though.
First round of calibration, i did with a Laptop attached to the sub and Anthem MIC to laptop. I wasn't getting the thump that i wanted.
Second round, i used ARC Mobile with my ARC mike connected to my IOS phone using a 3.5mm to Lightning OTG adaptor. This sounded way better than the first time with the laptop.
I was told that doing it with the laptop is much better than the mobile. I experienced differently. Anybody have similar experiences?

Thanks
Any ETA on the next MRX line-up?
Quattro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10052 of 10196 Old 06-30-2020, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1451 Post(s)
Liked: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quattro View Post
Any ETA on the next MRX line-up?

Probably not until hdmi 2.1 has been stabilized.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Naim Uniti Nova, Vintage Marantz Model 22, Oppo UDP-203, Bluesound Node 2i, TEAC A-4070 Tape Deck
Focal Aria 936/CC900, B&W M-1, SVS SB-3000, MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is online now  
post #10053 of 10196 Old 06-30-2020, 09:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,874
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3053 Post(s)
Liked: 2132
Based on the crippled versions being rolled out this year by Denon and Marantz, it’s looking like 2021 may be the earliest we could see stability in the hdmi2.1 receiver category.


My current setup.
Recommended podcasts: The Next Picture Show, the /filmcast, AV Rant.
nathan_h is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10054 of 10196 Old 07-01-2020, 04:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1451 Post(s)
Liked: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Based on the crippled versions being rolled out this year by Denon and Marantz, it’s looking like 2021 may be the earliest we could see stability in the hdmi2.1 receiver category.

Fine by me!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
MOberhardt likes this.

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Naim Uniti Nova, Vintage Marantz Model 22, Oppo UDP-203, Bluesound Node 2i, TEAC A-4070 Tape Deck
Focal Aria 936/CC900, B&W M-1, SVS SB-3000, MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is online now  
post #10055 of 10196 Old 07-01-2020, 09:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeffeMusic View Post
Hello Bryan,
Understood! I sure Hope it is sooner than later!
Regards,
Jeff
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quattro View Post
Any ETA on the next MRX line-up?
Heard it will be November this year..
Quattro likes this.

7.1.4 System: | Yamaha RX-A3080 | B&W DM-604 Front, CC-6 Centre, DS-6 Surround, M1-Surround Back, CCM664-Front Height. CCM665-Rear Height, Paradigm Defiance X12-Subwoofer, Rotel RB-993 Power Amp-Use Balanced XLR for Front Speakers, RB-1070-Surround Speakers, Sony UBP-X700 4K-DVD Player, Marantz CD63-MKii Ken Ishiwata Signature-CD Player, Logitech Squeezebox (Connected to NAS), Sony 65" XBR 1080P (To be upgraded this year)
Bryan Pinto is offline  
post #10056 of 10196 Old 07-02-2020, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Quattro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Anyone who’s bought their MRX in the last few months, do you have the option in the Dolby Atmos menu to activate “Center Spread” feature?

I was just watching this video that talks about Dolby eliminating it. If they have at least there is still Anthem Logic Music mode which accomplishes the same thing (minimizing music in the center channel).


Edit: May have found the reason, this is in the comment section:
They're doing this because they're launching Atmos Music. If our receivers have upmixing options that sound almost as good, there would be little reason to subscribe to streaming services paying them licensing fees. They're removing a feature we had and selling it back to us.

Last edited by Quattro; 07-02-2020 at 07:59 PM.
Quattro is offline  
post #10057 of 10196 Old 07-02-2020, 07:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4,267
Mentioned: 90 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2550 Post(s)
Liked: 1647
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quattro View Post
Anyone who’s bought their MRX in the last few months, do you have the option in the Dolby Atmos menu to activate “Center Spread” feature?

I was just watching this video that talks about Dolby eliminating it. If they have at least there is still Anthem Logic Music mode which accomplishes the same thing (minimizing music in the center channel).

http://https://youtu.be/fTcdA0Dqlqk
I was going to post about this perhaps start a petition and send to dolby?
Legairre and Quattro like this.

EPSON TW-9300 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, DIY Subs 18" 24hz tune and 12" 17hz tune Panasonic UB900, HTPC, etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-di...l#post50298297
Bandyka is offline  
post #10058 of 10196 Old 07-03-2020, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,874
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3053 Post(s)
Liked: 2132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan Pinto View Post
Heard it will be November this year..
Sure hope they have full fat HDMI 2.1 chips worked out by then!
mikeyf likes this.


My current setup.
Recommended podcasts: The Next Picture Show, the /filmcast, AV Rant.
nathan_h is offline  
post #10059 of 10196 Old 07-04-2020, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1451 Post(s)
Liked: 629
Is there a way to delete an input in the input setup menu?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Naim Uniti Nova, Vintage Marantz Model 22, Oppo UDP-203, Bluesound Node 2i, TEAC A-4070 Tape Deck
Focal Aria 936/CC900, B&W M-1, SVS SB-3000, MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is online now  
post #10060 of 10196 Old 07-04-2020, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
eyecatcher127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Is there a way to delete an input in the input setup menu?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
press clear on the remote
mbroadus likes this.
eyecatcher127 is offline  
post #10061 of 10196 Old 07-04-2020, 11:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1451 Post(s)
Liked: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyecatcher127 View Post
press clear on the remote

Thanks.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Naim Uniti Nova, Vintage Marantz Model 22, Oppo UDP-203, Bluesound Node 2i, TEAC A-4070 Tape Deck
Focal Aria 936/CC900, B&W M-1, SVS SB-3000, MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is online now  
post #10062 of 10196 Old 07-04-2020, 09:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
sddawson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 70
New to this forum. I have an MRX1120. Has there been any noise about Anthem enabling the Onscreen Display for volume etc. when handling Dolby Vision? I see some manufacturers have done this. Would it, by any chance, be in the beta firmware I've read about?
sddawson is offline  
post #10063 of 10196 Old 07-05-2020, 04:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by sddawson View Post
New to this forum. I have an MRX1120. Has there been any noise about Anthem enabling the Onscreen Display for volume etc. when handling Dolby Vision? I see some manufacturers have done this. Would it, by any chance, be in the beta firmware I've read about?
I called Anthem's support line a few months ago and asked about the OSD for DV, and they said there were no plans to fix that. I use the smartphone app in place of the remote most of the time, which works pretty well.
mbroadus likes this.
bman2084 is offline  
post #10064 of 10196 Old 07-05-2020, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1451 Post(s)
Liked: 629
I know a while back some people were looking for a Logitech or other remote to control their Anthem AVR/AVM, did you guys find a solution? I’m currently using 3 remotes and would like to at least get it down to 2 for my 720 and Xfinity cable box.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Naim Uniti Nova, Vintage Marantz Model 22, Oppo UDP-203, Bluesound Node 2i, TEAC A-4070 Tape Deck
Focal Aria 936/CC900, B&W M-1, SVS SB-3000, MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is online now  
post #10065 of 10196 Old 07-05-2020, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
madrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
I know a while back some people were looking for a Logitech or other remote to control their Anthem AVR/AVM, did you guys find a solution? I’m currently using 3 remotes and would like to at least get it down to 2 for my 720 and Xfinity cable box.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I use the Logitech 650. This and the TV remote (as I generally don't use my system for tv) are on the coffee table, other remotes in the drawer.

LG OLED65E6P, Anthem MRX720, Rogue Atlas Magnum II, UPA7, Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers with RAAL, Luna Duo center, Sierra 2 surrounds, and HTM200SE front & rear heights, Rythmik E15HPx2, miniDSP, VPI Classic 1+ (VTA Tower, 3D arm), VAS NOVA and Soundsmith Paua cartridges, Manley Chinook, Oppo 103D, Oppo 203. Audio Sensibility and Blue Jeans cabling, Symposium & Isoacoustics isolation products
madrac is offline  
post #10066 of 10196 Old 07-05-2020, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
I know a while back some people were looking for a Logitech or other remote to control their Anthem AVR/AVM, did you guys find a solution? I’m currently using 3 remotes and would like to at least get it down to 2 for my 720 and Xfinity cable box.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I picked up a Harmony 665 Remote on sale for $49.99 from bestbuy.com back in May. I use it with every one of my devices. Unfortunately it is limited to 10 total devices.

Anthem Receiver: When selecting the device "Anthem AV", it gives you 12 windows, each with 4 options. The 1/12 and 2/12 have some quick option features. 12/12 has the "Setup" button feature, and can easily scrolled to by hitting the "left button" once. From here, you can use the directional arrows and enter button. Unfortunately, the "Exit" button doesn't take you out of the Setup feature. You have to push the Setup button in the window, then click the "Back" and "Activity" button in the screen to go back to the activity you are in. It's a little more time than if you just used the MRX remote.

One feature that can be annoying is that the MRX receiver's last input or a designated input come up first once the receiver turns on. Sometimes this can make it so that whichever ACTIVITY you select has it's input go back to the default. Just pushing help and following the prompt can fix this within 5 -10 seconds.

I'd rather have these small nuisances with a $50 remote than a $199+ remote.
mbroadus likes this.

Anthem MRX1120, AC Infinity Aircom T8 and S7, Panamax 5300-PM
Speakers (KEF): R700, R200C, SR/SL - Q150
Subs: Rythmik E15HP2 (x2) w/ miniDSP 2x4 HD
TV: LG 65C9AUA(OLED), Devices: Apple TV 4K, StreamSmart Pro, Xbox One, and Xbox 360

pn56Matt is online now  
post #10067 of 10196 Old 07-05-2020, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gprace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Norwalk, Ct
Posts: 3,289
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 12854
Quote:
Originally Posted by pn56Matt View Post
One feature that can be annoying is that the MRX receiver's last input or a designated input come up first once the receiver turns on. Sometimes this can make it so that whichever ACTIVITY you select has it's input go back to the default. Just pushing help and following the prompt can fix this within 5 -10 seconds.

I'd rather have these small nuisances with a $50 remote than a $199+ remote.

I am using a Harmony One that I have had for quite a while. Works fine with the same exception you mention in the quote, but I live with it.

LG Oled65E6P, Anthem MRX 720, OPPO UDP-203, ATV4, Samsung DVR, Rega P3 turntable, Bellari VP130 Phono Pre Amp, Vienna Acoustics Mozart Grand SE Fronts, Vienna Acoustic Maestro Center, Vienna Acoustic Bach Rears, Rel T7i Sub, Bluesound Vault 2
gprace is online now  
post #10068 of 10196 Old 07-05-2020, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1451 Post(s)
Liked: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by pn56Matt View Post
I picked up a Harmony 665 Remote on sale for $49.99 from bestbuy.com back in May. I use it with every one of my devices. Unfortunately it is limited to 10 total devices.

Anthem Receiver: When selecting the device "Anthem AV", it gives you 12 windows, each with 4 options. The 1/12 and 2/12 have some quick option features. 12/12 has the "Setup" button feature, and can easily scrolled to by hitting the "left button" once. From here, you can use the directional arrows and enter button. Unfortunately, the "Exit" button doesn't take you out of the Setup feature. You have to push the Setup button in the window, then click the "Back" and "Activity" button in the screen to go back to the activity you are in. It's a little more time than if you just used the MRX remote.

One feature that can be annoying is that the MRX receiver's last input or a designated input come up first once the receiver turns on. Sometimes this can make it so that whichever ACTIVITY you select has it's input go back to the default. Just pushing help and following the prompt can fix this within 5 -10 seconds.

I'd rather have these small nuisances with a $50 remote than a $199+ remote.

Thanks...I’m trying to find a remote for my wife for whenever I’m not home. If she can get the TV, the 720 and Xfinity box on, she can watch cabletv, Netflix and Amazon Prime.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Naim Uniti Nova, Vintage Marantz Model 22, Oppo UDP-203, Bluesound Node 2i, TEAC A-4070 Tape Deck
Focal Aria 936/CC900, B&W M-1, SVS SB-3000, MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is online now  
post #10069 of 10196 Old 07-05-2020, 02:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 7,022
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1427 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
I know a while back some people were looking for a Logitech or other remote to control their Anthem AVR/AVM, did you guys find a solution? I’m currently using 3 remotes and would like to at least get it down to 2 for my 720 and Xfinity cable box.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I use a Logitech Harmony Elite and through it's activities it controls everything in my system perfectly.

Anthem MRX 720
Marantz CD player
Sony Projector
Panasonic 4K Player
xFinity Cable
PS3
PS4
Nintendo Switch
MOberhardt and Norris Kasey like this.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"
Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread
Legairre is online now  
post #10070 of 10196 Old 07-05-2020, 02:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1451 Post(s)
Liked: 629
Owner's Thread for Anthem 60, 720 and 1120 Receivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post
I use a Logitech Harmony Elite and through it's activities it controls everything in my system perfectly.

Anthem MRX 720
Marantz CD player
Sony Projector
Panasonic 4K Player
xFinity Cable
PS3
PS4
Nintendo Switch

Good to know...thanks. I’ve had Harmony remotes in the past but have not purchased a new one since I heard they had problems with Anthem receivers.

How does it work with PS4?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Naim Uniti Nova, Vintage Marantz Model 22, Oppo UDP-203, Bluesound Node 2i, TEAC A-4070 Tape Deck
Focal Aria 936/CC900, B&W M-1, SVS SB-3000, MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro

Last edited by mbroadus; 07-05-2020 at 03:13 PM.
mbroadus is online now  
post #10071 of 10196 Old 07-05-2020, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Thanks...I’m trying to find a remote for my wife for whenever I’m not home. If she can get the TV, the 720 and Xfinity box on, she can watch cabletv, Netflix and Amazon Prime.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
The remote would work fine for this. One thing that takes getting used to when switching to a universal remote is to use the remote to shut down, change an activity (switching from one input to another) rather than the individual remotes. There can be minor glitches when you try mixing the remotes to switch activities since the remote needs to be in the specific activity mode to work properly.

You just prioritize the activity and the main device that needs to be controlled for the Apps works like the device's natural remote when it comes to cable, Netflix and Prime. The MRX will be designated for the sound during programing on your computer, so no matter what activity you're in, the volume controls the receiver. We use AppleTV 4K to control all our Streaming so it's a nice one-stop shop.
mbroadus likes this.

Anthem MRX1120, AC Infinity Aircom T8 and S7, Panamax 5300-PM
Speakers (KEF): R700, R200C, SR/SL - Q150
Subs: Rythmik E15HP2 (x2) w/ miniDSP 2x4 HD
TV: LG 65C9AUA(OLED), Devices: Apple TV 4K, StreamSmart Pro, Xbox One, and Xbox 360

pn56Matt is online now  
post #10072 of 10196 Old 07-05-2020, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 28,396
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2526 Post(s)
Liked: 1653
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
I know a while back some people were looking for a Logitech or other remote to control their Anthem AVR/AVM, did you guys find a solution? I’m currently using 3 remotes and would like to at least get it down to 2 for my 720 and Xfinity cable box.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I bought my MRX 710 from an electronics recycle place and it didn't come with the remote. The Harmony 650 remote controls everything with no issues at all. I'm sure it'll work with your MRX 720 and should control your cable box too.
mbroadus likes this.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #10073 of 10196 Old 07-05-2020, 05:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thrillcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 750 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Zero problems with my Harmony Elite and the Anthem AVM60.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post
I use a Logitech Harmony Elite and through it's activities it controls everything in my system perfectly.

Anthem MRX 720
Marantz CD player
Sony Projector
Panasonic 4K Player
xFinity Cable
PS3
PS4
Nintendo Switch

Good to know...thanks. I’️ve had Harmony remotes in the past but have not purchased a new one since I heard they had problems with Anthem receivers.

How does it work with PS4?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
mbroadus and Norris Kasey like this.

I love my iPhone, but it will never replace my turntable. I've never seen Titanic OR XXXXXXXXX.

The Cinema 1858 Remodel Thread
thrillcat is offline  
post #10074 of 10196 Old 07-05-2020, 07:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 7,022
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1427 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Good to know...thanks. I’ve had Harmony remotes in the past but have not purchased a new one since I heard they had problems with Anthem receivers.

How does it work with PS4?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
The Harmony works with the PS4 when I added this https://www.amazon.com/PlayStation-R.../dp/B01K3VMBM0 . The Harmony Elite can turn the PS4 off but the PDP IR turns it on without using a controller. Just create a Harmony activity and assign the on command to the PDP and the off command to the Harmony. Every other PS4 command is already part of the Harmony. Once the PDP is paired with the PS4 and Harmony you'll never know your using because it's seamless and it's just part of the PS4 activity you create in the Harmony.
mbroadus likes this.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"
Dedicated ARC Genesis Thread

Last edited by Legairre; 07-05-2020 at 08:22 PM.
Legairre is online now  
post #10075 of 10196 Old 07-05-2020, 07:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1451 Post(s)
Liked: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legairre View Post
The Harmony works with the PS4 when I added this https://www.amazon.com/PlayStation-R.../dp/B01K3VMBM0 . The Harmony Elite can turn the PS4 off but the PDP IR turns it on without using a controller. Just create a Harmony activity and assign the on command to the PDP and the off command to the Harmony. Every other PS4 command is already part of the Harmony. Once the PDP is pared with the PS4 and Harmony you'll never know your using because it's seamless and just part of the PS4 activity you create in the Harmony.

Thank you!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Naim Uniti Nova, Vintage Marantz Model 22, Oppo UDP-203, Bluesound Node 2i, TEAC A-4070 Tape Deck
Focal Aria 936/CC900, B&W M-1, SVS SB-3000, MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is online now  
post #10076 of 10196 Old 07-06-2020, 03:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
sddawson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by bman2084 View Post
I called Anthem's support line a few months ago and asked about the OSD for DV, and they said there were no plans to fix that. I use the smartphone app in place of the remote most of the time, which works pretty well.
Not what I wanted to hear, but thank you! I'll drop them a line to add a voice. My Yamaha receiver does it just fine.
sddawson is offline  
post #10077 of 10196 Old 07-06-2020, 05:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1451 Post(s)
Liked: 629
@thrillcat & @Legairre - when programming the remotes, do I need to program a delay for the inputs (cable, TV & AVR) when turning the system on/off?

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Naim Uniti Nova, Vintage Marantz Model 22, Oppo UDP-203, Bluesound Node 2i, TEAC A-4070 Tape Deck
Focal Aria 936/CC900, B&W M-1, SVS SB-3000, MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is online now  
post #10078 of 10196 Old 07-06-2020, 05:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1451 Post(s)
Liked: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
I bought my MRX 710 from an electronics recycle place and it didn't come with the remote. The Harmony 650 remote controls everything with no issues at all. I'm sure it'll work with your MRX 720 and should control your cable box too.
Good to know, I have a 650 in my box of cables and land of lost AVR supplies. Thanks!

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Naim Uniti Nova, Vintage Marantz Model 22, Oppo UDP-203, Bluesound Node 2i, TEAC A-4070 Tape Deck
Focal Aria 936/CC900, B&W M-1, SVS SB-3000, MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro

Last edited by mbroadus; 07-06-2020 at 06:27 AM.
mbroadus is online now  
post #10079 of 10196 Old 07-06-2020, 06:09 AM
Senior Member
 
madrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
@thrillcat & @Legairre - when programming the remotes, do I need to program a delay for the inputs (cable, TV & AVR) when turning the system on/off?

Off, no.
On, I do up the default delays on several devices. It helps, but I do get the occasional hiccup (eg wrong input) that is easily fixed by following prompts from pushing Help on the remote.
gprace, mbroadus and Norris Kasey like this.

LG OLED65E6P, Anthem MRX720, Rogue Atlas Magnum II, UPA7, Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers with RAAL, Luna Duo center, Sierra 2 surrounds, and HTM200SE front & rear heights, Rythmik E15HPx2, miniDSP, VPI Classic 1+ (VTA Tower, 3D arm), VAS NOVA and Soundsmith Paua cartridges, Manley Chinook, Oppo 103D, Oppo 203. Audio Sensibility and Blue Jeans cabling, Symposium & Isoacoustics isolation products
madrac is offline  
post #10080 of 10196 Old 07-06-2020, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 3,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1451 Post(s)
Liked: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by madrac View Post
Off, no.
On, I do up the default delays on several devices. It helps, but I do get the occasional hiccup (eg wrong input) that is easily fixed by following prompts from pushing Help on the remote.
My system works better when my 720 comes on last (TV, Xfinity cable box, Anthem 720).

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B
Anthem MRX-720, Naim Uniti Nova, Vintage Marantz Model 22, Oppo UDP-203, Bluesound Node 2i, TEAC A-4070 Tape Deck
Focal Aria 936/CC900, B&W M-1, SVS SB-3000, MacBook Pro, AppleTV 3 & 4K, Sony PS4 Pro
mbroadus is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
24bit/192kHz , 24bit/96khz , Anthem , anthem mrx720 , anthem triad in-wall subwoofer , atmos , firetv , hi res audio , mrx 1120 mrx 720 mrx 520 , MRX720 , [email protected] , Xbox

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off