The "OFFICIAL" Yamaha 1050/2050/3050 Owner's thread. - Page 131 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 23037Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3901 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rontalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,184
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitti View Post
Which OS are you running?
Windows 7 still outputs the .1 via the LFE channel via PCM even if you set all the speakers to full-range.
With HDMI=true
Using some mb or some soundcards=maybe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
No. LFE is separate from bass managed content from setting speakers to small.

Most games don't use the LFE channel though.

I'd say set all speakers are LARGE if hooking up to a receiver. Let it do the bass management and you don't want to cascade it anyway.
Really doesn't matter using HDMI with 3050 but back in the day with spdif, there were many "head scratching" situations with AVRs out there that would not have bass going to the sub-woofer if the PC speaker settings were set to large. With HDMI, I (you) can't tell a difference because its outputting full range anyway rather they are set to small or large. My answer was based on past experience that:

1. PC speakers needed to be set to Stereo despite your system being surround if bit-streaming digitally.
2. PC speakers should be set to small if your AVR didn't output LFE to sub-woofer especially if you were using spdif.

Setting to small and using HDMI will not result in any strange behavior. Setting to large and using anything other than HDMI can result in strange behavior. So I always just set it to small.

My Media Room
AVR 1-Yamaha RX-A3050 (7.2.4), AVR 2 Pioneer VSX-815-K(Used for 4ch Amp TF+TR)
Mains-Polk Audio RTi8, Center-Polk Audio CSi5, Surrounds-Polk Audio RTi4, Ceilings-Micca M-8C, Sub 1- UM18-22 (4cu.ft DIY) - iNuke 6000DSP Sub 2-Klipsch RW12D,
Projector-Looking, Screen-Da-Lite 100" Model B, TV-Vizio P-65 4K
rontalley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3902 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 01:49 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 21,509
Mentioned: 201 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5986 Post(s)
Liked: 5115
Who in this day and age is still using SPDIF for HT gaming audio? Without an encoder, you'd only get 2ch output.

It will be HDMI, pretty much. Most non-headphone wearing gamers will use HDMI and not a soundcard.
kitti likes this.
Scott Simonian is offline  
post #3903 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 03:33 PM
 
SherazNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,048
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1210 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitti View Post
Bingo, my estimate is spot-on with the official announcement.
Niceeeee. Right around the time when we'll be getting 4K bluray players as well.
SherazNJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3904 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rontalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,184
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
Who in this day and age is still using SPDIF for HT gaming audio? Without an encoder, you'd only get 2ch output.

It will be HDMI, pretty much. Most non-headphone wearing gamers will use HDMI and not a soundcard.
Since this is the 3050 thread, you would expect for people to be running out of PC into AVR via HDMI. However, there are plenty of "gaming" sound cards still being sold and plenty of people still have AVRs that only pass-through HDMI and not decode from HDMI making it necessary to use digital inputs like optical spdif or coaxial spdif. Plenty of people still using HTIB or Soundbars that only have digital inputs. Even more, there are still people running out of their PC analog! That's not the point though. The point is, using HDMI as the default playback device for PC, it's irrelevant if you select small or large as you will get full signal regardless unless bass management is checked in enhancements. Not the same as using non HDMI outputs such as spdif or analog outs. YMMV

My response to OP was simply, there was nothing wrong with his PC settings or the behavior of the AVR.

By default, it is setup as small and bass management is unchecked but most people don't even know these setting are there.

My Media Room
AVR 1-Yamaha RX-A3050 (7.2.4), AVR 2 Pioneer VSX-815-K(Used for 4ch Amp TF+TR)
Mains-Polk Audio RTi8, Center-Polk Audio CSi5, Surrounds-Polk Audio RTi4, Ceilings-Micca M-8C, Sub 1- UM18-22 (4cu.ft DIY) - iNuke 6000DSP Sub 2-Klipsch RW12D,
Projector-Looking, Screen-Da-Lite 100" Model B, TV-Vizio P-65 4K
rontalley is offline  
post #3905 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 04:04 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 21,509
Mentioned: 201 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5986 Post(s)
Liked: 5115
Well put and agreed. Just being clear that most people will use HDMI these days.

Didn't know about the BM thing. I figure you set it to small then it would automatically enable bass management. Good to know! For peace of mind, I'd still set to large.

I miss the old days of EAX sound and having a good soundcard. HDMI is boring and never sounds as good as games used to sound. Go figure!
rontalley likes this.
Scott Simonian is offline  
post #3906 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 07:07 PM
Member
 
dimi78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Now that there's been a standard set for HDR10 & optional Dolby Vision HDR will the RX-A1050 be capable of pass-thru for both formats, one or none?
dimi78 is offline  
post #3907 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 08:03 PM
Member
 
Trojanlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimi78 View Post
Now that there's been a standard set for HDR10 & optional Dolby Vision HDR will the RX-A1050 be capable of pass-thru for both formats, one or none?
It should be able to pass through all.

Trojanlaw
LG 65E6
LG 55EF6500
Panasonic 55ST60
Trojanlaw is offline  
post #3908 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 08:34 PM
Member
 
IK84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Well I went ahead and went with the 3050. I had originally intended to go with a place like accessories4less, but decided I wanted a real warranty and with amazon got 12 months financing. Really I couldn't find anything wrong with the Marantz SR7010 in anything I read. I did like the sound more in music vs a 2050. However the Yamaha had better app, ability to do all the Dolby tech. We shall see how this pans out for me haha.
IK84 is offline  
post #3909 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 09:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Scarriere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitti View Post
Bingo, my estimate is spot-on with the official announcement.
That link is blocked by the web filter where I am currently am, so I can't open.
Could you, or someone else, tell me when the FW update is please?
Scarriere is offline  
post #3910 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 09:08 PM
Member
 
IK84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scarriere View Post
That link is blocked by the web filter where I am currently am, so I can't open.
Could you, or someone else, tell me when the FW update is please?
Here you go

Scarriere likes this.
IK84 is offline  
post #3911 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 09:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Scarriere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by IK84 View Post
Here you go

Spoiler!
Awesome!
Thank you very much!
Scarriere is offline  
post #3912 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 09:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,772
Mentioned: 161 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2375 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitti View Post
Bingo, my estimate is spot-on with the official announcement.
Note that this was an Austrailan announcement.

Not saying that the US will be different.

However we have a CX-A5100 at work that has the beta FW installed.... Which is why I still feel an earlier US release is possible.
Movie78 and kitti like this.
FilmMixer is offline  
post #3913 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 09:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: West Australia
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
The JBL 4311 are a passive 3-way system that's rated for 75W with a sensitivity of 91db/W/m. The JBL 4311 are fairly efficient. According to the frequency response chart, the roll off starts around 60Hz and is down -10dB around 40Hz.

What is the dB value and when carrying out the measurement of 35Hz tone at 70W? Was the Yamaha receiver (model number?) used when the test was carried? How did you manage to output exactly 70W in the channel under test? Was there any processing/enhancements enabled on the Yamaha receiver when the 35Hz sine wave at 70W was sent to the speaker?

Was the test carried out in your room and at the Main Listening Position (MLP)?

Can you post and share the test results? Interested in looking at the THD figures as well as the distance between the mic and speaker for that test.
I never tested anything in my room.

All those charts are published by jbl pro. One would assume after their internal testing.
Knowing most of the start of the art testing equipment back in the day the amp was more than likely a Phase Linear 700B or possibly a Carver PM1.5 although were more a mid 80's design.

I much prefer a setup done by ear, I don't care what computers/machines say, it's my ears that I have to please. Not some readout.
Things such as YPAO I love as it automatically sets up delays and timings, the rest, I couldn't give two hoots about it.
Like red wine, I don't care what the label or pricetag says, if I like it then it's the best red on the planet.

EDIT My setup is used for 95% music, maybe if I watched many more movies I might have a different outlook regarding software based setup.

Last edited by Roosatemyroses; 01-18-2016 at 10:46 PM.
Roosatemyroses is offline  
post #3914 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 09:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: West Australia
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post
Note that this was an Austrailan announcement.

Not saying that the US will be different.

However we have a CX-A5100 at work that has the beta FW installed.... Which is why I still feel an earlier US release is possible.
Haha, we get everything secondhand down in the Antipodes. Heck we even pay twice as much for the privilege.

Last edited by Roosatemyroses; 01-18-2016 at 10:41 PM. Reason: spelling
Roosatemyroses is offline  
post #3915 of 10692 Old 01-18-2016, 11:51 PM
Newbie
 
ronzino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roosatemyroses View Post
Haha, we get everything secondhand down in the Antipodes. Heck we even pay twice as much for the privilege.
what about the dts nerual x guys ?

are hdr10 and dolby vision two differet standard for hdr or just the same with different names ?
ronzino is offline  
post #3916 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 12:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,384
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1848 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roosatemyroses View Post
I never tested anything in my room.

All those charts are published by jbl pro. One would assume after their internal testing.
Knowing most of the start of the art testing equipment back in the day the amp was more than likely a Phase Linear 700B or possibly a Carver PM1.5 although were more a mid 80's design.

I much prefer a setup done by ear, I don't care what computers/machines say, it's my ears that I have to please. Not some readout.
Things such as YPAO I love as it automatically sets up delays and timings, the rest, I couldn't give two hoots about it.
Like red wine, I don't care what the label or pricetag says, if I like it then it's the best red on the planet.

EDIT My setup is used for 95% music, maybe if I watched many more movies I might have a different outlook regarding software based setup.
I believe you've set the fronts (JBL Pro 4311) to 'LARGE' correct?

If so, and looking at the frequency response of the 4311 monitors as published by JBL Pro, the SPL output drops like a cliff from 50Hz down to almost nothing by 30Hz. My understanding of the full frequency band is 20Hz to 20kHz. The Dolby specs has significant lower frequency range (believe this is around 8 Hz) so unless there is a sub to supplement the last octave and you've enabled bass management by setting the fronts to 'SMALL' on the Yamaha receiver, there's nothing to hear. I.e. lack of bass.

If you do not have a sub, Yamaha will divert the LFE channel (the 0.1 in 5.1/7.1 soundtracks) to the fronts which are not capable of reproducing those low bass frequencies. For 2.0 channel music things are not that bad, provided certain precautions are taken as noted below.

You might be okay if the volume limits are imposed such that the system wont get too loud. In this case it's a good idea to implement volume control to protect both the speaker from over excursion and prevent the amp section of the receiver to clip or go into thermal protection mode.

Some compression tests at the maximum desired listening volume should be carried out to check if the volume limits have been set correctly.

Then tune the receiver's setting to one's listening tastes.

Marantz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, aTV, Harmony Home Control remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP (2x4)+(10x10HD)+(DDRC-88A), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8, HiMedia Q16, LG 55EC9300.
steveting99 is offline  
post #3917 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 07:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,772
Mentioned: 161 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2375 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronzino View Post
are hdr10 and dolby vision two differet standard for hdr or just the same with different names ?
If you are going to include HDR on UHD BR HDR10 is mandatory, DV is optional.
Stanton likes this.
FilmMixer is offline  
post #3918 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 07:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,865
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1775 Post(s)
Liked: 899
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post
However we have a CX-A5100 at work that has the beta FW installed.... Which is why I still feel an earlier US release is possible.
Do tell...how does it sound? Is there a "Chinese Wall" between the Dolby and DTS upmixers/codecs?

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.00]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is online now  
post #3919 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dholmes54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmonton, Kentucky
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 531 Post(s)
Liked: 145
I've set my spks to small,xover 80hz,the subs to L&R is there a LFE setting that I missed, on the 2050?
dholmes54 is offline  
post #3920 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 09:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,772
Mentioned: 161 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2375 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
Do tell...how does it sound? Is there a "Chinese Wall" between the Dolby and DTS upmixers/codecs?
I haven't been able to get into the room yet to check. I'll let you know
FilmMixer is offline  
post #3921 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluemoon737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 3,725
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2204 Post(s)
Liked: 2705
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post
If you are going to include HDR on UHD BR HDR10 is mandatory, DV is optional.
Do we know for a fact the HDMI firmware upgrade to 2.0a has been sent out (haven't checked the various firmware update notes)? That is required for HDR passthrough.

-Jeff-
Man cave: Sony XBR75Z9D, Marantz SR8012, and OPPO UDP-203
Living room: Sony XBR75X950G, Denon x4500, and Sony UBP-X800M2
bluemoon737 is offline  
post #3922 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 09:16 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 21,509
Mentioned: 201 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5986 Post(s)
Liked: 5115
Quote:
Originally Posted by IK84 View Post
Here you go
Woooottttt!

I still don't have any DTS:X movies but... sweet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post
I haven't been able to get into the room yet to check. I'll let you know
Yeah, you better! Get on it, mister.

I'll even give you ..... a dollar. That ought to sweeten the deal.
Scott Simonian is offline  
post #3923 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
virtualrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 973
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by dholmes54 View Post
I've set my spks to small,xover 80hz,the subs to L&R is there a LFE setting that I missed, on the 2050?

What's the issue?

There's no LFE setting. If the content has LFE content, it will get directed to the sub(s).

BTW... Why set your subs to L/R rather than dual mono? Dual mono will increase output and smooth response. There's little point to running dual subs in L/R stereo due to the inability to localize those frequencies.

SONY 75X850C | YAMAHA RX-A2050 | 5 DAYTON AUDIO APA150 | KLIPSCH RP 5.2.4
virtualrain is offline  
post #3924 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dholmes54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmonton, Kentucky
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 531 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Thxs no issue,I thought there was a setting for LFE,& I'll change to dual mono.
dholmes54 is offline  
post #3925 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 992
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
Woooottttt!

I still don't have any DTS:X movies but... sweet.



I have two DTS X movies ready for testing whenever we get the firmware update for DTS X. Ex Machina and American Ultra

Main Room Sony KD-75X9400E Display, AMP. Yamaha RX-A3050. Front Mains, 2x Dali Concept 8. Klipsch Center, Surround and Rear Surrounds, 4X Dali Ikon 1. Ceiling 4X B&W CCM 382. Subs, 2x Kef C200 for the rear and 2X Kenwood SW-07HT for the fronts. Lounge Shakers, Dayton Audio SA 230 Sub Amp with 4 AST-2B-4 lounge Shakers. The other Tv room the Hecto live there the Hecto 100 inch Short throw projector,
Blackman is offline  
post #3926 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 02:55 PM
Newbie
 
ronzino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackman View Post
I have two DTS X movies ready for testing whenever we get the firmware update for DTS X. Ex Machina and American Ultra
your have the saddle but not the horse

anybody knows about the dts neural:x support on those yamaha devices ?
ronzino is offline  
post #3927 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 07:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Upconversion?

I'm confused. I have a 480p source on a component input, and I'd really like my RX-A1050 to upconvert it to 1080p for me. Instead, the AVR says "480p -> 480p", and my Samsung panel is receiving a 720p signal. The manual indicates it *can* upconvert to 1080p, but the resolution on the Processing part of the config only allows "Auto" to be selected.

I disabled the "MONITOR CHECK" advanced setting and manually chose 1080i and 1080p in Processing, but that makes no difference. Pretty frustrating, is there any way to control this upconversion or am I just stuck with my panel's sub-par handling of 720p signals?
macroexp is offline  
post #3928 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 07:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rontalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,184
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by macroexp View Post
I'm confused. I have a 480p source on a component input
Why?

My Media Room
AVR 1-Yamaha RX-A3050 (7.2.4), AVR 2 Pioneer VSX-815-K(Used for 4ch Amp TF+TR)
Mains-Polk Audio RTi8, Center-Polk Audio CSi5, Surrounds-Polk Audio RTi4, Ceilings-Micca M-8C, Sub 1- UM18-22 (4cu.ft DIY) - iNuke 6000DSP Sub 2-Klipsch RW12D,
Projector-Looking, Screen-Da-Lite 100" Model B, TV-Vizio P-65 4K
rontalley is offline  
post #3929 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 08:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rontalley View Post
Why?
Hah - fair question, I suppose. It's a Wii (non U). I'll probably hook up the Dreamcast next... Anyways, isn't it fair to think the RX-A1050 will, as advertised, upscale these antique signals?
macroexp is offline  
post #3930 of 10692 Old 01-19-2016, 09:59 PM
Senior Member
 
AbbyDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by macroexp View Post
I'm confused. I have a 480p source on a component input, and I'd really like my RX-A1050 to upconvert it to 1080p for me. Instead, the AVR says "480p -> 480p", and my Samsung panel is receiving a 720p signal. The manual indicates it *can* upconvert to 1080p, but the resolution on the Processing part of the config only allows "Auto" to be selected.

I disabled the "MONITOR CHECK" advanced setting and manually chose 1080i and 1080p in Processing, but that makes no difference. Pretty frustrating, is there any way to control this upconversion or am I just stuck with my panel's sub-par handling of 720p signals?

Have you gone into Video setting of "Video Mode", and changed from direct to "processing"? If the TV is capable of only 720p, then you would have to enable that, not 1080p or 1080i. It can only upconvert to the highest resolution that that TV or display device can achieve.

Yamaha RX-3050A Receiver (Powering C, R L/R, S L/R, FH L/R, and RH L/R) + (2) Emotiva XPA-100 (Powering F L/R)
(2) BIC Acoustech PL-980II,(4) BIC Acoustech PL-89II,BIC Acoustech PL-28II (C),(4) BIC Acoustech HT-8C (Ceiling/Atmos),(2) PL-200 subs
Samsung UN65F8000 1080P
Sony PS4 as Blu-Ray Player + Nvidia Shield for Kodi/Various Streaming
AbbyDaddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
lip sync , lipsync , scenes

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off