The "OFFICIAL" Yamaha 1050/2050/3050 Owner's thread. - Page 140 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 23015Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4171 of 10588 Old 01-27-2016, 10:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
virtualrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 973
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackman View Post
Guys just want to ask a basic Sub question here but would like others to clarify this for me. The Yamaha RX-A3050 REAR SUB pre out in the Specifications says its 50 Hz so I would expect very little lower bass than this would come out of this pre out and If I have by default my Dayton SA 230 Shaker Amp set at the extra BOOST at 40 Hz would this mean that because 50Hz seems to be the limit for the 3050 having the Shaker amp set at 40 (default screw set at) would this mean that I would not be getting extra Boost or any boost at this lower Level.
Please note I can change that 40Hz to 50 Hz in a second so it matches the 3050 specs. The Range of the Boost on the Dayton is from 25Hz to 50 Hz and you have a extra Gain adjustment for whatever freq you choose to boost.

Can I get someone to check the specks to see that I'm comprehending it correctly.
Thanks

What is this 50Hz spec? A filter cut-off? It doesn't make much sense.

Anyway, I would just set the sub outs to monox2 so you're getting the full sub output on both terminals and forget about front/rear.

SONY 75X850C | YAMAHA RX-A2050 | 5 DAYTON AUDIO APA150 | KLIPSCH RP 5.2.4
virtualrain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4172 of 10588 Old 01-27-2016, 11:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtualrain View Post
What is this 50Hz spec? A filter cut-off? It doesn't make much sense.

Anyway, I would just set the sub outs to monox2 so you're getting the full sub output on both terminals and forget about front/rear.
In the Yamaha Manual it says Bass Boost cut 50Hz and Pre out (50Hz)

Main Room Sony KD-75X9400E Display, AMP. Yamaha RX-A3050. Front Mains, 2x Dali Concept 8. Klipsch Center, Surround and Rear Surrounds, 4X Dali Ikon 1. Ceiling 4X B&W CCM 382. Subs, 2x Kef C200 for the rear and 2X Kenwood SW-07HT for the fronts. Lounge Shakers, Dayton Audio SA 230 Sub Amp with 4 AST-2B-4 lounge Shakers. The other Tv room the Hecto live there the Hecto 100 inch Short throw projector,
Blackman is offline  
post #4173 of 10588 Old 01-27-2016, 11:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 185
I'm just fine tuning here.
My front and rear subs with there own Amps (2x AX 570) are fine its just a case that the Shaker Amp (a third Sub amp) a another amp that I'm asking the question for as the RX-A 3050 manual say 50 Hz is the possible lowest setting for 3050 and if the Lounge Shaker Amp is set at 40Hz well its not going to get much action there if the 3050 does not get that low.

Main Room Sony KD-75X9400E Display, AMP. Yamaha RX-A3050. Front Mains, 2x Dali Concept 8. Klipsch Center, Surround and Rear Surrounds, 4X Dali Ikon 1. Ceiling 4X B&W CCM 382. Subs, 2x Kef C200 for the rear and 2X Kenwood SW-07HT for the fronts. Lounge Shakers, Dayton Audio SA 230 Sub Amp with 4 AST-2B-4 lounge Shakers. The other Tv room the Hecto live there the Hecto 100 inch Short throw projector,
Blackman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4174 of 10588 Old 01-27-2016, 11:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtualrain View Post

Anyway, I would just set the sub outs to monox2 so you're getting the full sub output on both terminals and forget about front/rear.
Yes I might set the 3050 to do this for a test but it still doesn't answer my original question.

Main Room Sony KD-75X9400E Display, AMP. Yamaha RX-A3050. Front Mains, 2x Dali Concept 8. Klipsch Center, Surround and Rear Surrounds, 4X Dali Ikon 1. Ceiling 4X B&W CCM 382. Subs, 2x Kef C200 for the rear and 2X Kenwood SW-07HT for the fronts. Lounge Shakers, Dayton Audio SA 230 Sub Amp with 4 AST-2B-4 lounge Shakers. The other Tv room the Hecto live there the Hecto 100 inch Short throw projector,
Blackman is offline  
post #4175 of 10588 Old 01-27-2016, 11:40 PM
Member
 
phusebox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by phusebox View Post
Since the A850 is definitely no longer available in any of the stores around here, I am looking to spend the extra 400 euros on an A1050. Because I won't be able to buy new speakers because of this extra cost I am trying to figure out if I can use my existing speakers.

I currently own a Pioneer LX03 (specs here: http://www.superfi.co.uk/p-7878-disc...ma-system.aspx).
It has a mix of 4 and 8 ohm speakers and a passive sub.

Can I use this on the A1050 for the time being?

PS. Just had it confirmed by someone at Yamaha, the RX-A850 is sold out and not being restocked.
Any ideas anyone? Pretty much an audio noob here.
phusebox is offline  
post #4176 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 02:50 AM
Member
 
ugotvijay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by phusebox View Post
Any ideas anyone? Pretty much an audio noob here.
Is your question whether the 1050 can drive your speakers? If you originally had 850 in mind, 1050 should be able to do the same, if not better.

Sorry if I missed it, but I didn't see which speakers you are using. Also if you can mention the room size it would be helpful to assess the needs better.

Generally speaking, 1050 should be adequate for most speakers.
ugotvijay is offline  
post #4177 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 04:24 AM
Member
 
phusebox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugotvijay View Post
Is your question whether the 1050 can drive your speakers? If you originally had 850 in mind, 1050 should be able to do the same, if not better.

Sorry if I missed it, but I didn't see which speakers you are using. Also if you can mention the room size it would be helpful to assess the needs better.

Generally speaking, 1050 should be adequate for most speakers.
I have an Pioneer LX03 set, pretty cheap speakers I guess, but they sound fine at the moment. However they are a mix of 4 and 8 ohm speakers and a passive sub.

Room size is about 3.5 x 3.5 meters. (Well the room is a bigger on one side but this is the space the speakers will be placed in)
phusebox is offline  
post #4178 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 04:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,772
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3218 Post(s)
Liked: 2532
Quote:
Originally Posted by phusebox View Post
Any ideas anyone? Pretty much an audio noob here.
1050 will work very well.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #4179 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 04:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,772
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3218 Post(s)
Liked: 2532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackman View Post
In the Yamaha Manual it says Bass Boost cut 50Hz and Pre out (50Hz)
Thats a Tone Control spec isnt it?
Can you post a pic of that page?
Bond 007 is offline  
post #4180 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 07:00 AM
Member
 
ugotvijay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by phusebox View Post
I have an Pioneer LX03 set, pretty cheap speakers I guess, but they sound fine at the moment. However they are a mix of 4 and 8 ohm speakers and a passive sub.

Room size is about 3.5 x 3.5 meters. (Well the room is a bigger on one side but this is the space the speakers will be placed in)
My bad, I missed the LX03 part. 1050 is actually more than what you need. You don't have to worry about under power here. 1050 will be a decent platform for you to upgrade to better speakers soon.

In fact, if you will not be going Atmos anytime soon, I recommend 1040 instead of 1050 to save your cash.
ugotvijay is offline  
post #4181 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 07:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,912
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 751 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by phusebox View Post
I have an Pioneer LX03 set, pretty cheap speakers I guess, but they sound fine at the moment. However they are a mix of 4 and 8 ohm speakers and a passive sub.

How are you going to connect that passive sub? It's not obvious since the Yamaha only has a sub pre-out intended to drive an active sub.

Also the quality of the speakers makes a much bigger difference to what you hear than the receiver does. So a brand new 850 or 1050 driving those old speakers will probably sound quite similar to your old system. OK as long as you realize that in the long term you should really spend more on speakers than on the receiver.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #4182 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 07:46 AM
Member
 
phusebox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugotvijay View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by phusebox View Post
I have an Pioneer LX03 set, pretty cheap speakers I guess, but they sound fine at the moment. However they are a mix of 4 and 8 ohm speakers and a passive sub.

Room size is about 3.5 x 3.5 meters. (Well the room is a bigger on one side but this is the space the speakers will be placed in)
My bad, I missed the LX03 part. 1050 is actually more than what you need. You don't have to worry about under power here. 1050 will be a decent platform for you to upgrade to better speakers soon.

In fact, if you will not be going Atmos anytime soon, I recommend 1040 instead of 1050 to save your cash.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by phusebox View Post
I have an Pioneer LX03 set, pretty cheap speakers I guess, but they sound fine at the moment. However they are a mix of 4 and 8 ohm speakers and a passive sub.

How are you going to connect that passive sub? It's not obvious since the Yamaha only has a sub pre-out intended to drive an active sub.

Also the quality of the speakers makes a much bigger difference to what you hear than the receiver does. So a brand new 850 or 1050 driving those old speakers will probably sound quite similar to your old system. OK as long as you realize that in the long term you should really spend more on speakers than on the receiver.
I was thinking of the KEF E305 and that is at the top of my budget. Also considered Tannoy HTS 101XP but they aren't for sale here anywhere.

And I actually want the 1050 because I want to keep the Atmos option open. I already have wires in my walls although those are not the best quality.

Got a price quote today for the 1050 and KEF E305 for 1900 euros. Don't know if that's a decent price
phusebox is offline  
post #4183 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dholmes54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmonton, Kentucky
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 145
After I set my spks to small and xover to 80hz my system sounded better,but I'm use to that way of setting my ht up,,I didn't redo ypao because it would just set the spks back to large.I also set the surround spks higher because I like a little more output from surrounds,,ypao did a good job but I've always like to customize my system.
dholmes54 is offline  
post #4184 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 07:59 AM
Member
 
phusebox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I have just measured the space where the receiver should sit and there are two upright supports in the way that make the space 5 mm too narrow (width).

when I had this custom cabinet made I thought 430mm was a default size. Turns out it's 430mm.
phusebox is offline  
post #4185 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 08:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,772
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3218 Post(s)
Liked: 2532
Quote:
Originally Posted by phusebox View Post
I have just measured the space where the receiver should sit and there are two upright supports in the way that make the space 5 mm too narrow (width).

when I had this custom cabinet made I thought 430mm was a default size. Turns out it's 430mm.
Time to customize the custom cabinet. Always add at least an inch to anything that might be considered minimum. Better too big than too small.
Stanton, Franchot and AbbyDaddy like this.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #4186 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,772
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3218 Post(s)
Liked: 2532
Quote:
Originally Posted by phusebox View Post
I have just measured the space where the receiver should sit and there are two upright supports in the way that make the space 5 mm too narrow (width).

when I had this custom cabinet made I thought 430mm was a default size. Turns out it's 430mm.
Can you bring the receiver in from the side or back?
Hope you got plenty of clearance on top. They can get pretty warm.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #4187 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 09:06 AM
Member
 
phusebox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by phusebox View Post
I have just measured the space where the receiver should sit and there are two upright supports in the way that make the space 5 mm too narrow (width).

when I had this custom cabinet made I thought 430mm was a default size. Turns out it's 430mm.
Can you bring the receiver in from the side or back?
Hope you got plenty of clearance on top. They can get pretty warm.
Nope not gonna work any way. Replacing or adjusting the cabinet is nog an option since it was a 1500 euro cabinet.


The speakers are also too big because they would get in front of the screen a bit. Guess I'll just have to live with this cheap set the next 10 years, won't be moving houses before that just put a new kitchen in this one.

The A850 was just the perfect size. Maybe the A860 will have DTS:X but 8 months of waiting will probably wind up me spending my money on something else.
phusebox is offline  
post #4188 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 09:15 AM
Member
 
howieshel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Sorry to jump in. I have a yamaha rx3050 and i'm hoping some one here has the same sort of setup, that i will explain, and can tell me if I have hooked it up right or what to do to get the most out of the gear i have. First, I have my room and speakers setup in Dolby Atmos config. 7x2x4. My primary is the 3050 I also have the Yamaha A1 as the external amp. I have definitive Tech Bp2000's as my fronts, c2002 as my center, BPX's as my rear surround and bx2's as the sides, also 4 ceilings speakers, these are speaker tiles, can't remember there name of them, but they look like ceiling tiles, and i have 4 chairs hooked up to bass shakers in a Series-parallel config. I also have a 2 front and 1 rear subs.

Ok, the hook up's, I have hooked up the speakers with just knowledge of how i've always hooked them up with No real technical know how of why I hook them up this way. So keep that in mind as you hear how it's currently hooked up the way that it is. I put the "L+R Front's" speaker wire to the Yama A1's "main" speaker IN's to drive them separate along with the RCA pre-out "Front" of 3050 to the A1's "main" in RCA to send the signals to A1. The Defin Tech. speaker Posts, i have the Mid & HI jumped together and "low posts" left alone, the speaker wire is wired into the Mid's posts, and a LFE cable is plugged into the speaker LFE IN and it comes from the 3050's Front sub out which I "Y'ed" the cable to go to each front speakers subwoofer. The "Rear surrounds" are wired into the A1's surround speaker out posts and the RCA's from 3050's "surround" pre-outs to the A1 RCA "surround" IN. I'm curious in my configuration of these if the Rear surrounds & Surrounds are not plugged in right seeing there not named the same on the A1 & 3050? Anyway, So these 4 speakers (Fronts & Rear surrounds" will be driven by external amp, A1. I have the "center" into the 3050 "center" posts and "side" speakers into the 3050's "surround back" posts, (wondering if those should be wired into the "Surround" posts instead?) I have the "front ceiling" connected to the "SP-1" Speaker outputs on Yama 3050 and the "rear ceilings" to the "SP2" of the 3050. I have the "Rear Sub cable" coming out of the 3050's "sub out" going to the "rear sub's" IN. The last is the Shakers in the chairs. I have ONE speaker wire +,- coming for the chairs and that is because of how they are wired, series-Parallel, I have taken this wire and wired it to the 3050's "Front", left +,- speaker post OUT because it will put out the low base frequency's that i need going to the shakers. I'm not sure if this is wired right to get the most out of my equipment? I have Not tried any of this yet (Turned on the Yamaha's) because i don't have a tv yet so I can program the 3050.

Sorry for the long story but i wanted you to know how everything was hooked up so you could hopefully help. Thanks
howieshel is offline  
post #4189 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
urbeenjammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kenner, Louisiana
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I read a few feedbacks on the sub layouts from the receiver and...is there really a difference on which you choose? Isn't it a mono sound coming out anyway from the sub? I really couldn't hear a difference whether it was set to : left and right, front and rear or mono x 2.
urbeenjammin is offline  
post #4190 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
ILOVEMYHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CLEVELAND, OH
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 53
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...type=3&theater , I through it together. I have EMOTIVA XPA5 for the main 5 speakers aka front L an R, C, then L an R surrounds. All presence and rear surrounds are powered by 3050, and these are set to small. then have 3x 12s and one butt kicker. It works WONDERFULLY. I didn't follow the manual using the main unit to power "main" speakers.

PS3+4---> CHiNGOBLiNG ; XB1X -->cata1= RUBEN...YOU NEED TO OPEN YOUR EYES TO SEE THE PICTURE!!... "SHOE MAKER HOME THEATER".7/22/16....just a KLIPSCH NUT..>7/22/16...2new videos show..https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWO0YtCWQxI.....https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yIen05Wcg9w. u can even look from when I started about to present day.... i stutter sometimes....

Last edited by ILOVEMYHDTV; 01-28-2016 at 10:23 AM.
ILOVEMYHDTV is offline  
post #4191 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 10:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dholmes54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmonton, Kentucky
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by urbeenjammin View Post
I read a few feedbacks on the sub layouts from the receiver and...is there really a difference on which you choose? Isn't it a mono sound coming out anyway from the sub? I really couldn't hear a difference whether it was set to : left and right, front and rear or mono x 2.
I was told hear to set them to mono not LR and got better bass,I've got two svs subs
urbeenjammin likes this.
dholmes54 is offline  
post #4192 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
urbeenjammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kenner, Louisiana
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dholmes54 View Post
I was told hear to set them to mono not LR and got better bass,I've got two svs subs
Ok will double check with spl meter later today. Thanks
urbeenjammin is offline  
post #4193 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 12:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Travis M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Renton, Wa
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpco View Post
Thanks for chiming in. The multi quote is from two different conversations. It was @neotravy who was feeling like it was a "cheat."
Maybe it's the wording in the manual that was confusing. If they both do the same thing, why the heck would there be 2 configs?

I knew I wanted 7.1 with 4 presence.

I read it as 9.1 with 2 presence. I don't have that.

I guess the confusing was/is in the wording.
Travis M is offline  
post #4194 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
loudog2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILOVEMYHDTV View Post
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...type=3&theater , I through it together. I have EMOTIVA XPA5 for the main 5 speakers aka front L an R, C, then L an R surrounds. All presence and rear surrounds are powered by 3050, and these are set to small. then have 3x 12s and one butt kicker. It works WONDERFULLY. I didn't follow the manual using the main unit to power "main" speakers.
That's my same set up but using 4 SVS PB 2000 subs instead. The emotiva driving all the main speakers works good for me.

Sony 940C*Sony HX909*Samsung K8500*Yamaha 3050*klipsch front RP-280's*rear RF-3's*center RP-450C*Sides RP-280's*front heights RP-140's*overhead 5650cii's*SVS-PB2000x4*emotiva XPA-5*Yamaha YSP-1600 sound bar*Sony HT-CT370 sound bar
loudog2 is offline  
post #4195 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
dannybee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Perth,Australia
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Denon just got their dts x upgrade so hope we get ours soon.
Josephseibel likes this.

LG 65C7T - SONY BRAVIA 65"Z9D
Marantz SR6012 - Pioneer SCLX 58 - Apple 4KTV
Oppo UBD 203/205- Oppo BDP 103 - Panasonic DMP UB900
Playstation 4 - Mordaunt Short Speakers
dannybee is offline  
post #4196 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Thats a Tone Control spec isnt it?
Can you post a pic of that page?
Yes tone control.
This is why I'm asking you guys as this is confusing for me. (Page 189 of the Manual)

Main Room Sony KD-75X9400E Display, AMP. Yamaha RX-A3050. Front Mains, 2x Dali Concept 8. Klipsch Center, Surround and Rear Surrounds, 4X Dali Ikon 1. Ceiling 4X B&W CCM 382. Subs, 2x Kef C200 for the rear and 2X Kenwood SW-07HT for the fronts. Lounge Shakers, Dayton Audio SA 230 Sub Amp with 4 AST-2B-4 lounge Shakers. The other Tv room the Hecto live there the Hecto 100 inch Short throw projector,
Blackman is offline  
post #4197 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 02:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
virtualrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 973
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackman View Post
Yes tone control.
This is why I'm asking you guys as this is confusing for me. (Page 189 of the Manual)

The first is the frequency the impedance was measured at. The second is the notch filter frequency. Neither should affect anything that you are doing.
Blackman likes this.

SONY 75X850C | YAMAHA RX-A2050 | 5 DAYTON AUDIO APA150 | KLIPSCH RP 5.2.4
virtualrain is offline  
post #4198 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 02:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackman View Post
Guys just want to ask a basic Sub question here but would like others to clarify this for me. The Yamaha RX-A3050 REAR SUB pre out in the Specifications says its 50 Hz so I would expect very little lower bass than this would come out of this pre out and If I have by default my Dayton SA 230 Shaker Amp set at the extra BOOST at 40 Hz would this mean that because 50Hz seems to be the limit for the 3050 having the Shaker amp set at 40 (default screw set at) would this mean that I would not be getting extra Boost or any boost at this lower Level.
Please note I can change that 40Hz to 50 Hz in a second so it matches the 3050 specs. The Range of the Boost on the Dayton is from 25Hz to 50 Hz and you have a extra Gain adjustment for whatever freq you choose to boost.

Can I get someone to check the specs to see that I'm comprehending it correctly.
Thanks
Yep the above is my million dollar question!

Main Room Sony KD-75X9400E Display, AMP. Yamaha RX-A3050. Front Mains, 2x Dali Concept 8. Klipsch Center, Surround and Rear Surrounds, 4X Dali Ikon 1. Ceiling 4X B&W CCM 382. Subs, 2x Kef C200 for the rear and 2X Kenwood SW-07HT for the fronts. Lounge Shakers, Dayton Audio SA 230 Sub Amp with 4 AST-2B-4 lounge Shakers. The other Tv room the Hecto live there the Hecto 100 inch Short throw projector,
Blackman is offline  
post #4199 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 02:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtualrain View Post
The first is the frequency the impedance was measured at. The second is the notch filter frequency. Neither should affect anything that you are doing.
So if I set everything at 40Hz as an example what is shown in the 3050 specs will be discarded. I was worried that what is shown on the 3050 specs being 50Hz that anything I set on the Dayton Shaker Amp that is lower than 50 Hz would be a waste of time.

Main Room Sony KD-75X9400E Display, AMP. Yamaha RX-A3050. Front Mains, 2x Dali Concept 8. Klipsch Center, Surround and Rear Surrounds, 4X Dali Ikon 1. Ceiling 4X B&W CCM 382. Subs, 2x Kef C200 for the rear and 2X Kenwood SW-07HT for the fronts. Lounge Shakers, Dayton Audio SA 230 Sub Amp with 4 AST-2B-4 lounge Shakers. The other Tv room the Hecto live there the Hecto 100 inch Short throw projector,
Blackman is offline  
post #4200 of 10588 Old 01-28-2016, 06:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wiring a Yamaha RX-A1050 for 7.1.2 (effectively 9 channels)

Looking at buying this receiver...The receiver is officially a 7.2 receiver. The manual seems to have conflicting information about speaker connection abilities (a picture gives me hope, the tables that follow do not). Officially it seems to support 7.2 or 5.1.2 (for atmos/dtsx), but I'm thinking it just might be able to be expanded to 7.1.2.

The manual has a section on connecting an external amp for bi-amping the fronts or extending the speakers. The manual says that the same signal goes to the pre-outs as would normally go to the speakers. While it doesn't look like the presence speakers have pre-outs, it looks like the rear surrounds do.

Based on this I'm wondering if via an external amp, i can effectively expand its capabilities to do 7.1.2 atmos by connecting the atmos speakers to the presence speaker terminals, then using an external amp on the rear surround pre-outs to get back my rear surrounds. There seems to be a picture of doing exactly this on page 22

It seems like the terminals are all there to do this, but this configuration is not mentioned as a plausible one in any of the diagrams or tables that follow after the picture, nor are any internal menu settings mentioned to do this...i think this may be because the receiver just does not have the firmware to process 9 channels.

Anyone give this a shot an know if it works?
shmoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
scenes

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off