The "OFFICIAL" Yamaha 1050/2050/3050 Owner's thread. - Page 174 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 23012Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5191 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 05:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,044
Mentioned: 248 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3067 Post(s)
Liked: 7389
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post
Yamaha on their Japanese internet pages officially announced, that the DTS:X update will be delayed till the end of March 2016 for all modells (5100, 3050, 2050, 1050) concerned.
Probably due to the recent discovery of bugs in DTS:X which caused some problems with DTS:X updates to Denon and Marantz units.
I called that 8 pages back
Early March was Totally out the window the minute D+M units had bugs! Guaranteed!

It's not all on Yamaha, for those who like to complain and point fingers.
They have to work with data they receive from DTS and if its flawed,
there's going to be delays as it goes back and forth to come up with a solution.


...are we there yet are we there yet are we there yet, ya that helps lol!

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD
PioManiac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5192 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 06:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 5,305
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1786 Post(s)
Liked: 1221
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post
Yamaha on their Japanese internet pages officially announced, that the DTS:X update will be delayed till the end of March 2016 for all modells (5100, 3050, 2050, 1050) concerned.
Probably due to the recent discovery of bugs in DTS:X which caused some problems with DTS:X updates to Denon and Marantz units.
So, based on the current track record with hitting the date, we should expect it in May.

I don't blame Yamaha. I blame DTS. I think they panicked when Atmos came out and made promises they couldn't keep.
KidHorn is offline  
post #5193 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 168
I got the feeling from the beginning that DTS hadn't even been working on anything until Dolby rolled out Atmos. I think they got caught with their pants down and have been trying to play catch up ever since. Maybe not, after all Dolby announced they were working on something back in 2012 as far as I can tell. Maybe DTS has been putting their priorities elsewhere.
djc11369 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5194 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 06:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 5,405
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2288 Post(s)
Liked: 905
How reliable is AirPlay on these models?? I was all set on a denon x4200 until I realized the network features especially AirPlay are no where near rock solid

Basically does the AirPlay just "work" or do people have many problems with AirPlay??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is online now  
post #5195 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
drriddhish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cary NC
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjchmura View Post
How reliable is AirPlay on these models?? I was all set on a denon x4200 until I realized the network features especially AirPlay are no where near rock solid

Basically does the AirPlay just "work" or do people have many problems with AirPlay??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Works great. Make sure your devise and player are on same network. Some folks have two wifi networks at home. And second it by default turns on mainzobe so if you want it played in only zone 2 or 3 - I haven't figured out setting to do so

Yamaha RX-3050 5.2.4 JBL studio 1 (front, center, sorround) Tannoy Di8 DC (four on ceiling ATMOS)
Google NSZ-GT1 player
EPSON PowerLite Home Cinema 3010
drriddhish is offline  
post #5196 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 07:05 AM
Newbie
 
T-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Master View Post
For those the 2050 or 3050, will "V.out" (in the Input settings under the Option menu) allow me to listen to the tuner while watching another video source, all through a main zone HDMI output? If "yes", does this work for zone 2 HDMI also?

I want this for simulcasting tuner audio with broadcast video of sporting events.
Anyone have an answer?
T-Master is offline  
post #5197 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 07:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Movie78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post
Yamaha on their Japanese internet pages officially announced, that the DTS:X update will be delayed till the end of March 2016 for all modells (5100, 3050, 2050, 1050) concerned.
Probably due to the recent discovery of bugs in DTS:X which caused some problems with DTS:X updates to Denon and Marantz units.
What a Shame!!!

Movie78 is offline  
post #5198 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 07:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 27,461
Mentioned: 189 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6914 Post(s)
Liked: 5872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Earth View Post
Why else do you think they need 5 speakers connected before atmos can be displayed? And total 7 in yamaha case?
It's not to indicate decoding, since it changes from brand to brand even though Atmos doesn't.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #5199 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Worcester Ma
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Can someone who owns the 2050 check the AC wattage draw on the rear of the unit for me.
Thanks.
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #5200 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1225 Post(s)
Liked: 1222
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post
Yamaha on their Japanese internet pages officially announced, that the DTS:X update will be delayed till the end of March 2016 for all modells (5100, 3050, 2050, 1050) concerned.
Probably due to the recent discovery of bugs in DTS:X which caused some problems with DTS:X updates to Denon and Marantz units.
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
Not unexpected, but still a shame! Are you able to provide the link to that web page? Thanks!

http://jp.yamaha.com/news_events/audio-visual/dtsx/

See the attached pdf for the google English translation.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Yamaha_Japan_DTS-X_Delay.pdf (561.7 KB, 63 views)
Stanton likes this.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman

Last edited by kokishin; 03-10-2016 at 08:42 AM.
kokishin is online now  
post #5201 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 08:02 AM
Member
 
Blue Earth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
It's not to indicate decoding, since it changes from brand to brand even though Atmos doesn't.
Whatever... I use logic and you just pull it out of nowhere. It is clearly mentioned Audio Decoding not Source.
Example on Onkyo, there is no reason for them to change from True HD with let's say 2 speakers to Atmos if 5.1 connected other than atmos decoding in progress. Same as yamaha from true hd 5.1 changed to atmos when 7.1 speakers used.
But if you insist with your wrong idea it is fine for me I just hope people coming to this thread looking for answer doesn't get wrong idea reading your post.

Last edited by Blue Earth; 03-10-2016 at 08:07 AM.
Blue Earth is offline  
post #5202 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Movie78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
http://jp.yamaha.com/news_events/audio-visual/dtsx/

See the attached pdf for the google English translation.
For the longest we have been waiting for, I hope this update come with an extra sauce.
Movie78 is offline  
post #5203 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1753 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post
Can someone who owns the 2050 check the AC wattage draw on the rear of the unit for me.
Thanks.
I keep something called a "Modlet" on my home theater outlet (similar to a "Killawat") that allows me to monitor power usage; for the most part, I separate the audio/video equipment into the upper/lower plugs. With the caveat that my UHD player is on the same outlet as my AVR, I get the following readings:
  • 2-channel (music) operation which I play from a USB drive attached to the AVR = ~ 100 Watts continuous
  • multi-channel (movie) operation which also includes the UHD player = ~140 Watts continuous
This is pretty consistent; more so than my video gear, which tends to bounce around depending on content (mostly due to the TV). I'm thinking about half of the multi-channel power increase is due to the UHD player, so that means the AVR doesn't vary too much.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #5204 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
BigScreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WI USA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post
Yamaha on their Japanese internet pages officially announced, that the DTS:X update will be delayed till the end of March 2016 for all modells (5100, 3050, 2050, 1050) concerned.
Probably due to the recent discovery of bugs in DTS:X which caused some problems with DTS:X updates to Denon and Marantz units.
A statement like this should come with a link to the information being referenced. I dug around the Yamaha Japan site and couldn't find anything, but the Internet is a big place, so could you do us a favor by pointing to the information you found?

Publisher - The BigScreen Cinema Guide
DTS:X Resources | Dolby Atmos Resources
Men and women range themselves into three classes or orders of intelligence; you can tell the lowest class by their habit of always talking about persons, the next by the fact that their habit is always to converse about things; the highest by their preference for the discussion of ideas. - Henry Thomas Buckle - historian and author
BigScreen is offline  
post #5205 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1225 Post(s)
Liked: 1222
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigScreen View Post
A statement like this should come with a link to the information being referenced. I dug around the Yamaha Japan site and couldn't find anything, but the Internet is a big place, so could you do us a favor by pointing to the information you found?
See post #5208 , four posts above your post.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is online now  
post #5206 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 08:21 AM
Member
 
Blue Earth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Earth View Post
Why else do you think they need 5 speakers connected before atmos can be displayed? And total 7 in yamaha case?
It's not to indicate decoding, since it changes from brand to brand even though Atmos doesn't.
There you go, from 3050 manual page 75.
As long as surround back are used (which can be considered 7.1) Dolby Atmos can be decoded.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1457626759487.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	190.9 KB
ID:	1305233  
Blue Earth is offline  
post #5207 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 08:25 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 21,509
Mentioned: 200 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5985 Post(s)
Liked: 5114
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post
Yamaha on their Japanese internet pages officially announced, that the DTS:X update will be delayed till the end of March 2016 for all modells (5100, 3050, 2050, 1050) concerned.
Probably due to the recent discovery of bugs in DTS:X which caused some problems with DTS:X updates to Denon and Marantz units.
Fine by me!

More time to get it right.
Scott Simonian is offline  
post #5208 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
BigScreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WI USA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
See post #5208 , four posts above your post.
That's what I get for starting my post, and then trying to dig around looking for the info...

It's interesting that the announcement on the Japanese site is dated March 4th, but here we are several days later and no announcement on the US site. The gears of corporate bureaucracy must grind slowly!

Publisher - The BigScreen Cinema Guide
DTS:X Resources | Dolby Atmos Resources
Men and women range themselves into three classes or orders of intelligence; you can tell the lowest class by their habit of always talking about persons, the next by the fact that their habit is always to converse about things; the highest by their preference for the discussion of ideas. - Henry Thomas Buckle - historian and author
BigScreen is offline  
post #5209 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 08:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Movie78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
Fine by me!

More time to get it right.
What proves that it be right when it comes...
Movie78 is offline  
post #5210 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
showmak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjchmura View Post
How reliable is AirPlay on these models?? I was all set on a denon x4200 until I realized the network features especially AirPlay are no where near rock solid

Basically does the AirPlay just "work" or do people have many problems with AirPlay??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

AirPlay works great.


Sent from my iPhone6s+ using Tapatalk

__________________________________________________
Sony BRAVIA XBR55HX929, Yamaha Aventage RX-A3050, Front Mains: Jamo C109, Surrounds: Jamo C103, FH/RH: Jamo C93, Center: Jamo C10 CEN and Subwoofer: Jamo J112 SUB (5.1.4)
showmak is offline  
post #5211 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 08:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,044
Mentioned: 248 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3067 Post(s)
Liked: 7389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Earth View Post
Whatever... I use logic and you just pull it out of nowhere. It is clearly mentioned Audio Decoding not Source.
Example on Onkyo, there is no reason for them to change from True HD with let's say 2 speakers to Atmos if 5.1 connected other than atmos decoding in progress. Same as yamaha from true hd 5.1 changed to atmos when 7.1 speakers used.
But if you insist with your wrong idea it is fine for me I just hope people coming to this thread looking for answer doesn't get wrong idea reading your post.
It's really starting to sound like you're on some kind of crusade
to inform the masses that you can enjoy Atmos without any height speakers at all.

After watching several Atmos titles recently I can tell you that 7.1.4 kicks 7.1.0's ass to the curb with Authority!
...whether the audio is decoded as Atmos 7.1.0 or Dolby TrueHD 7.1.0 is totally irrelevant on a 7.1 system.

Until you have a True Atmos setup with Height Speakers
that can play with or without height channels enabled for direct comparison,
I'm afraid your speculation is by definition, pure conjecture.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD

Last edited by PioManiac; 03-10-2016 at 08:45 AM.
PioManiac is offline  
post #5212 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 27,461
Mentioned: 189 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6914 Post(s)
Liked: 5872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Earth View Post
There you go, from 3050 manual page 75.
As long as surround back are used (which can be considered 7.1) Dolby Atmos can be decoded.
The decoder doesn't unpack/decode the entire Atmos soundtrack (objects and all) only to then downmix it back to 7.1 when there already is a 7.1 channel core in every Atmos track that can simply be sent to the 7.1 speakers. Again, anyone can write to Dolby to verify this.
PioManiac likes this.

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #5213 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 09:08 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 21,509
Mentioned: 200 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5985 Post(s)
Liked: 5114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Movie78 View Post
What proves that it be right when it comes...
Who cares? No choice. We all have to wait.

Go buy a Denon.
Scott Simonian is offline  
post #5214 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 09:14 AM
Member
 
Blue Earth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Earth View Post
Whatever... I use logic and you just pull it out of nowhere. It is clearly mentioned Audio Decoding not Source.
Example on Onkyo, there is no reason for them to change from True HD with let's say 2 speakers to Atmos if 5.1 connected other than atmos decoding in progress. Same as yamaha from true hd 5.1 changed to atmos when 7.1 speakers used.
But if you insist with your wrong idea it is fine for me I just hope people coming to this thread looking for answer doesn't get wrong idea reading your post.
It's really starting to sound like you're on some kind of crusade
to inform the masses that you can enjoy Atmos without any height speakers at all.

After watching several Atmos titles recently I can tell you that 7.1.4 kicks 7.1.0's ass to the curb with Authority!
...whether the audio is decoded as Atmos 7.1.0 or Dolby TrueHD 7.1.0 is totally irrelevant on a 7.1 system.

Until you have a True Atmos setup with Height Speakers
that can play with or without height channels enabled for direct comparison,
I'm afraid your speculation is by definition, pure conjecture.
I'm new here and actually looking for answer myself but what I get from the supposed people with more knowledge is this kind of unlogical answer that is the reason why I insist to straighten the misconception for others who also looking for answer.
Granted this is internet and there are many wrong information all over but the difference between you and me is I care and want to contribute.
It has nothing to do with my current setup.
Blue Earth is offline  
post #5215 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PioManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,044
Mentioned: 248 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3067 Post(s)
Liked: 7389
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
The decoder doesn't unpack/decode the entire Atmos soundtrack (objects and all) only to then downmix it back to 7.1 when there already is a 7.1 channel core in every Atmos track that can simply be sent to the 7.1 speakers. Again, anyone can write to Dolby to verify this.
Please correct me if my "logic" is flawed,

If there is an Atmos placed "object" clearly in my Rear Left Height speaker, that's were I hear it in my 7.1.4 setup.
All my bed layer speakers are at ear level, the heights are 4 feet higher so I can tell the difference.

If said "object" is to be heard in a 7.1.0 speaker arrangement without a designated height speaker to play it,
it will either be heard in the left surround back, left surround (or both) regardless of whether its decoded as Dolby TrueHD or Atmos.

The "object" that would have been placed in the height designation is not eliminated from the sound track,
it's simply directed to the speakers it does have access to (down-mixed).

The same way a 7.1 bluray can still be heard in its entirety by someone with a 5.1 speaker setup.
Surround Back information just gets moved to the surround channels.

The Unfinished Basement Theater & Whisky Guitar Lounge | Bass EQ for Filtered Movies
JVC DLA X750 4K Projector | 120" Powered Drop Screen | 65" LG 65B6P OLED | Panasonic DMP UB900 | Oppo UDP 203 | HDFury Vertex
Yamaha RX-A3070 | 7.4.4.4 | Mission M3i x11 | Funk Audio 18.0 x2 | Velodyne DLS 5000R x2 | Crowson LvL3 MA x4 | miniDSP 2x4HD
PioManiac is offline  
post #5216 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 09:30 AM
Member
 
Blue Earth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Earth View Post
There you go, from 3050 manual page 75.
As long as surround back are used (which can be considered 7.1) Dolby Atmos can be decoded.
The decoder doesn't unpack/decode the entire Atmos soundtrack (objects and all) only to then downmix it back to 7.1 when there already is a 7.1 channel core in every Atmos track that can simply be sent to the 7.1 speakers. Again, anyone can write to Dolby to verify this.
7.1 core is used when the receiver can't decode it using Atmos decoder. Example receiver without Armos capability or in Yamaha 3050 case such as when Cinema DSP is used.
It is up to you what to believe I already did my part to provide written evidence from Yamaha.
Blue Earth is offline  
post #5217 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 09:32 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 21,509
Mentioned: 200 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5985 Post(s)
Liked: 5114
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
Please correct me if my "logic" is flawed,

If there is an Atmos placed "object" clearly in my Rear Left Height speaker, that's were I hear it in my 7.1.4 setup.
All my bed layer speakers are at ear level, the heights are 4 feet higher so I can tell the difference.

If said "object" is to be heard in a 7.1.0 speaker arrangement without a designated height speaker to play it,
it will either be heard in the left surround back, left surround (or both) regardless of whether its decoded as Dolby TrueHD or Atmos.

The "object" that would have been placed in the height designation is not eliminated from the sound track,
it's simply directed to the speakers it does have access to (down-mixed).

The same way a 7.1 bluray can still be heard in its entirety by someone with a 5.1 speaker setup.
Surround Back information just gets moved to the surround channels.
At minimum, Dolby Atmos requires at least one pair of heights in order to use Atmos decoding.

If you playback Atmos content on a system with no heights, there will be no object decoding. It will playback as a conventional 7.1 track.


On a related note, I do believe that some Yamaha AVR's will allow Atmos decoding with virtual presence speakers.
Scott Simonian is offline  
post #5218 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 09:34 AM
Member
 
Blue Earth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
The decoder doesn't unpack/decode the entire Atmos soundtrack (objects and all) only to then downmix it back to 7.1 when there already is a 7.1 channel core in every Atmos track that can simply be sent to the 7.1 speakers. Again, anyone can write to Dolby to verify this.
Please correct me if my "logic" is flawed,

If there is an Atmos placed "object" clearly in my Rear Left Height speaker, that's were I hear it in my 7.1.4 setup.
All my bed layer speakers are at ear level, the heights are 4 feet higher so I can tell the difference.

If said "object" is to be heard in a 7.1.0 speaker arrangement without a designated height speaker to play it,
it will either be heard in the left surround back, left surround (or both) regardless of whether its decoded as Dolby TrueHD or Atmos.

The "object" that would have been placed in the height designation is not eliminated from the sound track,
it's simply directed to the speakers it does have access to (down-mixed).

The same way a 7.1 bluray can still be heard in its entirety by someone with a 5.1 speaker setup.
Surround Back information just gets moved to the surround channels.
I agree with your logic.
Blue Earth is offline  
post #5219 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 09:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluemoon737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 3,712
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2195 Post(s)
Liked: 2696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
At minimum, Dolby Atmos requires at least one pair of heights in order to use Atmos decoding.

If you playback Atmos content on a system with no heights, there will be no object decoding. It will playback as a conventional 7.1 track.
Wait for it, waaiitt for it...
PioManiac likes this.

-Jeff-
Man cave: Sony XBR75Z9D, Marantz SR8012, and OPPO UDP-203
Living room: Sony XBR75X950G, Denon x4500, and Sony UBP-X800M2
bluemoon737 is offline  
post #5220 of 10568 Old 03-10-2016, 09:37 AM
Member
 
Blue Earth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post
Please correct me if my "logic" is flawed,

If there is an Atmos placed "object" clearly in my Rear Left Height speaker, that's were I hear it in my 7.1.4 setup.
All my bed layer speakers are at ear level, the heights are 4 feet higher so I can tell the difference.

If said "object" is to be heard in a 7.1.0 speaker arrangement without a designated height speaker to play it,
it will either be heard in the left surround back, left surround (or both) regardless of whether its decoded as Dolby TrueHD or Atmos.

The "object" that would have been placed in the height designation is not eliminated from the sound track,
it's simply directed to the speakers it does have access to (down-mixed).

The same way a 7.1 bluray can still be heard in its entirety by someone with a 5.1 speaker setup.
Surround Back information just gets moved to the surround channels.
At minimum, Dolby Atmos requires at least one pair of heights in order to use Atmos decoding.

If you playback Atmos content on a system with no heights, there will be no object decoding. It will playback as a conventional 7.1 track.


On a related note, I do believe that some Yamaha AVR's will allow Atmos decoding with virtual presence speakers.
So does it means actually manufacturer can also decide when to allow Atmos decoding? Not everything dictate by dolby?
Blue Earth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
scenes

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off