The "OFFICIAL" Yamaha 1050/2050/3050 Owner's thread. - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 23021Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 10623 Old 08-15-2015, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
So we're back to twice a week telling someone to use the "info" button on the remote. Its in the manual too, yes sayin'.
I'm sorry man, I looked for it briefly and didn't see it. I found it.. It was hiding lol Its how I like it now. Big Thank you!
LowTech1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 06:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,849
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1768 Post(s)
Liked: 897
I still can't "talk" to my AVR from my PC/web. I tried enabling media streaming from the PC, but that didn't have any affect because I can't see the AVR on my network; again, Pandora, etc. work fine so it's on the web (DHCP). I have it connected hardwire via one of the ports on a wireless bridge (along with my Blu-Ray player, etc. that's been working for years), but I can't figure out why I can't see a device that has a valid IP address on my home network! I can't even access that IP address from the Yamaha app on my phone (says "not found").

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.00]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #33 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 276
It's your router. You need to open a port, probably. Did you unplug, wait 60 secs then plug your router back in?
LowTech1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 276
When you guys listen to music,which setting do you use? Flat,Natural,Front,or Through. I'm using Flat right now. Is there any other way to tweak these settings?
LowTech1 is offline  
post #35 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 12:27 PM
Member
 
MAGHUNTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
When you guys listen to music,which setting do you use? Flat,Natural,Front,or Through. I'm using Flat right now. Is there any other way to tweak these settings?
I am going to get the 2050 or 3050 later this year. I have had the 2010 for 3 years and it never disappoints. I know the dacs are different between the models but after running ypao I have always found the through setting to sound perfect for me. I use it for both music and movies.
Scarriere and jaygax like this.
MAGHUNTER is offline  
post #36 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 12:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 276
I was listening to music last night with my girl and I went thru the settings,it was on natural. I put it on though, and front and it just sounded wrong. I put it on flat and it was much much better. When its on through, it sounded muffled, the highs weren't clear. Also, this could be speaker dependent.

Also, what does YPAO set the xover of the subs at? And can you change it?
LowTech1 is offline  
post #37 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,338
Mentioned: 719 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22193 Post(s)
Liked: 12056
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
I was listening to music last night with my girl and I went thru the settings,it was on natural. I put it on though, and front and it just sounded wrong. I put it on flat and it was much much better. When its on through, it sounded muffled, the highs weren't clear. Also, this could be speaker dependent.

Also, what does YPAO set the xover of the subs at? And can you change it?
Subwoofers don't have crossover settings which are designed for speakers to "cross over" the lower bass frequencies to the more capable dedicated sub. Perhaps you are thinking of the LPF for LFE setting? AFAIK, not a setting on the Yamaha.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #38 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 03:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dholmes54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmonton, Kentucky
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 531 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Does the 2050 work well with non atmos spks I have 4 surround spks 2 height spks and LCR front will it work with this set up,also does it have 2 subwoofer outputs? Thxs
dholmes54 is offline  
post #39 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,849
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1768 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
When you guys listen to music,which setting do you use? Flat,Natural,Front,or Through. I'm using Flat right now. Is there any other way to tweak these settings?
I listen to music via USB drive with only the "Enhancer" on: no YPAO. Basically, I prefer to listen to 2 channel music with no alteration/modifications (the "Enhancer" setting is an exception for me).
On movies I've been using the "flat" YPAO setting; the "natural" sounded a bit weird and (of course) Dolby Atmos disables YPAO, so there really isn't much of a choice there.
dholmes54 likes this.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.00]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #40 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 04:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,849
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1768 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by dholmes54 View Post
Does the 2050 work well with non atmos spks I have 4 surround spks 2 height spks and LCR front will it work with this set up,also does it have 2 subwoofer outputs? Thxs
I don't know what you mean by "non-Atmos speakers", but that's what I would call my 5.0.2 setup (see sig). Yes, it supports 2 subs, but I don't use subs at all (my 4 main speakers can handle the bass).

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.00]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #41 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 05:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,338
Mentioned: 719 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22193 Post(s)
Liked: 12056
Quote:
Originally Posted by dholmes54 View Post
Does the 2050 work well with non atmos spks I have 4 surround spks 2 height spks and LCR front will it work with this set up,also does it have 2 subwoofer outputs? Thxs
Any speaker mounted to the front/rear walls or in/on the ceiling would be considered an "Atmos" speaker in the general sense of the term. These would also generally provide a better experience than the Atmos enabled upward firing speakers that bounce the audio off of the ceiling. The A2050 is also the lowest model with dual sub EQ (able to set the level/delay with independent volume control of each sub).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #42 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dholmes54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmonton, Kentucky
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 531 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Thxs aren't there atmos spks? What I want to do is use my 9.2 spks LCR,2 side surround and 2 back surrounds and 2 height spks'im returning one of my Onkyo 646 and considering the Yamaha 2050
dholmes54 is offline  
post #43 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Could I just use front presence and rear presence for atmos? Or should you have in ceiling speakers?
billmich likes this.
LowTech1 is offline  
post #44 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,338
Mentioned: 719 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22193 Post(s)
Liked: 12056
Quote:
Originally Posted by dholmes54 View Post
Thxs aren't there atmos spks? What I want to do is use my 9.2 spks LCR,2 side surround and 2 back surrounds and 2 height spks'im returning one of my Onkyo 646 and considering the Yamaha 2050
There are speakers that are marketed as good for height speakers in an Atmos setup, yes.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #45 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,338
Mentioned: 719 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22193 Post(s)
Liked: 12056
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
Could I just use front presence and rear presence for atmos? Or should you have in ceiling speakers?
Yes, this will work, although the actual experience will depend on their distance from your main listening position.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #46 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
loudog2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Dalto and I are having issues with no video displaying. Mine is on the 3050 via ARC to my Sony 940c. I get audio but no picture on output 1. Output 2 works fine. Dalto has a 2050 and gets no display as well.

We both called Yamaha support. Both techs had no idea our receivers were being updated via firmware. They said there was no update and all original updates were done at the factory and we were wrong. I had to laugh.
azz7686 likes this.
loudog2 is offline  
post #47 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 05:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,338
Mentioned: 719 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22193 Post(s)
Liked: 12056
Quote:
Originally Posted by loudog2 View Post
Dalto and I are having issues with no video displaying. Mine is on the 3050 via ARC to my Sony 940c. I get audio but no picture on output 1. Output 2 works fine. Dalto has a 2050 and gets no display as well.

We both called Yamaha support. Both techs had no idea our receivers were being updated via firmware. They said there was no update and all original updates were done at the factory and we were wrong. I had to laugh.
Do both TV's have the same resolution? Is Video Mode set to "Direct" or "Processing? If "Processing", is the Resolution set to "Auto" or a specific resolution?
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #48 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 05:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
loudog2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Do both TV's have the same resolution? Is Video Mode set to "Direct" or "Processing? If "Processing", is the Resolution set to "Auto" or a specific resolution?
I sat on the phone with Yamaha for a hour and he was stumped. Told me to return it since it was only 10 days old. But yes we went through all that plus new cables.. Remember output 2 work flawlessly. Just the ARC output has issues.
loudog2 is offline  
post #49 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 05:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,338
Mentioned: 719 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22193 Post(s)
Liked: 12056
Quote:
Originally Posted by loudog2 View Post
I sat on the phone with Yamaha for a hour and he was stumped. Told me to return it since it was only 10 days old. But yes we went through all that plus new cables.. Remember output 2 work flawlessly. Just the ARC output has issues.
Did you try connecting to a non-ARC HDMI input on the TV as a test?
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #50 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 05:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
loudog2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Did you try connecting to a non-ARC HDMI input on the TV as a test?
Yes, we moved the tv input to #1 instead of ARC#4. Same issue. Then we moved the receiver output to #2 and tv input #1 and all worked.
jhinesjr likes this.
loudog2 is offline  
post #51 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 276
ARC didn't work for me either. I had to use AV 1.
LowTech1 is offline  
post #52 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dholmes54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmonton, Kentucky
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 531 Post(s)
Liked: 145
I know now what I was talking about atmos spks,they are the fronts that has drivers built in that fire upwards,you guys are making me rething getting the 2050
dholmes54 is offline  
post #53 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 06:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
loudog2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
ARC didn't work for me either. I had to use AV 1.
What kind of tv do you have?
loudog2 is offline  
post #54 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 276
I have a Panasonic Plasma ST60.
billmich likes this.
LowTech1 is offline  
post #55 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 09:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
virtualrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 973
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by loudog2 View Post
I sat on the phone with Yamaha for a hour and he was stumped. Told me to return it since it was only 10 days old. But yes we went through all that plus new cables.. Remember output 2 work flawlessly. Just the ARC output has issues.

Sorry if I missed this, but what is the background/problem details?

SONY 75X850C | YAMAHA RX-A2050 | 5 DAYTON AUDIO APA150 | KLIPSCH RP 5.2.4
virtualrain is offline  
post #56 of 10623 Old 08-16-2015, 11:40 PM
Member
 
Arfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central, TX
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a RX-A2050 incoming this week (upgrading from a RXV 773wa). I've changed my LCR speakers to Behringer 212XL and added a Rythmik lv22r sub to my room and trying to get it to play nice with my current Polk PSW404 that sits inside a cabinet. I have a pair of in ceiling Polk speakers in the rear about 12 feet apart.

I'm wanting to incorporate Atmos speakers, probably just 2 forward of my MLP maybe 8 feet. I have a 10 foot ceiling that slopes 45 degrees all 4 sides to wall.

What Atmos speakers in ceiling would be a good match for the Berrys up front. And would adding 2 center rears in wall add any great benefit?

I'll try and add some pics of the ceiling/room if that helps anyone.
Arfie is offline  
post #57 of 10623 Old 08-17-2015, 01:28 AM
Member
 
julianb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by javanpohl View Post
Upgraded from a 2040 to a 3050. Had an onkyo and a denon before. Running 9.1.2 with two front presence speakers and direct overheads. Onkyo 806 as the outboard amp. My impressions so far...

YPAO's amazing. Atmos is amazing. The Yamaha DSP is amazing, even better than the 2040's, which I was extremely impressed with. The Dolby upmixer may do a better job of getting information sent to the overhead speakers, but it has a hard time creating a cohesive soundfield.
Do you think Yamaha DPS sound better than DSU? and can you combine those two? I'm about to buy the 3050 but I would also like to know if it supports DTS Neural-X upmixer or if it will be supported later on
julianb is offline  
post #58 of 10623 Old 08-17-2015, 03:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
loudog2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtualrain View Post
Sorry if I missed this, but what is the background/problem details?
No video being output through the ARC output 1. A couple people have had this issue do far.
loudog2 is offline  
post #59 of 10623 Old 08-17-2015, 04:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,338
Mentioned: 719 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22193 Post(s)
Liked: 12056
Quote:
Originally Posted by julianb View Post
Do you think Yamaha DPS sound better than DSU? and can you combine those two? I'm about to buy the 3050 but I would also like to know if it supports DTS Neural-X upmixer or if it will be supported later on
Some do find some of the Yamaha brand DSP modes to be better than DSU although you would select only one mode or the other. There are conflicting reports as to whether the Yamaha AVRs will be getting DTS Neural:X as the Yamaha CSRs are saying no, so likely won't know for sure until the DTS:X update is actually installed; however, with the DSU and Yamaha DSP modes, not really that big of a deal if not included.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #60 of 10623 Old 08-17-2015, 05:03 AM
Member
 
julianb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Some do find some of the Yamaha brand DSP modes to be better than DSU although you would select only one mode or the other. There are conflicting reports as to whether the Yamaha AVRs will be getting DTS Neural:X as the Yamaha CSRs are saying no, so likely won't know for sure until the DTS:X update is actually installed; however, with the DSU and Yamaha DSP modes, not really that big of a deal if not included.
Thanks, I own an 3030 today and I really like Yamaha's DSP sound field. Can't wait to try out DSU vs Yamaha's new DSP.
julianb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
scenes

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off