The "OFFICIAL" Yamaha 1050/2050/3050 Owner's thread. - Page 207 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 23015Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6181 of 10588 Old 04-01-2016, 07:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,772
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3218 Post(s)
Liked: 2532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandion View Post
dont forget to try neo 6 music when watching youtube music video or listening 2 ch music.. very immersive experience too
Isnt neo6 designed for a 6.1 system with a single back surround?
Bond 007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6182 of 10588 Old 04-01-2016, 08:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,772
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3218 Post(s)
Liked: 2532
Quote:
Originally Posted by telon175 View Post
Sorry to ask this but this is my first time using a Yamaha Receiver.
I have always seen a way to adjust the crossover for the sub on other receivers but I see no way to do that on this receiver.

Is there something i am missing or is this something i need to lean how to do manually.
Look under Configuration.
Its explained in the owners manual.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #6183 of 10588 Old 04-01-2016, 08:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Movie78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 949 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelers1 View Post
what is the language on this movie? English or do you have to read subtitles? and where did you purchase it from? thanks have a nice day.
Purchased it on eBay for around $33, Chinese language with English subtitles.
Sorry the correct title of the movie is The Taking Of Tiger Mountain.
Movie78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6184 of 10588 Old 04-01-2016, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
urbeenjammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kenner, Louisiana
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoochie View Post
I have 4 ceiling speakers and based on Scott's recommendation I made a scene using Pattern 1 and setting presence speakers to OVERHEAD - I use this for Atmos
Another scene using Pattern 2 with speakers set to HEIGHT - I use this for DTS:X

Two questions:
1) Is it everyone's consensus that this the right thing to do?
2) If I'm listening to non Atmos and non DTSX material using the Neural:X upmixer, what do I choose - OVERHEAD or HEIGHT? They sound different, I can't get a feel of what sounds better.
I listened to the atmos amaze trailer and atmos leaf trailer and found the "dolby enabled sp" setting for atmos sounded fuller and further above than the suggested setting.
el_carro likes this.
urbeenjammin is offline  
post #6185 of 10588 Old 04-01-2016, 08:52 PM
Member
 
scoochie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by urbeenjammin View Post
I listened to the atmos amaze trailer and atmos leaf trailer and found the "dolby enabled sp" setting for atmos sounded fuller and further above than the suggested setting.
and you chose "dolby enabled sp" even though your speakers are on the ceiling like mine?
scoochie is offline  
post #6186 of 10588 Old 04-01-2016, 09:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
steelers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: idaho falls.id
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Movie78 View Post
Purchased it on eBay for around $33, Chinese language with English subtitles.
Sorry the correct title of the movie is The Taking Of Tiger Mountain.
thanks.
steelers1 is offline  
post #6187 of 10588 Old 04-01-2016, 09:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Just updated my firmware on my Yammy 3050. I tested ex Machina and all looks 100% fine. I also changed speaker pattern to have my overheads set at heights.

Now, I have tested a normal DTS MA master audio blu ray (Avatar) and checked all my settings and I cannot find anywhere where DTS neural X is. Where in the hell can I find it guys so I can select it and save it to my scene 4?

thanks

Main Room Sony KD-75X9400E Display, AMP. Yamaha RX-A3050. Front Mains, 2x Dali Concept 8. Klipsch Center, Surround and Rear Surrounds, 4X Dali Ikon 1. Ceiling 4X B&W CCM 382. Subs, 2x Kef C200 for the rear and 2X Kenwood SW-07HT for the fronts. Lounge Shakers, Dayton Audio SA 230 Sub Amp with 4 AST-2B-4 lounge Shakers. The other Tv room the Hecto live there the Hecto 100 inch Short throw projector,
Blackman is offline  
post #6188 of 10588 Old 04-01-2016, 09:16 PM
Member
 
blackreign66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackman View Post
Just updated my firmware on my Yammy 3050. I tested ex Machina and all looks 100% fine. I also changed speaker pattern to have my overheads set at heights.

Now, I have tested a normal DTS MA master audio blu ray (Avatar) and checked all my settings and I cannot find anywhere where DTS neural X is. Where in the hell can I find it guys so I can select it and save it to my scene 4?

thanks
Press the Sur Decode button on your remote control until you see Neural:X

DISPLAYS - Sony XBR-75X900F, Sony XBR-55X900E, Samsung 55 KU6500
AVR - Denon X4400h, Audiosource, 7.2.4, Sony X9000f soundbar
SPEAKERS - Athena Audition Series 7.1 speakers, 4 ceiling mounted Polk Audio OWM3, BIC F12 subwoofer
SOURCE - HTPC, PS4 Pro, Xbox One X, Apple 4K Tv, Roku Ultra, Nvidia Shield Tv

Last edited by blackreign66; 04-01-2016 at 09:20 PM.
blackreign66 is offline  
post #6189 of 10588 Old 04-01-2016, 09:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackreign66 View Post
Press the Sur Decode button on your remote control until you see Neural:X
Thanks, I just found it.

Main Room Sony KD-75X9400E Display, AMP. Yamaha RX-A3050. Front Mains, 2x Dali Concept 8. Klipsch Center, Surround and Rear Surrounds, 4X Dali Ikon 1. Ceiling 4X B&W CCM 382. Subs, 2x Kef C200 for the rear and 2X Kenwood SW-07HT for the fronts. Lounge Shakers, Dayton Audio SA 230 Sub Amp with 4 AST-2B-4 lounge Shakers. The other Tv room the Hecto live there the Hecto 100 inch Short throw projector,
Blackman is offline  
post #6190 of 10588 Old 04-01-2016, 09:31 PM
Member
 
blackreign66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackman View Post
Thanks, I just found it.
Just note that you can not save individual Surround Decoders. Like for instance you can't save Dolby Surround in 1 scene and Neural:X in another because it will always default to the last decoder chosen. Yamaha needs to fix this to make it so they can be saved individually
Scott Simonian likes this.

DISPLAYS - Sony XBR-75X900F, Sony XBR-55X900E, Samsung 55 KU6500
AVR - Denon X4400h, Audiosource, 7.2.4, Sony X9000f soundbar
SPEAKERS - Athena Audition Series 7.1 speakers, 4 ceiling mounted Polk Audio OWM3, BIC F12 subwoofer
SOURCE - HTPC, PS4 Pro, Xbox One X, Apple 4K Tv, Roku Ultra, Nvidia Shield Tv
blackreign66 is offline  
post #6191 of 10588 Old 04-01-2016, 09:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Blackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackreign66 View Post
Just note that you can not save individual Surround Decoders. Like for instance you can't save Dolby Surround in 1 scene and Neural:X in another because it will always default to the last decoder chosen. Yamaha needs to fix this to make it so they can be saved individually
yes, I just found this out two minutes ago and was just about to post this issue.

many thanks

Main Room Sony KD-75X9400E Display, AMP. Yamaha RX-A3050. Front Mains, 2x Dali Concept 8. Klipsch Center, Surround and Rear Surrounds, 4X Dali Ikon 1. Ceiling 4X B&W CCM 382. Subs, 2x Kef C200 for the rear and 2X Kenwood SW-07HT for the fronts. Lounge Shakers, Dayton Audio SA 230 Sub Amp with 4 AST-2B-4 lounge Shakers. The other Tv room the Hecto live there the Hecto 100 inch Short throw projector,
Blackman is offline  
post #6192 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 12:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Blackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackreign66 View Post
Just note that you can not save individual Surround Decoders. Like for instance you can't save Dolby Surround in 1 scene and Neural:X in another because it will always default to the last decoder chosen. Yamaha needs to fix this to make it so they can be saved individually
Yes tried every trick in any book and couldn't save Neural X to a Scene without effecting other. Please Yamaha can you fix this for us.
thanks

Main Room Sony KD-75X9400E Display, AMP. Yamaha RX-A3050. Front Mains, 2x Dali Concept 8. Klipsch Center, Surround and Rear Surrounds, 4X Dali Ikon 1. Ceiling 4X B&W CCM 382. Subs, 2x Kef C200 for the rear and 2X Kenwood SW-07HT for the fronts. Lounge Shakers, Dayton Audio SA 230 Sub Amp with 4 AST-2B-4 lounge Shakers. The other Tv room the Hecto live there the Hecto 100 inch Short throw projector,
Blackman is offline  
post #6193 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 01:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,141
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 181
The current Yamahas can't save different surround decoders to scenes. There is unfortunately only one available, which is common for all scenes.

Last edited by gurkey; 04-02-2016 at 04:01 AM.
gurkey is offline  
post #6194 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 01:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by MB_HT View Post
After I have read all the +6.000 posts in this thread, as an RX-A2040 owner, I felt like I need to check and make a demo myself regarding Dolby Atmos...

I put an originally Dolby Atmos encoded Bluray Disc to my Sony BDP-S790 player.
The only way that "DOLBY ATMOS" lit up on the screen of my 2040, was when I chose the "STANDART" option from the choices.

When I chose any option other than STANDART like DRAMA, ADVENTURE, SCI-FI or even "STRAIGHT" as told many many times on previous posts, the tiny sign on my 2040, directly converted from "DOLBY ATMOS" to "DOLBY TRUE HD"...

What is the reason of that ?

Thanks in advance for your kind replies and comments...
The only way to get Atmos with RX-A2040 is to choose Surround Decoder mode. In Straight it just plays DolbyTrueHD.

AV Receiver - Yamaha RX-A2040 5.1.4
Front - Klipsch RB-81 II x 2; Center - Klipsch RC-62 II; Side Surround - Klipsch RS-52 II x 2;
TR Atmos - Klipsch RS-52 II х 2; TF Atmos - Tannoy VRi х 2;
Subwoofer -Klispch R-115SW; Media - Playstation 3 // WETEK Play+DVB/S // HTPC - Kodi
Makrelov's Atmos Setup
makrelov is offline  
post #6195 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 01:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post
The Yamahas can't save different surround decoders to scenes. There is unfortunately only one available, which is common for all scenes.
It appears it's not the case with xx40 models. My 2040 can save different decoders to different scenes to 1 Input. Just checked it with Laptop Input (HDMI 2):

Scene 1 - Surround decoder/Atmos
Scene 2 - Straight
Scene 3 - 9 channel stereo
Scene 4 - ProLogicIIx

Pressing Scene buttons changes just the Surround Decoder as shown above and nothing else - same input, same base settings, same picture, same volume.

AV Receiver - Yamaha RX-A2040 5.1.4
Front - Klipsch RB-81 II x 2; Center - Klipsch RC-62 II; Side Surround - Klipsch RS-52 II x 2;
TR Atmos - Klipsch RS-52 II х 2; TF Atmos - Tannoy VRi х 2;
Subwoofer -Klispch R-115SW; Media - Playstation 3 // WETEK Play+DVB/S // HTPC - Kodi
Makrelov's Atmos Setup
makrelov is offline  
post #6196 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 02:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,772
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3218 Post(s)
Liked: 2532
Quote:
Originally Posted by makrelov View Post
It appears it's not the case with xx40 models. My 2040 can save different decoders to different scenes to 1 Input. Just checked it with Laptop Input (HDMI 2):

Scene 1 - Surround decoder/Atmos
Scene 2 - Straight
Scene 3 - 9 channel stereo
Scene 4 - ProLogicIIx

Pressing Scene buttons changes just the Surround Decoder as shown above and nothing else - same input, same base settings, same picture, same volume.
This also works on my 2030.
makrelov likes this.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #6197 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 04:53 AM
Member
 
blackreign66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by makrelov View Post
It appears it's not the case with xx40 models. My 2040 can save different decoders to different scenes to 1 Input. Just checked it with Laptop Input (HDMI 2):

Scene 1 - Surround decoder/Atmos
Scene 2 - Straight
Scene 3 - 9 channel stereo
Scene 4 - ProLogicIIx

Pressing Scene buttons changes just the Surround Decoder as shown above and nothing else - same input, same base settings, same picture, same volume.
Straight and 9 Channel stereo aren't surround decoders. The 3050 has 7 designated Surround Decoder: Decoder types which are Dolby Surround, PLIIx Movie, PLIIx Game, PLIIx Music, Neo:6 Cinema, Neo:6 Music, and the newly added Neural:X. I don't know how the 40s list them but the fact that you can save between PLIIx and Dolby Surround is interesting.
Blackman likes this.

DISPLAYS - Sony XBR-75X900F, Sony XBR-55X900E, Samsung 55 KU6500
AVR - Denon X4400h, Audiosource, 7.2.4, Sony X9000f soundbar
SPEAKERS - Athena Audition Series 7.1 speakers, 4 ceiling mounted Polk Audio OWM3, BIC F12 subwoofer
SOURCE - HTPC, PS4 Pro, Xbox One X, Apple 4K Tv, Roku Ultra, Nvidia Shield Tv
blackreign66 is offline  
post #6198 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 05:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carter D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevings View Post
Since I'm getting close to pulling the trigger, and I'm really leaning towards yamaha, I was curious to know if you'd heard any rumors about what the differences might be between the 3050 and 3060?
I was told by a Yamaha rep who signed an NDA that 3060 was due late May. When I pressed him about the differences between the 3050 and 3060 he told me the difference wasn't huge. I went with his suggestions and got the 3050. I don't see any new hardware available at this time. HDMI 2.0a, and HDCP 2.2 are here now.
Maybe more power. There is no way to know and everything is just speculation at this point.
Carter

Last edited by Carter D; 04-02-2016 at 05:06 AM. Reason: Grammer
Carter D is offline  
post #6199 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 05:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 139
for those of us on a 2050, without overhead speakers of any sort, it seems like setting the sound field to neural x shuts off the back speakers when watching a 7.1 movie; using the regular surround setting brings them back on, but they are silent when set to neural x..
Is this normal, or something goofy with my set up?
wase4711 is offline  
post #6200 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 05:45 AM
Member
 
Dandion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Isnt neo6 designed for a 6.1 system with a single back surround?
hello,
Neo 6 music is a surround processor for two channels music. it is used to ´creat' surround sound (up to 6.1 speakers set up) from two channel source. i used it to listen all my music via spotify, flac files, youtube...
give it a try!
Daniel
Dandion is offline  
post #6201 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 05:54 AM
Member
 
dlca1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Another user (carter) reported suddenly losing sound via arc over on the lg oled forums. The same thing happened to me. I have similar equipment. The 3050 and a LG 65 oled.

The only change I've made recently is the dts:x firmware update.

Posting over in this forum because I'm suspecting this is some type of possible bug introduced by the update?

Anybody else experience this?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dlca1 is offline  
post #6202 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 05:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,772
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3218 Post(s)
Liked: 2532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandion View Post
hello,
Neo 6 music is a surround processor for two channels music. it is used to ´creat' surround sound (up to 6.1 speakers set up) from two channel source. i used it to listen all my music via spotify, flac files, youtube...
give it a try!
Daniel
I have tried it and it sounds ok.
But I have 2 back surrounds and neo6 plays them in mono. PLIIx plays the back surrounds in stereo so I kinda prefer it.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #6203 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 06:18 AM
Member
 
BlueEarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know how to check speaker angle which ypao set for me without running ypao again?
BlueEarth is offline  
post #6204 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 06:28 AM
Member
 
blackreign66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueEarth View Post
Anyone know how to check speaker angle which ypao set for me without running ypao again?
I believe you must run YPAO again and view results in order to see angles

DISPLAYS - Sony XBR-75X900F, Sony XBR-55X900E, Samsung 55 KU6500
AVR - Denon X4400h, Audiosource, 7.2.4, Sony X9000f soundbar
SPEAKERS - Athena Audition Series 7.1 speakers, 4 ceiling mounted Polk Audio OWM3, BIC F12 subwoofer
SOURCE - HTPC, PS4 Pro, Xbox One X, Apple 4K Tv, Roku Ultra, Nvidia Shield Tv
blackreign66 is offline  
post #6205 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 06:46 AM
Member
 
telon175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Look under Configuration.
Its explained in the owners manual.
I have looked under configuration Manual type. I show the cross over for the speakers but not the sub.
There is a spot to select for sub 1 and sub to but the only option I see is that sub is on or off or reverse, nothing else.
telon175 is offline  
post #6206 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 06:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,772
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3218 Post(s)
Liked: 2532
Quote:
Originally Posted by telon175 View Post
I have looked under configuration Manual type. I show the cross over for the speakers but not the sub.
There is a spot to select for sub 1 and sub to but the only option I see is that sub is on or off or reverse, nothing else.
Normal.
The xover is for speaker and sub.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #6207 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 07:33 AM
Member
 
SpaceMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by makrelov View Post
The only way to get Atmos with RX-A2040 is to choose Surround Decoder mode. In Straight it just plays DolbyTrueHD.
Are you sure about this? I was told several pages back to use STRAIGHT for Atmos and DTS:X. Upon that advise, I test an Atmos and a DTS:X disc in STRAIGHT and both displayed correctly as Atmos and DTS:X.

They also advised that I play all other formats, DTS-HD MA, Dolby TrueHD, etc. in SURROUND (with the option of Neutral:X if I desire).

So, are you saying that even though the receiver states it is outputing Atmos in STRAIGHT, it's really outputing Dolby TrueHD?

Endurance Theatre
VIZIO M801i-A3 80-Inch | Sony BDP-S5500 | Yamaha RX-A2050 | Roku Ultra
SpaceMind is offline  
post #6208 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 07:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17,772
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3218 Post(s)
Liked: 2532
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpaceMind View Post
Are you sure about this? I was told several pages back to use STRAIGHT for Atmos and DTS:X. Upon that advise, I test an Atmos and a DTS:X disc in STRAIGHT and both displayed correctly as Atmos and DTS:X.

They also advised that I play all other formats, DTS-HD MA, Dolby TrueHD, etc. in SURROUND (with the option of Neutral:X if I desire).

So, are you saying that even though the receiver states it is outputing Atmos in STRAIGHT, it's really outputing Dolby TrueHD?
He stated 2040.
2050 might be different.
SpaceMind likes this.
Bond 007 is offline  
post #6209 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 07:44 AM
Member
 
SpaceMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
He stated 2040.
2050 might be different.
Ahh, I didn't see that 4 in his model number. Thank you for pointing that out.

Endurance Theatre
VIZIO M801i-A3 80-Inch | Sony BDP-S5500 | Yamaha RX-A2050 | Roku Ultra
SpaceMind is offline  
post #6210 of 10588 Old 04-02-2016, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackreign66 View Post
Straight and 9 Channel stereo aren't surround decoders. The 3050 has 7 designated Surround Decoder: Decoder types which are Dolby Surround, PLIIx Movie, PLIIx Game, PLIIx Music, Neo:6 Cinema, Neo:6 Music, and the newly added Neural:X. I don't know how the 40s list them but the fact that you can save between PLIIx and Dolby Surround is interesting.
Yes, you are right. If i put Dolbby Surround to Scene 1 and ProLogicII Movie to Scene 2, and the AVR is at DSurround, pressing scene 2 changes nothing. The AVR is still on DSurround.
So, it appears that the decoders inside Sound Program => Surround Decoder cannot be assigned via Scene buttons.

Sorry for misleading you, guys.

AV Receiver - Yamaha RX-A2040 5.1.4
Front - Klipsch RB-81 II x 2; Center - Klipsch RC-62 II; Side Surround - Klipsch RS-52 II x 2;
TR Atmos - Klipsch RS-52 II х 2; TF Atmos - Tannoy VRi х 2;
Subwoofer -Klispch R-115SW; Media - Playstation 3 // WETEK Play+DVB/S // HTPC - Kodi
Makrelov's Atmos Setup
makrelov is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
scenes

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off