Arcam AVR-850 & Arcam AVR-550 - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3219Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 3249 Old 11-09-2015, 05:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
darrellh44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North Dallas
Posts: 1,537
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1035 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nyal Mellor View Post
Personally I am VERY excited to see Dirac Live in more AVRs and Pre-Pros. It really works! I will be getting either AC or Arcam units in for evaluation and testing once they are shipping and will be sure to blog about it!
Great, looking forward to your review. Do you know how soon you'll be getting one of the units in?
darrellh44 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 3249 Old 11-09-2015, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nyal Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 537 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by darrellh44 View Post
Great, looking forward to your review. Do you know how soon you'll be getting one of the units in?
As soon as they start shipping, Dec timeframe I think.

Want to learn about home theater design and acoustics? Read our blog.
Company: Acoustic Frontiers - design and creation of high performance home theaters for discerning audio/video enthusiasts.
Certifications: HAA Level I & II, THX Video Level I & II, CEDIA EST I & II.
AVS Projects: Too many to show in my signature - see here for the master list.
Nyal Mellor is offline  
post #33 of 3249 Old 11-11-2015, 04:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madhuski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,613
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 823
any word how these handle low impedence speakers?
madhuski is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 3249 Old 11-11-2015, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 432
AC December but more like January 2016

Mike Miles
[email protected]
mmiles is offline  
post #35 of 3249 Old 11-11-2015, 02:19 PM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3561
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhuski View Post
any word how these handle low impedance speakers?
When you look @ past bench tests* of previous Arcam receivers; they are capable into 4 Ohm loads (2 channels measured).
The AVR850 should have no problem because 4 Ohms is included in its specs (check Arcam's own website).
And the AVR550 should also be capable, even if 4 Ohms is not included in its specs (when using a sub or two).

1. Arcam AVR850: http://www.arcam.co.uk/products,av-a...ers,avr850.htm
2. Arcam AVR550: http://www.arcam.co.uk/products,FMJ,...ers,avr550.htm

* Check SoundandVision online reviews of few past Arcam AV receivers: http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...cRYCSoomlzl.97

♦ Just for past info: http://www.condoraudio.com/wp-conten...ade-Repair.pdf
madhuski likes this.

Last edited by NorthSky; 11-11-2015 at 02:28 PM. Reason: Links
NorthSky is offline  
post #36 of 3249 Old 11-12-2015, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
does anyone know if the avr750 and avr850 have fans in them? my avr300 which I still have has issues with the fan noise so just wondering about these two units? thx

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
post #37 of 3249 Old 11-12-2015, 07:08 PM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrish View Post
does anyone know if the avr750 and avr850 have fans in them? my avr300 which I still have has issues with the fan noise so just wondering about these two units? thx
The AVR750 has two internal fans, so I am 99% sure that the AVR850 and AVR550 have as well.

Click image for larger version

Name:	arcam_avr_750_innenleben.jpg
Views:	1377
Size:	103.4 KB
ID:	1054049
NorthSky is offline  
post #38 of 3249 Old 11-13-2015, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
is there a way to tone down the output sensitivity of the subwoofer preout when adjusting trim levels with spl meter? there is a major difference here when compared to avr 300.

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
post #39 of 3249 Old 11-15-2015, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkeeler10 View Post
I for one am very interested in the 550. That piece and Anthem's MRX720 are in top running for me for my next receiver. The main things affecting my choice will be price and room correction technology. So I suppose the question I would need to answer is which RC is the better one? They're both highly regarded of course. And then, if Dirac seems to be better, is it really $900 better?
Dirac, it's in his own class, those Swedish dudes all they do it's room correction

AVR 550 compare to MRX 720.. I'll take the Arcam any day.
nadyn is offline  
post #40 of 3249 Old 11-16-2015, 07:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 432
It's looking more like January.

Mike Miles
[email protected]
mmiles is offline  
post #41 of 3249 Old 11-16-2015, 05:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,892
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1193 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Any word on whether the Arcam and AudioControl units suffer from the same DSP horsepower limitation that precludes using Dolby Volume and more than 7.1 channels, like the Yamaha AVRs and the forthcoming Anthem AVMRX's (as Nick reported in the Anthem thread)?

--
"In many cases there aren’t two sides unless one side is 'reality' and the other is 'nonsense.'" - Phil Plait
Serious Audio Blog 
DS-21 is offline  
post #42 of 3249 Old 11-16-2015, 05:40 PM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3561
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS-21 View Post
Any word on whether the Arcam and AudioControl units suffer from the same DSP horsepower limitation that precludes using Dolby Volume and more than 7.1 channels, like the Yamaha AVRs and the forthcoming Anthem AVMRX's (as Nick reported in the Anthem thread)?
I guess I missed that part.
NorthSky is offline  
post #43 of 3249 Old 11-17-2015, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 432
DS-21,


Good question will try to get an answer.


__________________________________________________ _


One feature that the platforms share is pretty cool. You can use Rear LS and Rear RS for 2 of the four Dolby Atmos channels. So all you need is a 2 channel amp to run 5.x.4

Mike Miles
[email protected]
mmiles is offline  
post #44 of 3249 Old 11-17-2015, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,264
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 812 Post(s)
Liked: 396
I have owned two Arcam products: the AVP700 and the AV9. I did not get good service from the USA dealers on either product. This was after paying retail for both products. Buy at your own peril.
gbaby is offline  
post #45 of 3249 Old 11-17-2015, 02:18 PM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3561
I've read horror stories from owners of Arcam hi-end pre/pros and receivers; and right here too @ AVSForum. ...But that was a while ago; perhaps today they are better @ resolving passed issues? ...Only time will tell for sure.
NorthSky is offline  
post #46 of 3249 Old 11-17-2015, 04:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
I've read horror stories from owners of Arcam hi-end pre/pros and receivers; and right here too @ AVSForum. ...But that was a while ago; perhaps today they are better @ resolving passed issues? ...Only time will tell for sure.
That's true, 2 lines back (the avr600 line) were absolute crap, a speaker destroyer machine, which almost bankrupted Arcam. Then a Canadian company acquired them, and who's leading that company now did a very very smart move with the Dirac.
The old fashion management didn't believe in room correction at all.
Before Dirac in Arcam the best choice was Anthem, now that has changed. AC could be the better option(design and made in USA), time will tell.
I own an MRX310 and it's still not quite there in terms of surround performance.
Cheers

Last edited by nadyn; 11-17-2015 at 04:07 PM.
nadyn is offline  
post #47 of 3249 Old 11-17-2015, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 432
I have no experience with Arcam but owned and installed AC products.

Amps are rock solid and a true value. I never installed the AVR's

I did own and have sold the Maestro M3/M4 prepro. These units indeed had issues. That said AC stood by them even after warranty expired on one unit. In fact I still use one today.

The OEM is the same for both platforms as I have mentioned. Just look at the back panels on the units we have discussed. I'm sure the OSD menus are stroke for stroke too.

I have been told there have been big strides made in the product.

Mike Miles
[email protected]
mmiles is offline  
post #48 of 3249 Old 11-19-2015, 01:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have the Arcam AVR 850 ordered !
Question :
Have Arcam a German Menu ?
The Arcam have 2 x Sub out , both edited with Dirac ?
The Setting from Crossover is 10 Hz steps ?
Sorry, come from Germany,my English is not so good !!!
Very Thanks !
Filou6901 is offline  
post #49 of 3249 Old 11-19-2015, 10:17 PM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filou6901 View Post
I have the Arcam AVR 850 ordered !
Questions :

1. Have Arcam a German Menu ?
2. The Arcam have 2 x Sub out , both edited with Dirac ?
3. The Setting from Crossover is 10 Hz steps ?


Sorry, come from Germany,my English is not so good !!!
Very Thanks !
1. Page 51 => http://www.arcam.co.uk/ugc/tor/avr85...-IT-R-SC_1.pdf
{I don't know if it is mentioned in that manual (no it's not mentioned); you probably mean the GUI Menu - German language. ...I bet it has.}

2. I don't know if the two Sub outputs are equalized separately and then summed up as one by Dirac Live.

3. In the manual, starting page 51 from the pdf link above.
It very well might be indicated (no it isn't; I just checked - but I would think so for such a hi-end AV receiver).

* Sorry, I am French Canadian, my English is not so good.

Last edited by NorthSky; 11-19-2015 at 10:43 PM. Reason: (Checked)
NorthSky is offline  
post #50 of 3249 Old 11-24-2015, 03:03 AM
Senior Member
 
flax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 266
One aspect worth noting is 96KHz / 24 bit support... in my opinion that should be more than enough even for the most discriminating listeners:
http://www.arcam.co.uk/ugc/tor/avr850/Dirac Flier/Dirac Live for ARCAM.pdf
The sofa image in that flyer may lead to think that measurements should be taken in one horizontal plane but that is not the case... this larger one is probably better:


Flavio

Warning: My posts might be biased even if in good faith, I work for Dirac Research :-)

Last edited by flax; 11-24-2015 at 03:18 AM.
flax is offline  
post #51 of 3249 Old 11-24-2015, 06:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by flax View Post
One aspect worth noting is 96kHz / 24 bit support... in my opinion that should be more than enough even for the most discriminating listeners:
Flavio
Almost all the AVRs out there if not all, will down-mix to 48kHz before any processing.
Only few pre/pro are able to process at 96kHz.

So having Dirac processing at 96kHz for 11 channels in an AVR that's pretty cool I'd say.
Cheers
nadyn is offline  
post #52 of 3249 Old 11-25-2015, 05:02 AM
Senior Member
 
flax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 266
This is an image that I have admittedly "stolen" from this post:
https://www.avforums.com/threads/arc...#post-22903068



Some forumers are reporting about their first hand experience with the Arcam units
Flavio

Warning: My posts might be biased even if in good faith, I work for Dirac Research :-)
flax is offline  
post #53 of 3249 Old 11-25-2015, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,892
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1193 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Any word from users on whether Dolby Volume and Atmos work at the same time?

Also,

Quote:
Originally Posted by flax View Post
This is an image that I have admittedly "stolen" from this post:
https://www.avforums.com/threads/arc...#post-22903068
Flavio
What's this "Interestingly the height channels have all the pre-calibration measurements, and feature a target, but as soon as you run the optimization (and talks to the Dirac server), the target, and post predictions disappear from the height section."?

(From your above link)

--
"In many cases there aren’t two sides unless one side is 'reality' and the other is 'nonsense.'" - Phil Plait
Serious Audio Blog 
DS-21 is offline  
post #54 of 3249 Old 11-25-2015, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Dirac does work , when Loudspeaker connect PreAmp out ?
So you need Laptop for the Arcam Dirac, or TV Display ?
Filou6901 is offline  
post #55 of 3249 Old 11-26-2015, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
flax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 266
@ DS-21
my understanding is that the height channels (in case of a 7.1.4 configuration) are "italic" and "greyed out" because they are corrected for gain and delay but not for FR and IR (not unreasonable for an helicopter in the sky, rain, etc..)

@ Filou6901
yes, a full fledged computer is necessary for the initial measurements and calibration

Warning: My posts might be biased even if in good faith, I work for Dirac Research :-)

Last edited by flax; 11-26-2015 at 08:32 AM.
flax is offline  
post #56 of 3249 Old 11-26-2015, 09:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,892
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1193 Post(s)
Liked: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by flax View Post
@ DS-21
my understanding is that the height channels (in case of a 7.1.4 configuration) are "italic" and "greyed out" because they are corrected for gain and delay but not for FR and IR (not unreasonable for an helicopter in the sky, rain, etc..)
I think that is extremely unreasonable, actually. Unreasonable enough to disqualify these boxes for me as serious alternative at their price points. Maybe at $1500, or about the cost of a generic AVR with preouts and a miniDSP Dirac box, that would be a reasonable compromise. But at bleeding edge (for an AVR) pricing, no way.

I could care less about helicopters and rain. I'm interested in reproducing the acoustics of music performance venues.

Is the real issue that there's not enough DSP horsepower in the current chips to do things properly? If so, then the choice to raise sampling rate to 96kHz instead of implementing EQ properly was a mistake, because that wastes resources for a dumb marketing point at the cost of a useful feature.

I thought I was going to buy a new AVR or pre-pro in 2016. But given the crippling limits that are emerging in better models (no loudness compensation when going beyond 7.1 channels, incomplete room correction) I've yet to see a product compelling enough to replace out my base model ca. 2011 Anthem.

--
"In many cases there aren’t two sides unless one side is 'reality' and the other is 'nonsense.'" - Phil Plait
Serious Audio Blog 
DS-21 is offline  
post #57 of 3249 Old 11-26-2015, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
flax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS-21 View Post
...the choice to raise sampling rate to 96kHz instead of implementing EQ properly was a mistake, because that wastes resources
That's a good point so I've investigated and from what I've heard the 96 KHz support is for Stereo while multichannel is at 48 KHz because of DSP limits.

Flavio

Warning: My posts might be biased even if in good faith, I work for Dirac Research :-)
flax is offline  
post #58 of 3249 Old 11-26-2015, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by nadyn View Post
Almost all the AVRs out there if not all, will down-mix to 48kHz before any processing.
Only few pre/pro are able to process at 96kHz.

So having Dirac processing at 96kHz for 11 channels in an AVR that's pretty cool I'd say.
Cheers
So what pre/pro are at 96K?

It seams it has been stated the Arcam/AC is 96K in stereo but 48K in multi channel

Mike Miles
[email protected]
mmiles is offline  
post #59 of 3249 Old 11-26-2015, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bkeeler10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Woods Cross, Utah
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 453 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS-21 View Post

I think that is extremely unreasonable, actually. Unreasonable enough to disqualify these boxes for me as serious alternative at their price points. Maybe at $1500, or about the cost of a generic AVR with preouts and a miniDSP Dirac box, that would be a reasonable compromise. But at bleeding edge (for an AVR) pricing, no way.
I agree that the notion that the height channels are of lesser importance when it comes to EQ is false. Do we know if it's just the 550 that does this, or does the 850 also omit Dirac EQ for the heights?
bkeeler10 is offline  
post #60 of 3249 Old 11-26-2015, 08:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 7
[QUOTE=mmiles;39254170]So what pre/pro are at 96K?

Anthem D2v.

But in reality there are not many BD disks on the market that are mixed at 24bit/96K for surround.

Last edited by nadyn; 11-26-2015 at 08:57 PM.
nadyn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Arcam , avr 550 , AVR-850 , b&w 600 series , bi-amo , bi-wiring

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off