Onkyo TX-RZ1100 and TX-RZ3100 - Page 70 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2539Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2071 of 2611 Old 12-21-2017, 11:12 PM
Member
 
supersecretjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
TZ-RZ920 Porn...

Onkyo's TX-RZ920 with her top off!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20171221_174330.jpg
Views:	379
Size:	1.11 MB
ID:	2333856   Click image for larger version

Name:	20171221_174405.jpg
Views:	304
Size:	1.02 MB
ID:	2333858   Click image for larger version

Name:	20171221_180511.jpg
Views:	323
Size:	3.42 MB
ID:	2333860   Click image for larger version

Name:	20171221_174413.jpg
Views:	278
Size:	886.3 KB
ID:	2333862   Click image for larger version

Name:	20171221_174436.jpg
Views:	282
Size:	751.4 KB
ID:	2333864  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20171221_174352.jpg
Views:	268
Size:	1.03 MB
ID:	2333866  
supersecretjim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2072 of 2611 Old 12-22-2017, 03:04 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,900
Mentioned: 831 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24228 Post(s)
Liked: 13461
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene4ht View Post
I was considering this a well...just sent the request to the Mods.
Two different year models ....
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2073 of 2611 Old 12-22-2017, 05:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Molon_Labe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,414
Mentioned: 113 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3635 Post(s)
Liked: 4439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theheadsn View Post
Simple question, Complicated answer:

I own a RZ1100 and am running a 7.2.1 set up, with RTiA9's and a CSIa6 for my front stage. I know running all of the channels through my Onkyo wont produce as much power to push the speakers.

Should I, and/or would it be worth it, for me to invest in an external amp? I'm not in the market for anything crazy huge, was either going to go with an Emotiva XPA Gen 3 or Monoprice Monolith. Both would be pushing well over 200w to the fronts, way more than the Onkyo. But would it be a noticeable difference? Sadly I dont know anyone locally who has an amped set up and sadly Ive never been able to experience an external amp in person to see what it would be like before and after.

Any advice?
If you want the on/off dynamics required of theater sound tracks, I would recommend you consider moving to high-sensitivity compression driver speakers instead of chasing amp power. Going to JBL Pro Cinema speakers was the biggest improvement to my theater - ever. You really can't describe the difference because on paper, it doesn't seem like it would make a difference but it certainly does. Pro cinema speakers go from idle to full bore with no compression or distortion. Crystal clear, accurate reproduction from whisper volumes to you cannot stand to be in the room volumes. My front L/C/R are 104db sensitive. Take a look at JBL (not home series), JTR, PSA, Klipsch (cinema not RF series), etc.
dwaleke likes this.
Molon_Labe is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2074 of 2611 Old 12-22-2017, 06:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
T-Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,320
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene4ht View Post
I was considering this a well...just sent the request to the Mods.
Two different year models ....
I can create and rz920 thread when I get home in a little bit. I am an owner. And I'll go ahead and include a press release and then that can be the 920 thread.

You make a good point that they are two different model years.

-T
T-Bone is offline  
post #2075 of 2611 Old 12-22-2017, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,219
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2099 Post(s)
Liked: 2946
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Two different year models ....
Ahh...yes...overlooked that fact...thanks! Perhaps one of the new owners could start a 920 thread.

Edit: I just saw that T-Bone is taking ownership (no pun intended).
T-Bone likes this.

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is offline  
post #2076 of 2611 Old 12-22-2017, 07:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
T-Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,320
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene4ht View Post
Ahh...yes...overlooked that fact...thanks! Perhaps one of the new owners could start a 920 thread.

Edit: I just saw that T-Bone is taking ownership (no pun intended).
Done! Link to RZ920 thread

-T
gene4ht likes this.
T-Bone is offline  
post #2077 of 2611 Old 12-22-2017, 08:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
coolgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1781 Post(s)
Liked: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene4ht View Post
It appears that even within the Onkyo organization, there is conflicting information. Regardless, I'm still interested in your assessment of the 920. If indeed the 920 is Class D amplification, two things should be readily apparent. The first is that the mid bass will be a bit soft rather than "hard hitting" and "punchy" (not to be confused with powerful and loud)...a characteristic that was present in my 809 and missing from all the AVRs I auditioned this past year...including the 1100 and 6300. The second will be that the Class D will run significantly cooler...probably just barely warm...whereas our 808 and 809 with A/B amps ran on the hot side.
Are you sure about this assessment? Because Class D amps are what's used in ALL commercial subwoofers and speakers.. and they are plenty punchy...

I am not certain that A/B amps beats class D in terms of punchyness... Class D actually can deliver a heck of a lot more power... I have a Class D amp with 10,000 watts (2500 watts into 4 channels, or 5000 watts into 2 channels)... these guys can outpunch almost anything...
gene4ht likes this.
coolgeek is offline  
post #2078 of 2611 Old 12-22-2017, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,219
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2099 Post(s)
Liked: 2946
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgeek View Post
Are you sure about this assessment? Because Class D amps are what's used in ALL commercial subwoofers and speakers.. and they are plenty punchy...

I am not certain that A/B amps beats class D in terms of punchyness... Class D actually can deliver a heck of a lot more power... I have a Class D amp with 10,000 watts (2500 watts into 4 channels, or 5000 watts into 2 channels)... these guys can outpunch almost anything...
You're probably correct...I may have misspoken. Relative to "punch," my reference should not have been to the class of amplifier but to power supply design...i.e. toroidal transformer and large capacitors.
coolgeek likes this.

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is offline  
post #2079 of 2611 Old 12-22-2017, 08:50 AM
Member
 
supersecretjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene4ht View Post
You're probably correct...I may have misspoken. Relative to "punch," my reference should not have been to the class of amplifier but to power supply design...i.e. toroidal transformer and large capacitors.
I uploaded photos of the inside of my RZ920 last night. No toroidial transformer, and not what I would consider "large" caps. Being 7 lbs lighter (per product spec sheet) than the RZ1100, and both having 9 amp channels, I would think that bulk somehow came out of the power section.
gene4ht likes this.
supersecretjim is offline  
post #2080 of 2611 Old 12-22-2017, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,219
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2099 Post(s)
Liked: 2946
Quote:
Originally Posted by supersecretjim View Post
I uploaded photos of the inside of my RZ920 last night. No toroidial transformer, and not what I would consider "large" caps. Being 7 lbs lighter (per product spec sheet) than the RZ1100, and both having 9 amp channels, I would think that bulk somehow came out of the power section.
All things considered, IMO, a very capable AVR...positioned and priced well within the product family.

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is offline  
post #2081 of 2611 Old 12-22-2017, 09:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bslep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Royalton, Ohio
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by supersecretjim View Post
Onkyo's TX-RZ920 with her top off!!!
That's pretty cool, but I really don't know what to make of it.
gene4ht likes this.
bslep is offline  
post #2082 of 2611 Old 12-22-2017, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,219
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2099 Post(s)
Liked: 2946
Quote:
Originally Posted by bslep View Post
that's pretty cool, but i really don't know what to make of it.
Hmmm

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is offline  
post #2083 of 2611 Old 12-22-2017, 09:44 AM
Member
 
supersecretjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bslep View Post
That's pretty cool, but I really don't know what to make of it.
There was a question as to whether Class A/B or class D. A look inside and theres really no question.
supersecretjim is offline  
post #2084 of 2611 Old 12-22-2017, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bslep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Royalton, Ohio
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by supersecretjim View Post
There was a question as to whether Class A/B or class D. A look inside and theres really no question.
Got it. Thanks.
bslep is offline  
post #2085 of 2611 Old 12-22-2017, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,219
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2099 Post(s)
Liked: 2946
Quote:
Originally Posted by supersecretjim View Post
There was a question as to whether Class A/B or class D. A look inside and theres really no question.
I could be mistaken but I don't think that's quite what he meant.

Ooops...I guess it's just me!

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is offline  
post #2086 of 2611 Old 12-23-2017, 01:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Theheadsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I'm not worried to much about the "loud" factor, I'm more concerned that I'm getting the clarity and performance out of my speakers to the best of their abilities. I know the A9's are power hungry as hell, and I've always heard that they don't really open up until you put some real power to them. I dont need to listen to my movies at 100 dB's but I'm curious if the quality level will change from my receiver with fluctuating power output to an external amp pushing a consistent power output

Thanks again for the responses


Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Bone View Post
1100 has 140 watts into 8 ohm load. A 200 watt amp into the same 8 ohm load will allow you to listen to sounds 2 DB higher than the Onkyo amp. Approximately.

That difference is miniscule. And not worthy of getting a dedicated amp.

-T

Edit.
A quick follow-up since you said you'll be pushing 200 Watts.

Your mains have a sensitivity of 90 db. So when fed 1 watt, measured from 1 meter away from the speaker, will measure 90 db.

Each time you double the distance of measurement, you lose 6 decibels. It's actually less when you're in a room. But let's go with 6 decibels. Assuming you're listening position is 12 feet away from the speakers like my room, you would have doubled the distance twice. That's a 12 decibel drop from 90. Or... 78 decibels at the LP.

Every time you double the wattage at the speaker, you get a 3 db increase at the measurement point.

128 watts gives you 99 DB at the LP. 256 Watts get you 102 DB.

That's pretty loud. You sure you need 200 Watts?

-T
Theheadsn is offline  
post #2087 of 2611 Old 12-25-2017, 01:54 AM
Member
 
IQ22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Hello AVSForum Friends...

I admit...I haven't done exhaustive research into my problem, but it's almost 2am on Christmas morning and I need to go to bed! A quick summary...

Have a dedicated home theater that I was running a Denon receiver with a 7.2 set up. My "old" Onkyo in the family room stopped outputting audio the other day and I was surprised to see the replacement program. I swapped out my old Onkyo for the RZ1100. This of course led to me buying 4 overhead speakers and a 510 amp to run a full 7.2.4 set up. I just spent the last 4 hours getting everything set up.

Onkyo fired up and went through calibration. I recognized the full 7.2.4 set up. Good to go. Audio and picture working. I also purchased an LG UP970 4K BluRay player to achieve Atmos nirvana.

After calibration I grabbed Cars 3 4K BluRay and fired it up. It's only passing Dolby Digital to the receiver. The front of the receiver has the Dolby logo with "Surr" and if I hit "Info"it says
Input: Dolby D 5.1ch
Output: Dolby Surround 7.2.4ch

Player and Receiver connected using an AmazonBasics HDMI cable that says "Meets the latest HDMI standards (4K Video at 60 Hz, 2160p, 48 bit/px color depth) that supports bandwidth up to 18Gbps and backwards compatible with earlier versions."

What am I missing to get Atmos passed through? I'll cross-post this in the UP970 thread too.

Thanks all!
IQ22 is offline  
post #2088 of 2611 Old 12-25-2017, 03:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,900
Mentioned: 831 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24228 Post(s)
Liked: 13461
Quote:
Originally Posted by IQ22 View Post
Hello AVSForum Friends...

I admit...I haven't done exhaustive research into my problem, but it's almost 2am on Christmas morning and I need to go to bed! A quick summary...

Have a dedicated home theater that I was running a Denon receiver with a 7.2 set up. My "old" Onkyo in the family room stopped outputting audio the other day and I was surprised to see the replacement program. I swapped out my old Onkyo for the RZ1100. This of course led to me buying 4 overhead speakers and a 510 amp to run a full 7.2.4 set up. I just spent the last 4 hours getting everything set up.

Onkyo fired up and went through calibration. I recognized the full 7.2.4 set up. Good to go. Audio and picture working. I also purchased an LG UP970 4K BluRay player to achieve Atmos nirvana.

After calibration I grabbed Cars 3 4K BluRay and fired it up. It's only passing Dolby Digital to the receiver. The front of the receiver has the Dolby logo with "Surr" and if I hit "Info"it says
Input: Dolby D 5.1ch
Output: Dolby Surround 7.2.4ch

Player and Receiver connected using an AmazonBasics HDMI cable that says "Meets the latest HDMI standards (4K Video at 60 Hz, 2160p, 48 bit/px color depth) that supports bandwidth up to 18Gbps and backwards compatible with earlier versions."

What am I missing to get Atmos passed through? I'll cross-post this in the UP970 thread too.

Thanks all!
Perhaps you grabbed the regular BD instead of the 4k BD?
Theheadsn likes this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2089 of 2611 Old 12-26-2017, 10:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
zimmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: montreal quebec
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 115
you have 2 possibility ajustment .first you have separate de video and the sound or all pass for 1100 that very important ,you need tell the bluray player is video and sound in samething hdmi or you take hdmi one for video and one for sound and for atmos you need put your player to bistream .

marantz av 8805, 13 chanels, emotiva 2 xpa 5 gen1,1 emotiva xpa3 gen3, 7.4.6,4 speakers monitor 11 ,2 paradigm studio 100 v2,4 ceillings speakers ss82w sweet spot earthquake ,2 earthquake ecs-8.0,1 center Paradigm cc390,4 subs klipsch r-sw112 sw.antimod 8033 perfect bass kit paradigm, Buttkicker amplificateur lfe 1000 watts, , tv oled 65e6p,, room 12x25x7,bluray player oppo bdp 203,4coolers ac infinity s9 fan.
zimmo is offline  
post #2090 of 2611 Old 12-28-2017, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Moderator
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 25,953
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1806 Post(s)
Liked: 2707
Numerous posts on street pricing and where to buy deleted.

Please review the owner's rules on this topic in the sticky linked:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...ls-sticky.html

FS: Tannoy AMS DC8 Speakers: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/209-a...-speakers.html

FS: RUIPRO 8K Fiber DisplayPort Cable 33 feet : https://www.avsforum.com/forum/211-a...d-support.html
rboster is offline  
post #2091 of 2611 Old 01-02-2018, 12:08 PM
Member
 
leithm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Onkyo & ARC woes

In the last couple of months I've been having intermittment issues with ARC on an RZ1100. I believe the trouble co-incided with a firmware update although I'm not entirely sure.

Basically I have netflix on a Sony Z9D or other OTT application and no sound is outputed to the AVR despite ARC & CEC working. ie; adjusting the TV remote sound level will adjust on the AVR. TV says the 'audio system is active' etc

The only thing that brings it back to life is factory resetting the Onkyo but It's only a matter of time before it stops working again. Running through the Onkyo initial setup does not resolve the issue either.

I have emailed onkyo international for support. Any ideas ?


cheers
leithm is offline  
post #2092 of 2611 Old 01-02-2018, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 5,420
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2466 Post(s)
Liked: 2723
Troubleshooting ARC is mostly a losing proposition. Best to just run an optical cable from the TV to the receiver or add a streaming device directly to it for HDMI w/o ARC then invest in a Harmony remote or better yet one with a Hub like the Home Companion for the all device control portion.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #2093 of 2611 Old 01-02-2018, 03:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
qirex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 210
I have an Integra and I had to set the ARC audio output on my TV [Sony X900E] to PCM and then it worked fine.
qirex is offline  
post #2094 of 2611 Old 01-03-2018, 10:10 AM
Member
 
nyjklein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North Bergen, NJ
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
ARC was working fine with my RZ1100 and my LG OLED until very recently. A couple of times in the past couple of weeks it fails to switch to the TV source. But for me it's easily restored by just going into the reciever settings and toggling ARC off and right back on.

This also may be related to the latest receiver firmware update for DV pass-through released a few weeks ago.

Jeff
nyjklein is offline  
post #2095 of 2611 Old 01-03-2018, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene4ht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 4,219
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2099 Post(s)
Liked: 2946
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyjklein View Post
ARC was working fine with my RZ1100 and my LG OLED until very recently. A couple of times in the past couple of weeks it fails to switch to the TV source. But for me it's easily restored by just going into the reciever settings and toggling ARC off and right back on.

This also may be related to the latest receiver firmware update for DV pass-through released a few weeks ago.

Jeff
Have you considered reporting this or made it known in the Onkyo Support Forum for possible response from other users and/or Onkyo?

Epson: 5040UB | Elite: 115" Fixed Frame CinemaScope (2.35:1) | Onkyo: TX-RZ920 + M-5010 (7.2.4) | Klipsch: RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II, RB-61 II MICCA: M-8C (Atmos) x 6 | SVS: PB16-Ultra x 2 | Philips: BDP7501, Panasonic: DMP UB900, Oppo: UDP-203
gene4ht is offline  
post #2096 of 2611 Old 01-03-2018, 03:55 PM
Member
 
gmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Hi all,

I've been looking to replace my avr4300 with a SC-LX801 for its amplifier, eq control and multiple preset options and am considering the RZ1100 as well. I've reviewed the online manual(very limited) as well as a good part of this thread and found a mention of a 15-band eq and 3 preset options but no detail beyond that. My questions to any that can help.
Is there a full 15-band per-channel/user adjustable eq and is it part of the accueq calibration or can it be stacked?
Can you configure multiple eq preset options that can be toggled via remote?

I'm very familiar with Pioneer (own a SC-91 and replaced a SC-89 w the Denon) and have had a little experience setting up my brothers RZ900 with the older accuEQ which if I recall allows you to stack a 10-12band eq but is limited to a choice of 5-bands only.

Any info here greatly appreciated
gmore is offline  
post #2097 of 2611 Old 01-04-2018, 09:45 AM
Member
 
leithm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 33
So I updated to the Dolby Vision firmware via USB and ARC has returned. Huzzah!

Can anyone comment if the RZ1100 will be receiving eARC via firmware update?
leithm is offline  
post #2098 of 2611 Old 01-04-2018, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 86,900
Mentioned: 831 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24228 Post(s)
Liked: 13461
Quote:
Originally Posted by leithm View Post
So I updated to the Dolby Vision firmware via USB and ARC has returned. Huzzah!

Can anyone comment if the RZ1100 will be receiving eARC via firmware update?
As it is a 2016 model, very unlikely.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2099 of 2611 Old 01-04-2018, 11:30 AM
Member
 
nyjklein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North Bergen, NJ
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene4ht View Post
Have you considered reporting this or made it known in the Onkyo Support Forum for possible response from other users and/or Onkyo?
I haven't reported the issue yet because when I said "a couple of times" I literally meant twice. The first time I initially considered a fluke. The second time was a full week later and I still hadn't really associated it as possibly being related to the firmware update. Until I had seen the other post. Now I see the other poster says his issue was resolved by re-installing the update.

So until this becomes clearer, I'll hold off reporting.

Jeff
gene4ht likes this.
nyjklein is offline  
post #2100 of 2611 Old 01-12-2018, 08:07 AM
Member
 
gmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmore View Post
Hi all,

I've been looking to replace my avr4300 with a SC-LX801 for its amplifier, eq control and multiple preset options and am considering the RZ1100 as well. I've reviewed the online manual(very limited) as well as a good part of this thread and found a mention of a 15-band eq and 3 preset options but no detail beyond that. My questions to any that can help.
Is there a full 15-band per-channel/user adjustable eq and is it part of the accueq calibration or can it be stacked?
Can you configure multiple eq preset options that can be toggled via remote?

I'm very familiar with Pioneer (own a SC-91 and replaced a SC-89 w the Denon) and have had a little experience setting up my brothers RZ900 with the older accuEQ which if I recall allows you to stack a 10-12band eq but is limited to a choice of 5-bands only.

Any info here greatly appreciated
bump on this info please

basically need to know if 1100/3100 have an adjustable eq(on top of accueq), # of controllable bands and if there are eq presets.

thx
gmore is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
TX-RZ1000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off