Dts:x - Page 32 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2262Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #931 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 11:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 505 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Sorry if this is off topic, but how do you do auto room eq with the AVR's mic if the avr is in another room and is not long enough to reach the listen areas to EQ?
hatlesschimp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #932 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 11:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
virtualrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 973
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatlesschimp View Post
Sorry if this is off topic, but how do you do auto room eq with the AVR's mic if the avr is in another room and is not long enough to reach the listen areas to EQ?

Extension cable?

SONY 75X850C | YAMAHA RX-A2050 | 5 DAYTON AUDIO APA150 | KLIPSCH RP 5.2.4
virtualrain is offline  
post #933 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,838
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1763 Post(s)
Liked: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatlesschimp View Post
Sorry if this is off topic, but how do you do auto room eq with the AVR's mic if the avr is in another room and is not long enough to reach the listen areas to EQ?
Buy an extension cable? Most of these mics are standard 1/8" connections.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #934 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 11:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 723 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by aKa DaShiznit View Post
No I am not moving the speakers but it has been stated already that you need to rerun audyssey for the HF and HR layout or the levels will be defaulted back to zero or not match the audyssey you ran for the TF and TR layout. People that said switching to HF and HR to work with DTS X said it sounded wrong with Atmos but after rerunning audyssey it was fine. It was also stated that some tried to just disable audyssey but that in fact does not change or reset the distances and levels it had made for that layout already. So what I gathered from that is in order to make a fair comparison between each layout regardless or actual speaker location is to run audyssey on each layout then you can switch between the two to do a fair comparison.

Now this may only apply to the 7200 and whatever model marantz that's updated to DTS X because I like a few others with a 6200 are not experiencing any problem with the DTS X test tones and any mono or bleeding overhead. Wides vs rears is a different story all together and one I personally am not affected by cause I use sides and rears not wides.
If you're OK with comparing the two without Audyssey, you can simply copy your distance, level, and crossover from your initial Audyssey run to other assignments and turn Audyssey off and switch back and forth
dkfan9 is offline  
post #935 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
datman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by aKa DaShiznit View Post
No I am not moving the speakers but it has been stated already that you need to rerun audyssey for the HF and HR layout or the levels will be defaulted back to zero or not match the audyssey you ran for the TF and TR layout. People that said switching to HF and HR to work with DTS X said it sounded wrong with Atmos but after rerunning audyssey it was fine. It was also stated that some tried to just disable audyssey but that in fact does not change or reset the distances and levels it had made for that layout already. So what I gathered from that is in order to make a fair comparison between each layout regardless or actual speaker location is to run audyssey on each layout then you can switch between the two to do a fair comparison.

Now this may only apply to the 7200 and whatever model marantz that's updated to DTS X because I like a few others with a 6200 are not experiencing any problem with the DTS X test tones and any mono or bleeding overhead. Wides vs rears is a different story all together and one I personally am not affected by cause I use sides and rears not wides.
I see thanks for the clearifaction. With my 7702 mkii I reassigned the speakers away and back to TM and the levels and distance stayed the same.
datman is offline  
post #936 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
murphy2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,445
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frohlich View Post
I will say the I watched Oblivion last night and:



1)with DTS:X Neural upmixed is sounded reallllyyy nice. Almost as if it was mixed in DTS:X. There was a ton of info going into the height channels and it sounded very natural...sounds were coming from the right locations. It really added to the audio presentation.



2)I forgot how stunning the picture quality was on that disc. I hadn't watched it in over a year and that's as close to 4K as I have seen on a 1080P picture.

Oblivion is one of my favorite test movies. It's beautiful, realistic looking, and the sounds of those bots - with that low bass - is awesome.
yanks1 likes this.
murphy2112 is offline  
post #937 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 11:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
aKa DaShiznit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Old Bridge, NJ
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by datman View Post
I see thanks for the clearifaction. With my 7702 mkii I reassigned the speakers away and back to TM and the levels and distance stayed the same.
Yeah I don't know this for sure only what I have read. As you can see in posts just above they also recommend just a copy and paste job so the layouts match as well which would also tell me they don't stay the same for the Denon units anyway. I want to do it out of curiosity which I know is silly being I am not having any issues at all as of now with my current layout of TF and TR.

I do however think I need to call SVS as one of my subs is making an unpleasant sound while watching Pan. I never noticed it before so not sure if it's just the movie or if something went wrong but the other sub does not make the same sound. This is also at normal volume at 34 I believe. I'm gonna test it with some other tracks tonight before calling them. Anyway back on topic I am very happy with the update so far and everything sounds awesome so I may just leave as is and stop looking for something to be wrong.

Sony XBR-65X930E (w/luminoodle)/Sony UBP-X700/Apple TV 4K/PS4 Pro/Xbox One X
Denon AVR-X6200W(Surround/Height)/Emotiva XPA-3(L/C/R)/AC Infinity Aircom T8 x2
DefTech SM 65 x3(L/C/R)/DefTech PM 1000 x4(Surround)/DefTech DI5.5R x4(Atmos/DTS X)
SVS PC-2000 x2(Subs)/Panamax M4300-PM(Main) & MD2(Subs)/Logitech Harmony Elite
aKa DaShiznit is online now  
post #938 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 01:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 82,983
Mentioned: 701 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22005 Post(s)
Liked: 11929
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatlesschimp View Post
Sorry if this is off topic, but how do you do auto room eq with the AVR's mic if the avr is in another room and is not long enough to reach the listen areas to EQ?
You can extend the 25' Audyssey mic cable another 25' to a maximum of 50' without incurring any signal degradation using the following cable .....

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...igLink-2470763
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #939 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 02:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 131
So I tried playing my first non dtsx movie and I can't get the up mixer to come on... this is a DTS 5.1 movie How to Train Your Dragon.

I tried both bitstream and PCM amd all I got was audyssey dsx and Dolby Surround...aka DSU.

but no dsx upmix....any ideas?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
toofast68 is offline  
post #940 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 4,079
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1874 Post(s)
Liked: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast68 View Post
So I tried playing my first non dtsx movie and I can't get the up mixer to come on... this is a DTS 5.1 movie How to Train Your Dragon.

I tried both bitstream and PCM amd all I got was audyssey dsx and Dolby Surround...aka DSU.

but no dsx upmix....any ideas?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
That is bit strange. Because Neural:X should work with DTS w/o a hitch in bitstream.
You will need to go PCM route only if you want to use DSU.
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #941 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 03:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 131
^^ alright I'll give it a try again

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
toofast68 is offline  
post #942 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 03:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,672
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2286 Post(s)
Liked: 2795
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast68 View Post
So I tried playing my first non dtsx movie and I can't get the up mixer to come on... this is a DTS 5.1 movie How to Train Your Dragon.

I tried both bitstream and PCM amd all I got was audyssey dsx and Dolby Surround...aka DSU.

but no dsx upmix....any ideas?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
If it says DSU then its a Dolby encoded movie, if anything check the disc menu itself to access the DTS 5.1 track assuming it has one of course.
toofast68 likes this.
audiofan1 is offline  
post #943 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
aKa DaShiznit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Old Bridge, NJ
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Mine sometimes just says neural X during trailers but when the movie comes on it changes to dts hd + neural X. I never see dsu just Dolby + Dolby surround. Audyssey dsx is Grayed out on mine but I never looked into why.

Sony XBR-65X930E (w/luminoodle)/Sony UBP-X700/Apple TV 4K/PS4 Pro/Xbox One X
Denon AVR-X6200W(Surround/Height)/Emotiva XPA-3(L/C/R)/AC Infinity Aircom T8 x2
DefTech SM 65 x3(L/C/R)/DefTech PM 1000 x4(Surround)/DefTech DI5.5R x4(Atmos/DTS X)
SVS PC-2000 x2(Subs)/Panamax M4300-PM(Main) & MD2(Subs)/Logitech Harmony Elite
aKa DaShiznit is online now  
post #944 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 04:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post
If you turn on Neural:X extraction in the DTS:X decoder while playing a DTS:X disc, the sides will no longer be copied to the wides. When you replay the speaker ID track, the wides will be silent (because there is no wides speaker check).
with the witch hunter tones...neural extraction on or off makes no difference.... the surrounds come from my wides and regular surrounds no matter what...

Could this be a bug or a test tone issue who knows

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Last edited by toofast68; 02-21-2016 at 05:03 PM.
toofast68 is offline  
post #945 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 05:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
If it says DSU then its a Dolby encoded movie, if anything check the disc menu itself to access the DTS 5.1 track assuming it has one of course.
I don't understand why all my DTS discs play in dolby should I be running uncompress to get DTS for example Species does both Dolby and DTS.. yet all I get is Dolby

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
toofast68 is offline  
post #946 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 06:43 PM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3561
Arrow Audyssey extension microphone cable.

This one is better; it is shielded: http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...igLink-2470763

For a mic cable extension, shielded is always recommended. And it don't matter if it's a stereo or mono cable.
And gold plated connectors are nice, and don't go over 25 feet for that Audyssey extension cable...less is better.
NorthSky is offline  
post #947 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 06:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Frohlich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,355
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1972 Post(s)
Liked: 2151
Last night it was Oblivion, tonight it was Looper. Another stellar job by DTS:X Neural on up-mixing the track (this one was 5.1...last night was 7.1). Makes great use of the 4 height speakers (and two rear surrounds). If I didn't know better I would say it was a legit DTS:X track. Big fan of Neural and what it does. DSU is great but I like DTS:X Neural more.
Frohlich is online now  
post #948 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 07:04 PM
Member
 
MikeK78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 62
What is supposed to be displayed on the the DENON 6200 when watching Ex-Machina? I had DTS-HD + NeuralX displayed. Could not get just DTS:X to show.

Just wondering what others are seeing as on a Dolby disc I get ATMOS to display or DD + DSU if not an Atmos.

Mike
MikeK78 is offline  
post #949 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 07:04 PM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3561
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast68 View Post
I don't understand why all my DTS discs play in dolby should I be running uncompress to get DTS for example Species does both Dolby and DTS.. yet all I get is Dolby
If all your dts discs play in dolby...then something is very wrong.

If 'Species' is encoded in both dts and dolby, select dts in the BR disc audio menu (or from the dvd) to up-mix with Neural:X
NorthSky is offline  
post #950 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 07:09 PM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3561
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeK78 View Post
What is supposed to be displayed on the the DENON 6200 when watching Ex-Machina? I had DTS-HD + NeuralX displayed. Could not get just DTS:X to show.

Just wondering what others are seeing as on a Dolby disc I get ATMOS to display or DD + DSU if not an Atmos.

Mike
Your ex_machina Blu-ray, is it the US version, or another version? ...Because I believe the US version only is in DTS:X
NorthSky is offline  
post #951 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 07:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
If all your dts discs play in dolby...then something is very wrong.

If 'Species' is encoded in both dts and dolby, select dts in the BR disc audio menu (or from the dvd) to up-mix with Neural:X
Yeah I gotta believe it's something I have going on I'm done playing tonight I'll work on it later this week

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
toofast68 is offline  
post #952 of 3952 Old 02-21-2016, 07:35 PM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3561
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast68 View Post
Yeah I gotta believe it's something I have going on I'm done playing tonight I'll work on it later this week
...And no dts with this babe: http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Specie...ray/75/#Review

And on DVD: http://www.dvdverdict.com/reviews/species.php
NorthSky is offline  
post #953 of 3952 Old 02-22-2016, 12:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 3,250
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1604 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
The point is that DTS:X / Neural:X now supports the Dolby enabled up-firing speakers natively. Clear?
Great news for up-fire speaker users, like me, i use for front the Klipsch RP280FA and for back i use RP140SA, but as direct fire near the ceiling facing down.
I must say, when i switch between my fronts as Dolby Enabled or Front Height (no Audyssey) i do not hear any differents with Atmos content.
So my idea was to set the fronts as Front Height so i can use them with Atmos and DTS.
Now with this (clever !) DTS option to set the Enabled also as Enabled, all will be used as intended, and thats good, if i hear it or not......
CBdicX is offline  
post #954 of 3952 Old 02-22-2016, 12:13 AM
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Star of the Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 16,643
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7012 Post(s)
Liked: 3561
↑ I like your new avatar @CBdicX ...Big red pair of lips between a big pair of ears.
CBdicX likes this.
NorthSky is offline  
post #955 of 3952 Old 02-22-2016, 01:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 3,250
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1604 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
↑ I like your new avatar @CBdicX ...Big red pair of lips between a big pair of ears.
Thanks ;-)
If i would change my avatar just as fast as my speaker setup, you would see a new one every few weeks......
CBdicX is offline  
post #956 of 3952 Old 02-22-2016, 02:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 3,250
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1604 Post(s)
Liked: 381
How will it work with mediaplayers ?

I want to buy a new player, must it have specific Atmos and DTS:X support to get Atmos and DTSX (when availible as download file), or is it also ok just to have just DTS and Dolby Digital Plus support ?
So now and then Atmos is availble for download, so its coming, but slooooooooow ;-)


Up until now not seen any players with Atmos and DTS:X support.
CBdicX is offline  
post #957 of 3952 Old 02-22-2016, 03:07 AM
Senior Member
 
sprins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: mainland Europe
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBdicX View Post
How will it work with mediaplayers ?

[...]

Up until now not seen any players with Atmos and DTS:X support.
My old and trusted WDTV Live plays Atmos without a problem. And it's from before Atmos even existed. So I'm guessing that when the entire Dolby TrueHD stream is embedded in the MKV it also carries all the Atmos information. Bitstreaming the audio makes my AVR wake up and decode Atmos.

I'm guessing the same goes for DTSX but I'll gladly let someone confirm that.
sprins is offline  
post #958 of 3952 Old 02-22-2016, 03:54 AM
Senior Member
 
datman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast68 View Post
Yeah I gotta believe it's something I have going on I'm done playing tonight I'll work on it later this week

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
I would check the audio setup of the player. I think I once had a player could be made to convert the spdif to DTS perhaps the reverse is true.
datman is offline  
post #959 of 3952 Old 02-22-2016, 04:18 AM
Member
 
MikeK78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
Your ex_machina Blu-ray, is it the US version, or another version? ...Because I believe the US version only is in DTS:X
Ah. I believe its not a US disc. I guess that explains it.

Mike
MikeK78 is offline  
post #960 of 3952 Old 02-22-2016, 07:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toofast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthEast Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by datman View Post
I would check the audio setup of the player. I think I once had a player could be made to convert the spdif to DTS perhaps the reverse is true.
So here is part of my problem....Thanks @NorthSky as well.

Looks like Marketing Crap - many of my disks SAY DTS, but once you dig deeper it appears they are not.

This is "Species" for example...and once again @NorthSky pointed out that according to the multiple honest sources, i.e. bluray.com , etc , this disk is Dolby only

toofast68 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off