problem with my receiver - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 04-10-2016, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RusticR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: louisiana
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 12
problem with my receiver

Fairly new Denon 6200. my setup is 7.2.4. I have watched a few movies so far over the last few weeks and today it went into protection mode. i checked my wires and nothing seems to be touching that would cause a short. i went into setup mode/speakers/levels and did a test tone and when it gets to my top rear left/right i can hear the test tone come out of one of my subs. i have an AudioSource Amp100vs for the top rears.

any thoughts?

Do What?
RusticR6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 04-10-2016, 12:11 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cotati, CA
Posts: 11,839
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1089 Post(s)
Liked: 699
Have U provided adequate free-air clearance of 3-4" for the L/R sides and top cover?
Also don't stack anything on top.

Just my $0.02...
M Code is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-10-2016, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RusticR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: louisiana
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 12
ok so did a factory reset and all seems well. only thing is when i do test tone i still dont get any sound from top rears. but i played darknight returns and there is some sound coming from them. What is Dolby Digital + OOS? i think thats what it displays on the front of my reciever. it shows all speakers playing. i didnt think darknight used heights?

The past few days there has been an update trying to run but i guess maybe it messed something up.

Do What?
RusticR6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 04-10-2016, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RusticR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: louisiana
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
Have U provided adequate free-air clearance of 3-4" for the L/R sides and top cover?
Also don't stack anything on top.

Just my $0.02...
yes, thanks for asking. i actually have it on top of my cabinet free to open air.

Do What?
RusticR6 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-10-2016, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cotati, CA
Posts: 11,839
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1089 Post(s)
Liked: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by RusticR6 View Post
yes, thanks for asking. i actually have it on top of my cabinet free to open air.
Excellent..
This crucial point is often overlooked...

Just my $0.02...
M Code is online now  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-10-2016, 03:31 PM
Member
 
goofytek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by RusticR6 View Post
What is Dolby Digital + OOS? i think thats what it displays on the front of my reciever. it shows all speakers playing. i didnt think darknight used heights?

The past few days there has been an update trying to run but i guess maybe it messed something up.
That's Dolby Digital + (Dolby Logo)S for Dolby Surround. Dolby Surround is upmixing the Dolby Digital signal to add sound for the height speakers.
goofytek is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-10-2016, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,904
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by goofytek View Post
That's Dolby Digital + (Dolby Logo)S for Dolby Surround. Dolby Surround is upmixing the Dolby Digital signal to add sound for the height speakers.
Not only the heights but the middle and rear atmos ceiling speakers as well.

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.
NODES is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-11-2016, 03:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 83,034
Mentioned: 702 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22031 Post(s)
Liked: 11948
Did you run Audyssey? Did the test tones go to the Top Rear speakers during the setup? If no signal going to the Top Rear speakers have you checked the AudioSource amp is powering on correctly? Are you using a 12v trigger or the AutoON feature on the AudioSource amp?

The update notification is for the DTS:X update.

For more helpful general information review posts 3-6 in the 2015 Denon AVR Owner's thread linked below ...

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...l#post34728921
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-11-2016, 03:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 585 Post(s)
Liked: 167
problem with my receiver

Quote:
Originally Posted by RusticR6 View Post
What is Dolby Digital + OOS?

Its DDS not OOS, DDS = Dolby Digital Surround is an upmixer which upmixes incoming signals such as PCM, stereo, dolby digital
nohcho is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-11-2016, 06:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RusticR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: louisiana
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 12
getting some slight popping.

Do What?
RusticR6 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 04-11-2016, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RusticR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: louisiana
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Did you run Audyssey? Did the test tones go to the Top Rear speakers during the setup? If no signal going to the Top Rear speakers have you checked the AudioSource amp is powering on correctly? Are you using a 12v trigger or the AutoON feature on the AudioSource amp?

The update notification is for the DTS:X update.

For more helpful general information review posts 3-6 in the 2015 Denon AVR Owner's thread linked below ...

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...l#post34728921
after running audyssey i am getting the popping. im not sure which speaker yet. i tried running the trigger on the amp but im not sure if it was working so i just manually turn it on. test tones didnt sound on my top rears at first when i installed the reciever, it eventually did sound after unplugging/plugging the pre out cables. watched a few movies then didnt use my room for 2 weeks then had the protection mode a couple times. then ran test tones and had the top rears coming out of one of my subs. the night before i had left my reciever on to try and do the update but it never ran it. reset to factory and top rears still had no test tone but wasnt coming out of my sub anymore. had sound on top rears during a movie tho.

so i think i will rest to factory and see if popping goes away.

i will look at the thread thank you.

Do What?
RusticR6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off