Onkyo TX-NR656 Owner's Thread - Page 29 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 719Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #841 of 1054 Old 10-18-2018, 03:10 AM
Member
 
provels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Noticed new firmware on the US D/L page today https://www.onkyousa.com/Downloads/firmware.php

(10-11-2018)
We are pleased to offer this firmware update for the best possible performance of your Onkyo AV Receiver.
This update may be installed via USB or Network. We recommend USB installation.
TX-NR555, TX-NR656, TX-NR757, TX-RZ610, TX-RZ710, TX-RZ810 & HT-R695 (Current Version 2139-8050-7090-0010)
The 10/11/2018 update will address the following and includes previous updates:
1. Enhanced security.
Depending on the Firmware version, update will be needed 2 times.
2. Minor bug fixes and improvements stability.

Happy Flashing!

__________________________________________
"How do I know what you hear?" - Firesign Theatre
provels is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 1054 Old 10-18-2018, 04:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1853 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Based on all the horror stories that you guys tell I will never update my receiver. Ever.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #843 of 1054 Old 10-18-2018, 06:38 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,930
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9295 Post(s)
Liked: 5980
I hadl an update last week and all is well. I guess it was the one just posted.

Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB) using Tapatalk

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #844 of 1054 Old 10-18-2018, 11:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Also plex won’t play more than 5.1 on Xbox


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I don't have the speakers to get to that dilemma.

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
noobtv likes this.
Ortizer is offline  
post #845 of 1054 Old 10-18-2018, 05:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 593 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Based on all the horror stories that you guys tell I will never update my receiver. Ever.
Definitely.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Do not buy an xbox one x For anything other than games... I have suffered so Much buyers remorse over that stupid thing over the last 2 years
What problems have you been having, other than the 5.1 limit?

Living Room: Kef Q900/Q600c/Q100, SVS SB2000, Denon AVR-X3500H.
PC Setup: Infinity R152, Sunfire XTEQ8, DIY 3e-Audio TPA3255 amp.
noobtv is offline  
post #846 of 1054 Old 10-18-2018, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1853 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by noobtv View Post
Definitely.



What problems have you been having, other than the 5.1 limit?


Wont stream 4k


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #847 of 1054 Old 10-18-2018, 05:33 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,930
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9295 Post(s)
Liked: 5980
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Wont stream 4k


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
From which app? I know it works for Netflix. SInce I used it for a while to watch Netflix UHD/HDR content with Atmos audio.
Which sounded good with the Onkyo receiver.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #848 of 1054 Old 10-19-2018, 05:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1853 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
From which app? I know it works for Netflix. SInce I used it for a while to watch Netflix UHD/HDR content with Atmos audio.

Which sounded good with the Onkyo receiver.


I am only ever interested in watching rips of discs. Unless there is no other way to watch the content I will never use Netflix or the like.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #849 of 1054 Old 10-19-2018, 07:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Also plex won’t play more than 5.1 on Xbox


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Is that an Xbox limit or plex limit? I noticed in my server settings on the shield that it won't let you go above 5.2, at least for h264

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
Ortizer is offline  
post #850 of 1054 Old 10-19-2018, 11:13 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,930
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9295 Post(s)
Liked: 5980
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
I am only ever interested in watching rips of discs. Unless there is no other way to watch the content I will never use Netflix or the like.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I use a couple of Shield TVs to stream my UHD BD MKV 1:1 rips. It will bitstream the advanced audio codecs. Although the Shield TV is limited to HDR10. Plus you can't have DV in an MKV anyway.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #851 of 1054 Old 10-19-2018, 04:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1853 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ortizer View Post
Is that an Xbox limit or plex limit? I noticed in my server settings on the shield that it won't let you go above 5.2, at least for h264

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk


Xbox. Plex on shield plays 7.1 and up


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #852 of 1054 Old 10-19-2018, 04:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Xbox. Plex on shield plays 7.1 and up


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Interesting. Guess the setting is only for that container then.

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
Ortizer is offline  
post #853 of 1054 Old 10-19-2018, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
drew64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quick question. Is there a way to use Bluetooth headphones with the 656 using a Bluetooth transmitter/receiver plugged in. I was told by onkyo you can’t pair headphones with the receiver as is
drew64 is offline  
post #854 of 1054 Old 11-02-2018, 08:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
parts

Quote:
Originally Posted by khidbz View Post
Just by way of update,,,,,,Onkyo ask that I send in the receiver to a service center.
So I never sent in the receiver....I'm not even in the US and so it would not be cost worthy to mail it and have it mailed back...that would be the price of a new receiver. I had an independent technician check it out and he thinks it's the hdmi board. Now I have two receivers with hdmi board problems....the 609 and the 656. Can anyone advise me where I can buy hdmi board for these units? Cheers.
khidbz is offline  
post #855 of 1054 Old 11-02-2018, 08:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by drew64 View Post
Quick question. Is there a way to use Bluetooth headphones with the 656 using a Bluetooth transmitter/receiver plugged in. I was told by onkyo you can’t pair headphones with the receiver as is
Never tried it....but as is the receiver just receives a bluetooth signal..it does not transmit. I would suspect the bluetooth extender you are talking about plugs into a usb port, so just try that and see
khidbz is offline  
post #856 of 1054 Old 11-03-2018, 05:54 AM
Member
 
Lord Android's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just noticed yesturday that when I'm playing games on the XB 1 X the audio out isn't Dolby Digital like it used to. I know it because the little red dolby logo isn't there. In the console audio settings I have it set to uncompressed 5.1 I'd like to know if there is a way to get back to dolby digital out like I had it before. Not sure if the last update that was pushed to the Xbox or the update that was pushed to the receiver changed this. But prior i was able to play in DD. Any one out there? Thanks in advance

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

"Your either all in or Your all out...!"
Lord Android is offline  
post #857 of 1054 Old 11-03-2018, 06:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
d-rail34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Longville, LA.
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Android View Post
I just noticed yesturday that when I'm playing games on the XB 1 X the audio out isn't Dolby Digital like it used to. I know it because the little red dolby logo isn't there. In the console audio settings I have it set to uncompressed 5.1 I'd like to know if there is a way to get back to dolby digital out like I had it before. Not sure if the last update that was pushed to the Xbox or the update that was pushed to the receiver changed this. But prior i was able to play in DD. Any one out there? Thanks in advance

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

I had to set mine to bitstream. Otherwise, it just played in Multichannel PCM

"Sticking feathers up your butt does not make you a chicken." - Tyler Durden

Living Room - Denon AVR-X2400H/MiniDSP 2X4HD/Hsu Research HB-1 Bookshelfs (4)/HC-1 Center/SVS PB12 Plus (1)/Samsung UN65H7150/Sony UBP-X800/PC Built by D-Rail/XBox One S
d-rail34 is offline  
post #858 of 1054 Old 11-03-2018, 06:04 AM
Member
 
Lord Android's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by d-rail34 View Post
I had to set mine to bitstream. Otherwise, it just played in Multichannel PCM
Thats what's going on now its playing the audio in PCM and I'd like to change that

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

"Your either all in or Your all out...!"
Lord Android is offline  
post #859 of 1054 Old 11-03-2018, 06:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
d-rail34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Longville, LA.
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Android View Post
Thats what's going on now its playing the audio in PCM and I'd like to change that

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Try setting to Bitstream and see what happens, and set the AVR to match the source audio format (DD/DD, DTS/DTS, Etc.) instead of setting it for Direct.

"Sticking feathers up your butt does not make you a chicken." - Tyler Durden

Living Room - Denon AVR-X2400H/MiniDSP 2X4HD/Hsu Research HB-1 Bookshelfs (4)/HC-1 Center/SVS PB12 Plus (1)/Samsung UN65H7150/Sony UBP-X800/PC Built by D-Rail/XBox One S
d-rail34 is offline  
post #860 of 1054 Old 11-03-2018, 06:17 AM
Member
 
Lord Android's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by d-rail34 View Post
Try setting to Bitstream and see what happens
Let me try that

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

"Your either all in or Your all out...!"
Lord Android is offline  
post #861 of 1054 Old 11-03-2018, 06:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
d-rail34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Longville, LA.
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Android View Post
Let me try that

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
You responded before I finished editing my previous post. Lol

SO...set the AVR to match the source audio format (DD/DD, DTS/DTS, Etc.) instead of setting it for Direct if you haven't already.

"Sticking feathers up your butt does not make you a chicken." - Tyler Durden

Living Room - Denon AVR-X2400H/MiniDSP 2X4HD/Hsu Research HB-1 Bookshelfs (4)/HC-1 Center/SVS PB12 Plus (1)/Samsung UN65H7150/Sony UBP-X800/PC Built by D-Rail/XBox One S
d-rail34 is offline  
post #862 of 1054 Old 11-03-2018, 06:23 AM
Member
 
Lord Android's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by d-rail34 View Post
You responded before I finished editing my previous post. Lol

SO...set the AVR to match the source audio format (DD/DD, DTS/DTS, Etc.) instead of setting it for Direct if you haven't already.
I believe I have those audio formats turned on when I navigate to game input in the AVR settings

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
d-rail34 likes this.

"Your either all in or Your all out...!"
Lord Android is offline  
post #863 of 1054 Old 11-03-2018, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
d-rail34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Longville, LA.
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Android View Post
I believe I have those audio formats turned on when I navigate to game input in the AVR settings

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
I use them for all inputs. Sometimes Direct seems to have a different response. Or, it could all be placibo effect. Lol

"Sticking feathers up your butt does not make you a chicken." - Tyler Durden

Living Room - Denon AVR-X2400H/MiniDSP 2X4HD/Hsu Research HB-1 Bookshelfs (4)/HC-1 Center/SVS PB12 Plus (1)/Samsung UN65H7150/Sony UBP-X800/PC Built by D-Rail/XBox One S
d-rail34 is offline  
post #864 of 1054 Old 11-03-2018, 06:37 AM
Member
 
Lord Android's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by d-rail34 View Post
I use them for all inputs. Sometimes Direct seems to have a different response. Or, it could all be placibo effect. Lol
Lol I'll look

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

"Your either all in or Your all out...!"
Lord Android is offline  
post #865 of 1054 Old 11-04-2018, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Lord Android's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Android View Post
Let me try that

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Thank you sir...! That worked Dolby Digital is working perfectly! My gaming experience is complete

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
d-rail34 likes this.

"Your either all in or Your all out...!"
Lord Android is offline  
post #866 of 1054 Old 11-12-2018, 04:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1853 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Hey what do you guys use for listening to music? I have 7 speakers and two subs in my theater and most of the time the back 4 speakers are off.

Need to fix that.

Any tips on programming a listening mode into my harmony remote?
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #867 of 1054 Old 11-13-2018, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Pennhaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Hey what do you guys use for listening to music? I have 7 speakers and two subs in my theater and most of the time the back 4 speakers are off.

Need to fix that.

Any tips on programming a listening mode into my harmony remote?
Do you have your receiver configured for 7.2 surround or Dolby Atmos 5.2.2?

In either case Dolby Surround or DTS Neural:X should play two channel digital music source to all speakers.

How good the surround effect sounds will vary depending on the recording. So you might experiment.

My RZ710, which is a cousin to the NR656, is set up for Atmos, and I find generally the best mode for 2 channel music source is THX Music, even though it does not use the two Atmos height channels. I think THX is exclusive to the RZ series though.

I have a Harmony Hub but generally use the Onkyo Android tablet app or hardware remote to change listening modes. Never bothered to configure the hub for this. Not really a big fan of it in some respects.
Pennhaven is online now  
post #868 of 1054 Old 11-13-2018, 03:53 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,930
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9295 Post(s)
Liked: 5980
Yes. The Onkyo is not THX certified so it doesn't have the THX sound fields.

Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB) using Tapatalk

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #869 of 1054 Old 11-13-2018, 06:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 593 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pennhaven View Post
Do you have your receiver configured for 7.2 surround or Dolby Atmos 5.2.2?

In either case Dolby Surround or DTS Neural:X should play two channel digital music source to all speakers.

How good the surround effect sounds will vary depending on the recording. So you might experiment.

My RZ710, which is a cousin to the NR656, is set up for Atmos, and I find generally the best mode for 2 channel music source is THX Music, even though it does not use the two Atmos height channels. I think THX is exclusive to the RZ series though.

I have a Harmony Hub but generally use the Onkyo Android tablet app or hardware remote to change listening modes. Never bothered to configure the hub for this. Not really a big fan of it in some respects.
I prefer Dolby Surround for two channel music listening.
aaronwt and evena like this.

Living Room: Kef Q900/Q600c/Q100, SVS SB2000, Denon AVR-X3500H.
PC Setup: Infinity R152, Sunfire XTEQ8, DIY 3e-Audio TPA3255 amp.
noobtv is offline  
post #870 of 1054 Old 11-14-2018, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
d-rail34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Longville, LA.
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Android View Post
Thank you sir...! That worked Dolby Digital is working perfectly! My gaming experience is complete

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Just saw your reply. Glad it worked out!! I know it made a huge difference for my setup.

BTW...what type of setup are you running (i.e., 5.1, 7.1, Atmos)?

"Sticking feathers up your butt does not make you a chicken." - Tyler Durden

Living Room - Denon AVR-X2400H/MiniDSP 2X4HD/Hsu Research HB-1 Bookshelfs (4)/HC-1 Center/SVS PB12 Plus (1)/Samsung UN65H7150/Sony UBP-X800/PC Built by D-Rail/XBox One S
d-rail34 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
7.2 to 9.2 , apple tv , atmos , cox dvr , external amp , external amplifier , Onkyo , onkyo tx-656 , TX-NR656

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off